PLUS issues response to R&R “extra charges” claim – LJT penalty curbs toll transit card manipulation

Bahaya menggunakan lebuhraya PLUS Gurun Pendang sekarang.Aku di denda 9.40 sen dan bayaran Tol 3.00 sahaja tapi di cas…

Posted by Damar Wulan on Saturday, 8 October 2016

PLUS has come out to answer accusations that it had “punished” a highway user for “spending too much time” at a Gurun R&R, saying that the reason behind the additional charges is likely the ‘Long Journey Time’ (LJT) penalty.

The penalty has been in place for some time, in order to punish individuals who abuse its transit ticketing system. According to the highway concessionaire, among the tactics used to trick the system include switching, keeping and manipulating the transit cards. Records also indicate that the number of such cases is increasing every year.

The LJT penalty may apply to motorists who exceed the duration of the trip from an entry toll plaza to another toll plaza in a closed toll system (where users are required to take a transit card when entering a highway, and returning it while making the payment at the exit toll plaza).

highway9

As an example, the journey following a certain speed between the Gurun and Pendang toll plazas ideally will take 30 minutes. To this time, 138 minutes will be added in order to account for the possibility that the highway user stops over at the Gurun R&R. If users exit at the Pendang toll plaza exceeding the allotted time, the LJT penalty will apply if they can’t provide a reasonable excuse/evidence.

The duration of the journey is determined based on a set formula and calculation (following a certain speed), and PLUS will also use its record of all incidents (accidents, traffic jam, maintenance works) that could cause highway users to exceed the predetermined travel time. Toll booth operators will take into account all these information before deciding if the LJT penalty is applicable.

If the LJT penalty has already been paid, PLUS will pay back the amount of the penalty if the user can present proof later on. Furthermore, those who operate stores and stalls at R&R areas will be exempted from the penalty due to their working hours.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard's strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments express frustration and skepticism towards PLUS's "extra charges" and penalty system, viewing them as unfair and exploitative. Several commenters highlight that charges for overstaying or resting at R&Rs are unreasonable, especially when highway delays or emergencies occur. Many feel the system unfairly penalizes genuine users without clear signage or warnings, and some criticize the lack of compensation for traffic congestion or delays caused by PLUS’s inefficiencies. There are concerns about system manipulation, with suggestions for CCTV proof or fairer practices. Overall, sentiments are negative, with accusations of unfair profit-making, lack of transparency, and poor customer service, emphasizing that the toll system should better accommodate real travel circumstances.

• ben yap on Oct 12, 2016 at 1:27 pm

plus trying to extort money la….. all these penalty is just excuses. show statistics how many cheating cases.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
    • The penalty is not new. There also a hotel along the highway if you can remember. If you show that you stay at the Plus hotel inside. There will be no penalty. This guy bikin kecoh saja.

• Bapak ali on Oct 13, 2016 at 6:01 pm

It’s the duty of PLUS to prove that the user is guilty, not the duty of the user to prove himself innocent.

• Lanjiaotiao on Oct 12, 2016 at 1:28 pm

Aikkss..ramai yg sangkut kat highway 10jam masa balik raya ko buat X tau jer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 5
    • “PLUS will also use its record of all incidents (accidents, traffic jam, maintenance works) that could cause highway users to exceed the predetermined travel time.”

Did you read, at all?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
  • Medic on Oct 12, 2016 at 1:29 pm

I feel sleepy, parked my car to sleep off for 3 hours and i am going to be charged for that? Defeats the purpose of R&R

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 1
  • sardin on Oct 12, 2016 at 1:42 pm

Very unfair and stupid ignorance by an organization already highly charging toll cost to customers. At the end of the day, they charge first then let people suffer to get things settled through reasoning and justification? More buang masa and stress to get back rm9?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 0
  • PlainBS on Oct 12, 2016 at 1:46 pm

This is stupid and unacceptable

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 0
  • Plus should also have speeding charge for endangering other Plus users, if a vehicle reach the exit point too fast. Can easily be calculated by distance / time. A vehicle that covers 200km in 1 hour had definitely been speeding.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 10
  • Bloody monopoly mentality. Loop sided way of treating your customers. If we were delayed due to PLUS ineffectiveness of handling the volume of traffic or road works or any other obstacle that have direct impact to our nature of business, shouldn’t we be able to be compensate?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 0
  • This PLUS mooted the idea years back and created an uproar among the public. Now they quietly implement this stupid rule.

So to you that feeling tired on the road, don’t pull aside at R&R to nap. Must die die drive out to avoid penalty. Same goes to those that are sakit perut and hungry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 0
  • cupin on Oct 12, 2016 at 1:51 pm

this is like “guilty until proven innocent”. what kind of system is this. If thee is any loophole in their system, they should fix their system and not simply assuming others are at fault

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 0
    • David Yong on Oct 13, 2016 at 6:17 pm

Bad business practice. Consumers are taken to be either stupid or complacent. Credit cards, cable TV… they forced their products on you and unless you tell them you don’t want it, it will mean you are accepting their services…. you can’t just have the attitude of “who cares, I didn’t ask for it. That’s how they are expecting you to behave… who has the time to waste calling them up and going thru the button-pressing games and listening to their stupid adverts.

• Keta merah on Oct 12, 2016 at 2:00 pm

Insanity at highest level.

• UMW TOYOTA on Oct 12, 2016 at 2:04 pm

i drive avanza with children 6months old..keep muntah2 bcoz of lousy rear suspension..also want penalty me meh…then govt should set limit of underspeed of 120kmh like in germany..ppl who drive below 120 will kena saman

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • Have you kena penalty before by Plus? I bet you not even when you drive your Avanza.

• Malaysia boleh la, apa tak boleh

• Mikey on Oct 12, 2016 at 2:12 pm

If the transit cards can be manipulated, it is the problem of the operator. Why punish the genuine users ! Plus is NOT solving the problem. They are punishing the poor Rakyat for their poor system.

If you cannot solve the problem, you better give up. The Rakyat are not your Cash machine where you can Milk without justification.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 0
  • yapyw on Oct 12, 2016 at 2:27 pm

On the other hand, after entering highway and got stuck in traffic jam and thus delaying journey, will PLUS stand up and at least refund the toll charge to the highway user for Inefficiency i.e. selling a Service that does not correspond to what is touted?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 0
  • if using cash (which causing jammed) maybe can talk to the operator. but if using TnG or Smart Tag, then we ourselves need to pay extra attention. causing trouble…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Chandrasegaran on Oct 12, 2016 at 2:51 pm

This is daylight robbery. There was no indication anywhere that there is such penalty upon entering the highway. What is this country coming to ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
  • Black Dog on Oct 12, 2016 at 2:52 pm

So if we are sleepy while driving, we can’t simply take a nap which is what the police always advice us to do?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • we need to us gopro taking video us taking nap.

• Susukotak on Oct 12, 2016 at 2:58 pm

bodoh.. mana kpdnkk.ni patut kena jadi kes. apa kejadah ada masa mcm tu. kalu lebih 24 jam tu betul la.mcmana kalu ada kemalangan. balik raya yg pasti sesak teruk. kereta yang kemalangan tuan dia mati, sistem tu boleh ubah tak? masa nak rebat tak boleh ubah sistem bila nak.amim duit orang senang jer kan?

• Go Tribunal court.

• Holofanboi on Oct 12, 2016 at 3:08 pm

Ohhhh…. That explains how I got the insane rm42 charge by tng at damansara as I used the wrong card at two different tolls. (I brought my tng card so my staff wont need to bear the toll charges for that day, but forgot that he used his card at the first entry). Had to go the plus office to get a refund and adjustment of both our tng cards as the timestamps were totally out of whack. Hassle free refund though.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
  • 4G63T DSM on Oct 12, 2016 at 3:32 pm

I would like PLUS to pay me back when I was stuck in traffic for 5 hours (normal time 2.5hrs).

How does that sound?

Penalising a user for spending too much time in an R&R is preposterous and unethical. What’s the RnR suppose to be be for then?

What about the RnRs with short stop overnight Hotels?

And if we get surcharged, we have to hassle ourselves to go to your centre to argue our case? Hamburg.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 1
  • rapid on Oct 12, 2016 at 3:39 pm

out was PDG= Pendang, in (M) was 999 … was it actually no info for entry toll plaza resulting the penalty charges??

• naChe on Oct 12, 2016 at 3:43 pm

Should impose fine to those spend less time in highway (equal to speeding).

• Farhanatan on Oct 12, 2016 at 4:54 pm

Apa jadah?
    What if i suddenly feel very tired and decided to sleep for a couple of hours b4 continuing my journey?
    You have cctv at every entry. Just key in the plate number to double check la.
    penyamun!

• Farhanatan on Oct 12, 2016 at 4:55 pm

Wat de hel?
    What if i suddenly feel very tired and decided to sleep for a couple of hours b4 continuing my journey?
    You have cctv at every entry. Just key in the plate number to double check la.
    penyamun!

• So if i felt asleep more than the regulated time am i gonna get penalty too? Plus should prove that the ticket is being missused, not using this short cut way to just punish road user & then ask the user to provide proof of innocent.

• torque on Oct 12, 2016 at 5:21 pm

Sikit2 saman, sikit2 denda, sikit2 GST, sikit2 naik harga…mengalahkan YAHUDI!!

• TopsyBoXyTurvy on Oct 12, 2016 at 5:33 pm

Touch and Go also the same?

• Ridiculous punishing their customers with this late fine. There are some RnR’s people go just to lepak and makan. If they want to fine their customers, at least put a warning somewhere about the punishment.

• Arun Keong on Oct 12, 2016 at 8:09 pm

Bodoh bebal mana yg buat rules ni? So kalau penat tak boleh berhenti napping kat rnr kah? Kena drive jugak biar accident kah? Kenapa org tolol mcm ni dilahirkan ke dunia dan jadi CEO glc pula?

• paanjang16 on Oct 12, 2016 at 8:13 pm

Not sure about now, but last time (many years ago) I could enter the Subang toll early in the morning, head towards the Sg. Buloh Overhead Bridge R&R, park my car at the Sg. Buloh R&R Northbound then car pool with my other colleagues in a separate company car to go up North. Sometimes my car will be in the Sg. Buloh R&R for more than 10 hours. Once the day is done we will head down towards the Sg. Buloh R&R Southbound and I will walk across towards my car on the Northbound side. Then exit the Sg. Buloh toll and make a U-turn towards Subang.

Thankfully never get any saman or extra charge from Plus. Must be due to the fact that I do it once every 2 weeks since the meeting is every fortnight. Also it is the same car that entered the system and the same car that leaves the system.

• Zaide on Oct 12, 2016 at 8:28 pm

SAMM juga ingin mencadangkan supaya pihak Plus pula dikenakan penalti sekiranya berlaku kesesakkan di lebuh raya kendalian Plus.

Formulanya, perjalanan dari tol Seremban ke tol Sg Besi hanya mengambil masa hanya 40 minit, jika berlaku kesesakkan hingga menyebabkan kelewatan lebih 50 peratus dari masa perjalanan sebenar, iaitu lewat sehingga perjalanan menjadi lebih sejam, maka pihak Plus wajar memberikan diskaun di antara 20 peratus -50 peratus bergantung kepada masa kelewatan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
    • Susukotak on Oct 13, 2016 at 5:56 pm

tambah lg.. jika halaju kawasan dilalu 110km/j tapi hanya boleh gerak 30km/j, plus kena insert dalam kad RM10

• How can you punished them if it’s not even an offence?

• TreeHugger on Oct 12, 2016 at 9:28 pm

Then why road safety campaign encourages sleepy drivers to stop at R&R to take a nap before continuing journey after enough rest? What if the car engine overheated until you have to drive slowly and stop at every rest area to cool the engine down (happened to me before). The point is there are countless possibilities of why highway users cannot travel at normal pace. Why PLUS never publish this stupid rules and penalties? It should be posted on big signs at all rest area. How is this fair when there is long journey time penalty but there is no long traffic jam toll discount given? No matter what the situation is, PLUS always win. To make it worst every few years toll price increases. How is that fair?

• wan jamak on Oct 12, 2016 at 10:00 pm

in malaysia, capitalist is the boss. government is slave. cannot do anything. when complaint by people, the most they can say ” kita tidak ada kuasa untuk bla..bla..bla..”

malaysia boleh.

• Plus always cheating, fine you on the spot but refund you have to wait for 6 months that how they work better toll free no problem. Plus have collected tolls for 24years already still not enough.

• So if highway jam and we miss our appointment, can we charge them hardship fee?

• Kalau saya baca resit tol ialah…kadar tol 9.40
    Bermakna kenaikan tol. …tidak ada pun tertulis caj penalti LJT.

PLUS sesuka hati menaikkan kadar tol…

• not a good answer at all. unacceptable hideous term. if say that i got headache, overslept at R&R coz of too tired? macam masuk penjara pula nak kena bagi reason then claim back the money.

• Dont call R&R. Call R&P.. Rest & Pay.. i dont think it make sense.. those restaurant business will drop.. how they calculate? We dont know.. so who dare to stay long to eat?

• It make sense. Lepas makan then blah. So other people have table and chair to eat.

• 80 20 rule boys n gals. Even if this rules applies, I.e of all the people who uses the toll highways, and 20% of them are suppose to be the baddies who are hell bent on cheating n not paying their toll fees, I bet PLUS has already put this into account when they did their business case or business plan or business study or whatever. PLUS wont lose money because of this. PLUS will just make ‘less’ profit. Wake up guys! This is just how things work around here. The ‘smart’ politicians will say…..’Nobody is putting a gun to your head forcing you to use our beautiful highways. Kalau tak nak guna highway, guna trunk roads laa. Kalau tak suka dok di sini, pi la dok negara lain yang tarak highway!’ I humbly rest my case.

• matyone on Oct 13, 2016 at 8:56 am

kalau plus ada penalti sbb pengguna lebuhraya menggunakan lebih masa, maka jika jalan jem pengguna harus mendapat refund toll dan diberi pampasan kerana tempoh terlampau lama.
    jangan naikkan tol untuk kurangkan kesesakan.
    aku sebagai warga malas berfikir pon mampu berfikir demikian

• Public yang kena on Oct 13, 2016 at 9:52 am

How come because of some bad people, the public users kena hukum. This is so unfair.

• Leonardo on Oct 13, 2016 at 3:37 pm

I think it is best for PLUS to put up a BIG reminder in red fonts so that RnR users are aware of the charges for ‘overstaying’. And this also applies to the smaller toilet stopovers along the highways too.

• Aqski on Oct 13, 2016 at 5:34 pm

Buat apa komplain komplain jangan guna lebuhraya jika tak happy macam apa yang mentari kita selalu cakap. Komplain adalah utk orang biasa, tgk mentari kita tak penuh komplain sebab tak payah bayar toll rakyat yang tolong bayarkan. Faham faham lah rakyat Malaysia, tak happy jgn guna. Guna lebuhraya adalah utk rihatkan diri dalam jam, kalau betul nak cepat dan murah pakailah jalan biasa lebih cepat. Tak payah kena saman jika pakai jalan tepi untuk memotong. He he he. Pakai lebuhraya masuk jalan emergency kena saman klu ada yg jadi hero tangkap gambar utk JPJ. JPJ duduk goyang kaki dpt untung dan rakyat hero pulak jadi bodoh busy tangkap gbr dari ambil perhatian apabila memandu. Salah salah sendiri yg kena saman sebab pakai HP camera ambil gbr apabila sedang memandu. Ha Ha Ha. Anyway all the best on your complain, the government don’t care what they know is only $$$ always settle the problem.

• burbaum on Oct 14, 2016 at 12:01 am

I did a little reading.as ‘M’ is for masuk tol=toll entry and ‘K’ is keluar=toll exit.
    Stated there M -999 (which is error code) and K – PDG (for Pendang). The guy stated he came in from gurun (which is GRN),but how come 999 code is appear? The RM9.40 charge is actually from farthest possible toll entry which is Sungai Dua (exactly RM9.40).
    So, he is charged not for ‘overstay’, but the toll card is read as error. He can demand for cctv record for his rights.

• Question on Oct 14, 2016 at 9:41 am

Does this apply to T&G as well or just TUNAI?