PLUS urged to revise Long Journey Time charge

MEX-Highway-01

Last week, Malaysians became aware of the Long Journey Time (LJT) penalty that PLUS charges for “overstaying” on the highway. Motorist Damar Wulan posted his RM9.40 fine receipt online, received for exceeding the time limit when travelling from Gurun to Pendang, and it went viral.

It has been around for some time, the LJT, and PLUS says that it’s to prevent highway users from “tricking the system”. According to the highway concessionaire, among the tactics used are switching, keeping and manipulating the transit cards. Its records indicate that the number of such cases is increasing every year.

PLUS explained that for instance, the journey between Gurun and Pendang toll plazas will ideally take 30 minutes. The system adds on 138 minutes to the 30 minutes to take into account the possibility of the motorist using the Gurun R&R. PLUS will note all incidents (accidents, traffic jam, maintenance works) that could cause highway users to exceed the allotted time, and toll booth operators will take into account the info before deciding if the LJT penalty is imposed.

Following the incident and PLUS’ explanation, groups are urging the company to fine tune the LJT charge by placing emphasis on safety and adequate rest needed by highway users, Bernama reports.

highway

Kuala Lumpur Consumer Safety Association (PKP) president Samsudin Mohamad Fauzi said PLUS should be more concerned about the safety and comfort of its highway users by not imposing any other charges as consumers were left with fewer choices but to use the PLUS highway.

“We expressed concern that this situation will only lead to reckless driving by users who spent too much time at the rest and service (R&R) areas just to avoid the fine which will not only endanger themselves but other road users as well,” he said in a statement to national news agency.

Samsudin also suggested that PLUS look for other ways to resolve the toll transit card manipulation problem instead of taking the easy way out by imposing the fine which would pose a burden to users. He added that PLUS should also give rebates to motorists who are stuck in congestion caused by maintenance work.

The head of the little known NGO then urged the Malaysian Highway Authority (LLM) to immediately order PLUS to abort the imposition of the LJT fine.

In any case, it’s not a mainstream problem affecting most normal travellers. One hundred and sixty eight minutes (nearly three hours) allocation for a 30 minute journey on a day with clear traffic sounds fair, no? What do you think?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Madeyy on Oct 17, 2016 at 11:47 am

PLUS setiap tahun untung 1.5Billion.

Upgrade to Sistem Plate number recognition.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 1
    • Yokohama24 on Oct 17, 2016 at 12:56 pm

Totally agree! DO something like the ERP system instead of using traditional tolls which cause more jams and traffic slow down.
      The money used to construct a traditional toll plaza could be invested in an ERP system. Which could fix your LJT problem and most importantly saves the motoroist’s time !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
      • Operation Manager on Oct 17, 2016 at 7:30 pm

Mr.Minister advise take a snap at R&R when felt sleepy/tired to save life, apparently punish them with extra charges… what mr.mai mr.trade mr.transport this is…

• Operation Manager on Oct 17, 2016 at 8:47 pm

Solve the root cause, fix the system that was setup approved by yourself… don’t punish those innocents…

• Kucing Kurap on Oct 17, 2016 at 1:32 pm

this is outright cheating. If you see the guys ticket, there was no words of penalty charge. So, many assume this is the toll rate.

So many of us have to stop to rest. Infact, Government themselves told us, if tired, to park the car and sleep to rest. Remember the Government told us to do this.

So, what happens when you rest over 2 hours or oversleep? You kena fine. And they are so sneaky, they don’t write the fine amount on the ticket.

I estimate, toll operators make MILLIONS of illegal money PER DAY using this method.

Somemore questions… what happens if I have a flat and I am an old man and I take few hours to change my tayar?

What if I am old man and I need to stop every stop and go kencing? Each stop, I take 30 minutes to walk to the toilet because I am old. How? Our bodoh toll toilets are so far away.

My atuk actually takes 1 hour to walk and kencing in the toilet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 2
      • uberian on Oct 17, 2016 at 3:32 pm

well said!!! clap clap clap…. remember to register as voter… general election is coming and only our votes can make the change

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • paparadzi (Member) on Oct 17, 2016 at 11:59 am

At the very least these charges and fines should be publicized so that the public will have knowledge of the existence of these fines and take appropriate action. Ideally, the principle of “innocent until proven guilty” should be upheld and no fines should be imposed, especially by private companies such as PLUS.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • i still dont get the “ticket manipulation” thing..

why is it wrong to rest at rnr? they rather people drive sleepy?

• R and R on Oct 17, 2016 at 12:55 pm

A exit KL wants to go to skudai. B exit seremban, wants to go ipoh. They both stop RR Seremban, wait for each other to swap tickets. So they will pay less. Famous among lorry drivers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
      • Johnny begood on Oct 17, 2016 at 2:48 pm

One heading south. The other heading north. So, tell me which Seremban r&r can they both be able to meet and do the swap?

• Er.. I thought RR is separated at 2 sides. How can they meet?

• Mikey on Oct 17, 2016 at 4:53 pm

R & R is trying to justify its stupidity hence pushing the blame to Rakyat.

• malaysian driver on Oct 17, 2016 at 4:56 pm

There are certain R&R that features “restoran jambatan”, which itself is a very big facilities with petrol stations and a full length of shopping kiosks and food court build on the bridge overseeing the highway. Such R&R can be access frm both sides of the road, both north bound and south bound. Most notable ones are the Sg Buloh and Ayer Keroh R&R.

Those ppl intended to cheat the system will meet each other at such bridge.

• Mikey on Oct 17, 2016 at 9:12 pm

To Bro malaysian driver, I have heard of such “CONGREGATION” B4. If you/me & some Plus users(presumably Lorry drivers) know, Why is Plus closing their eyes ?!

It also means this system by Plus has a problem. Plus should solve the problem & not penalize those innocent users, don’t you think so ?!

Does the end justify the means ?!

• Fizbiscuit on Oct 17, 2016 at 12:00 pm

PLUS, do not impose the fine on the motorist who is not doing anything wrong due to the loophole in your payment system. Fix it yourself!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Therealmaserati on Oct 17, 2016 at 12:05 pm

Simple solution. Every card given out need to be tagged to a number plate. When exit, that card needs to match the number plate.

• Mikey on Oct 17, 2016 at 12:10 pm

The word R & R means Rest & Relax. It was conceived for tired body/soul to Rest hence Safety was the priority.

It has since turn to profit minded without due regard to the safety of its customers. Bloody blood suckers PLUS.

• yuzIN on Oct 17, 2016 at 12:30 pm

At some of RnR there are Highway Hotels. What happen to the people that decided to check in to the hotel and exceed the time given. Are they will be charged the LJT penalty too?

• At these RnR hotels, u must check in ur card iinm. IF forget, then most probably will kena LJT fine but submit ur hotel resit can claim back the denda.

• heybadigol (Member) on Oct 17, 2016 at 12:51 pm

How about those who are tired and sleep in their car or at the hotel at the rest areas?

• Maniam on Oct 17, 2016 at 1:21 pm

X bleh rehat brader..Ngantuk tido pon kenna terus pandu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
      • Mikey on Oct 18, 2016 at 9:34 am

Betul kata Maniam. Bila dah accident, Plus kata apasal tak Rehat/Relax ?!

• Susukotak on Oct 17, 2016 at 1:32 pm

I suggest all this already in the consession agreement. So, should be Madey & Semi V ideas.

• Ah Kow on Oct 17, 2016 at 1:59 pm

“…PLUS should also give rebates to motorists who are stuck in congestion caused by maintenance work.”

This suggestion makes a lot of sense. People pay to use an expressway to get to their destination faster. It is not fair to charge us when it takes up more time due to their maintenance work. I think every toll concessionaires should take note on this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • jay8393 on Oct 17, 2016 at 2:32 pm

Soon PLUS officials will quote what some of our “genius” ministers once said:

“Don’t like, don’t use the highway. Use alternative roads.”

• Yes.. If you don’t like the rule, don’t use the highway at all.

• I really don’t get the furore over this. I can remember seeing the notice “Tiket ini sah selama 24 jam” on the ticket in the 90s – so why are people not aware of the fine for exceeding the allotted time on the highway?

Seriously, everything also need to spoonfed, these Malaysians.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
    • jay8393 on Oct 17, 2016 at 4:30 pm

“Tiket ini sah selama 24 jam”

But now it’s not even 24 hours they are talking about here. Not even 6 hours.

• ben yap on Oct 17, 2016 at 3:25 pm

PLUS is greedy. as long as the person exit within 24 hours, i see no problem with that.

again, mana statistics of cheaters?

• ahmad on Oct 17, 2016 at 3:44 pm

PLUS! Please find a solution to the issue.
    Penalty shows distrust… we are your customers! Do away with that!!!

• KNB~LPP on Oct 17, 2016 at 3:54 pm

If PLUS allowed to practice such thing, the motorists also have the right sue or seek compensation from PLUS if motorists unable to arrive to a destination in a stipulated time due to trafic congestion or any other reasons.

• palehotak on Oct 17, 2016 at 5:12 pm

so better drive lorry. lorry drivers can stay longer.

• Franky on Oct 17, 2016 at 5:41 pm

No wonder during raya when I drove home late at nite and sleep at thr rnr the toll was higher? I though that was the normal price. Rupanye I lne saman gor the things I dont know. WTF Plus?!

• i believe in abolishing the PLUS Toll ….they have being operating for more than 20 years, and the toll rate have being increase by 100%++ from the time i start to use until now. Their net profit is 40% of their revenue. What kind of business offer this kind of profit? Now they want to increase further and impose fine to anyone who spend more time on the highway route. Who in their right mind want to spend more time on the highway?

• evolva on Oct 18, 2016 at 1:20 pm

This is plain stupid of PLUS. Few weeks ago, I came across a person at R&R, Tapah if not mistaken when I wanted to use the toilet there. After I’m done and walking towards my car, the owner parked beside my car approached me and asked for my help saying his cars battery was flat out and needed my help to jump start his car. I decided to gladly help him. He was very happy and told me he has been waiting at R&R for two hours straight seeking for someone who is willing to help him. A few person before me that he approached earlier didn’t want to help him. Basically what I wanted to convey here is this poor guy could’ve missed an important event, already wasted so much time waiting for help, got rejected few times, feeling helpless and finally he might even got fined again by PLUS for so-called “DELIBERATE” excessive time spent in R&R.

How can PLUS consider this to be a fair system?

• Semi-Value (Member) on Oct 19, 2016 at 12:30 am

just remove the price display…