The MIROS motorcycle lane safety survey – any good?

Miros Motorcycle Lane Survey screencap

A survey on motorcycle lane usage and satisfaction has been up on the Malaysian Institute of Road Safety Research (MIROS) since June, 2016. The simple online survey form records data such as the age of the user, type of motorcycle and reasons for using, or not using, the motorcycle lane on highways throughout the country.

From our recent journey down the Federal Highway motorcycle lane, we found that the claims of motorcycle lane users on the Federal Highway had some basis, in that the lane was not designed for safe usage, along with poor maintenance. Flooding is another issue on the motorcycle lane, as was shown in some pictures sent in to paultan.org.

2016 Fed Highway bike tunnel -2

You can find the the survey here. According to the survey statement, it is intended to determine the satisfaction level and other factors that influence the usage of motorcycle lanes.

What do you think? Is this a positive step towards improving safety in the motorcycle lane, or will the data be collected to serve no obvious purpose? Would you take the time to fill out the survey? Leave a comment with your thoughts and opinions below.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• lilytan on Aug 09, 2016 at 4:58 pm

Have someone to look after the bike lane. Then make it compulsory for bikes to use it. Needs better enforcement.

• The survey is just for record purpose.
    Just like the motorcycle lane, it is only designed to divert motorcyclists to that lane with disregard to motorcyclists’ safety.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 09, 2016 at 5:09 pm

fix the lanes, so they wont have any valid reason to rempit on the fed highway

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • ayeaye on Aug 09, 2016 at 5:35 pm

Issue is not motorcycle lane or not, they are still the vigilantly of the roads/kaki-lima/lorong. Not to mention they are above the law when an accident occurs no thanks to them weaving in & out of traffic and any crevasse they see..

A case of “the less you have, the more the world owes them”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
  • waters on Aug 09, 2016 at 5:38 pm

Lazy bums!!! They should get out and see for themselves. This is just an excuse for a desk pusher to do some work.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • wilson on Aug 09, 2016 at 6:07 pm

did my part in taking survey, no doubt for survey or record purpose, at least there is a hopefully good contribution, where action might or might not be taken, there is a record for future development, again hopefully.

• bikers on Aug 09, 2016 at 6:47 pm

While the survey is a good move by MIROS. it is a bit late considering the state of safety and quality of the bike lane. Given the high traffic and volumes of bikers supposedly using this lane, should MIROS look into design of bike lanes i.e. designed road speed, volume of traffic users which translate 2 or more lanes, safety of users ie potholes, water drainage and security of users etc.
    While at it MIROS may want to consider a better highway design to include both bikers and motorists. Considerations such as capacity of engine, weight of bikes and safe distance for motorcyclist and motorist to co-exist in a highway speed travel

• RicoT on Aug 09, 2016 at 7:02 pm

Start charging toll to motorcyclists for using highway with bike lanes and use the funds collected to maintain these bike lanes. Enforce complete ban to those with less than 500cc from using the highway (wasn’t this being taught in undang-undang?). This kind of shitty bike lanes is what you expect, no pay = no maintenance. Start paying or continue to ride in misery. If the motorcyclist don’t want to pay the toll, then use the normal roads. Simple as that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 24
    • Harith on Aug 10, 2016 at 9:52 am

So, if motorcyclists pays for toll, will they get to ride as if they are driving a car without any need to splits lane(mencilok) without getting honked for safety?

Less than 500cc cannot even use highways? For your information, even a 250cc can somehow be as fast as 500cc. I don’t even mind paying for toll riding a bike. But the problem is that people’s mind is too shallow that this nation is becoming more and more disgusting. Blaming is all people known ot solving. Stating this and that, at the end the day, nothing is solved.

• dont be stupid on Aug 10, 2016 at 3:08 pm

normal roads have no toll too. Does that mean the roads should not be maintained as well?

• sub_zero on Aug 11, 2016 at 12:52 am

if by your logic

those who own 250cc and above motorcycles actually pay more roadtax and insurance compare to your 2 litre and below sedan/hatchback/mpv etc

which make you a hypocrite

despite that, i agreed about the toll, since motorcycle lane is redundant in my opinion (LACK OF SAFETY THEREOF)

at least it’s satisfy your hypocrite desire

• James on Aug 12, 2016 at 10:23 pm

think before u speak, coz ppl will say u stupid idiot moron RicoT…i had 1 bike 115cc roadtax rm2, insurance 1st party rm 200+, 1 bike 250cc roadtax rm50, insurance rm600+…i had 1 local car, 1 import.. car…so who didnt pay roadtax n toll now? more big cc more higher roadtax u idiot…all my vehicle moving around, i prefer use bike more save my time to travel, meeting onsite etc…i paid more roadtax than u, we have right to use better road…u had no knowledge on bike better keep quiet…stupid idiot moron…

• Should have done this decades ago.was a daily rider of Federal Highway bike lanes and was just better than a laterite road thats paved.It shows how much focus,sincerity and awareness the parties involved really have

• MIROS is A bunch of jack ass and a big white elephant why not just drive down the motobike lane during raining seasons , during rush hour, and in the night this will give them a lesson not to use the bike lane, no need to ask people opinion on internet just move your big fat ass on the bike and hit the bike lane hope you dont break your bones. If you are commited for the safety of the people please make it happen

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • Andrew on Aug 09, 2016 at 9:05 pm

MIROS…pls use the bike lanes just for a week n observe the dangers first hand…dun be shy…BTW is wearing flipflops or slippers while riding bikes safe or do you need to do a study

• not meant to be ruthless or rude,but the only way the bike lane going to be repaired/redesigned is to have some unlucky guy died due to poor road condition (slippery road for example) and that case getting viraled on social media.

yes i sometimes ride to work and use that bloody dangerous stretch from pj to shah alam

the best part is to take the exit at sinchew /kgns (kl bound).the road suddenly dissapeared and becomes an open drain which can easily bend any size of wheels.

and yet we are paying higher roadtax than car

• kamal on Aug 10, 2016 at 8:47 am

Orang dah bising baru nak ambil tindakan. Itupun dah berapa bulan Paultan dah siarkan artikel pasal ni. Padahal memang patut pun MIROS ni buat kajian. Tapi pasal kebanyakn agensi kerajaan ni byk tidur dari buat keje.

• huhuhihi on Aug 10, 2016 at 9:08 pm

collect data, collect data, study, study…..do report, report and lastly……Do nothing. Typical Malaysia authority….

• xplodingplastix on Aug 12, 2016 at 3:33 pm

i just had a crash with my ninja at the mobike lane near awan besar tol. chill riding at 40-50kmh and skidded at an always wet corner just below the flyover before the tol. saw a lot of accident markings with R1 fairings and some CBR pieces, motorcycles side mirrors lying around shows it is a dangerous place yet no warnings or preventive actions done my the authorities. i rode back into the main road felt so much safer.