Nissan’s equity stake in Mitsubishi Motors might lead to jointly-developed Navara and Triton, new Lancer

Nissan’s purchase of a 34% equity stake in Mitsubishi Motors Corporation (MMC) is expected to see the two companies cooperating on a wide-ranging synergy of programmes, one of which could possibly be the co-development of next-generation pick-up models, CarAdvice reports. This was intimated by newly-appointed Nissan co-CEO Hiroto Saikawa in a conference call with global media last week.

“Many companies face the challenge of ageing models. It happened to Nissan, it happened to Mitsubishi. I cannot give you a full assessment of Mitsubishi right now. I can tell you that, we will see this in a two-way benefit. Segments of joint platform development could include pick-up trucks in the ASEAN market, where MMC has particular expertise,” he explained during the call.

The publication deliberates that the latter point suggests that the next Navara and Triton, due around 2021, may share a common architecture, one created in tandem. There was also the suggestion that Mitsubishi could use the Renault-Nissan Alliance’s CMF modular architecture platform to revive its stagnant passenger car line-up, with the possibility of a new Lancer coming about.

2016 mitsu lancer ES 1

The CMF underpins the likes of the Renault Megane, Nissan Pulsar and Qashqai, among others, and the incorporation of MMC into the Renault-Nissan Alliance presumably means that the platform should become available for Mitsubishi’s use. “The existing platform can be exchanged whenever it will make significant sense,” Saikawa said, without elaborating if there were indeed plans for a new Lancer.

It was previously mentioned that the companies will explore joint purchasing in a bid to reduce costs as well as look into aspects of joint plant localisation and technology sharing, and that the sharing will also extend to common vehicle platforms.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Oct 24, 2016 at 3:31 pm

Good, do whatever it takes to beat Toyota

• Aragon on Oct 24, 2016 at 3:40 pm

So we’ll see Sylphy Lancer after this?

• azrai on Oct 24, 2016 at 3:41 pm

Proton X mau join ker ??

• According to basher logic, Mesidis, Mitsu & Nissan must koleos shop shop now cuz they rojak rebadged Navarra. If they no kolos shop, then they r BN lapdog. Jangan persoal basher logic.

#BasherLogicTakdeLogic

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
  • redidiot on Oct 24, 2016 at 4:21 pm

hey, if it works for the VW group, i hope this works too coz in the end us consumers win, yeah!

• Mikey on Oct 24, 2016 at 4:32 pm

It’s a smart move to team/merge with other car company when you are faced with strong competition at home or worldwide.

This is one way to stay afloat/expand & to share technical know-how with its existing tested/acceptable components & platform. With this partnership, the development cost will be cheaper due to economic of scale.

Take a look at VW group which have many sub-brands at its stable which I am not going to mention here. In this essence, M’sia P1 will benefits from any partnership if it want to survive.

• TeksiDying on Oct 24, 2016 at 5:43 pm

They should build Lancer+GTR

• policeman on Oct 24, 2016 at 5:51 pm

Let Renault design the car, Nissan make the engine, and Proton the suspension. Mitsubishi, you just sit at a corner and learn.

• mitsubishi gto 3000? Lol…..

wishful thinking…..