Perodua Axia facelift new details – new tailgate handle, projector headlights for Standard, higher prices

Perodua has released new details on the upcoming Perodua Axia facelift – the cheapest car in Malaysia, now open for booking, gets a number of new features in addition to the new VVT-i engine.

Prices are now more expensive across the board, although much of that can be attributed to the fact that metallic paint, previously a RM400 extra, now costs the same as solid paint. The Standard E manual is now priced at RM24,900, up to RM463 more than before, while the Standard G manual now retails at RM34,900, a premium of up to RM2,773. The Standard G auto is priced at RM36,900, a jump of up to RM1,773.

Meanwhile, the SE manual is now up to RM1,263 more expensive than before at RM37,900, and the auto version costs up to RM263 more (although it’s RM137 cheaper than the previous price for metallic paint) at RM39,900. The Advance auto is priced at RM42,900, up to RM933 more expensive than before. All prices are on-the-road inclusive of insurance and a five-year/150,000 km warranty.

We’ve read about the new front grille, bumper and headlight design for the SE and Advance models, but the Standard E and G models will also come with a redesigned front end, and will feature projector headlights for the first time instead of the previous reflector items for these models.

Also new is a tailgate handle (pre-facelift models only had an external keyhole), as well as chrome door handles and “spiral design” alloy wheels for the SE and Advance – the latter are likely the same 14-inch units as the ones on the Bezza Advance. Inside, the Standard models gain a new fabric seat upholstery, while the Standard G also benefits from a new USB port for the built-in head unit.

Meanwhile, the SE and Advance models receive keyless entry, push-button start and a new touchscreen infotainment system with “Smart Link” screen mirroring for Android phones (previous SE had a simple radio/CD head unit with Bluetooth), all of which were derived from the Bezza. Other new features include a revised instrument cluster design with white illumination, plus new fabric upholstery for the SE.

Under the bonnet, the 1.0 litre three-cylinder engine now gets VVT-i variable valve timing, meaning it now has the same 1KR-VE mill as the base Bezza Standard G. Outputs are up 1 hp and 1 Nm to 67 hp at 6,000 rpm and 91 Nm at 4,400 rpm, sent to the front wheels via the same five-speed manual and four-speed automatic gearbox options as before.

Perodua claims a fuel consumption figure of up to 22.5 km per litre with the manual, up from the current car’s 21.6 km/l and just a hair under the Bezza with the 1.0 litre engine and manual gearbox.

The paint palette has also seen some changes – the Standard G’s Lemongrass Green and Cherry Blossom hues have been discontinued, leaving just Ivory White, Glittering Silver, Ebony Black and Midnight Blue; SE and Advance variants retain their unique Sunflower Yellow and Lava Red options.

Last but not least, Perodua has also revealed prices for the yet-to-be-unveiled GearUp accessories packages for the facelifted Axia, which now costs RM1,600 for the Elegant Body Kit, RM600 for the Elegant Seat Covers and RM2,000 for the Elegant Package with the bodykit and door visors.

One thing to note is that the Sporty Body Kit for the SE and Advance models has been dropped, which raises the possibility that the previously disparate Standard models and the sportier SE and Advance variants will have a unified look, similar to the Bezza range.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Cmon la.new handle also need to highlight ka?no other new feature to highlight issit?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 135 Thumb down 6
    • Still hate Axia hovering at fast lane slowly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
      • No need soft-loan 1.5b on Jan 14, 2017 at 7:43 pm

This improved Axia will continue to become the Iriz killer and surely get another 100,000 sales again this year as usual. By far truly the game changer car of the decade after Myvi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 32
        • RoadRage (Member) on Jan 15, 2017 at 1:05 am

hahaha im laughing my ass off seeing this much enthusiasm over a damn small car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
        • karam singh on Jan 15, 2017 at 4:12 am

Nope, its not as safe as IRIZ
          thats all.
          Safety 1st ,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
      • Kunta Kinte on Jan 15, 2017 at 10:18 am

One question we must ask is this. The original Daihatsu got VSC and ABS.

Why the car come to Malaysia the VSC and ABS is taken out? Are we the dumping ground for the Japanese to give us non safe cars when the Japs themselves sell the same car with VSC and ABS in Japan?

Or did Perodua aka UMW take out the VSC to untung more at the expense of our lives?

The same with the Toyota Passo. All got VSC. Why our Myvi got no VSC as standard?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 1
        • kanazai2001 on Jan 15, 2017 at 5:36 pm

yea… ABS… co$t 1.5k…

http://paultan.org/2015/12/14/perodua-axia-g-gets-abs-in-2016-price-up-rm1500/

• No need ask why, just banned the brand Perodua and UMW Toyota

• That’s y KL jammed every where

• Kunta Durian Story on Jan 13, 2017 at 11:01 pm

Later the ex proton operator will come here to shoot P1 again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
    • Kunta Kinte on Jan 14, 2017 at 8:34 am

Malaysians don’t want tailgate handle and projector lights lah.

What people want is ABS and VSC. The Axia does not have both. ABS safety was a legal requirement in Europe in the early 2003. Then, it was compulsory for all cars to have ABS.

This means, the Axia does not even have the basic safety requirement for cars established 15 years ago.

2ndly, no point doing facelift when your car got no VSC. Since 2005, every car in Europe and USA must have VSC compulsorily.

Malaysian Government already said, having VSC in Malaysia can prevent 45% of all deaths and accidents in a given year.

So if there are say 10,000 deaths in a year, if all cars had VSC, we can save 4500 lives

With this in mind, don’t you think it is better to give VSC and ABS to the rakyat then give a talegate handle?

Fascade / facelift and outer look will not pay my hospital bills if I meet an accident due to lack of VSC

When SJMC or Pantai or KPJ ask me to pay RM500k for my hospital bill, your tailgate handle is not as important as VSC lah.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 103 Thumb down 11
      • Albert on Jan 15, 2017 at 1:22 pm

Today,Star advert…Proton giving rebates even for Persona and Saga ,just launched 3 months earlier.WE can understand why they rebate so much…cos tak laku.
        Perodua…is number 1 in sales and yet increase price! In the name of facelifts and dropping ringgit!! What a big fat lie.
        People who make money….become greedier.
        So rakyat…..u wanna support the mad price increase?
        IT is getting INSANE TO BUY NEW CARS.
        Just go for preowned…3-5 years old units.
        There are 500,000 units to choose from.
        Buy smart…loans should not control u.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 25
        • kzm (Member) on Jan 15, 2017 at 3:20 pm

Don’t u read p2 oso give rebate? The article is available at paultan

http://paultan.org/2017/01/05/perodua-cny-promo-offers-up-to-rm3888-ang-pow/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
        • Ruslan Bahari on Jan 16, 2017 at 2:42 pm

You’re either dumb, or can’t read. Maybe both.

This is the festive season, and ALL carmakers give rebate. By your own logic, even BMW and Mercedes and also PERODUA are all tak laku.

• Kunta Kinte on Jan 14, 2017 at 8:39 am

Oh btw, what happened to the promise that car prices going to be reduced by 30%? Here, even national car also going higher in price.

Perodua is majority owned by EPF, Khazanah and UMW. All GLC. So, Perodua belongs to the gomen. If gomen wants to reduce Perodua prices, they can if they want to to honour their 30% price reduction promise to the rakyat.

Malaysians are suffering now. Even a RM1000 hike to a poor man means a lot. Come on gomen, your leaders lead a luxurious life whilst the rakyat suffer.

Minyak also naik eventhough we are oil producing country.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 97 Thumb down 24
      • kzm (Member) on Jan 15, 2017 at 3:22 pm

if u want to lie lie properly lor..
        UMW Corporation Sdn Bhd 38%, MBM Resources Berhad 20%, Daihatsu Motor Co. Ltd 20%, PNB Equity Resource Corporation Sdn Berhad 10%, Daihatsu (Malaysia) Sdn Bhd 5%, Mitsui & Co. Ltd 4.2% and Mitsui & Co. (Asia Pacific) Pte Ltd 2.8%.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 42
        • Mikey on Jan 15, 2017 at 9:02 pm

And PNB hold 40.8%. EPF 15.8%, BIF 5.72% & total floating of UMW in KLSE is about 44.6%. The rest are hold by other investors.

What Kunta said has merits. In short, our Gov do have “controlling” stakes if U go into details.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 23
        • Kunta Kinte on Jan 16, 2017 at 9:51 am

poor kzm, cannot understand how companies use proxies and how the companies he mentioned also got GLC holding.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
        • Hussein on Jan 16, 2017 at 9:57 am

at least kunta fights for lower car prices and more safety spec for us. What do you do kzm?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
          • 12yrsold on Jan 16, 2017 at 11:52 am

kzm main agenda is to bash anyone he think he can whack. He think he is IRONMAN.

• No he dun. He just bash all & sundry except kimchi, then uplike his own comments so that his life has meaning.

Bro KZM, Aero, & others r the ones long time advocating MY pipu to see beyond the badge & choose safe but affordable cars (P1, Hyundai-kia, etc). Car price & spec wun change w/o consumer pressure, so buy from brands that advocate safety.

• Kunta fought with hearsays, you like?

• Otak Udang CEng on Jan 14, 2017 at 2:37 pm

I thought falling ringgit is good for Malaysia?

btw, kesian buyers. 90% Axia buyers are low income. That oso Perodua want to hantam

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 2
    • Otak Udang CEng on Jan 14, 2017 at 2:55 pm

We need to find out what is perodua pre tax profit for 2016. If they are making so much of mani, why increase prices?

Last yr Perodua untung banyak

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
      • Faiz Roslan on Jan 15, 2017 at 1:14 am

We rakyat owe every single drop of blood to the gov. It is our purpose of life to wake up every morning and say to ourselves, “today how will I serve the gov?”. But some people rather complain and demand many things. It’s time for change. Time to give the gov 100% victory and mandate to lead us into 2020 and beyond. – Faiz Roslan CEng

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 20
        • Mikey on Jan 15, 2017 at 3:52 pm

“today how will I serve the gov?” – CEng.
          Yeah, U can continue 2 serve your master all U want If U are a SLAVE but don’t equate me & many 2 be like U.

• azrai on Jan 16, 2017 at 9:07 am

In two years time they will come out with another facelift. This time handle for the front bonnet.

• Still ugly…better buy kia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 25
    • why pipu complain about prices going up? To me, it does not matter. Let us help our local car company no matter prices go up.

I don’t mind even paying RM5k more for this Axia cause I believe helping our local car company. Let us help Proton and Perodua anytime instead of buying Jepunis overlord car…Oh wai!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 33
      • Buy local is gud, but know to buy safe local car like Iriz, Saga3, Persona2 or even Biza. axia/myvi is just early afterlife

• Driver on Jan 13, 2017 at 7:32 pm

Walaweiii 42k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
    • Otak Udang CEng on Jan 14, 2017 at 2:38 pm

squeeze the poor more. Perah lagi.

• Otak Udang CEng on Jan 14, 2017 at 2:40 pm

Most poor people go for Standard E Manual…that oso Perodua want to perah.

Most buyers non executive and just kerani oni

• tokmoh. on Jan 13, 2017 at 7:53 pm

G manual increase the most, yet seems to not benefit as much as other variants.

F U P2. Greedy cb squeezing from poor people who can only afford that variant, shame on u.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 5
    • takNakP1 on Jan 14, 2017 at 12:56 pm

it is indeed sad. this could mean the manufacturing cost for auto parts especially the gear box has reduced due to higher auto car demand.

• Donno on Jan 16, 2017 at 6:46 am

G manual increases the most. But se and advance versions no longer have a different look ie different front end to the normal versions. Greedy on all variants actually.

• sarcasm on Jan 13, 2017 at 8:07 pm

Push start button>ESC. Keselamatan Dicapatikan.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 90 Thumb down 2
    • Manifesto jepunis overlord is asal janji RV ada (tapi janji x semestinya ditepati).

• Kunta Katak on Jan 14, 2017 at 10:50 am

I agree that VSC is important. However I remember reading somewhere that Perodua mentioned putting VSC into the current model is not as simple as bolting it on. It requires significant work or redesign of the car which is not possible. Hence this feature can only be available on the Axia replacement model, well, if P2 indeed includes it. If it’s still not included then yes, P2 can be blamed. Anyway, I’m not downplaying VSC, it’s a critical component and should have been thought of when Perodua designed the Axia right from the beginning.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
      • Very hard for me to buy Perodua justification over the VSC thing. The original Daihatsu in Japan come with VSC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • the handle really spoils the look. They should’ve used an electronic switch like in every other hatch… Well I guess they wanted to keep the costs down

• If want to keep cost down, don’t facelift. Wth with this facelist, buyer for this car do care less about the facelift if P2 jack the price for all the mere unnessary things.

• Seems like Bezza Advance is better bargain compared to Axia Advance..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
  • nabill (Member) on Jan 13, 2017 at 8:50 pm

Woah.. New tailgate handle… Who needs VSC now….!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 4
  • roxas on Jan 13, 2017 at 10:11 pm

new handle from kenari ? why so old fashion design.

• Add bit here and there can justify increase price and call it facelift? I guess there r still some dumb MY pipu.

• Tiputipu1Malaysia on Jan 13, 2017 at 10:32 pm

Malaysia’s version of “facelifts” are real joke….
    Chrome handle oso can be considered as facelift??

Then, our infamous kedai abang accesories shop should be called “facelift” shop like this…..

• safety?

• cendol (Member) on Jan 14, 2017 at 9:32 am

Myvi is due to facelift too.

The 123rd time it is being facelifted

• Dei you tell me how many times facelift.
      2005 – 1st gen launch
      2008 – 1st gen facelift
      2011 – 2nd gen launch
      2015 – 2nd gen facelift

• Last facelift was for new paintjob.
        Coming facelift is for new door handles.
        Next facelift is add chrome strip on bumper

• Kunta Katak on Jan 14, 2017 at 10:54 am

HeY guys, it has a back door with a NEW handle!! That is something! Can’t wait any longer. Gonna book it rightaway.

• tkhawk5 on Jan 14, 2017 at 11:28 am

WOW! A new tailgate handle! I’m blown away!

• Mr Been on Jan 14, 2017 at 12:16 pm

Oiii… Mangkuk P2. People wanna vsc not facelift la…. Aiyo… Latuk minta tolong… P2….. Building car, people first mati. Lu beli wa untung lu bawa lu mati.

• seancorr (Member) on Jan 14, 2017 at 1:58 pm

Awesome wei increase of 1hp and 1Nm in engine output means those new Axias can how fly like the rest of the P2 range.

• Yeast Lump on Jan 14, 2017 at 2:42 pm

Will there be any independent testing lab going to test the acclaimed EEV rating using real world test pls.

• at least letak lah 1.3l 1.0 naik genting 4 org memang struggle

• Malulah on Jan 14, 2017 at 5:32 pm

Main highglight feature = new tailgate handle. WOW

I.N.I A.M.A.T M.E.M.A.L.U.K.A.N

• pakcik on Jan 14, 2017 at 8:49 pm

I bet the front looks like a 3rd gen Jazz (GK)

• WTF are they thinking of advertising that ugly a$$ handle.. some more increased price for the cheapest car here. We aren’t suffering enuf?

• Salambangi on Jan 15, 2017 at 5:57 pm

Kunta kinte..you bertanding lah dlm election. Guna lambang kereta dgn no 30…
    Semua orang akan undi awak..awak boleh jadi hero..klu kalah jadi macai red RBA.

• Proton safty tp brg2 asyik2 rosak je x guna dah tahun 2017 proton masih menggunakan teknologi timming belt.. hahahaha perodua is the best