February 2017 fuel prices – petrol and diesel up again!

Well, turns out the fuel price hike rumour was fake after all – the price of RON 95 will not see a 15 sen hike for February 2017. Instead, it will go up by 20 sen. That’s right, confirmed fuel prices have been announced, and they’re even higher than expected.

For the month of February 2017, RON 95 will be priced at RM2.30 per litre (up 20 sen compared to January 2017), RON 97 at RM2.60 per litre (up 20 sen), diesel at RM2.15 per litre (up 10 sen) and Euro 5 diesel at RM2.25 per litre (up 10 sen). Meanwhile, the unregulated Petron RON 100 will be priced at RM3.05 per litre (up 10 sen).

Just to put it all into perspective, RON 95 was priced as low as RM1.70 per litre as recently as September 2016. That’s a massive 60 sen jump in just five months.

Well anyway, Happy Chinese New Year, everyone.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Pengguna Bijak on Jan 31, 2017 at 7:15 pm

Ribu ribu tahniah syukurlah!!!

Yes better buy fuel efficient cars like Hyundai Ioniq or Perodua Axia Bezza!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 87
    • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 139
      • Kunta Kinte on Jan 31, 2017 at 11:22 pm

Wow, a lovely present for all the fanboys. 20 sen! Whatever it is, we are still overpaying the Government by more than RM1 ringgit per litre.

According to global prices, including refining and transportation plus dealer incentive, Ron 95 should only be about RM1.30

We are still overpaying about Rm1 ringgit per litre to the gomen. Per car fills up 40 litres at least 8 times a month. That means each time we fill up, we are overpaying RM40. Per month, we overpay RM40 x 8 times = RM320 ringgit.

Calculate that roughly with 10 million motorist.

Gomen makes BILLIONS of free money every month and yet our universities and hospitals budget has been cut teruk teruk until hospitals also got no medicine

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 89 Thumb down 7
      • Kunta Kinte on Jan 31, 2017 at 11:28 pm

Malaysia already has the HIGHEST car prices in the world. Which means we have already prepaid petrol prices at RM2.70 for the next 20 years.

Pity we Malaysians. Already got the highest car prices in the world, now, double whammy, we have to pay high oil prices.

To the bodohs who say Singapore has the highest car prices, well, compare lah GDP Per Capita of Singapore. Singaporeans earn 10X more than Malaysians. So, when they pay RM5 per litre or SGD200k for a BMW 528i, it is FAR FAR cheaper than what we pay even with COE included.

Remember, Singaporeans earn 10X what Malaysians earn.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 8
      • Kunta Kinte on Jan 31, 2017 at 11:34 pm

OMG OMG. 20 sen means all food prices will shoot up!!!

They have started their lies again. What subsidy? Firstly, let me remind you, for 30 years, the Gomen has been lying to its people that our petrol is subsidised.

Hello, we produce our own oil. What you produce, you don’t buy. So, how can you subsidise something that you do not buy? There is no such thing as subsidy at all. If you grow vegetables at the back of your garden for your own usage, you cannot go around telling people that vegetables that you grow is “subsidized”.

Ask any oil man in the industry and they will tell you, Malaysia has ample oil for the next 100 years and we produce more than enough for local consumption. The problem in Malaysia is that we sell all our high grade oil (known as the sweetest oil in the world) to the rich Arabs. In return, we buy cheap dirty filthy full of sulphur oil from the same Arabs at global prices.

Malaysian high quality oil should be sold at cheap prices for Malaysians. Nearly every single oil producing nation sells their oil at super cheap prices to their rakyat (except UK and Norway). The Sultan of Brunei is a good example. He sells oil at super cheap prices to his rakyat, and the remainder, he sells it globally at global prices.

It is high time that we Malaysians realise that we are being conned for the past 30 years. The oil under our tanah air belongs to each and every one in Malaysia. It is our right to use the oil our own country produces.

Second bull is our ringgit collapsing and gomen says that this is because all other currencies are collapsing at all. Can I remind the bodohs running the country that we Malaysians have Internet. We can check. See the SGD Singapore dollar compared to the USD for the past one year. Past one year data shows the SGD drops slightly only to the USD compared to the RM Banana Ringgit. The same with other Asian currecies. RM Ringgit Banana currency statistically is proven to be the worst performing currency.

Third lie is that currency collapsing because of economic issues. This is not true. Ringgit collapsing is because Mat Salleh and Jepun have pulled out all their money from Malaysia. So, in return, Ringgit has collapsed. Why Mat Salleh and Jepun has pulled their money? It is because of Corruption. Nothing else. Western countries have labelled us renegade country and categorized us same as Congo and Nigeria.

Oil prices are globally very low, I have no idea why it is going up tomorrow.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 98 Thumb down 10
        • nobody nobody on Feb 01, 2017 at 6:40 pm

and people only concerned on 20 sen for paying plastics at supermarkets???

• Earthling on Feb 02, 2017 at 7:56 am

It’s normal human behavior to complain on what they visibly see rather than what is subtle or not seen such as fuel pumped into the car.

• John the duck on Feb 01, 2017 at 3:21 am

Actually may increase 50 sen but demi rakyat naik 20 sen saja.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 30
        • Otak Udang CEng on Feb 01, 2017 at 11:17 am

Jangan bimbang, ringgit jatuh adalah baik untuk negara kami. Expot akan tambah!

• noy jimmy on Feb 01, 2017 at 6:56 am

Apa yg turun akan naik semula

• Yang pasti akan turun ialah hujan…. yg lain pasti naik.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
    • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 397
      • wkaka on Jan 31, 2017 at 9:13 pm

Fuel prices didn’t go up that much, when go down, hold price, when go up a bit, straight fly. LoL!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 3
        • Kunta Kinte on Jan 31, 2017 at 11:29 pm

One question we must ask ourselves, for about the past 20 years, Malaysia has been enjoying super high oil prices. Why did not Malaysia save the money?

Dapat duit only enjoy and jolly. Malaysia should have saved every year. There were years even Petronas earned like RM120b a year. Billion. Not million. The good days were going on for about 20 years. Why did not Malaysia save? So that, a rainy day like this, we will have money?

Where is all the oil money going to?

Do you know in Norway or Sweden, every one of their rakyat is a multimillionaire (in USD). They have created a sovereign oil fund which belongs to every single rakyat.

This means that, every single of their rakyat own the sovereign oil fund, now worth US$900 billion making every single citizen a millionaire.

Where is our oil money going to?

2017 will see all food prices rocket up. Remember, according to EPF statistics, 73% of ALL EPF contributors are earning RM1500 or below. These are official statistics.

How are they going to survive?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 4
        • not only that, when the oil prices go down, there are nooo way the media talks about it, u actually wouldn’t know till u fill up. but when it goes up, the whole universe talks about it hahahahaha

• Visitor on Jan 31, 2017 at 9:57 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 106
        • Pajak gadai on Jan 31, 2017 at 10:08 pm

Luckily MRT project no big debt loans with China.

• talknaan on Feb 01, 2017 at 10:43 am

malaysia = klang valley?

• insan teraniya on Feb 02, 2017 at 3:17 pm

unluckily all lrt & mrt didn’t have the facilities from my home. Unless gov give us free public transportation like Kerajaan Negeri Selangor..hmm

• Periasamy on Jan 31, 2017 at 9:46 pm

Malaysia has the cheapest Big Mac in the world ….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 71
      • Kunta Kinte on Jan 31, 2017 at 11:30 pm

May I remind people here that all our oil is sold in USD and not RM. Ask any banker. Oil is traded in USD. We are selling so much oil in USD!!!

So, the Government is making big big bucks actually selling oil at 4.5 USD Exchange rate.

So, why lie to the Malaysian people about ringgit falling? Clear and obvious lie here.

Oil is traded globally in USD. Crude oil is treaded in USD. Brent is traded in USD.

Our Gomen is making more now that RM has fallen! Yet they increase 20 sen for 2017.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 3
      • Low Budget on Feb 01, 2017 at 12:25 pm

That may be true, but the Malaysia Big Mac also got the lousiest taste compare to Big Mac from other countries.

• fanofthisite on Feb 01, 2017 at 4:15 pm

you consume big mac’s every other day? Or use the McD waste oil as fuel?

• Same L0rr on Feb 01, 2017 at 9:48 am

Buy EEV Vios car better..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
  • Up up up then pru time announce down 20 cent. people so happy that time.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 247 Thumb down 5
    • Stevie on Jan 31, 2017 at 8:23 pm

Speechless is an understatement..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 1
      • Kunta Kinte on Jan 31, 2017 at 11:33 pm

How unlucky the rakyat is. Whilst we suffer with higher fuel and eventually higher petrol prices, our leaders are buying brand new planes that cost RM500 million despite having so many Government jets in the hangar bay to be used.

We Malaysians are so unlucky. Why are we so unlucky?

• Meletop on Jan 31, 2017 at 8:27 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 323
      • Ex VGM staff on Jan 31, 2017 at 9:48 pm

We deserve the subsidies because half of govt expenditure comes from petronas. Petronas drills oil from our land. Malaysian ppl owns the land. Owns the govt and owns petronas.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 119 Thumb down 14
      • Makengko on Jan 31, 2017 at 11:21 pm

Mentality. Screwed. Totally.

• Rasa diutamakan sangat on Jan 31, 2017 at 8:50 pm

Expected..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • KenJi on Jan 31, 2017 at 9:00 pm

Hello politicians… Selangor caj beg plastik 20 sen… hari2 byk bising. Skrg minyak naik 20 sen apasal diam? Rakyat tak susah ke?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 136 Thumb down 20
      • Shahrin on Jan 31, 2017 at 9:14 pm

Stupid comparison!!!
        We support the S’gor govt effort to reduce plastic usage.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 99 Thumb down 15
        • Hantu on Jan 31, 2017 at 10:06 pm

Stupid comparison !!! We support M’sian govt effort to reduce petrol usage (diesel also).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
        • Makengko on Jan 31, 2017 at 11:23 pm

Hey KenJi. Ur brain jam somewhere if u think we have another planet earth to migrate to??!

• I bet you did’t get what he means.

• Silthice on Feb 01, 2017 at 8:59 am

If really want to reduce plastic, charge 20 cents give paper bags not plastic bags.

• Ko punya kereta pump 1 liter minyak sajakah?

• Anton Sevidov on Jan 31, 2017 at 7:20 pm

Looks like I have to get two jobs now.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 132 Thumb down 4
    • jamal on Jan 31, 2017 at 8:15 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 304
      • noy jimmy on Feb 01, 2017 at 7:00 am

Br1m..tk semua org yg dpt..kenaikan harga minyak semua kna tanggung

• Ya.. BR1M satu tahun sekali… yg ini tiap2 minggu kena pump. Cukup ke? Guna duit beli makanan ke petrol? Satu minggu pun Sudah habis.

Inilah hadiah terbaik dari kerajaan…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 1
      • WalkingAlone on Feb 01, 2017 at 9:37 am

Dang boy u being sarcastic or what??

• 67' Hemi Barracuda on Feb 01, 2017 at 10:32 am

Yes he is being sarcastic, so be cool, he only quoting what govt said!

• Firdaus on Jan 31, 2017 at 7:22 pm

Hampir 10% increase ditengah2 kesusahan hidup rakyat dan dikala harga minyak dunia masih dalam usd40-50/barrel.. memang pisau cukur

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 209 Thumb down 8
    • 1OPEC on Jan 31, 2017 at 8:38 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 199
      • One of the elements in MOPS calculation is gvt tax(which increase)..output cuts does not leads to 20sen increase..jgn tunjuk pandai

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 5
        • Lol.. if cut supply of coz price up. That is the reason to cut supply is it? Next month also maybe up.

• Ni bkn pisau cukur. Ni mcm laser ptong jari xda rase

• Anonymous on Jan 31, 2017 at 11:25 pm

Bro USD40-50..? Jgn le gitu bro… get ur facts right… Brent currently USD55.7 ler bro… more over our RM still in the RM4.42 per USD1.

• Lembu Jinni on Feb 01, 2017 at 3:15 pm

I bet you that Trump and buddy Putin will make sure the oil stays dirt cheap very soon!

• apa lagi mau?! on Jan 31, 2017 at 7:24 pm

a great gift this for festive season

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 122 Thumb down 3
    • Potus on Jan 31, 2017 at 8:49 pm

Integrated public transportation system will create multiplier effects on the economy. Not fuel prices …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 50
  • Zoom zoom on Jan 31, 2017 at 7:31 pm

Crude oil & USD Dec16 Jan17 almost the same…Why up so much ?? 20cents! Pls explain!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 194 Thumb down 1
    • Hazel on Jan 31, 2017 at 7:46 pm

Price increase not only because of price per barrel, but also because of our weak currency….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 105
      • But we are using our own petrol no?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 13
      • Bro you do know UD$ has been steadily going down against RM since the middle of the month and oil price is tendered with US$. Thats basically just stealing from the people.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 2
      • Currency????? Our refinery at PD & all head + operation cost paid in Ringgit .. not in USD..

If compared price between RON95 Euro 2M Vs RON97 Euro 4M.. Diff only 30 cents…

This proof price not determined as what Govt claim but mostly based on demand.. Since RON95 have more demand than RON97..

PRU14 is coming soon, mumbling here wont change anything.. so vote wisely & hope we can kick them out once for all..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 3
      • xoxox on Feb 01, 2017 at 8:47 am

I have check the currency as well, December Currency is a most same with Jan, unless their calculation is based on Nov/Oct Currency, which is fishy already…

• Up..up..up... on Jan 31, 2017 at 7:59 pm

did their ever need to explain to u? if he/she say something wrong. esok akan di buang kerja.. since this is what u vote n that is what u hv…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 0
    • Petronas selling crude oil in USD. Petronas was the one for the past 40 years providing money to the G. Luckily February is a short month.

• Aero (Member) on Jan 31, 2017 at 7:33 pm

Looks like our supreme leader wants to tapau all our ang paus… meanwhile, our ringgit is getting weaker and weaker. What to do. Stay strong guys, 2017 will be another tough year… but we will get through it.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 134 Thumb down 18
    • Supreme diapers on Jan 31, 2017 at 9:55 pm

Always buy Perodua cars. Smart guys get it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 31
      • NO wahabbee on Feb 01, 2017 at 1:17 pm

WRONG! You should walk barefoot going everywhere just like your great2 grandparents did last centuries.

• andrew on Jan 31, 2017 at 7:35 pm

seriously dont know how to react dy

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 0
    • Hazim on Jan 31, 2017 at 8:13 pm

Well i think you do know how to react… Jom ubah! Ini kalilah~ oh wait, still alot of people still voting for them… Oh well yay for

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 2
  • Nasi Lemak 2.0 on Jan 31, 2017 at 7:36 pm

Good improvement!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 16
  • Want price decrease ? Wait till next election la…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 2
  • Normal Guy on Jan 31, 2017 at 7:45 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 331
    • Change your name to Rich Guy instead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
    • Not Hater on Jan 31, 2017 at 7:54 pm

Hater just said haters gonna hate. Ironic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • Crayon on Jan 31, 2017 at 7:54 pm

I actually agree with what Normal Guy said.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 42
    • Please be considerate for the majority ppl who are driving the smallest car possible and yet having difficulties to cope with everyday life.. your remarks is just moronic

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 9
    • maXref (Member) on Jan 31, 2017 at 7:59 pm

well, u dumb prick. Most people don’t have a choice when it comes to transportation. Start providing decent and well networked public transport like in S’pore or Australia, then u can tell people not to use their own private vehicle. Until then, STFU

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 4
      • Normal Guy on Jan 31, 2017 at 9:47 pm

Have you tried running a state let alone a country? No? Then you can STFU yourself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 107
        • maXref (Member) on Jan 31, 2017 at 10:45 pm

our*

• Have you been to other countries? Guess you have never left Sekinchan in your whole life.

• dang dungu on Feb 01, 2017 at 9:01 am

we are talking bout the fuel price and public transport… we malaysian live with harmony and decide which is good and bad for us and for all malaysian… malaysian we dont need to run a nation to decide…

• Ya, and when you lose your job or have to pay 50% more for your teh tarik, take more comfort, OK?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
    • Youngmoney on Jan 31, 2017 at 8:05 pm

Spews ignorant rhetoric and then says “haters will hate” why don’t you drink some petrol? The world needs one less moron like you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 4
    • pondan on Jan 31, 2017 at 8:15 pm

you moron. it’s not the fuel price that’s matter. it’s all goods prices will go up due to rising cost of transport that’s the fundamental cost for all business.

grow up and use a brain a bit more cause people like you that lead us to such state.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 2
    • Normal Poor guy on Jan 31, 2017 at 8:27 pm

Sadly a huge chunk of us live outside the places with excellent multimode public transport and will have to rely on the only mode of transport we already have, and God forbid we say anything to make an already heavy burden heavier.

• David Lee on Jan 31, 2017 at 8:29 pm

You think everywhere in Klang Valley covered by public transport?

I work at Kota Kemuning. I live in a Klang suburb. Bus in Kota Kemuning is a joke, only comes once an hour, and even then I have to interchange at Sri Muda, and then interchange again at KTM. Did calculation, monthly cost end up same as driving to work.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 3
    • Go screw yourself on Jan 31, 2017 at 8:31 pm

I guess an idiot like you really enjoy paying more.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
    • From 1.7 to 2.3, 35% up. If you pump rm500 per month, now become rm 675.rm 175 enough for a lot of people lunch for whole month.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 1
      • tokmoh. on Jan 31, 2017 at 9:04 pm

Minyak mahal, jangan guna minyak! Kerajaan nak galakkan rakyat berbasikal, murah dan bagus untuk kesihatan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 23
        • Then you berbasikal klang kl everyday twice at least, ask your father to do it. You no only sihat, go to heaven faster.

• tokmoh. on Jan 31, 2017 at 9:01 pm

Msians. Minyak naik 20sen, loses their mind.

Yet, still buy merc, bmw, honda, iphone, rm45 cheesetart, kfc like no tomoro. Ptuik.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 83
      • So? What’s your point? Do we all have to SUFFER and drive kapchai then only our complaints will be valid? People choose to spend their money of luxury that is their RIGHT.

I don’t know about the unicorn world you live in, but gasoline is a necessity not luxury. So stop trying to sound smart while making a joke out of yourself.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 7
        • tokmoh. on Feb 01, 2017 at 1:17 am

U triggered?

Syukurlah Msia not like Venezuela. That’s what happens when govt wanna be too populist, over rely income on O&G sector, and make fuel cheap. Then, when oil price drops, the whole country literally crushed, inflation go over 1,000%, that’s not a joke.

I’d say, there are still very effective ways to beat inflation, despite 20 sen fuel hike and all its domino effect. The choice is in your hand. Our economy still allows us to have this choice, as indicated by how well merc, bmw, honda, etc are doing.

The fault then, is in the people’s spending habit, wasting away money in all sorts of junks they can’t afford to impress people they don’t like. Only fools like these cannot withstand 20sen increase in fuel hike, due to self inflicted foolishness.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 22
          • Alright you illiterate twat. Since you only posses 50 IQ I guess I’ll have to explain this to you like a 5 year old.

Ali makes RM3000 every month. Ali is a hard working man raising a family of 4. Ali makes a honest living and pays his taxes. Ali allocates himself RM100 for luxury spending every month.

Ali is a loving father and husband, so every month he treats his family to Mc Donalds because he loves his family and wants them to enjoy life. Ali also loves to drink coffee, so every Friday he treats himself to a cup of coffee bean latte. He deserves his coffee because he contributes to society and his family.

Now with petrol increased 60 Sen the past 5 months, Ali have to spend EXTRA RM70 for fuel every month compared to 5 months ago. He can no longer bring his family out for Mc Donalds and no more coffee breaks for Ali. But Ali should not complain because syukur la Malaysia bukan Venezuela? Kamu in bodoh ke ape?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
          • tokmoh. on Feb 01, 2017 at 3:19 pm

Mcdonald’s is bad for your health. Ali should cook at home with family, no need pay GST, spend more family time, and be healthier.

Look at Gordon Ramsay, even he cooks himself, his kids learn how to cook themselves. It’s an important skill to develop, better get the kids to learn it, grow up healthy instead of fat.

Coffee bean latte shops are all huge con. Selling diabetic inducing junks for rm15+. A cup alone can almost buy 200g coffee that makes way more coffees. You can prepare them black with no milk and sugar, tasting the coffee flavors fully unadulterated. Sugar is bad for you, learn to do away without it.

Ali should work hard so he can earn more. Our economy can definitely provide him that opportunity, as it had for others who can now afford Mercedes, BMW, Honda, etc.

If he’s in Venezuela, fat chance. It’s chaos there.

If Ali doesn’t change, stay poor and bullied. In the first place, salary rm3k raising 2 kids is really pushing the limit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
        • Not to mention drivers who complaint about 20cent/l price up and after fill up, straight go Q at drive through for a cup of RM15 coffee. Hahahaha…while driving a MyVi. People choose to spend their money of luxury that is their RIGHT? You make my day..lol.. no need to SUFFER if you know how to spend even with petrol price up. Oh my.. Mysian oh Mysian.

• moh kite on Jan 31, 2017 at 10:03 pm

tokmoh punya ayat saya setuju,minyak naik bising,yet still can buy timberland…peace yall..

• Yes. Dun complain even tho up 50cents. Just stop going kfc mcd. Each of us have every right to spend our hard earned money, maybe those priviliged ones have “projects” so easy money. Im not jealous. Most of us are not that priviliged u know.

• seman on Feb 01, 2017 at 9:58 am

what about the value of people hard-earned money based on your view? is it just to be used for paying government-made loan and interest for the rest of their life? no chance for fulfilling their need and their will?

• tokmoh. on Feb 01, 2017 at 11:20 am

The people chose this govt, if got complaint, complaint to rakyat that chose such clowns.

Irregardless, people are in control of their finance, not govt. What govt take away from you cannot be helped, but people should be responsible for their own finance.

Wherever you go in the world, govt will always take away a portion from you, it’s a given.

Some govt do better, because their people are smart to vote based on performance. We don’t, and the fault lies with ourselves.

Until rakyat wisen up, let it be. It’s our punishment for remaining foolish as ever.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • You fool. First of all tell me this when Malaysia has a cheap, reliable and well connected public transport system everywhere. Secondly as you were told above its not just about transportation, when petrol price goes up significantly like the way it is now it will effect goods and many industries that people rely on.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
    • Nancy on Jan 31, 2017 at 9:19 pm

Not that true… you may see less traffic for few days, then back to normal because orang kita mudah lupa.

• Normal Guy on Jan 31, 2017 at 9:43 pm

For those who drive a Proton Saga for example, a full tank would cost you an extra 5.60. If you pump 4 times a month that’s an extra 22.40 a month. That’s less than a month’s installment for your smartphone. Don’t pretend you guys are poor..i bet every single one of you here don’t have a phone older than 3 years. And make your own nescafe, you dont need a starbucks latte every day.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 59
      • Not a Normal Guy on Jan 31, 2017 at 11:02 pm

Dingo, please take note there’s multiplier effects on our petrol price heading north. It’s one of the basic input costs to most of the items we consume, hence the higher it is, the more we pay for goods and services. Aint gonna bitch too much if it’s just petrol price going up alone. Go observe whether your teh tarik up its price too…

• tokmoh. on Feb 01, 2017 at 1:25 am

Queue 3 hours for rm45 cheesetart, can feel bangga la, show off on insta.

Need pay extra rm22.40 for fuel, whine like about to be bankrupted. That’s for proton fuel guzzler, yet many Msians drive Perodua much more fuel efficient, so pay way less than rm22.40 extra for fuel.

Rakyat terjejas? Really? Maslanbingung.gif

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
      • Gabsz Gabreal on Feb 01, 2017 at 6:41 am

I am still using xiaomi mi3. Go make ur calculation. U just lost ur bet

• Someone here said to spent on luxury items is their right. Don’t persoal if some people want to get a RM3k phone and RM15 for a cup of coffee but jadi gila for extra RM22.40 for a petrol a MONTH. Nanti kena potong kepala.

• tokmoh. on Feb 01, 2017 at 9:48 am

Queue 3 hours for rm45 cheesetart can, then bangga la on insta.

Pay extra RM22.40 for fuel a month, suddenly like gonna bankrupt edi. Kek.

Cut off that cheesetart alone is enough to pay for increase in fuel price and its domino effect.

• Ollie on Feb 02, 2017 at 4:14 pm

You are actually 100% spot on. Kudos.

• Responsible people on Feb 01, 2017 at 12:05 am

Yeah. Keep telling urself that. Were not poor. But being considerate. People are raising family. 20cents/litre can cover for a lot of things. I bet dude doesnt have to worry bout his family. Lolz. Ur married aa?

• Reality & consequences on Feb 01, 2017 at 2:27 pm

Helow normal guy.

I think you missed the bigger picture here. It is not about affordability issues we re talking about in this forum. This is about the government short changing the Rakyat.

The hike in petrol cost doesn’t just translate into a 20 cents hike per se, it causes a ripple effect across other industries and sub industries within it, this in turn eats into the profit margin of most companies. When companies faces increase operating cost, they lay off people which in turn effects the whole economy. This is not good in the long term for the country.

SO why does the government need to increase petrol prices ? It is because the government is still adamant to keep it’s bloated civil services and refuses to trim it down proportionally. In other words we re subsidizing the government public service. The rakyat is to pay for the governments wastage, Therefore it is not about cost the of 20 cents anymore, it is about accountability and responsibility that the government needs to address themselves and not make rakyat pay for these mistakes. notwithstanding the fact that the government has collected almost RM 55 Billion in GST for 2016. Where did all the money went ?

Therefore please change your NORMAL thinking for once and and use some Wisdom before you comment in the future.

BTW I work in banking and the Oil & Gas industry so i know what im talking about. I made a fortune and retired in my early 30s. I park my car all day at home as i do not need to work. So it is kind of ‘junk’ as I seldom drive out anymore.

Regards

Value Investor,

• kereta_lembu on Feb 02, 2017 at 12:46 am

Very well said! The increase of petrol prices has been going on for a few months now, from RM1.70 to RM2.30 now. So, technically speaking it is not 20 cents but 60 cents hike. While I do understand that petrol prices can change but it is the Gov’s job to help the people. Some might think that its ‘just’ RM22.40 a month, if nothing is done, it could very quickly be more than that. If it isn’t clear enough, the ripple effect will make other items more expensive. Most businesses will not quietly absorb the rising costs, and many times it will be transferred directly to the consumer. So, when the price of your roti canai goes up, it will add onto your RM22.40.

Now, many people also blame it on the weak currency. Whose job is it to protect the value of our currency? Let’s not just focus on now. We started out having the same value dollar for dollar as the SGD. Now, we have to pay RM3.12 for 1SGD! Why and who is responsible? Before some retard asks me to move to Singapore or get out of Msia, this is affecting you and your family as well! Moving me or others out of Malaysia will not solve this problem, so although it is the year of the Rooster, please don’t talk cock and start using your brain when the election comes.

If raising the petrol prices is not bad enough, you can also celebrate the rising cost of hospitalization fees and among other things. So please wake up, rise up and make a difference when the time comes!

• Reality & consequences on Feb 06, 2017 at 2:40 am

Well the currency is getting weaker because of foreign outflow. The gomen has sold alot of malaysia assets to china and the income from those companies are repatriated back to China, its like transferring wealth out of malaysia. also take into consideration the total immigrants legal and illegal that works in malaysia do the same. instead of spending the income here, they send home a large chunk of their salary back to their home country. And the last part is the biggest of all shit that could destroy the ringgit , Corruption. lately with the MACC nabbing small fish with millions of cash kept at home, Imagine the big fish ? The gomen are part of the problem and the solution wont be anytime soon until we become the next venezuela (total collapsed due to oil dependency) by such events, then rakyat will wake up.

• Joshua Lee on Jan 31, 2017 at 7:49 pm

Doesn’t look like it will affect our lifestyles.

The roads will still be congested as though the price never changed at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 11
    • maXref (Member) on Jan 31, 2017 at 8:00 pm

People still need to travel to work. Are u saying just coz fuel price went up, people will quit their job n stay at home?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 1
    • maXref (Member) on Jan 31, 2017 at 8:01 pm

People still need to travel to work. Are u saying just coz fuel price went up, people will quit their job n stay at home to be a housewife or stay at home dad?

• Vote Government on Jan 31, 2017 at 7:49 pm

Thank lord in heavens our oil prices didn’t go up 60 cents as expected by many.

The villagers and fishermen will always support the government forever and ever. Thank you!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 24
  • Ahmad Zahar on Jan 31, 2017 at 7:50 pm

Whatever I see more branded on our roads!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
    • pondan on Jan 31, 2017 at 8:18 pm

people that are connected is getting richer by the day.

sadly, the rest of 90% population have to eat dust.

our current gov policy is enriching the rich and cronies.

well, the bunch of moron still support our gov that rackless spending, corruption and self interest agenda.

god bless Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
      • oh mak lu cina on Jan 31, 2017 at 9:24 pm

Sadly this is the state of the world today. You are now on opposite side, you complain. Let you be on the other side you would be dooing exactly whom you call morons do.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
    • Gary Yeoh on Jan 31, 2017 at 9:25 pm

Yes I have to agree on the matter. Somehow I see more Mercedes, BMW, Audi …but whatever it is that’s their choice (i think i might understand where u might be heading on the matter, but i’ll keep that in my own mind).

However, it still does not change the fact that our fuel went up in price, bad economy, lousy governance, and to add matters worst…DUMB/BLIND VOTERS that only see the current rather than the future!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
  • Klguy on Jan 31, 2017 at 7:51 pm

Yay!! Feeling rich now

• Woot Woot on Jan 31, 2017 at 7:52 pm

The year of Roasted

• It seems the fuel price goes up faster ! Than it goes down

• are you sure Paultan?

• Kancil Hybrid on Jan 31, 2017 at 7:57 pm

Cheaper compared to Singapore and UK.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 23
  • Tiger88 on Jan 31, 2017 at 8:07 pm

Agong pls take action against govt and order to reduce price which reflects true world price.Pls

• Kong kali kong on Jan 31, 2017 at 8:08 pm

They say the higher oil price the faster car can go…..phuiiii…

• saladin on Jan 31, 2017 at 8:09 pm

The last time ron 97 was float at rm2.70 june 2008. Based on that time the crude oil price usd 140 p/ barrel currency 1usd to rm3.20. So 1 barrel is about rm448. Now feb 2017 ron 97 price float at rm2.60. Crude oil price usd 55 p/barrel currency 1usd to rm4.50. So 1 barrel is rm247.50. Float la sangat.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 1
  • Seremban Bear on Jan 31, 2017 at 8:11 pm

Use public transport or go electric. If it’s one thing we Malaysians can do well, it’s complain and adapt. I think we’re done complaining.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 32
  • Be Greatfool on Jan 31, 2017 at 8:11 pm

Syukurlah negara masih aman..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 18
  • Anthony on Jan 31, 2017 at 8:15 pm

Very disappointed with the oil price hike. World crude oil price did not increase in Jan2017 compared to Dec2016. Not making any sense at all!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
  • Wan Safuan bkn nama sebenar. on Jan 31, 2017 at 8:16 pm

Someone please help me. Trying to sell my proton preve and i wanted to buy hybrid car. Cannot tahan anymore.

• Fuel up on Jan 31, 2017 at 8:16 pm

How do they justify 20 cents increased!!!! Share the formula with Rakyat and we can do our calculation!! 20 cents increased is insane, what a government??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
  • Driver on Jan 31, 2017 at 8:18 pm

LOL THEY GOT CHANCE TO DENY THE INCREMENT, BUT DECIDE TO PUT HIGHER PRICE LOL LOL LOL

• Lost hope ! on Jan 31, 2017 at 8:19 pm

Haiya, was expecting a 50 cents increased. Disappointed.

• Lost hope ! on Jan 31, 2017 at 8:19 pm

Haiya, was expecting a 50 cents increase. Disappointed la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • Yes, it is fake news. The real one is 20sens up. Why these people already known the price is going up, still wanna stop people to get a full tank at old price. “Dont believe the rumours price going up, wait until the announcement”, indeed they already know price going up. Why cant just keep the mouth shut and let the public pump their tank full.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • Losanantara on Jan 31, 2017 at 8:22 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 120
  • die taxi die on Jan 31, 2017 at 8:30 pm

Hahaha. Bagus jib! Next month 2.50 pls. Hopefully more ppl will leave their cars at home now.

• Eric Tan @ Rose Mah on Feb 01, 2017 at 1:50 pm

Public transports and Commercial vehicles not running of fuel? Every machinery relies on fossil fuel is affected!

• Najib the Best on Jan 31, 2017 at 8:39 pm

MRT already operate…government increase price so that rakyat will use more MRT…as expected..else who going to pay for the MRT cost??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 15
    • Fuel price affects whole country ok ? MRT only available in Selangor and KL . How do you expect people like us from other states to use the MRT ? Malaysia does not consist of only KL and Selangor.

• Eric Tan @ Rose Mah on Feb 01, 2017 at 1:53 pm

Suspect he failed his geography subject miserably.

• Well…moving on to Prius or Bezza….

• Can we make Malaysia better? on Jan 31, 2017 at 8:48 pm

That’s totally within expectations, isn’t it?

• Najib 2.B Razak on Jan 31, 2017 at 8:48 pm

Next thing you know Ron 95 is RM5 and Ron 97 is RM7. WHY am i saying this?!

• Cabinet on Jan 31, 2017 at 8:49 pm

The heavily invested mrt nobody want to take that’s why. Naik harga parking tak berkesan then biarlah rasa minyak mahal.

• Dedak on Jan 31, 2017 at 8:53 pm

Yes, just follow the forex blindly, that is the best option for us by our country’s decision maker. Brilliant management, nobody can replace you guys’ effectiveness. Salute to our top management in government agencies. Horayyyy

• Faiz Roslan on Jan 31, 2017 at 8:54 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 141
    • saldopullt on Jan 31, 2017 at 9:45 pm

Pls show us your calculation

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • I support the government to increase till RM 5 plitre since u write this. @-@”

• hari raya on Jan 31, 2017 at 10:35 pm

by your arguement, i hope government can tahan by wesak, thaipussam and hari raya. why chinese new year only?

• Ir not C.Eng on Jan 31, 2017 at 10:45 pm

CEng…. Big deal…. Show us the exact formula

Anonymous PhD

• If i know people like you personally, i will convince all other traders to charge you triple the amount of anything you buy since you like price increase so much. I believe since you’re so patriotic, you wouldn’t mind paying triple since the more money you pay, the more GST the government can collect from you .

• Netizens, dont you know you’ve been fooled by the BN Gov time and time again. They’ve exploited your ignorance of basic economic knowledge. They’ve cheated you from knowing that you have already paid multiple taxes when buying a car example excise duty, import duty, GST and corporate tax by car dealers plus car dealers profit margin (also fixed by Gov). They also hid from you the interest payments you have to pay for 9 yrs from your loan. Despite raising billions from these multiple taxes, they continue to also bluff you that fuel subsidy for the rakyat is bad and the rakyat must pay fuel at market prices. On top of that due to the Gov economic mismanagement and corruption, this has resulted in the value of Ringgit to become like a banana Republic (during Japan occupation of then Malaya) making prices of fuel and cars even higher. They also cheated you for getting banks to loan you for up to 9 yrs and as a result the cars second hand value becoming valueless (pay the bank instead of getting back your earlier deposit). If you think i’m insane outlining you this basic knowledge and think that I AM CHEATING YOU, I sincerely tak boleh tolong anymore! Knowledge and knowing your rights are what the Gov fear most. May God help us all!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 106 Thumb down 6
    • Nancy on Jan 31, 2017 at 9:30 pm

No need to say much guys… wasting time. Gov can do what they want because they are the government… . That is why it is called government… like it or not, it is your government.

• AcerMan on Jan 31, 2017 at 9:03 pm

The Lion didn’t move because run out of gas…..gas too expensive to pump. :-p

• Najib Razak on Jan 31, 2017 at 9:15 pm

Gong Xi Fa Cai

• Losanantara on Jan 31, 2017 at 9:25 pm

Honestly Malaysian especially those who stay in KL. IF YOU CANNOT BUY A CAR BY CASH USE PUBLIC TRANSPORT. Malu lah taking a loan to buy car, phone, peti sejuk, mesin basuh. MRT 30 billion Tak mahu pakai ashik complain

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 35
    • Eric Tan @ Rose Mah on Feb 01, 2017 at 2:11 pm

Bingo all these items belong to banks or financial institutions. So nothing to be proud of until debt is settled.

• Vision 2020 on Jan 31, 2017 at 9:41 pm

Jan 20 sen hike. Feb another 20 sen hike. Do these imply that we have achieved the Vision 2020 ?

• Please stop controlling ron97 price. So people will know what’s the real market price is. and gov can stop creating stupid excuses for the hikes.

• Bernard on Jan 31, 2017 at 10:01 pm

I guess I will have to leave my perodua kancil at home and use my bicycle …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • Faith on Jan 31, 2017 at 10:09 pm

As on 23rd January 2017 Indonesia petrol priced rp 8200 @ RM2.70

At least out life here much better.

• Eric Tan @ Rose Mah on Feb 01, 2017 at 2:24 pm

Irrelevant comparison! Do you know the cost of living Indonesia is up to 80% LOWER than your beloved country LOL

• My heart goes out to those making their journey to Kuala Lumpur from hometown after the festival/holiday

• kereta_lembu on Jan 31, 2017 at 10:33 pm

I’m not sure if I’ve seen this question asked before but we were told that RON95 & RON97 are no longer subsidized. So, what is the actual price difference between the 2 types of petrol? Can anyone enlighten me?

Because we’re seeing a ~9.5% increase in price for RON95 But we’re only seeing a ~8.5% increase for RON97. Let’s not forget that RON97 includes 6% GST as well while RON95 does not have GST charges. So, why is the price hike not proportional?

• Shell on Jan 31, 2017 at 10:54 pm

What about shell V power racing? Why post on RON 100 but not shell v power racing always…

• apa dah jadi? on Jan 31, 2017 at 11:05 pm

don you think it’s now cheaper to take uber / grab & leave your car at home?

• applegreen on Feb 01, 2017 at 11:16 am

It is still expensive. As for example, an uber ride from cheras to cyberjaya will cost you RM33. You have to going back home and cost you another rm33 (total rm66). If you drive to office and back home, including toll at MEX highway it will cost you maximum RM30 only.

• Handsome Jib on Jan 31, 2017 at 11:14 pm

I have to get part-time job: Uber driver. Oh wait… let me think again…. another dead end…

• On diet sushi on Feb 01, 2017 at 3:50 am

Ini kali LAH, if don’t change then we must change our lifestyle for the next 4 years

• Amri Iskandar on Feb 01, 2017 at 4:34 am

what a bad joke

• xoxox on Feb 01, 2017 at 8:40 am

the thing i cannot understand….the average crude oil price from Dec is almost the same with Jan, why it increase so much? I have checked the USD currency as well, not much changes too…fishy fishy here…

• Pengemis negara on Feb 01, 2017 at 10:52 am

Tahniah dan ribuan terima kasih kpd krjaan hadiah kita dgn minyak naik lagi, tol naik, semua barang naik, makanan naik, buku seraggam naik, tambang bas naik, gst, gaji turun, ringgit turun

• already predicted the pattern of increase…read my previous months comment ^^V

• C. P. MOHAN on Feb 01, 2017 at 11:14 am

If oil prices stabilizes at current levels or goes upwards, we lose. I understand that the sweetest-oil is too rich as fuel in our tank, but the ‘extra revenue’ collected, despite the falling ringgit, should be used to “subsidise” to some level our pump prices at home. This way it means that the rakyat are “buyers” in the world oil market and the government are “sellers” in the world oil market, to make matters worst we are taxed in our ownership and running cost of vehicles e.g servicing, maintenance and toll.

• azman on Feb 01, 2017 at 4:36 pm

buy a hybrid car…

• Mamat Syukur Nikmat on Feb 01, 2017 at 6:39 pm

I am very very very syukur living in Malaysia, I drive a little kancil, only use little little petrol.

Syukur, syukur……

If petrol naik lagi, I still syukur becoz I gonna ride motorbike……and use lesser petrol…..

• passion on Feb 02, 2017 at 10:05 am

Same old same old!

• Habis liao need to makan roti eveyday