Cars with push start stolen using new device – report

mercedesbenz_eclass_w213_int-61

Owners of cars with push-button start may have to worry about a new threat. Automotive News reports that these vehicles may be vulnerable to being stolen, no thanks to a new device that allows thieves to break into them and drive away without leaving traditional evidence such as broken glass.

The United States’ National Insurance Crime Bureau (NICB) said that it has obtained and tested the so-called “mystery device,” which comes in two pieces and works by picking up a signal from the vehicle’s key fob from a distance of up to 10 feet. The signal is then transferred to a smaller “relay box,” which can be used to unlock and start the vehicle.

Spokesperson Roger Morris said that the NICB tested the system with used car retailer CarMax, on 35 makes and models in various locations – including new and used car dealerships – in the Chicago area over a period of two weeks. They found that they was able to unlock 19 of those vehicles, and drive away in 18.

Morris added that it is impossible to ascertain the amount of vehicles that may have been stolen using these devices, as no evidence is left behind. He also said that both owners and law enforcement often have no idea that such technology exists, although the bureau first noted the rise in its use in 2014.

“[The] scary part is that there’s no warning or explanation for the owner,” said NICB CEO Joe Wehrle in a statement. “Unless someone catches the crime on a security camera, there’s no way for the owner or the police to really know what happened. Many times, they think the vehicle has been towed.”

Morris also mentioned the need for carmakers to be diligent in making sure they adapt their technology to counter these devices, adding that thieves will certainly do the same in response. “It’s a matter of tug of war between manufacturers and thieves,” he said.

Meanwhile, Morris advised vehicle owners to keep valuable items out of their vehicles, keep their key fobs on their person at all times and park in secure or crowded areas whenever possible. He also said that police and vehicle owners should be on the look out for any suspicious activity near parked cars.

However, completely preventing thefts may be impossible, as long as the thief is within the radius to pick up the key fob’s signal, he said. “If these thieves know the device works on a certain make and model, I don’t know there’s a lot you can do about it right now.”

The bureau said that it obtained the device “via a third-party security expert from an overseas company” that provides “manufacturers and other anti-theft organizations the ability to test the vulnerability of various vehicles’ systems.”

Morris added that while thieves can purchase these devices from a variety of sources, one with computer technology skills could build one on their own, which makes cracking down on the makers all the more difficult. “The manufacturers have made tremendous strides with their technology, but now they have to adapt and develop countermeasures as threats like this surface,” said NICB COO Jim Schweitzer.

Alliance of Automobile Manufacturers spokesperson Wade Newton said that cybersecurity remains one of the “top priorities” for the automotive industry. “Some automakers may include a series of redundant systems and mechanisms as one approach to enhancing vehicle safety,” he said in a statement.

“Our initial understanding of this particular tool is that it is a high-technology device similar to the old-fashioned threat of a lock pick or ‘slim jim.’ Obviously, any of these devices in the wrong hands can be used for wrongdoing. The industry does not condone the release of information or the sale of equipment that would further facilitate those seeking to break into vehicles.”

As vehicles become more and more connected, concerns over hacking and other cybersecurity issues have become a hot topic in recent years, and combating these devices could be the latest battle between carmakers and criminals in the modern era.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• STEERING LOCK

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 1
    • Ex VGM staff on Dec 08, 2016 at 2:29 pm

Enough to delay thieves for minutes, and the risk of getting caught is higher. They can overcome it, but they would not want to take the risk.

• Kunta a/l Kinte on Dec 08, 2016 at 4:39 pm

Aiyaa, have all the gadgets also no point lah. In Malaysia, thieves just bring tow truck. You can have cobra GPS lah or whatever nonsense, thief bring tow truck, semua selesai.

Our PDRM also all tidur. Instead of random checking tow trucks towing cars, they are ll busy having nasi lemak at the stall for a FEW hours relaxing.

This is why car thefts are rampant. Every minute a car gets stolen in Malaysia. And half of them are done by tow trucks.

People have even had tow trucks pulling car out from P1 or P2 car parks and yet, the polis cannot even find the thief.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 27
        • Catherine on Dec 08, 2016 at 11:12 pm

there are more and more got stolen because we always has somebody or something to blame therefore always choose easy way out never take up the initiative to take proper precaution, or to learn how to combat the problems. There are anti theft security system which can be installed in multiple location of a vehicle gives tow away alert, unauthorized driver alerts and power disconnect alert.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
    • hailthepurist on Dec 08, 2016 at 3:48 pm

bad news..

• And add a pedal lock too.

• Jimmy on Dec 08, 2016 at 1:34 pm

Will this apply to security systems involving gated guarded communities and supercondos.

If your vehicles are stolen, you pray to Buddha that it is never found forever.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 12
  • Gaviny on Dec 08, 2016 at 1:39 pm

That is why I go brothers accessory shop, and buy the old old stock steering or pedal locks. Yes they are easy to defeat but even thieves move ahead and might not carry the same key anymore . So all I need to do is for them to choose between a car with no lock vs one with cheapo old lock. In the end then will choose the easier one always.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
    • Mohd Faiz on Dec 08, 2016 at 4:07 pm

only takes them extra 30seconds to unlock your steering lock, if they like your car color, they will pick it. stop being naive. boy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 21
      • Gaviny on Dec 08, 2016 at 8:21 pm

That extra 30 seconds is an eternity for a car thief, there are at least 10 other cars in the same color. They are opportunists just waiting for the right time right conditions, if lock and still they steal yours then it’s for other reasons they want it and nothing will stop them even with the most expensive system.

The best ones are ‘Aiyah won’t happen to me lah, if they take take lo what can I do’ kind of owners

• armandd on Dec 08, 2016 at 1:53 pm

I use steering lock, gear lock and pedal lock for my old Civic. There have been a few attempts to steal my car, none have succeeded so far.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
  • Mikey on Dec 08, 2016 at 1:59 pm

There is never a fail proof alarm system that can prevent your vehicle from stolen.

As a consumer/driver, U are to add some kind of device preferably a non electronic device like a steering/gear or foot-paddle lock to make it difficult to steal.

Lastly, make sure your car insurance is NOT expired els the Chinese said “Sek Chee Kei” meaning “Tanggung Sendiri” or Park at your own Risk.

• Farhanatan on Dec 08, 2016 at 2:29 pm

Fingerprint puah start? Atleast they have to spend some time faking a print.

• hondaman on Dec 08, 2016 at 3:39 pm

Got one case a few years back, the thieves cut the finger of the owner. you can google it.

• thepolygonal on Dec 08, 2016 at 4:00 pm

Yes… fingerprint door and start is best… with the physical key backup and alarm. To make it worst, since most new cars are a bit techky these days, put in a password to key in too.

• They had that before. Until the thief chop owner finger to get away with the car. True story for S-Class owner long time ago.

• orang biasa on Dec 08, 2016 at 5:35 pm

The thieve can find your fingerprint inside your car door / dashboard / steering… like we see at CSI.

• Ben Yap on Dec 08, 2016 at 2:38 pm

the safest is to remove the steering wheel just like what Mr. Bean did.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 92 Thumb down 1
    • Mohd Faiz on Dec 08, 2016 at 4:09 pm

just dismantle the car battery and bring to work with u. only 5min to install it back.

• Before the thief comes to you while you are assembling your battery, gives a lovely dosage of high voltage / lovely sharp point tool to your body, and gets the keys and whalla~

• marieta on Dec 09, 2016 at 4:54 pm

Then dismantle the engine teruslah, bring in with you…

• Lim Ann Hock on Dec 08, 2016 at 2:43 pm

Make habit of using steering lock will help. I will get my bezza advance this week which come with push start button. Thank you Paul Tan for this timely article. Appreciated!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
    • Mohd Faiz on Dec 08, 2016 at 4:10 pm

Puik! no thief want waste time on a bezza!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 7
    • Not sure if thief will spend so much for the special tools just for a Bezza.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • To add, should also have a latch and PADLOCK to ensure the door can not be opened even if car door is unlocked… could be a fun thing to put on all the doors of your spanking new car.

• Catherine on Dec 08, 2016 at 11:15 pm

consider a security system which can install in multiple location and give unauthorized driver identification notification and tow away alert, or power disconnect notification.

• On the other note, did you get RM3,200 discount for your Bezza? If not, that’s too bad!

• mr bean style….. just cabut the steering masuk beg

• khairul on Dec 08, 2016 at 4:16 pm

to be honest, removable steering wheels are sold in Malaysia.. my cousin modify his perodua alza steering, it is like plug and ride…Once you want to go anywhere, just remove the steering and put it in your bagpack.. I am quit surprised with that

• kadajawi (Member) on Dec 10, 2016 at 4:03 am

But then you have no airbag. ;)

Also, not convenient. Just don’t get a car with keyless go, that’s the dangerous bit. Thieves exploit the keyless go portion. PT is misleading here. As soon as you have to push a button on the remote control to unlock the car (which isn’t that inconvenient!) you are safe.

• Momotaro on Dec 09, 2016 at 9:00 am

Thieves have momo steering wheel ready for that..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Retro School on Dec 08, 2016 at 3:43 pm

Just get a manual transmission car that uses a key plus an old school steering lock instead of push start nonsense unless you are a girl or a guy with a diva personality. Just like if you want a computer that is literally free of viruses and hang ups, just use a robust Linux OS instead of flimsy Windows and IOS.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
    • Yong Tau Fu on Dec 09, 2016 at 11:56 pm

Some people think retro is all good.. try said that to menopause and limp d**k

• but in some cases they use tow truck to steal the car like what happened to my colleague

• modify the steering like F1, take out when no use LOL….

• Abdullah Mahmud on Dec 10, 2016 at 11:03 am

It’s actually practical like mr bean did, we could install a quick release steering wheel which can be purchase at selected accessories shops

• To add to the Mr Bean steering wheel removal, also add latch and PADLOCK to the door(s) – independent security that is electronics safe… Be sure use ABLOY or CHUBB type locks… cheapo locks cannot pass.

• Good Riddance Red Taxi on Dec 08, 2016 at 6:26 pm

take bus.

Problem solved.

• Just get a GPS tracker and hide it somewhere. There are so many in the market. Put a SIM card and that’s all. Monthly around RM30

• sohhai on Dec 08, 2016 at 11:04 pm

While our technology keeps improving….the bad guys will also improve their technology know how right?

• kadajawi (Member) on Dec 09, 2016 at 4:03 am

Doesn’t this require keyless go to work? From the description in the article it should.

AFAIK this system works by exploiting keyless go. With keyless go, the car continuously sends a short range signal (think few meters). When the key fob is close, it recognizes the signal and pushes the button on the key fob. That signal is just like with ordinary key fob and has a pretty long range, maybe 100 meters or so. All that this device does is extend the short range signal from the car to the second box, which is placed closer to the key fob by the thief. A couple of meters, maybe a bit more. That triggers the key fob, which sends the signal to open the car.

Obviously this means the car needs keyless go, otherwise it can’t be stolen. Cars with push start button, but no keyless go are safe!

To protect cars with keyless go: There are special boxes/purses/cases which block the keyless go signal. Or you find another way to disable the feature. That way you are safe.

Btw.: Told you so. There’s a reason why I don’t want keyless go.

• Dedsec on Dec 09, 2016 at 6:25 am

Wow… This is like Watchdogs in real life

• azrai on Dec 09, 2016 at 8:34 am

The safest way is to use ‘sejuk’ car with low RV like KIA, Renault,Chana, Cherry,Great Wall, Citroen..Confirm not stolen one.

• Buy car insurance in full value. Get stolen then claim will do. No worries.

• I’ve always thought the best defense against car theft (nothing is 100% of course) would be to buy makes/models that aren’t popular..that way there would be no point to salvage the parts/steal the whole car.

the likes of Proton/Perodua/Honda etc are so popular around town a thief doesn’t need to try to dispose the whole stolen car, they can break it down and sell off the parts to dodgy workshops by the end of the day…in Malaysia’s context, get a Citroen for example, and they wouldn’t bother to begin with.

it’s the same situation in many other countries..thieves are more likely to target the most popular makes/models.

again, nothing is 100% but a little bit of preventive measures here and there go a long way.