Ride impression: Momoto MM1 – a blast from the past

There was a time when Malaysia had hopes and dreams of becoming a major player in the automotive world. Big plans were made, partnerships were formed, but, as in all dreams, some saw a measure of success, while other fell by the wayside, with heartbreak and disappointment close behind.

However, sometimes, out of the ashes arises a glimmer of what once was, and might be again. Some paultan.org readers might remember a partnership between an ex-World Superbike champion and a certain Malaysian company to produce a superbike to compete at WSBK level.

Now, you know that we know that you know what we’re talking about here, and unfortunately, we can’t say much more due to current legal entanglements between two specific parties. But, suffice it to say, that specific superbike is now up for sale to the general public, free of encumbrances.

Renamed Momoto, with the motorcycle in question given the moniker MM1, this bike is a homologation special, produced under WSBK rules that require a minimum of 500 copies of the race machine to be offered for sale. In the case of the original iteration of the Momoto MM1, some 130-plus copies were made, and this was a matter of some controversy, back in 2003.

Despite claims of unwarranted special dispensation by the Federation of International Motorcycling (FIM) to allow the race team to circumvent the homologation requirement and thus compete in the WSBK calendar, it all came to naught. The three-cylinder engine, developed for the team by Suter – bespoke engineers for high performance motorsport – was not competitive in its 900 cc form, as the rules were changed to allow for 1,000 cc engine capacity that year.

What this meant was the homologation race bike was dead in the water, power-wise, and the race team folded shortly after, despite two podium finishes. It was at this time, the surplus machines were brought back to Malaysia, and a business interest named Momoto bought the stock, and offered the bikes for sale to the public in 2013.

Which then created another controversy, which we are not allowed to comment upon. However, at the end of 2016, a new management team was brought into Momoto, and this team now has plans ahead for the Momoto name.

Going forward, the re-vamped Momoto has taken custody of the existing MM1 stock, and is now bringing the MM1 to market, at a price of RM85,000. Quantities are, by design, limited, and Momoto asked if we would take one of the bikes out for a run to see what we thought of it.

So, having been approached for a ride impression of the Momoto MM1, what did we think of it? At first look, the thing that struck us was how nineties the bike’s styling is. Knowing that the original namesake of the MM1 was previously a multiple-championship winning Ducati rider, the riding position of the MM1 is almost, to the millimetre, identical to the 916/996-series Ducati.

Looking at the MM1, now dressed in raw carbon-fibre with electric blue paint accents, we could certainly see touches of the 916 DNA here and there, despite the fact this bike had nothing to do with the genius of Massimo Tamburini. The underseat exhaust, with three outlets, is a massive affair, and very distinctive in sound.

Starting up the Momoto revealed a tight bark from the exhaust, and we settled into the cockpit quite easily, with all the controls coming to hand, and bringing back memories of tearing up Batu Tiga and Sepang some fifteen years ago. Shooting off, the click into first on the Suter-designed gearbox was like a knife into butter.

It was easy to feel the precision of the machining in the gearbox and engine, with the pistons willingly revving up to the redline. The fuel-injection though, did show its design age, not quite being as smooth at low throttle openings.

But then, that was not the reason the MM1 was created. It is, first and foremost, a track weapon, and designed to do one thing, and one thing only, go fast around corners and let the rider be in control, on the edge.

Taking the MM1 out on the highway – yes, the Momoto MM1 will be sold in road-legal form and able to be registered – we were, as in the previous paragraph, reminded that this is a race bike. It needs warming up, carefully, for the bike’s systems to function as they should.

It must be noted that the Momoto MM1 we took out was a pre-marketing prototype. Hence, it lacked some of the road-specific items that will be included in the MM1 that will be offered for sale, like turn signals, rear-view mirrors and rear lights.

Cruising down the highway in a racing tuck, the MM1 was not as uncomfortable, ergonomics wise, as we thought it would be. What was noticeable was a slow roast going on under the author’s left butt cheek, courtesy of that humongous exhaust can.

According to Momoto, this is an issue that might be addressed in the final version, possibly with the addition of additional heat shielding. In the meantime, we found a work-around by keeping the speed up above a certain pace – still highway legal – and not letting the wind turbulence blow heat back to the rider.

Falling into the corners around the various highway access points, the MM1 showed its race pedigree, tracking straight and responding to steering inputs with confidence-building feedback. The Ohlins suspension, however, needed adjusting, exhibiting way too much rebound, and making the ride very choppy on the straights.

This is, naturally, the advantage of having fully-adjustable suspension, albeit on built on technology from 15 years ago. Not to detract from the competence of the MM1, of course, but we were very much aware of the fact that while this might have been a good track weapon at the time, today’s sports bikes have taken a quantum leap forward in suspension technology.

The rest of the Momoto MM1 reflects the tech of that era, with no ABS, no traction control, no ride modes. Again, all these things are not necessary for a track machine, and the MM1 does well enough without any mod cons.

Looking inside the cockpit, a single monochrome LCD displays all the necessary information, and this was high-tech – in 2005. Aware that we were riding something that is almost irreplaceable, we declined to find out if the shift light mounted in the centre of the instrument panel worked.

Clad as it is in carbon-fibre, the MM1 is a thing of beauty, with the sleek flowing lines of the fairing and tail unit bringing the bike together as a whole. The twin projector headlights in front – state of the art then – were somewhat lost in the lines of the front fairing.

So, who needs a Momoto MM1? Well, at the current asking price, the customer has a lot of choice. Modern machines are easier to ride, easier to maintain, and provide comparable, if not better performance.

But, why should anyone buy one? Well, for one thing, you can do the canyon run up the mountain and rest assured you won’t see another MM1 on the road or parked outside the Starbucks. Another thing is that the very exclusivity of the MM1 means it might go up in price, as time goes on.

At the end of it, what you get is a piece of racing history, with a Malaysian connection, and a Suter race engine, for a reasonable price. Caveat emptor though, as this is, as it says on the box, a racing motorcycle designed with 15-year old technology, and any buyer should go into the commitment – and we mean that in every way, owning an MM1 will be a commitment – with eyes wide open.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• Aero (Member) on Feb 10, 2017 at 11:27 pm

Well, well ! If it isn’t the good ‘ol Petronas FP1. :D This is a good bike, it’s a real shame that it never lived up to its full potential… Corruption, lies and deceit; three things that are seemingly in no shortage in Malaysia… sigh.

I better not say anything more… might get arrested tomorrow for all I know. Nice review ! keeping the legend alive. :]

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 10
    • U know what they say; if u have nothing better to say, then…
      Anyways pls dun bring politikus here. I will eat u, just like I ate RBA macais.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
    • Kunta Kinte on Feb 12, 2017 at 9:25 am

Aiseh, even bike also fail, you can understand why Proton also has failed.

We must work hard like China or Japanese. Then success will be in our hands.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
      • kzm (Member) on Feb 12, 2017 at 2:29 pm

It is Petronas lar hence the original name Petronas FP1.. do you even know that? Proton is machine is name Proton KR3/KR5 after they take over from Modenas. Machine name Modenas KR3. Modenas/Proton oso failed project but unlike Petronas, They oni funded the project done by Kenny Robert.

• Projek MotoGP Malaysia 2018 on Feb 10, 2017 at 11:53 pm

Projek MotoGP Malaysia paling awal akan dimulakan tahun depan.. dah ada 2 rider Malaysia sekarang ni dalam kelas Moto2, setapak je lagi untuk masuk kelas MotoGP, tahun ni dan tahun depan buat prototype dulu dan cari partner, rakan kongsi sebanyak yang mungkin sebagai persediaan untuk menang jadi juara dunia.. nombor plate Valentino Rossi VR46 sekarang dah ada dalam simpanan Sultan Johor, tunggu nak bincang kontrak je untuk bina semula projek MotoGP Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 31
  • Ootai on Feb 11, 2017 at 7:31 am

Should sent to “Superbike For Hire” agency. At least the hirer can have the feel of a racing bike without breaking the bank to maintain one.

• 4G63T DSM on Feb 11, 2017 at 9:45 am

Ah the old FP1.

85 grand for a limited race bike? Sounds cheap. Is that inclusive of the taxes applied to the road version or the price of a tax free track version?

• Donno on Feb 11, 2017 at 10:27 am

for the pontential buyers, would there be a thorough service and spares support to run this bike? or are the buyers on their own on this? where can you get spareparts for most of the bespoke parts for this bike? as only about 150 ever built, how many of the survivors (exculding those raced, broken down for parts to support the race team, or sold previously in europe) are available from momoto?

• Justin on Feb 13, 2017 at 12:00 pm

IIRC, the FP1 was also put for sale at Naza back on the early 2000.

• Don’t have any review video? Want to hear that engine screaming

• Jin666 on Feb 11, 2017 at 12:29 pm

FP1? If it is, last time, I went to this place somewhere in Gurun, there were about 40 units of it in a store garage collecting dust..that was 10 years ago. I just hope it is not the same bike..

• old horse on Feb 11, 2017 at 10:09 pm

when too much politicians involved in business, and with katak mindset, nothing can be success since all planning to con local $$ only with close door policies.

• johorian on Feb 11, 2017 at 10:29 pm

end result now, cant have any auto export, cant get foreign investors to build large factories for work…

• bikerchick on Feb 12, 2017 at 12:40 am

Well done Momoto! Keep the heritage and its legend alive! Very proud to see the 1st Malaysian Superbike on the road. Hoorah!

• Somehow bike collectors have been drooling over this bike. How come?

• joePNG on Feb 12, 2017 at 8:50 am

to all Petronas fan boy, take that!!

• superdriver on Feb 12, 2017 at 11:25 am

Cool Looking bike. Older looking but still really has the modern touch with its carbon fiber looking fairing and terminator headlights. A bike that manages podium finishes is something not to be taken lightly and being a Malaysian bike its honestly, a Malaysian racing legacy that should be clenched and behold as a precious piece of history for its engineering brilliance and racing ambitions. Its really unfortunate to see it written off along with the racing team. Racing is not easy and not cheap, and the engineering effort spent to make a better bike from competitors is truly an overwhelming feat. Italian, Japanese, German bike racing breeding brands who have had podium finishes and won championships decades ago in monochrome films and movies are still getting a lot of support from world wide die hard fans for their legacy. This is our legacy which is truly something not to be missed for any Malaysian die hard racing fans.

Really a great piece of article by the author, appreciate if we can get a video of the bikes test drive and if possible its racing history along with its winning crew!

• Mikey on Feb 13, 2017 at 11:25 am

Lock on to Carl Fogarty

• Mikey on Feb 13, 2017 at 11:29 am

Lock on to Carl Fogarty Wikipedia. You will find most of what you are looking for. At least U are talking about the MM1 bike while most are just bashing without reading the article. Shalom & cheers

• Sub_zero on Feb 12, 2017 at 4:18 pm

So they finally did manage to sell ’em. And you Mohan pretty slick to get a ride and test it around too

Anyho we all know what happen to the motorcycle from the beginning, it’s an open secret with previous management suing left right up down just to get these machine on our hand, kudos to them

For the price, i think it’s justified as this is what basically a once homologated motogp machine fit for road legal requirement

The closest thing to it competitor would the Honda rcv which cost 5 time than this

• whathef on Feb 13, 2017 at 11:06 am

This is a legend.
    u see this bike, even current prod bike can’t match the overall design beauty, not mention the material used.
    That onlins, arghhh.

My only gripe is, mohan, what with that lean angle on the 1st pic? at least make it 45 degree, or even better scrapping knee and/or elbow.
    :P