Proton Iriz not suitable for Uber duty, says taxi firm

irizpix-bajet-2017-iriz-rm4k-offer

The government’s idea of encouraging aspiring ride-sharing drivers with a RM4,000 rebate to purchase a Proton Iriz is being questioned by a taxi firm, the Malay Mail Online reports. According to Big Blue Taxi Services’ owner Datuk Shamsubahrin Ismail, the Proton hatchback is unsuitable to serve passengers given its size.

“The Iriz is not designed to be a taxi. It’s too small. How are they supposed to fit people in?” he said, adding that the decision to go with the defined vehicle looked to be one meant to aid the ailing national carmaker. He also questioned how the government will ensure that the car will end up being used for ride-hailing services when Uber and Grab car drivers aren’t registered with the government. “It’s not a viable policy,” he stated.

In the Malaysian Budget 2017 announcement last Friday, prime minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak had announced that the government is encouraging the B40 group, especially BR1M recipients, to increase their income by joining ride-sharing app companies such as Uber and Grab.

In his speech, the PM said that the B40 group (bottom 40% earners in Malaysia) could earn up to an additional RM1,500 a month for part-time drivers working between 10 to 40 hours per week, and RM4,300 for those working more than 40 hours per week.

Big-Blue-Taxi-01

Alongside the direct endorsement of the ride-sharing service was the announcement that BR1M recipients without a car can now purchase a Proton Iriz more easily, with the the downpayment made using BR1M and an additional rebate of RM4,000 to be provided.

Shamsubahrin said that the announcement was a clear indicator of the government’s intention to wipe out the taxi industry in favour of ride-sharing companies. “You said you want to transform the taxi industry, but we saw nothing from the budget that was helpful to the taxi industry. Instead you promoted the people to drive Uber,” he said.

The government also stated it will be handing out 12,000 individual permits to qualified taxi drivers – as well as a RM5,000 grant to help them buy a new car – to free them from the “pajak” system, where drivers have to pay an operator rent for the use of a taxi. Shamsubahrin said that the initiative was laudable, but wondered what would happen to the remaining taxi drivers.

He said the policies appeared to be half-baked. “There is nothing concrete. If they want to really help and allow us to compete at a level playing field they should regulate Uber’s fares as well,” he said.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• passion on Oct 24, 2016 at 10:55 am

its uber not taxi. i dont think uber drivers carry 4 to 5 people all the time with luggages. its usually 1 or 2 people the most.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 170 Thumb down 2
    • Albert on Oct 24, 2016 at 2:59 pm

Today,I was caught in a horrific traffic jam.It was not due to an accident.
      It was due to a bunch of 30 STUPID RED CABBIES LINING UP At a busstop to pick passengers.
      They would smoke their cigars and wait 45 minutes to pick a passenger, to send them maybe 2 km away.
      BODOH,BODOH,BODOH…………..DUMBHEADS ALWAYS LOOKING FOR HANDOUTS AND EASYWAY OUT.
      bY 3PM,THEY WILL SAY”LETIH,Bang…mari kita pergi minum teh tarik,makan roti telur.
      This is the culture of dudes who rely on easy handouts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 3
    • oh mak lu cina on Oct 24, 2016 at 3:10 pm

Yes, but at least select a sedan vs a hatchback. If you already have a hatchback to do uber work then ok, now you purposely buy a car to do uber work, a sedan is preferred.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
      • bolehkot on Oct 26, 2016 at 4:34 am

u could pay extra few bucks to choose the uber cars you want if not mistaken..that would solve the problem

• Nay..Iswara, Wira & Saga BLM more suitable. huhuhhhuhu

• devilmok on Oct 24, 2016 at 9:15 pm

there is uberX and uberXL for that

• Why the press keep on giving this idiot a space in their media? Wasted. Hehe

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 144 Thumb down 1
    • Ms Check Pick on Oct 24, 2016 at 1:18 pm

I always took grab or uber for point A to B alone and i believe many of us about the same too.Or 2-3 person per trip.Why an idiotic excuse all of us not suitable to fix in an iriz? U think I’m the size of a hippo? If im going to airport i’ll chose bigger size lah.I’m not that stupid.But still with an iriz i can fix my luggage into the boot.I’m not going to airport every single day too!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 1
      • Ms Check Pick on Oct 24, 2016 at 1:24 pm

But his taxi drivers took passengers for granted for many years ago! If they can’t survive be a taxi drive,go to uber for the change! This will improve their living much better! And u Samsu Bah Rain can close shop faster doing other business.We don’t need your lousy service anymore!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 0
      • As if taxi’s can fit airport luggage! With their stupid NGV tanks. For the purpose of decreasing fuel expenditure, but passengers saw none of those savings. Fares still remained/increased over time. What’s more passengers are burdened with decrease luggage space, forcing a family of 3 to take an MPV taxi cab to get to/from the airport! This Botak wants to bemoan that an Iriz can’t accommodate passengers well?! His entire industry have been doing just that for the past few years.

• thomasNOTMYNAME on Oct 24, 2016 at 11:08 am

I have to agreed with Datuk Shamsubahrin Ismail. He really concern with all the taxi driver. What will happen to them? I BAGI YOU IBU JARI!!! KALAU TAK ADA DUIT TUTUP KEDAI JE. KENAPA NAK MINTAK DUIT RAKYAT!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 4
    • Ex VGM staff on Oct 24, 2016 at 12:03 pm

Government is offering 12,000 individual taxi permits to taxi drivers. So they can be self-employed. And can become grab drivers.

Kindly read again to understand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 0
      • DonkeyKong on Oct 24, 2016 at 1:18 pm

Govt is transforming the taxi industry by allowing taxi drivers to be self-employed Uber drivers that own their own cars, rather than being slaves to blood-sucking taxi permit companies that keep taxi drivers in a vicious cycle of poverty and debt.

This Datuk is one of those slave cartel owners and of course he’s making noise because idiots like him will have to fold their operations. Good times are over, no more free stuff from the failed policies of Tun M.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 1
        • PM is transforming the economic landscape, yet we have a significant number of pipu who want more of the same 22 years. Mindception!

• Lee Kum Kee on Oct 24, 2016 at 11:12 am

Seems Datuk S is totally being left in the dark on the gov’t plan to revoke the taxi system. Goodbye Datuk, guess we won’t be seeing you anytime soon. Your days are numbered.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 0
  • start a fight on Oct 24, 2016 at 11:18 am

Iriz is bigger than Saga. no?

not everyone carry big luggage everywhere. that could be the market for taxi driver

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
    • Waiting on Oct 24, 2016 at 12:09 pm

Yes it is bigger than saga taxi which half of it already occupied with the NGV tank.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
    • 4G63T DSM on Oct 24, 2016 at 12:20 pm

It takes even more luggage than a decrepit old Saga with an NGV tank in the trunk.

• Yokohama24 on Oct 24, 2016 at 11:20 am

yo Encik Botak, isn’t obvious that even Jib gor is rubbing faeces on your shiny botak head? Wake up and do something to your taxis. Don’t sit there and complain banyak banyak.

You’re right Iriz is not design to be a taxi, but Uber is not taxi:) Unlike taxi Uber think for its customers, that’s why they use Iriz which has VSC that your taxis doesn’t have. They care for the customers’ safety :)

Conclusion, my advice to you is to go back and wash all the faeces on your botak head and improve your taxi services instead of making illogical hooligan samseng comments. :)

Peace!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 2
    • oh mak lu cina on Oct 24, 2016 at 3:14 pm

If you are thinking of VSC kicking in, the driver is already driving too fast!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 12
      • Add A Comment on Oct 25, 2016 at 8:45 am

Obviously you know nothing about car. And you should not even come to paultan.org. VSC will kick in even if you drive slow but the car slipped due to slippery surface or a slightly flooded sruface or a sudden maneuver to void a stupid driver like you that cut into others space/lane without looking.

oh mak lu melayu
        – I Have Just Added A Comment –

• JB_KIA on Oct 24, 2016 at 11:29 am

anyone cares what he said?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 0
    • Jimmy on Oct 24, 2016 at 12:56 pm

Wise people, no.
      But, wise people may have to pro-actively think, and respond appropriately to, what ordinary people might react following any junk comments. Some comments are deliberately written.

He is Buddha/Jesus/God, ya?

Is he chairman of Uber?

And finally, do we always really have to make the grey less obvious become truly black/white extremely obvious?

• Nope.

• abah_kita on Oct 24, 2016 at 11:44 am

the existing taxi services will one day will be a thing of the past unless they conform to the needs of the dynamic lifestyle.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • mr_em on Oct 24, 2016 at 11:46 am

paultan.org can do the public a big favour by NOT giving this guy any more airtime, webtime, internet time etc…
    and no more recycled photos of the guy please…

thanks

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 0
    • Fatah on Oct 24, 2016 at 12:20 pm

His face is quite annoying. He looks like Dr Evil from Austin Powers, but Dr Evil is much more cuter and likeable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
    • Maimunah on Oct 24, 2016 at 1:00 pm

Pls paultan… don’t ever give him space again…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Golfer on Oct 24, 2016 at 11:56 am

I rather be in an Iriz rather than a rundown Saga or Persona. Furthermore, if I need boot space there is Uber XL for that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • Eric phan on Oct 24, 2016 at 12:46 pm

You all are right. Its only si botak is confused with uber as taxi. And to have a bigger car for luggage usually we opt for premium taxi and uber can offer uber XL. I think someine need to educate the bald guy before he makes a fool of himself in media. As if we dont have been the spot light of the world especially hot dog n root beer.oh and mata kuching

• Obviously Iriz isn’t big enough to be a taxi. That’s why it is used as Uber, not a bloody taxi (pls differentiate). Most people who use Uber don’t have luggage with them, they are only moving around town i.e. for lunch break, so Iriz is adequate for their need.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 0
    • Pak Atan on Oct 24, 2016 at 12:44 pm

You give a good point. 10.marks for you

• Uber accomodates for all transport needs:

UberX = normal
      UberXL = large parties/cargo
      UberSelect = fancy
      UberBlack = super fancy

Figures that this Botak wouldn’t have a clue, one of the main reasons why his industry is getting replaced. keep up with the times, old man!

• applegreen on Oct 24, 2016 at 11:58 am

I wanna go to office, why should I take BIG blue taxi and pay 20cent per 100 metre? Better I choose and ride Iriz. It is cheaper bro

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
  • seancorr (Member) on Oct 24, 2016 at 12:08 pm

STFU la then why are normal taxi companies using the tiny Saga? The Myvi is one of the most used vehicles for Uber and Grab and it works so no issue using Iriz.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
  • Mikey on Oct 24, 2016 at 12:37 pm

Ha ha ha, good question asked by Datuk Shamsubahrin Ismail. Am pretty sure PM did not foresee someone will question his approval or reason’s when he approved the 4k rebate to purchase a Proton Iriz. Now how PM ??!

• Actually the rebate for buying Iriz is not because you want to become UBER or Grab driver. It just the PM statement if you want to get extra income, the 4k rebate if you are paying with BR1M.

• TokGuru on Oct 24, 2016 at 12:37 pm

Who hates this face, please thumbs up….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 4
  • omegle on Oct 24, 2016 at 12:51 pm

datuk, why don’t you worry about your business, and let the uber driver worry about whether the iriz can fit how many people.

• KenJi on Oct 24, 2016 at 1:00 pm

Hopefully after this govt will introduce bajaj and tut tut, and totally wipe out the taxi industry. Adios datuk

• Deadpool on Oct 24, 2016 at 1:04 pm

stop putting this botak sickening face can ah? making people sick. see what he said?

“The government also stated it will be handing out 12,000 individual permits to qualified taxi drivers – as well as a RM5,000 grant to help them buy a new car – to free them from the “pajak” system, where drivers have to pay an operator rent for the use of a taxi. Shamsubahrin said that the initiative was laudable, but wondered what would happen to the remaining taxi drivers.”

obviously for his own good, for his own renting licence business. if u wanna do good to taxi drivers free them from renting licence la diao. talk ‘coke’ he is number one. banyak banyak reasons tapi rambut tak ada, no balls juga, apa dia mahu? pisang mahu? slapped by jib not enough wanna slap by us?

• camtakpro on Oct 24, 2016 at 1:13 pm

lol. Now all his ancient Sagas cannot rent out.

• Melvin Tan on Oct 24, 2016 at 1:23 pm

Uber and Grabcar is the best thing to happen in this age of comfort transportation and fast, so less time wasted in this fast moving world,also its the best that the government has done to legalised it, this is the only thing I support….

• Also GrabTaxi, which are way better then those normal bloodsucking taxi service.

• panjang on Oct 24, 2016 at 1:50 pm

He point 1 finger out but found that thousand are pointed back at him.
    If your business cant survive after so many years of incentive and assist then something is wrong with the way you run it,stop blaming others and requesting this and that.
    Why are you worried if the car is used as uber/grab or not? Most of Malaysian dont care,the owner are paying for the monthly installment and maintenance.Unlike taxi which enjoy subsidy to buy stuff like tires. Dont u actually see this is a very smart move where the gomen just ‘fire and forget’ unlike u guys taxi firm,asking this and that every now and then.

• MondayBlues on Oct 24, 2016 at 2:52 pm

Abang Jib is doing something to transform poor life of taxi drivers who strive daily to earn , and you nicely makan separuh from that. You are not concerned about the taxi drivers , you concerned about your own stomach. New system is half baked ? You already bake them full , dont worry they can adapt to new changes.

• Bernard on Oct 24, 2016 at 3:05 pm

Iriz is big enough to accommodate 4 adults in comfort . What is this baldy talking about??

• TeksiDying on Oct 24, 2016 at 5:36 pm

Your junk wira teksi is suitable?

• hihihuhunyotnyotahah on Oct 24, 2016 at 5:47 pm

semak pulak aku tengok mamat ni. kau jelah jadi PM senang.

• metertaxi icu on Oct 24, 2016 at 5:52 pm

In 5 year u need to pay more 100 000 rm.drb proton, bank flower insuran first party, grabuber application, petrol, mekanik,spare part.may be sure saman, toll. Grabuber dryver u dapat leteh dan penat,cigarette,roti canai telor,teh tarik mee goreng tom yam and iris scrap grab car cos technology change to elektrik car.actually yong man menyampah this job kecuali dajal rba.kecualilah grabuber fare price same like singapore.

• Silver on Oct 24, 2016 at 8:39 pm

Sad to say taxi driver around the golden triangle still refuse to use the meter.. Gave taxi another try last week … Taxi driver decided that it was to jam and refuse to use the meter … Decided to use uber at the end in front of his face … So all I care taxi driver deserve it …old habits are hard to die

• Yes it is nt suitable indeed. Memang kereta saga petak tu sesuai “sgt” jd teksi But minority of u (taxi drivers) yg prngai cm apa, xleh nk tolak ansur psang meter, tetapkan harga sesuka hati,amik route jauh2..jgn tnya knp kami snggup naik uber drpd teksi. Cermin diri baru cakp balik kat kami ni pmndu uber.

• Bruce on Oct 24, 2016 at 11:27 pm

Iriz needs to be geared up better to make a good taxi… Btw, can the botak get a hair job?

• Then why you bising? Just let them be… later people will come back to taxi

• Entertained Reader on Oct 25, 2016 at 9:22 am

Man I really hope this si botak A.K.A bootleg Dr. Evil will read all the comments here about him. Everything is so funny and entertaining. Maybe that’s why paultan keeps on posting stuff about him with the same old stupid looking picture, just to read funny comments eh

• Ben Yap on Oct 25, 2016 at 9:48 am

whenever people see Datuk Shamsubahrin Ismail face, the more people hate him.

People also know Datuk Shamsubahrin Ismail act stupidly because he wants to revive his ailing taxi industry, getting more and more desperate.

• Robert Parameswaran S/O Kuppusamy on Oct 26, 2016 at 11:24 am

Is it just me, or isn’t there another picture of this joker in the Bernama archive?