LRT fares low, ticket options available – Prasarana

LRT-rail-pix-Bernama_PT_BM

Despite a widely publicised complaint published online regarding LRT fares, multi-modal public transport operator Prasarana Malaysia maintains that LRT fares are relatively low, with various ticket options available. The fare amounted to RM8.20, rather than RM9 as stated by “Upset LRT User” who wrote in to The Star, according to the company’s head of group communications and strategic marketing Lim Jin Aun.

Writing in the Malay Mail in reply, he said that while the reader did not specify which stations were used, he assumed that the trip – which was cashless, using a stored value card – stretched between the IOI-Puchong Jaya LRT station, the furthest LRT station in Puchong on the Sri Petaling Line, and the Sunway-Setia Jaya BRT station, the furthest station on the BRT Sunway line.

The cashless ticketing option as chosen by the reader also may not be the cheapest travel option, as there are MyRapid Smart 30 and MyRapid Smart 7 ticket products for frequent and moderately frequent rail commuters on offer, and which offer further discounts to the cashless ticketing option, Lim said.

Lim did clarify, however, that MyRapid Smart 30 and MyRapid Smart 7 ticket products come with a nominal activation fee of RM10 and RM2.50 respectively, upon the ticket’s expiry after a 30-day or seven-day period.

BRT bus

In contrast, there has been positive feedback from another LRT user, who has found the LRT to be a cheaper commuting option between their home in USJ, Subang Jaya and their workplace in Kuala Lumpur.

“Regular LRT User” wrote in to The Star saying that the RM7.20 return trip fare makes it cheaper than parking in the city centre. The reader also said that while the charges on the BRT are absurd, it is justifiable due to the high investment versus the low volume crowd serviced, and that no public transport network is able to cater to every user’s need.

What has your experience been with the recently-expanded LRT network? How do the costs compare to driving? Let us know in the comments below.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• tokmoh. on Aug 29, 2016 at 4:32 pm

Bodo prasarana, orang suruh rethink fare korang charge, korang dok picky nak betulkan 80sen difference. Dah la your Myrapid smart (bodo ada la) is so expensive (RM2.50/week, RM10/month), the savings in fare doesn’t cover the cost.

And regular LRT user, upset LRT user da kata, LRT benefit orang yang stay and office dekat dengan stesen, tak paham2? Ko benefit ko suka la, yang upset tu tak guna nak LRT, driving is faster n cheaper.

And BRT is stupid expensive, even Grab/uber can be cheaper, why dafuq people wanna purposely pay more to get to same destination?

High investment ale uto hang, camtu takyah la buat, only for it to be rigged to be so expensive, driving/uber/grab is cheaper.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 105 Thumb down 10
    • Bujangsenang on Aug 29, 2016 at 6:03 pm

Nak buat camne…X mampu lg beli Bezza.

Nk jimat. Pakai kapcai je la

• Bangun on Aug 29, 2016 at 6:45 pm

BR1M can more than cover your LRT fares.

• Albert on Aug 29, 2016 at 7:05 pm

Maybe Rm1 per trip…..GE 14 Promise?
      Or wait for regime change…50 sen/trip ?
      Whats the use of GSt,car taxes,LHDn taxes?For rakyat.
      It should be free.
      Rail public transport is for rakyat.It is never profitable,anywhere in the world.

• Yokohama24 on Aug 30, 2016 at 12:09 pm

Bro you’re in Tiger Land, the GST will pass through many many “””filters””” before reaching the rakyat. Don’t know where all our tax money fly to

Unlike Lionland, Merdeka for less than 50 years already got 5 mrts. Tigerland Merdeka for 59years 1 mrt also not ready yet.

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Aug 29, 2016 at 9:21 pm

BRT Federal Highway what is the STATUS? That project is important to have a functioning bus system and get SINGLE OCCUPANT VEHICLES off the roads!

• Bob Sam on Aug 30, 2016 at 8:40 am

Public transport fares are too expensive. It costs me about RM10 in Komuter train and LRT fares for a return trip. That would mean an average of RM250 a month on commuting costs without parking fees.

Instead of cutting costs via increasing efficiencies and productivity gains, the brains from Putrjaya (who confirm their capabilities by issuing new number plates with the letter “F” for FAILURES) increase prices.

Drop the ticket prices and increase the # of trains, volume will increase, and you will get your increased revenue.

• We have too many MRT/LRT already. Why wasting the road infrastructure we invested so much and so many decades? Focus on bus transport la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 36
    • I never heard of jepunis complain on too many rails even when it passes behind their house. Who do we wanna be?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
      • U don’t know meh? Every PM speaks differently one. All they want is to snatch our money only. Where got time to fix our policy la

• Every PM? Why Lee Jr, Abe, Theresa May, et all wud wanna meddle in our affairs? Only a certain President (ie Nobama) & President nominee (MrsC) seems interested to tell us what our future shud be.

• Abang Alza Pakai Topi on Aug 29, 2016 at 9:17 pm

Prasarana stop the talk and just work on getting the long overdue bombardier innovia train sets, ALL 14 of them onto the tracks! Gatal pergi operate dulu station baru takda train baru pala hotak hangpa! BRT federal highway bila nak open tender??? Tidoq ka?

• Don’t you know there are shuttle buses for those staying in the nearby vincinity…but Prasarana didn’t even bother to arrange for these facilities…the parking is also inadequate for the ppl. what half past six planning is this?! Those idiots that went for the “melawat sambil belajar” seems to have learned nothing…the rakyat will have to bear for these bloodsucker’s mistake again and again.

• leonhart on Aug 29, 2016 at 5:16 pm

Because to reduce traffic conjustion lah.. You cannot just focus on bus only. Even buses trap inside the traffic jam.

• BungMokh on Aug 29, 2016 at 6:17 pm

No choice la. no donation $$.

So hv to rely on LRT projects to get $$ for PRU 14

• very sorry, I do have to disagree with Prasarana’s response, having utilised mass rapid transit transportations such London’s Underground, Paris’s Metro, Brisbane Australia Train service, Hongkong’s MTR, China’s Shenzhen Metro, NY’s subway and Singapore’s MRT…in comparison to connectivity…our LRT, monorail and BRT system fails miserably..and in comparison to price…we may be cheaper to Australia and Hong kong, but in actual fact…there reason for the exorbitant fares are mainly due to the ridiculous project costs…bottom line, the Rakyat foots the fill one way of another……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 5
    • Connectivity fails cuz everyone dun wan it near their house, then complain too far for them to use. U wun see this sh*t in SG.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 11
  • normal_user on Aug 29, 2016 at 5:12 pm

In Barcelona, subway Metro users are offered with T-10 ticket in which they just pay EUR10 for 10 journeys (regardless of distance). Before somebody bash about currency exchange, EUR1 per travel is quite cheap for Spaniards based on their earnings/disposable income level. Same with Italy & Japan, their subway offer plenty of savings for regular commuters.

PRASARANA has to admit that the leakages and donations that they have made actually ballooned the overall costs involved, in this case both capital & operational expenditures. Too bad for us regular Malaysians.. to bad.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 0
    • The only substantial donation Prasarana did lately is gip FOC rides for KL marathon runners. I dun see how this affects ticket prices.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
      • Rizal on Aug 29, 2016 at 7:54 pm

Donation to you-know-which-party la

• No. I dunno which party.

Prasarana seems to have its money quite tied to expanding AND running BOTH LRTs, completing MRT1, starting MRT2 AND LRT3 simultaneously, AND revamping & renewing the Rapid Bus fleets in ALL the major cities, AND buying new busses for MRT1. Meanwhile making barely any profits from existing business streams.

I dun think Prasarana have any spare cash to ‘donate’ as u insinuate.

• seancorr (Member) on Aug 29, 2016 at 5:15 pm

When u compare dollar to dollar a train tix within the city which costs more than 5 is already very expensive.

• Ruslan Bahari on Aug 29, 2016 at 6:20 pm

“Lim did clarify, however, that MyRapid Smart 30 and MyRapid Smart 7 ticket products come with a nominal activation fee of RM10 and RM2.50 respectively, upon the ticket’s expiry after a 30-day or seven-day period.”

So, if I buy a Smart30 in January, and reload every month for a year, I’d have to pay RM120.00 for they year. Why should the commuter helping ease congestion in the city be burdened by this unfair fee?

• Yokohama24 on Aug 30, 2016 at 12:00 pm

Plus from what I see, the fare only cheaper by 10sen. One day to and fro only can save 20sen. 20sen times 20 working days only save RM4 per month. I still have to rugi RM6 (RM10 subscription fee – RM4 savings).

This package doesn’t cover bus too.

Kononnya “SMART”

• nasha on Aug 29, 2016 at 6:23 pm

i think sunway BRT is under Sunway initiative – just like their defunct monorel near Sunway Pyramid tu. it was not under gomen initiative. that’s why sunway BRT is sooooo expensive. blame it on sunway grup coz the brt fare is really expensive.

• 1kondemMalaysia on Aug 29, 2016 at 8:00 pm

Anything that the cronies got involved, surely kondem one…..

• tishaban on Aug 29, 2016 at 8:49 pm

In my case the LRT is still cheaper than driving. I work in KLCC and live in Puchong, I don’t do sales, don’t need to drive around town during business hours 99% of the time.

A return LRT trip is RM9 per day for me. Let’s add RM4 per day for LRT parking, it’s typically cheaper since I can get MPSJ monthly parking but for the sake of calculations, it’s roughly RM13 per day for train + local parking. Compare this to the daily open parking rate around KLCC which is already roughly this amount, not taking into account tolls, petrol, wear and tear on the car etc. So for me, the LRT makes a lot of sense.

Lots of people complain that the LRT cost is too high. While I don’t disagree, I’d rather complain that my (and everyone else’s) salaries are too low. Increasing salaries will give people a lot more flexibility than reducing the LRT rates although looking at the state of the country today, neither is going to happen…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • Parking in KLCC is actually much higher. Half day alredi in double digits. And u dun have to suffer traffic jam in and out

• I’m one of the satisfied user of the KJ line. I pay 2.90 one way every weekday from Putra Heights to Bangsar as I use the 30 days pass. I have experienced a few disruptions but I have been able to take the next train under 2 minutes.
    I find that the total cost of taking the train is less than driving to work as I now drive less distance, thus saving on cost of fuel & maintenance.
    My hope is that the LRT service will be improved with increased frequency & speed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • in Singapore MRT, the fare from one end to another end covering 40km is no more than S$3. Ours?

• Bernard on Aug 29, 2016 at 11:13 pm

Take the Singapore MRT and you will be amazed at how cheap it is to travel. Value for money. Efficient , clean , super convenient . World class by any standard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
    • Used to be world class. Nowadays with greenhorn politicians with connections to Lee Jr running it, u can expect breakdowns every so often during peak hours (when u actually need it to be on time!). Smoke/fire is an added bonus here.

• both SMRT & SBS Transit have always had connection with the government. nothing new

• Very very VERY FEW pipu have free LEGAL parking in KL CBD. When parking charges is added in, public transport makes so much more sense.

• I wonder those who thumbs down, feels its their birthright to double park at yellow line on road then scold DBKL when tarik their cars?

• Yap Yen Chien on Aug 30, 2016 at 9:25 am

No matter how cheap you charge, people will still complain. At the end of the day, taking public transport is by far cheaper than car ownership and better for the environment.

• Yokohama24 on Aug 30, 2016 at 9:38 am

The BRT is ridiculously expensive!
    “justifiable due to the high investment versus the low volume crowd serviced”
    THEN WHY INVEST IN IT ANYWAY?????? NOTHING ELSE BETTER TO INVEST IN AH?
    SHOULD HAVE INVEST IN SOME WHERE WHICH HAS HIGHER CROWD RIGHT?

• Yokohama24 on Aug 30, 2016 at 9:53 am

Prasarana … please use the money to improve the buidling infrastructure of your stations. This morning super heavy rain, we passengers still get wet regardless we are indoors. Why? Because your roof not long and wide enough (Pasar Seni Station). Then your Masjid Jamek station is leaking water everywhere, causing the floors to be slippery. Plus your stupid useless roof design/architecture can’t stop rain from pouring in causing the escalators and the people around to be wet. Please fix this.

On top of that, today your LRT, as it enters into KL Sentral station, it splashes rain water along the platform, leaving the floor wet and slippery.

Please make our Malaysian transportation system great. Esok dah nak Merdeka nih.

• paparadzi (Member) on Aug 30, 2016 at 10:33 am

Simple stuff. Just like any other transportation methods, it will work out for some people and not for others.

If it is more convenient and cheaper, use it. Otherwise use alternate methods.

• Yokohama24 on Aug 30, 2016 at 11:04 am

Would really appreciated if PaulTan team can show us readers a comparison between using normal Touch n Go card and MyRapid Smart Package which Prasarana claims to be cheaper. Thank you in advance

• siaocom on Aug 30, 2016 at 1:21 pm

If we comparing to HK and Taipei Metro, their cashless card can be use under 1 card (HK Octopus and Taipei EasyCard). But here have to purchase another card whereby we have a TnG platform. Too sad Prasarana can’t support TnG platform. Their card reader also can read the card very well but rapidKL esp buses reader giving a lot of problem.

• Expensive on Aug 30, 2016 at 12:19 pm

The so called smart package has a ‘nominal’ activation fee of rm10 per month. The 10 cents I save on my trip from kelana jaya to kl sentral by using this ‘smart’ package is offset by this monthly activation fee. What kind of savings are you talking about ? I’m sorry, I’ll just cut it short, public transport in Malaysia is expensive.

• siaocom on Aug 30, 2016 at 1:16 pm

It is not the matter of LRT fares low, ticket options available problem. Is the travelling and waiting time that matters. If the whole system is efficient enough, Prasarana increase fare that is OK. The LRT are extended but frequency still maintain and the station of course la to be more crowded.

If SPAD allowing foreigner operators coming in that we will be good.

• Tambang Murah on Aug 30, 2016 at 2:55 pm

Lower down the fare especially for mykad holder…

• keluangman on Aug 30, 2016 at 6:49 pm

Staying in Putra Heights and working in Ara Damansara. The fare for me to take the LRT on daily basis can cover my kapcai petrol for a 3 days(free parking at workplace). Thought of walking and taking the LRT to work but it seems to be the more expensive option.

But I agree if you factor in the daily parking cost at the workplace, taking the LRT is cheaper.