Exempt drivers on official duty from Kejara – Cuepacs

AES_Camera

The Congress of Union of Employees in the Public and Civil Services Malaysia (Cuepacs) has urged the government to exempt its drivers from the soon-to-be-implemented Kejara demerit system and the Automated Enforcement System (AES) on the basis that it would be unfair to punish those on official duties, according to The Star.

President Datuk Azih Muda said that those penalised could be “rushing a minister or director-general to a meeting,” an ambulance taking a patient to a hospital, or police in pursuit of criminals. “The AES does not discriminate between an official government vehicle and a regular citizen’s car. Whoever is caught speeding will have summonses issued against them,” he said.

Azih added that it would not be fair for a driver to lose points or have their driving licence revoked while on duty. “Driving is their bread and butter, if their licence is suspended they are out of a job,” he said. “We conveyed our thoughts to the [Road Transport Department, or JPJ] director-general [Datuk Nadzri Siron] and he has taken note of them.”

The union also suggested an exemption for members of the public who were speeding during an emergency, such as when rushing an injured person to the hospital for medical treatment.

The government is set to implement AES and an updated Kejara system under a new, unified Automated Awareness Safety System (AWAS) by the end of the year, after the Road Transport (Amendment) Bill was passed in May. Under the new system, each motorist start with 20 points, and if they are caught committing a traffic offence, points will be deducted – their driving licence will be revoked once all points are removed.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Susukotak on Sep 15, 2016 at 11:01 am

kenapa nak mohon?.. polis pun boleh tgk dlm gambarkan kereta tu ambulan ke apa? jika pegawai. (dg) ke kena la pandai rancang masa. dan tahu ke klia amik 45min kena bertolak 50min awal. patut mana2 yg bahayakan (even polis) patut kena saman. harap polis ada sop bila nak kena stop pursuit.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 0
  • These rent seeking mentalities always want exemption and special treatment. Always want to be treated differently from others.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 0
  • “rushing a minister or director-general to a meeting,” an ambulance taking a patient to a hospital, or police in pursuit of criminals.“

The two latter is understandable, and should be applicable through appeal, even without requiring special exemptions (these just open doors towards abuse). The former is unnecessary by every definition of the word. To paraphrase one of these said minister, “if you’re worried about being late, wake up earlier”.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 0
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Sep 15, 2016 at 2:11 pm

But our Ministers got many wives and mistress. How to get up early? Always in the mistress house main, then last minute rush for meeting

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
    • In current system, only the driver will be punished. Not the minister or DG.

• what clasify official ??? just a meeting ??? offiail unmarked cars highlighting u from behind ( that happens always on highways ) pls justify that road users can lodge a complain on abuse

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • sohhai on Sep 15, 2016 at 11:25 am

Each offence should be reviewed case by case, not a blanket exemption as it will definitely lead to abuse

• karam singh on Sep 15, 2016 at 11:25 am

What about private company employees? Not fair to the rest of Malaysians.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • there he is on Sep 15, 2016 at 11:32 am

rushing a minister or director-general to a meeting

NAH NAH NAH

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
  • gaviny on Sep 15, 2016 at 11:37 am

ambulance , police, public service vehicles of course are exempted in their course of duties

ministers absolutely f-ing not, they are publicly elected officials not above the law. cuepacs must be wanting something to kiss ass like this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
  • Interceptor on Sep 15, 2016 at 11:41 am

Let say, if our points are deducted from the 20, so balance we have like 10 or 7, does the amount rise again after certain period of time? Because you cannot deduct it and show the balance point for lifetime.. So let say in a week there is no offence, the point should increase back to 20.. Anyhow, this kind of system shows we are being treated like a child in school.. And where does those money goes? To reduce accidents, first you must make it compulsory for all car makers and dealers in Malaysia, to fix at least 16″ brake disc rotor so that anybody can stop their car in time if there is an emergency.. Next, you should make it compulsory for all the vehicles on the road to have proper and enough light transmitted via their headlamps and back lights so they can see clear view during night time.. Then, make them to use hydrophobic windshield or at least use liquid such as X-Rain to make the view clearer during raining time.. This will really stop accidents instead of all these nonsense system, because when their points are finished, all will start to drive illegally hehehehe..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
  • So.. are they exempted from accident as well?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
  • hahaha on Sep 15, 2016 at 11:45 am

Why should there be an exemption??
    problem always starts when there is one rule for one group and another one for others. This behaviour is divisive and grossly unfair.

So Datum Azih Muda says as long as drivers speed because some VIP says so makes it right… I don’t know about you but it sounds like she is advocating for certain VIPs to break the law. Does she instruct her drivers to do so?

AES if implemented should apply for all or apply to none. That is my 2cents.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
  • isengard12 on Sep 15, 2016 at 11:49 am

Emergency services such as ambulance, fire trucks should be exempted. But what if the driver of such vehicles misused it during heavy traffic for their own purpose?

Rushing VVIPs to meeting cannot be exempted la. They are public servants and public servants are not VVIP la. Meetings & emergencies are 2 very different things la. Think again Cuepacs!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 0
  • so maybe the minister or director-general are the ones who should get the demerit.

• Anti CO2 on Sep 15, 2016 at 12:04 pm

And TNB, Syabas, Telekom, Power plants… will follow… Asking for exemption for “emergency situation”…

• Michael Chang on Sep 15, 2016 at 12:16 pm

Half the time, the polis bluff. The PDRM is rushing to eat nasi lemak. Many of us have seen this. We have seen polis patrols in the Federal highway with sirens and outriders. Then, you see the same PDRM officers sitting at the kedai kopi enjoying the nasi lemak.

This is the problem in Malaysia. too much of abuse. And they main abuse is by the polis officers themselves and also the Ministers.

Why can’t the Ministers get up early like all of us? Already bad enough they are not taking LRT or MRT as an example to all of us. In London, even full inisters take the London Tube Underground and crap like sardine to go for official meetings at the Houses of Parliament.

In Malaysia, our Ministers are so lazy. Here, they are not only lazy to get up early but they use polis outriders. Very shameful.

Oh, let us not forget about the few Ministers who go around with their own outriders who actually kick peoples cars. I have seen old uncles, die to their old age, slow to turn as their reflexes are slow. The outriders just kicked the old man’s car until got dent. Is the polis going to do something about this?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
  • Horizon Sailor on Sep 15, 2016 at 12:22 pm

Exemption from KEJARA point only for those in police car, fire trucks, ambulance, JPAM mobile unit, and military vehicle only. Other department or ministry driver MUST follow rules and regulation on the road created by JPJ/JKJR when he/she drives an agencies vehicle. You want your driver speeding on the road ? Use traffic police escort laaa dato…

• Scarface on Sep 15, 2016 at 12:33 pm

No exemption please. It is a loophole for abuse. Proof yourself in court and let the judge decide.

• UMW TOYOTA on Sep 15, 2016 at 12:51 pm

driver for hospital lain cerita…. officer rush to meeting lain cerita..that officer should wake up earlier go to work..or take public transport

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
  • Go fly kite on Sep 15, 2016 at 12:54 pm

Ambulance yes, rush minister to meeting, i highly doubt it.
    They should’ve depart earlier just like someone suggested. Avoid traffic jams by coming out earlier – Ku Nan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • common sensor on Sep 15, 2016 at 12:59 pm

stupid, arrogance, and selfish request

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • orang biasa on Sep 15, 2016 at 1:01 pm

Itu system tau itu orang rush for emergency cases? WTH he talking about?! If really true emergency case then kena saman, the driver must provide evidences to proof it, not just talk ask system to differentiate it. Lagi, the government officers exemption from this samam, WTF he talking about? Officers boleh speed di sebab rushing for government events, meeting??! Plan the time and route ahead la! So orang biasa macam CEO rushing for meeting boleh exemption saman?? Because that CEO contribute economy to MY. So one words, don’t care who you are, you speed, kena saman!!!! Easy. Of course except ambulance, bomba, police who in duty.

• MeToo on Sep 15, 2016 at 1:04 pm

Rushing VVIP to shopping at KLCC… or dinner with their family.. also exempted?

• offisial wan on Sep 15, 2016 at 1:05 pm

Ambulance & Police personal should be excluded.
    Politicians should obey the rules like everyone else.
    Why rush to a meeting? Plan early la!!

• Lee Kum Kee on Sep 15, 2016 at 1:13 pm

Its a loophole in the system. Then later all officials will declare they are on duty to escape Kejara, AES. What a joke.

• truthbetold on Sep 15, 2016 at 1:34 pm

the govt ppl must see and suffer the traffic as a consequence of their idiotic decisions….the more privilege they have, the more moronic and ignorant they will be towards the traffic issue on ground level….make them suffer in the jam!

• paparadzi (Member) on Sep 15, 2016 at 1:42 pm

Datuk Azih Muda should be a minister soon, because his level of intelligence is approaching the level of many of our ministers.

• Mikey on Sep 15, 2016 at 2:35 pm

I think the government is trying to push AES through by implementing these controversial system just to “Show” they will summons all & sundry. Who really believe that the authority will summons a politicians, Ambulance/police escort !!

Who is the gov kidding man. There is still no clarifications on who/where/how is the payment going to be collected. Until there is an update, there is nothing to say/talk.

Is the gov short of $$$ &/or the contractor is chasing you for the completion of the contract & $$$ ??! U are not fooling me/us again. If U sincerely want to do it, have an open tender & the Rakyat may just agree with the system.

• Pakulupapito on Sep 15, 2016 at 2:45 pm

All of the guys commenting here doesn’t know that the CEOs and the ministers all have superpowers. Even if they speed up to 300kmh they will not involve in any accident, they will not die. They have magic that prevent their car from colliding with other vehicle and other cars also will not be affected by their speed. Thats why they are exempted from KEJARA. They also can immediately stop even during high speed. There will be absolutely no harm to others even whem they are speeding. Their meetings are also the most important thing in the world, the fate of humanities depend on the meetings.

• Gemok on Sep 15, 2016 at 3:43 pm

HELL NO!

• johnlabu on Sep 15, 2016 at 3:49 pm

How stupid does these people want us to be?

If for official duty, can drive fast. So it’s safe laa actually to drive fast but depends on emergency or official duty? Like that ke?

So if driving fast is safe in those circumstances, why is it that driving fast in other times not safe?

How stupid you want us to be?

• -BigBalls- on Sep 15, 2016 at 3:59 pm

Basically what he is saying is One Law for the ELITE (read government officials, ministers from a certain Party) and another Law for common fools like you and me waiting to be exploited till we are broke!!

-BigBalls-

• Next will be, I am a billionaire. I cannot be summoned.

• Anonymous on Sep 15, 2016 at 5:32 pm

Whats the matter with cuepacs…? The system capture the car and its plate in motion… the official govt car is not registered to its driver… what excuse is there for the need for doule standards…? Everyone should adhere to the speed limit.

• Mikey on Sep 15, 2016 at 5:37 pm

You said it well bro. Now I know why U call yourself BigBalls bcos U got guts to call a spade a spade. Cheers …

• Ootai on Sep 15, 2016 at 5:53 pm

1st class infra, 3rd class mentality. Always want special this, special that, exempt this, free that. No wonder these servants become the laughing stock. Then, the grey areas. The official and non-official but using all public monies.

• few weeks later, you see “minister’s” cars speeding pass speed trap like nothing going to happen, because their cars are whitelisted thanks to makan suap data entry clerk.
    already know got meeting then don’t need to arrive late, just come an hour early like decent human being.

• Death on Sep 15, 2016 at 9:40 pm

Death gets no exemption
    Who is going to exempt the passenger of the car you just crashed into and killed?

• Alex Chong on Sep 15, 2016 at 11:17 pm

i thought AES issue citation to the vehicle owner, isn’t it? So… lets say the ambulance caught in AES and eventually the citation will be issued to the ambulance’s owner. The so call driver have no harm at all ma. Same with the ministers driver. The minister will sit on their own car with a driver driving it… unless you are telling me all minister car is owned by the driver, ah mat, or all ambulance is owned by the ambulance driver instead…

• Mikey on Sep 17, 2016 at 11:23 am

Alex, U hit the issue at hand spot on. There is actually nothing to talk here. Cuepacs should be addressing if AES is legit & how the gov is collecting the summons $$$. Sad to say, this is another project by our gov without open tender. They are putting the cart B4 the horse.

• trollmaster3000 on Sep 15, 2016 at 11:17 pm

please exempt every single citizen of this country as well.. as we all have official businesses that we need to attend to.. just leave those AES cameras as a place to take selfies..

• Let it be la. Driver drives the car. The car belong to politician. No harm for driver’s point. Let those Tan Sri/ Dato’ Sri pay for the system la. After all they might only drive on Sunday to to golf club.

• abu kassim on Sep 19, 2016 at 11:06 am

dah tau lambat pegi meeting.keluar awal.ini meeting jam 2pm keluar ofis 1.45pm.pastu nk mintak kebenaran bawak laju tanpa sebarang tindakan saman had laju.kalau cmtu, aku pon nak.gaji menteri rakyat bayar.patut layanan kurang dr rakyat.sebab rakyat bos kepada menteri.

PAHAM MENTERI!!