Malaysia to use rolling barriers to increase safety

pdt1_03pdt1_04

The safety rolling barrier is set to be used on Malaysia’s roads identified to have a high risk of accidents, according to The Sun. Works minister Datuk Seri Fadillah Yusof said that the barrier, built by South Korean firm ETI, has already been installed on certain roads around Subang as part of a two-year pilot project.

“The government is always looking at the latest technologies that can ensure safety of road users, as outlined in the Construction Industry Transformation Plan,” he said. As the name suggests, the barrier uses rollers to convert energy from a collision into rotational motion, reducing the risk of fatalities.

Fadillah also talked about the development of the ASEAN highway network, saying that Malaysia was discussing with neighbouring countries regarding the project.

Pan-Borneo-Highway

“We regularly interact with the other ASEAN members. For the Pan Borneo project, we discussed with Kalimantan, Indonesia on how to link both countries,” he said. “We are currently discussing with Brunei about upgrading the quality of their roads aside from the links with Malaysia, Indonesia and Thailand.”

Meanwhile, Fadillah said that his ministry has ordered its engineers to monitor the condition of roads affected by high tide. “They will monitor and provide assistance in any way aside from alerting road users to use alternative routes,” he said.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Gahmen prihatin, rakyat selamat..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
    • OMG…good idea, and also good income flow to their pocket…hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • hailthepurist on Oct 18, 2016 at 12:51 pm

another reason to explain the toll hikes..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 6
    • zamer on Oct 18, 2016 at 1:54 pm

no such thing.
      when you hit barrier, they will claim the damages from your insurance company..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
      • Do u really think they won’t use that as an excuse for toll hike?
        Claims from d insurance company just extra pocket money for them

• Luqman on Oct 20, 2016 at 1:06 pm

Very obvious that u dont know how toll rates work. Toll rates are agreed against the concessionaires when the concession agreement is signed – before the highway is even built. Many of the highway concessionaires are listed or publishing their audited accounts, have a look how much government pays them when each and every of u passes the toll because the current toll rate is below the agreed rate in the old agreement. They cant simply hike the rates just because they feel they want to.

• Jimmy on Oct 18, 2016 at 12:54 pm

What kind of scientific proofs do you have?

What kind of end points / results do you expect, under which kind of circumstances?

What about local suitability?

Have you studied the cost-effectiveness?

Have you studied your current financial & economic status?

Just to mention a few.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 38
    • You read the article or not? “built by South Korean firm ETI, has already been installed on certain roads around Subang as part of a two-year pilot project” – all your question will be answer when the pilot project from the pilot project.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 9
  • thepolygonal on Oct 18, 2016 at 1:19 pm

Good initiative by the… wait what is this? It’s supposed to be a good thing so lets give them a hand. *clap * clap *clap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • It’s all nice and dandy to announce new projects but take a look when driving around, how much of the present crash barriers are maintained in good condition?

There is no point trying to introduce something new when you’re not going to properly maintain it anyway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
    • install safety feature but not properly maintain will just probably make the device not function when accident occur. but who knows this time with this new device require minimal maintanance and high durability. But anyway, you have a good point…

install but not maintain is just not right.

• concerned1 on Oct 18, 2016 at 1:58 pm

he’s hinting at the country’s finances since budget is this month end

• concerned on Oct 18, 2016 at 1:56 pm

he is pointing the country’s cash balance after awarding so many projects

• Mikey on Oct 18, 2016 at 2:17 pm

You are right Tay, our gov only know how to build(without quality control) but do not know how to maintain. Our Parliament house is a very good example which BOCOR too often to mention.

Our new airport is another good example, the cost will end up more than the original sum due to cost overrun/VO. Not that the original contract sum is not profitable or what. This is another get rich scheme by/for cronies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • no maintenance later still become a peace of metal…

• azomic on Oct 18, 2016 at 3:40 pm

ni motorcyclist accident sangkut celah roller. jadi roti canai on the other side.

• Ben Yap on Oct 18, 2016 at 4:08 pm

make all car manufacturers mandatory to have 2 airbags, ABS, EBD and VSC.

this is a better solution.

• ahmad on Oct 18, 2016 at 5:54 pm

tahniah.. langkah bijak untuk elak kemalangan lebih teruk dgn adanya ‘rolling barriers’.
    dah macam-macam aspek keselamatan cuba diterapkan.. drpd kenderaan yg canggih dgn ABD EBD VSC dan sebagainya hingga ke di atas jalan raya..
    tp mentaliti pemandu rakyat kita sukar dijangka.. kerana rata-rata mereka secara automatik akan berubah apabila memegang stereng kereta..

• What about roads with many potholes? There are road with patch on top of the older patch, and some road patch is worse than before being patch…

• Joholan on Oct 19, 2016 at 8:09 am

I m not an engineer..and i don think its useful…
    Don everytime think tat we hv a lot of money to spend, what Tay mention also the mentainance ? Korean created this , they try salling to us.. korean make the money ….are we really want to buy this ?????

• emmm…have government test the effectiveness of this new rolling barrier? government should hit their car to these barrier at the speed 110 km/h. If no serious damage to the car and those minister not dead then it is effective!

• Walao on Oct 19, 2016 at 5:59 pm

After 20+ years of playing Tamiya, I cant believe now only we use this technology..

• Das Auto on Oct 19, 2016 at 10:08 pm

We would not have to use this if WE all drives sensibly. Don’t bash guys, one day this thing might save our life.