Click to enlarge Kejara penalty details

In a report by The Sun Daily, the new Kejara demerit points system and an improved version of the Awareness Automated Safety System (AWAS) is expected to be implemented by the Government this year.

According to Transport Minister Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai, both systems will come into effect once they have received the Cabinet’s approval. “We will implement the AWAS and Kejara system together,” he said, although no expected starting date was revealed.

He added that these systems are related to amendments made to the Road Transport Act 1987, which was tabled back in May. Its enforcement however, was postponed due to technical problems, delaying the implementation of the aforementioned systems.

On a separate matter, ‘Ops Bersepadu’, which was launched by Liow, will be ongoing from June 29 until July 13. During the nationwide operation, bus drivers will be required to undergo urine tests, and enforcement officers will also carry out spot checks on buses.

Additionally, speed limits on federal roads will be reduced from 90 km/h to 80 km/h while the maximum speed for state roads will be dropped to from 80 km/h to 70 km/h. Motorists are also advised to not use their mobile phones while driving, and to obey the traffic rules.