Taxi drivers should get APs, duty exemptions to buy cheaper and better taxis, says drivers’ association

Toyota Vellfire Modellista Aero Tourer kit-10

The Malaysia Taxi Drivers’ Coalition has asked the Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) to persuade the Ministry of International Trade and Industry (MITI) to provide taxi drivers and operators with approved permits (AP), according to the News Straits Times.

Spokesman Norfaiza Abdul Ghani said that awarding APs to taxi permit owners would allow them to purchase better car models, adding that the finance ministry should also grant them excise duty exemptions for vehicles to be used as taxis.

“This can reduce operation costs by up to 40 per cent because cheaper vehicles will translate into cheaper bank loans,” he said. “Cheaper vehicle prices also means that we can purchase better cars. For example, a Toyota Vellfire, which normally costs more than RM200,000, can be purchased for between RM60,000 and RM70,000 with APs and excise duty exemption.”

Norfaiza added that higher-quality vehicles could help rebrand the taxi industry and provide passengers with better value. He also said that many taxi drivers were saddled with car loan repayments as high as RM1,500 a month for budget taxis and RM2,700 for executive taxis, when an average driver earns around RM150 a day. The association will submit a proposal to SPAD, MITI and the finance ministry by the end of the month.

Malaysia-Taxi-01

Taxi driver Abdul Razak Zabir told the English language daily that he was struggling with the rising cost of maintenance on his vehicle, saying that he has to drive almost 500 km a day to make ends meet. “At this rate, tyres need to be changed every six months and engine oil must be changed every 10 days. We need to spend RM500 a month on budget taxis and RM900 on executive taxis just to maintain them,” he said.

Abdul Razak also urge the government to not limit its plan to provide a RM5,000 cash grant – for drivers exiting the taxi rental or pajak system – to those who were not blacklisted. “This is because many taxi drivers have fallen on hard times, and it is not uncommon for them to default on bank loans,” he said.

In the cabinet-approved Taxi Industry Transformation Programme (TITP), ride-sharing services like Uber and Grab will be legalised and regulated, requiring drivers to have a SPAD-issued driver’s card and vehicles to undergo compulsory road-worthiness inspections.

Additionally, all cars with an ASEAN NCAP rating of at least three stars will be eligible to be used as taxis, while taxi operators will be required to provide drivers with a rent-free day for Puspakom inspection, annual and sick leave, first party vehicle insurance and deposit refund at the end of the contract. Driver screenings will also be more stringent, and fare structures will be revised for consistency.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Ganesh on Aug 19, 2016 at 7:11 pm

Like that why don’t give APs to all Malaysians? This will allow all Malaysians to buy Vellfire for rm60k.

I think the cat is out of the bag…you mean they profit so much from each vellfire sold? Rm140k profit?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • Targa on Aug 21, 2016 at 12:37 pm

Yup, one can imagine how much profit is raked in by UMW Toyota for every car they sell.

• apiktopik on Aug 22, 2016 at 8:11 am

Yeah.. RM140k taxed on a RM60k vehicle..guess who makes the most profit.

• Yup, totally agree with you, APs to all Malaysian, because all of us deserve a good car which is affordable, cheaper, safer, better looking and a better resale value. I don’t mind if we have to change our car after 7 years or so, as long as it is affordable. its a good policy for both malaysians and the industry.

• taikucing on Aug 19, 2016 at 7:12 pm

“Taxi drivers were saddled with car loan repayments as high as RM1,500 a month for budget taxis” – how come taxi are so expensive than normal cars??? with that kind of amount you can already drive a Honda Civic i believe.

• RM70k for a taxi is not a good example to see taxi rate being reduced.

But if it is a RM30k AP Electic Vehicle Taxi…
    We can have the taxi rate being reduced.

• only few days ago taxi bosses said should use proton else national car will be sidelined? so why not these taxi drivers ask for cheaper proton? locally assembled proton does not even need APs.

• George Abdul on Aug 19, 2016 at 8:22 pm

“Price at AP RM200,000, can be purchased for between RM60,000 and RM70,000 with APs and excise duty exemption”
    Rakyat should know how this country ridiculous taxes system are now !!! BN Rakyat “money” di dahulukan !!!

• Hamid albert on Aug 19, 2016 at 8:41 pm

Sewa teksi dh murah. apa lg lu orang mau

• Silthice on Aug 19, 2016 at 9:05 pm

Bought car using AP and resell it to the public. Instant CASH $$$

• When service is good and friendly, there will be tips especially from foreign customers. Do not overcharge or charge them fixed price.

With fixed prices, bad attitude, ohhh depan jam tak nak, etc, customers wont even pay the fixed prices not to say extra tips.

• Jimmy on Aug 19, 2016 at 9:47 pm

How do you tackle the loopholes?

• domotomo on Aug 19, 2016 at 10:03 pm

eh kalau macam ni matilah Proton
    berbelit lah u all
    1x mau proton hidup
    2x mau proton mati

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 8
    • lolpanda on Aug 20, 2016 at 10:01 am

Why are we so hung up on trying to ‘protect’ Proton? If people are so proud and confident of Proton and its achievements, then open up the market and let Proton compete with other makes on a fair ground to put it to the true test.

On one hand, people are glorifying (for example) the Persona for being top notch and better than other foreign makes in the segment. On the other hand, the same lot are hard on keeping Proton protected from foreign makes. Hypocritical much? I sure think so.

• Hidup Proton, mati Proton

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Aug 20, 2016 at 3:51 pm

Let taxi drivers buy Proton 100% duty tax GST free plus special discounts. Sell them a Saga for RM15k, give 0% interest 3 year financing. Slash taxi fares by 30%. Let Uber and Grab be. Susah sangat ke nak implement ni SPAD?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
      • Waters on Aug 22, 2016 at 10:19 am

Good idea, the taxi guys were trying to push for something like this years ago. But, must remember – when things are cheap – no one can cut and “cari makan” in between.

Now with the Rm1500 – 2700 monthly – a lot of people and making money on the backs of taxi drivers. They will not want to let this go so easily.

• Lolos on Aug 20, 2016 at 5:28 pm

Kasih Dia mati saja. Syarikat yang tidak Ada guna

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
  • They want duty exemption for expensive vehicles, yet they can’t even keep up with their current taxi’s maintenance cost.
    Drive luxurious vehicle needs even higher maintenance, you can’t just wash it with dish soap.

• modesto.h on Aug 19, 2016 at 10:23 pm

apart from that, taxi drivers should be subsidized to attend training on how to behave like a civilized person.

• Yap Tai Wai on Aug 19, 2016 at 10:36 pm

Poor Taxi driver…the main problem make your business gone is because of your ATTITUDE!! even don’t know how to use signal while cutting out from lane…and the worse is your ride fare!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 1
    • Quote:

“Cheaper vehicle prices also means that we can purchase better cars.”

What!? Proton cars are very bad in quality? I thought more taxi drivers using means better quality? Looks like i’m wrong

• 60k get a vellfire? I go apply taxi liciense.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 0
    • Quote:

“For example, a Toyota Vellfire, which normally costs more than RM200,000, can be purchased for between RM60,000 and RM70,000 with APs and excise duty exemption.”

Now u know why Toyota is so expensive. Thanks to Proton and the AP cronies. For the same price of an Iriz, u can get a Vellfire!

• 60k for vellfire? Really? Even 2nd Toyota Wish that bought from Jap cost you almost 60k when you can get AP.

• Same L0rrrr on Aug 19, 2016 at 11:12 pm

buy Lexus then. I am getting my 5th Lexus this month, work hard you kimchi driver.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 20
  • 500km a day? That’s 10 hours of non stop driving at 50km/h. No stop, no waiting, no traffic jam, 50km/h for 10 straight hours. What a load of bullshit.

500km a day, 15,000km a month, 90,000km in 6mths. What sort of tyres last that long? Please let me know.

Strange that Uber drivers can buy regular cars at regular prices and still make a decent living.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 0
    • Henry on Aug 20, 2016 at 11:24 am

Because feudalism is still being practised in modern guise. These taxi drivers should start thinking like free men and stop slaving for those feudal lords.

• Henry on Aug 20, 2016 at 12:37 am

Why do you need a Vellfire when there is the locally assembled Toyota Innova and Nissan Serena? The more these fellas talk the more incoherent they become. Your problem is the taxi operating permit and not an AP to import a car to turn into a taxi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 0
  • Sammy Loo on Aug 20, 2016 at 1:21 am

Vellfire is not selling at 60k even in Japan.

This is a luxury MPV, taxi should get the Persona.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
  • Their level of greediness never ceased to amazed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 0
  • Lee Kum Kee on Aug 20, 2016 at 2:49 am

Only stupid taxi driver will buy AP cars. The cost to maintain fully imported car is not cheap (spare parts, body panels, bumper replacements in case of accidents, etc). And considering taxis can go to up 100,000 km mileage in its first year means that the taxi will need more preventive maintenance once entering 2nd year ownership. The focus should be towards providing affordable CKD or local cars to taxi owners that can be maintained reguarly by honest, established, network of service centres (unlike worksyop shoplot that reaps your wallet apart) that can optimize these taxis during its service tenure – all for the BENEFIT of MY pipu. And also provide system that promotes taxis to change their cars every 5-6 years.Why im saying this? Because we MY pipu deserve better public transport than current taxis which is in dire state. As passengers we should demand to be riding in safe taxis, well maintained, and confortable as we are the customers that will be spending the $$$ most of the time to use these public transport. Not some SPAD spokeperson or ministers. The system already implemented in S.Korea where most taxis are replacable every now and then (mostly Sonatas, Optimas and Avanti aka Elantra) and their taxis are so well maintained why can’t SPAD learn from them? SPAD please note that main goal of public transport is for rakyat not for taxi drivers to show off their AP Alphards, Wish, Elgrand, Jeep, Lexus, etc. I still don’t understand the reason for SPAD establishment as they still cannot crack taxi problems since 2010. Wtf? Im so pissed la wei. cibai.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 5
    • Yokohama24 on Aug 20, 2016 at 11:41 am

Because of their stupidity, they are stupid enough to blame others for causing their business to fail, when they themselves are the true cause of their business failuer. Stupidity level: Malaysian gangster taxi driver.

Only referring to gangster thugs stupid taxi drivers. Not every taxi drivers are stupid.

• Cb jasli busuk on Aug 20, 2016 at 12:16 pm

Apa masalah you banyak panas badan? Teksi driver pun manusia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
    • crash on Aug 20, 2016 at 6:26 pm

Agreed. If give them cheap Alphard and Vellfire, sure these taxi owners will try their best to go cheap and use sub-par spare parts. Even tires they will buy those retreaded tires because new 18 inches tires are definitely not cheap at all. When these retreaded explode on the streets , it is a hazard to other road users especially motorbikes.

• I think you are mistaken.

If you are entitled to an AP, you can walk into any official local distributor and still walk out with a new car, not a recond car. They just take off the portion of price which is meant to pay for government tax. That’s it. So, your loan is cheaper.

• Aero (Member) on Aug 20, 2016 at 3:08 am

What a bunch of two-faced imbeciles.

Just a few days back, they said Uber and Grabcar legalisation will effect Proton car sales. Now they’re saying they deserve to get free APs so that they can import second-hand Japanese cars for the same price as a new Proton.

Wow, just wow. We should stop giving these morons an audience. Clearly, these ‘outspoken’ taxi drivers are the real problem… those genuinely respectable taxi drivers who are willing to improve themselves would have joined Uber or Grabcar by now, or found other ways in life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 2
    • Flip-flop budaya Gov kita. This is a plot to plotek P1 and the cronies

• arteu32 on Aug 20, 2016 at 7:49 am

AP for cabbies? means we will soon be taking aston rapide and lambo urus for our trips?

• Henry on Aug 20, 2016 at 11:26 am

Can. Pay ten bucks per kilometre. LOL.

• No, they will be keeping those cars at home and take their customers in a 15 year old proton with a dead molested person in the trunk.

• Susukotak on Aug 20, 2016 at 8:15 am

sapa punye ide la ni.

• Finally, a more sensible effort for taxi rather than hurting other people or business. Fight those ridiculous excise duty on national car first.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
    • Rather than ease the problem with introducing cheaper proton car by eliminating national car tax to own proton for taxi, they propose for an AP for imported car.

• Joke of the day…..are these Taxi drivers coalitions jokers for real?….seriously, if we have all of these cabbies driving 500km/day, then why are we seeing cabbies hanging out at taxi stands, not picking up passengers…? Or even, if they feel that they are not making much money being a cabbie, why don’t just switch and become a Uber , Grabcar driver or even grabTeksi driver….Seriously..these guys are a real bunch of ‘prim donna whiners’….!!

• torque on Aug 20, 2016 at 10:15 am

Banyak sangat la cengkadak korang taxi driver ooiiii…kereta Proton korang pun maintain macam tongkang karam, nak maintain kereta import macam Vellfire. Sigh!

• Does this Norfaiza Abdul Ghani know what message he’s sending out? Of all models to use as a comparison, he had to pick on a Vellfire, a luxury MPV that’s heavy on maintenance, petrol, spares availability,used with high possibility of tempering prior to delivery n not to mention cant even be afforded by a majority of people here.

If he wants rebranding,he shd start with improving service quality by focusing on the long time taxi issues ie, stop haggling fares, stop being choosy over destinations and drive more responsiby.or if he’s really into getting more suitable vehicles,maybe form a pack with other taxi association and approach car manufacturers if they can customize a vehicle for their needs.

• NYC budak on Aug 21, 2016 at 1:58 pm

Obviously you dont own vellfire and do not know partbis easily available and maintenance is cheap.

The request from taxi drivers obviously ridiculous but you dont stir something here if u do not know about the car.

• Yokohama24 on Aug 20, 2016 at 11:38 am

ONly a few days ago say “Taxi drivers hit out at new SPAD reform plan – say local cars will be abandoned if all models can be taxis”

Then now you want duty exemptions. IRONIC!

Apa lu mau?!

• kaizen on Aug 20, 2016 at 12:38 pm

why cant malaysian taxi drivers work hard like our malaysian badminton players Dato Lee Cong Wei, Tan Wee Keong ,Goh V Shem and swimmer Pandelela Rinong in the olympics 2016……..its a long painful journey to earn silver…….they earn handsome reward and most importantly the world utmost respect for them…….

• In your dreams, the govt will never change, they will need to be removed first.

• Gomorrah on Aug 21, 2016 at 10:46 am

The AP golden goose is too good la, change government also no guarantee that it will be abolished. Must buy whatever these people are smoking, must be some high quality stuff. Then we can all continue to dream in fantasy land while reality crumbles.

• mojo8 on Aug 20, 2016 at 6:05 pm

the main problem is SPAD
    so pissed la wei.. cibai!

• they buy cheap and sell at higher price later…good idea.

• Is not about the quality of car…..
    It’s about you attitude…. If you guy used tut tut with 5star attitude… Lagi baguihhhh….
    Ni semua drebar jenis langsi… Kat kl byak sangat….
    Tu pasai orang p naik uber…
    ADA PAHAM TAK DREBAR TEKSI

• Andrekua on Aug 20, 2016 at 11:12 pm

LoL

Now Taxi drivers want to upgrade themselves to become AP holders? No need work, just sell AP.

Later bus drivers want AP. Then Lorry drivers also want AP. What’s next?

Free LPG? Free toll?

• i tax c on Aug 20, 2016 at 11:37 pm

Abang alza hati emas ni patut diberi pinggat emas olympik dan hadiah nobela cowmon. after 3 year get new car can sell old get money go makkah umrah haji, itu pon tak boleh implement ka spad

• metertax ic on Aug 21, 2016 at 7:48 am

Pay rentbeli taxc 1500 monthly, if driver get 3000 net cuci bersih work more than eight hour without cuti cuti. With money 3000 u pay maintanance 20000 for 5 years.berapa sen yang tinggal.that why bank officer pandang sebelah mata when apply i try asking loan ,they no i stupid. Better ridder tutut with high attitut,ada PAHaM ke MAT SPAD. Mat salleh orang putih cakap orang malaysia ni bodoh macam LEMBu. With AP bank officer pandang 2 mata i hope MAD.

• KennyFang on Aug 21, 2016 at 9:07 am

They say they are struggling, yet they want APs to buy imported cars. How many of them will sell their APs for a one time gain?

• Kuai koci masak on Aug 21, 2016 at 10:33 am

the epic failure of the taxi industry is the lousy ATTITUDE of drivers..

Ada paham??

• Wan Syaiful on Aug 21, 2016 at 6:02 pm

Taxi driver has to pay RM1500 per month to the stupid consortium. Abolish this consortium and give permit to individuals, baru diorg boleh cari makan. Stupid kronisme

• 1KroniMalaysia on Aug 21, 2016 at 6:55 pm

Surely an ex-minister or two goyang-kaki (not working) while benefiting from cronism.
      Is that consider “haram” business?

• Taxee on Aug 21, 2016 at 6:20 pm

Most of the taxi drivers attitude are bad.

• Next they will sell the APs to others to make fast $$

• Next they will sell the APs to others to make fast buck

• tok adi on Aug 22, 2016 at 3:12 pm

either they intentionally sell the AP or they would be forced to sell the AP

• passion on Aug 22, 2016 at 9:53 am

no wonder the taxi drivers protest regularly.

• letsbewise on Aug 22, 2016 at 11:10 am

i think most malaysian dont really care what car brand for taxi use…i personally think, proton line up (exora, persona) all good already for taxi…dispose all old sagas, wajas and make exora n persona as standardised fleet.

Just have good attitude, good mentality, proper maintainance of the car and cleanliness, cheap and x banyak songeh, pun dah ok…no need AP to drive alphard, vellfire which well, maintainance and roadtax is obviously higher than proton, eventhough u buy it cheap in the first place.

why people choose uber/grabcar is because cleanliness, good attitude and cheap….thats all!