Fuel price hike news is fake – real prices out tonight

By now some of you would have received rumours of a fuel price hike for February 2017. The news has gone viral on social media, suggesting that the price of RON 95 will go up by 15 sen to RM2.25 per litre tonight. The Petrol Dealers Association of Malaysia (PDAM) has denied this rumour entirely, and has advised motorists to wait for the actual prices that are to be announced later today.

This does not mean that there will not be a price hike, however, just that the figures being shared are inaccurate. “The real price will be announced after 8pm tonight and yes it could go up, but it’s ultimately up to the government,” head of PDAM Datuk Khairul Annuar Abdul Aziz told NST Online.

Stay tuned to paultan.org tonight for confirmed fuel prices for the month of February 2017.

UPDATE: The official prices are in, and no RON 95 will not go up by 15 sen, it’s up by 20 sen instead! Full details here.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Holofanboi on Jan 31, 2017 at 5:34 pm

Lol this damn rumor is spreading all over my whatsapp group chats. Hafriz you are a hero for posting this.

Gong xi fa cai!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Jan 31, 2017 at 6:06 pm

But rest assured that the price of a plastic bag remains the same at 20 sen for the whole month of february in selangor…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
      • AutoFrenz (the original) on Jan 31, 2017 at 6:07 pm

Hehehe…so sarcastic…i likeee

• Vader on Jan 31, 2017 at 7:08 pm

Why ultimately depend on government?
        Already clearly state that the price floating as refer to market price, right?
        Head of PDMA??? Phuiii!!!!

• Kunta Kinte on Jan 31, 2017 at 6:08 pm

Does not matter whether Ron 95 goes up or down this February. Whatever it is, we are still overpaying the Government by more than 70 sen per litre.

According to global prices, including refining and transportation plus dealer incentive, Ron 95 should only be about RM1.30

We are still overpaying about 70 sen per litre to the gomen. Per car fills up 40 litres at least 8 times a month. That means each time we fill up, we are overpaying RM28. Per month, we overpay RM28 x 8 times = RM230 ringgit.

Calculate that roughly with 10 million motorist.

Gomen makes BILLIONS of free money every month and yet our universities and hospitals budget has been cut teruk teruk until hospitals also got no medicine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 9
    • Wee Chong Lei on Jan 31, 2017 at 6:51 pm

Let’s play who’s predict it right! 100 lucky winners who get it right will receive special prize,11D 9N European holiday all expenses paid and a brand new Honda Civic 1.5 Turbo..I’m gonna predict Ron 95 going up 10cent,97 up 10cent and diesel 5cent.This is not fake.

• So it’s fake after all. Apalah naik 10 sen. RON95 nak naik 20 sen lah dah

• Driver on Jan 31, 2017 at 6:01 pm

For sure they will decrease the price hike instead of 15 cents. Or no price hike! Boleh jadi hero. Strategy maaaa

• This happens when the Gov is non-transparent and corrupt!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
  • Mikey on Jan 31, 2017 at 6:09 pm

According to latest report by Reuters, Brent sagged over 5 percent since its peak in early January. Judging by the report, we should not have an increase in fuel price. But then, who can guess/tell ??!

• C. P. MOHAN on Jan 31, 2017 at 6:09 pm

Can be either fake news or preparing for price increase.

• Sinaran on Jan 31, 2017 at 6:12 pm

Rakyat terasa bahang ketidaktentuan ekonomi global. Kenaikan harga minyak, kos sara hidup dan barangan persekolahan anak-anak menggambarkan keperitan rakyat berpendapatan rendah dan juga sederhana yang semakin terhimpit.
    Nasib baiklah udara yang dihirup masih percuma.

• Netizens, dont you know you’ve been fooled by the BN Gov time and time again. They’ve exploited your ignorance of basic economic knowledge. They’ve cheated you from knowing that you have already paid multiple taxes when buying a car example excise duty, import duty, GST and corporate tax by car dealers plus car dealers profit margin (also fixed by Gov). They also hid from you the interest payments you have to pay for 9 yrs from your loan. Despite raising billions from these multiple taxes, they continue to also bluff you that fuel subsidy for the rakyat is bad and the rakyat must pay fuel at market prices. On top of that due to the Gov economic mismanagement and corruption, this has resulted in the value of Ringgit to become like a banana Republic (during Japan occupation of then Malaya) making prices of fuel and cars even higher. They also cheated you for getting banks to loan you for up to 9 yrs and as a result the cars second hand value becoming valueless (pay the bank instead of getting back your earlier deposit). If you think i’m insane outlining you this basic knowledge and think that I AM CHEATING YOU, I sincerely tak boleh tolong anymore! Knowledge and knowing your rights are what the Gov fear most. May God help us all!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
  • 12yrsold on Feb 01, 2017 at 10:54 am

PDAM has denied this rumour entirely because the price hike of 15 cents is a fake. The actual increase is 20 cents. That is REAL.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Feb 02, 2017 at 12:55 am

fake news better than real news lol