GALLERY: Honda City facelift previewed in Malaysia

Honda Malaysia has previewed the facelifted Honda City, the car going on display for the first time in the country at the company’s annual media gathering event in PJ. This follows on the opening of the order books for the car, which began on February 1.

The refreshed B-segment sedan receives a number of tweaks inside and out, plus added kit. Exterior revisions include redesigned headlights, which are now joined together by a new chrome bar inspired by the new Civic, as well as a reworked grille, which features a new honeycomb mesh and a chrome strip.

Elsewhere, the front and rear bumpers have been given a new profile, and the top-spec V grade variant now features LED headlights and fog lights as well as new two-tone 16-inch alloy wheels. The model also gets LED tail lights and a ducktail spoiler with an integrated LED brake light.

Still a bit to go before the car is officially launched here, so Honda Malaysia isn’t divulging everything about the car just yet. There’s no word of what changes to expect with the interior, but as previously mentioned, we should get the darker gunmetal trim, redesigned seat fabric (with the Civic’s centre stripe) and LED map/room lights as seen on Thai models.

All City variants now feature keyless entry and push-button start, while the V grade adds on a multi-angle reverse camera. Safety-wise, all models now come with Vehicle Stability Assist (VSA), hill start assist and an emergency stop signal, with the V grade getting six airbags.

As for powertrain and drivetrain, the City facelift retains the 1.5 litre i-VTEC four-cylinder engine, mated to an Earth Dreams CVT transmission. No output numbers have been revealed as yet, but expect these to remain at 120 PS and 145 Nm as seen currently. At the event, it was revealed that the model lineup will also be streamlined from four variants (Grade S, S+, E and V) to three (S, E and V).

2017 Honda City facelift quick walk-around

Watch a quick walk-around video of the Malaysian-spec 2017 Honda City facelift.

More details here: https://paul.my/2017HondaCityFL

Posted by Paul Tan's Automotive News on Thursday, February 16, 2017

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• SadekSegaraga on Feb 16, 2017 at 7:26 pm

Why is it so hard for Honda to put rear disc?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 6
    • Key Mum on Feb 16, 2017 at 9:37 pm

Promise you will buy City once Honda install rear disk? Or else just shut up and keep driving your 10 years government loan Myvi instalments.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 31
    • Vote UP for LED headlamps
      Vate DOWN for rear disc

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 20
    • City 1.5Tebo TypeR 200bhp

• Mikey on Feb 17, 2017 at 10:01 am

Like someone previously said, this City is Not heavy hence a drum brake is sufficient for its usage. Beside this, U need 2 open the drum brake to clean/clear all the dust/carbon deposits.

Of course disc brake is better where U can at least look visually 2 see if the disc pads needed change beside the many advantages of disc brake.

• RicoT on Feb 17, 2017 at 11:23 am

What about Mazda 2? It is not heavy yet why they can have good things.

• Mikey on Feb 17, 2017 at 3:05 pm

The fact that U know what question 2 ask means U already know why U pay more 4 the Mazda-2. It also cost more 4 car manufacturer to have the disc brake fix. Yes or Not.

• theanswer on Feb 17, 2017 at 11:54 am

macam la nk masuk trek sgt. fiesta ecoboost pun rear drum.

• PlaySafeDriveSafe on Feb 19, 2017 at 7:04 pm

Bukan apa..kita komen supaya kita sbg pengguna nak pressure honda bagi more goodies la…kekalkan disc brake mcm previous model. Bayar mahal2 takkan la asik nak puas hati dgn barang yg inferior (drum brake). Ok mungkin ada yg kata beza prestasinya tak banyak, tapi ia masih sedikit lebih baik & nampak lebih cantik. Bukan sebab nak race pun. Cuma nak nilai yg lebih utk wang yg kita belanjakan. Kuasa pengguna. Jom3.

• Zairam on Mar 22, 2017 at 8:21 pm

Betul tu..vios yg seangkatan dgn nya pun dh ada ‘rear disc barake’ . Berbanding dengan honda city yang sebelum ni pun dh complete. Sepatutnya syarikat honda yang Gah sebegini sepatutnya tidak berlaku sedemikian. Harap2 honda city akan memasang ‘rear disc brake’. Saya sokong 100% honda city perlu memasang ‘rear disc brake’.

• SadekSegaraga on Feb 19, 2017 at 7:41 pm

If most of you are backing Honda, why dont honda go take out all rear disc on Accord/Civic/Cr-v. Sufficient enough and cost saving right?

• Back skitting same as viva elite…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
  • Anything But Toyota, Greedy Honda on Feb 16, 2017 at 8:13 pm

SOHC, rear drum brakes is such a turn off for a RN90k car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 20
    • I agree, it should have a DOHC and rear dic brakes…. actually why stop there? Give us hybrid la, aiyo if Hyundai can do it sure they Honda can. And Honda also make the NSX, they can put a Twin Turbo V6 in that wy not City? Greedy… wait Honda makes Jet engine and boats, than there should be no reason for Honda to make the City the first B-segment with Jet turbines and amphibeous capability to escape the floods. And Honda is from Japan, surely if they can built Nuclear Power station, they can fit them in the City? this is BullShit I’am buying a Persona..

But in all seriousness, do you know the actual benefits of DOHC and rear discs over the current set up or is it a merely the ‘looks shinier surely better’ thinking.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 16
      • Ken Tut Pior on Feb 16, 2017 at 9:41 pm

Not a single model ie Vios,Persona can challenge Honda SOHC class leading power,performance,fuel efficiency,space and design.So for what? Toyota engine also underpower.. Blehh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • theanswer on Feb 17, 2017 at 11:53 am

yeah..should give cross drilled 4 pistons calliper vttr disc brake.

• Hope More In City on Feb 16, 2017 at 8:24 pm

India Honda City which just launched few days ago have sunroof, auto wiper, auto headlight, auto dim back mirror, paddle shift….. Malaysia one got?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 6
    • MY got ESC. inikariland dun.

• Mikey on Feb 17, 2017 at 9:46 am

Don’t bluff john. Your Gen-2 where got ESC. Anyway, why bother with ESC/VSC bcos U are advocating MRT nowadays since its build on BMW technology as said by U.

• BMW for going to work, car for weekends and balik kampung

• I dun even know how to reply u except; did u get hi and go off tangent again?

• johndoeone on Feb 17, 2017 at 10:35 pm

Is there a way perhaps to import the JDM Grace or City models from Japan ,Thailand or Indonesia legally into Malaysia?
      If so, problems with the Malaysian City models with missing upgrades ie, rear disc breaks and ultimately the DOHC Earth Dreams engine under the hood, will be solved.
      No more outdated SOHC engines and extremely poor CKD build quality Hondas from Alor Gajah.

• hehehehehe on Feb 16, 2017 at 8:40 pm

that rear is hideous omg

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
  • Bernard on Feb 16, 2017 at 8:47 pm

Hope it’s below 50k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 14
  • Well done Honda, will sell like hot cakes again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • Luckily i bought the first version…

• Kelvin Kong on Feb 16, 2017 at 9:47 pm

Saya rasa City Grade V yang dulu lagi cantik dan bentuk yang lagi ‘futuristic’ maa : )

• 1 word. FUGLY!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • Rear profile now looks much better in FL with the LED light spec. The side strake flows to the rear lights red/clear edge line and continues to the bootlid chrome.

• camtakpro on Feb 17, 2017 at 10:01 am

But the rear bumper somehow as flat as Bezza – I mean bumperless.

• Somewhat, but its not as disjointed as Civic10. Somehow the crabclaws dun jive with the front

• DPCraft on Feb 16, 2017 at 10:35 pm

I prefer the dual-tone rims design of pre-facelift.

• it is a much more complete package than its predecessor, tho the reduction of corner rear sensors is a step back…

best car for the money in that price range, especially v spec

• timtim on Feb 16, 2017 at 11:44 pm

Purists who drive stick shifters want the type R fk2 turbo and not this old, outdated 2009 dinosaur SOHC engine small sedan.
    If Honda Japan clearly knows that Malaysians are overly obsessed with Hondas, they must bring the type Rs, so that we dont have to buy recon units from Ah Beng, Ah Lien showrooms in KL and JB.
    Where are Nissans and Mazdas? Pity them especially Kia and Hyundai, hated to the max in Malaysia only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
    • hondapro on Feb 17, 2017 at 12:39 pm

Pity Honda’s rivals especially here in Malaysia.
      Malaysians are too blinded by Honda’s Big H logo, brand name, tagline and overrated cars. In Japan and reality, Honda will forever be an Ordinary, Unrefined car not overly obsessed like crazy, like here among Malaysians. Sad:(

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
      • therevsman on Feb 17, 2017 at 10:54 pm

More like being misled and blinded by Hondas infamous tagline and deceiving vehicles. Sadly in Malaysia, no matter how hard we criticize their cars for being too highly loved for nothing or have poor faults overall, Malaysians are wayyy to defensive to accept the truth that Hondas are just lousy, boring, outclassed engine performance and have extremely horrendous built quality compared to rivals like Hyundai, Kia, Mazda, Mitsubishi, Subaru, Toyota and especially Nissan.

• typergangster on Feb 17, 2017 at 11:05 pm

Absolutely true bros, LOL. Almost every Honda showroom and service centers around Malaysia are always full of people. Have to book an appointment as early as possible. Pengsan.
        There are Honda haters out there too, check out the numerous negative comments on Honda Malaysia’s Fb. All kinds of shitstorm issues.

• lolpanda on Feb 17, 2017 at 1:08 pm

based on actual market data, it would make no sense for Honda to bring in a stick shift type R… it’s probably what purist like YOU want, not what general MALAYSIANS want.

there’s a good reason why you hardly ever see stick shifts in Malaysia anymore even though almost every new car in Europe still has a manual option.

Personally I prefer a manual transmission and that’s why I own one. But face the facts, most Malaysians frown upon anything with a third pedal so if you’re a purist, you’re left with the extremities of continental performance models or basic trim-level local makes.

• Sure or not on Feb 17, 2017 at 1:11 am

You mean not divulging how much more to pay.Have to add 5k for the face lifted parts….wait and see.normal lah.looks good though.

• i hope they dont refurbished unsold old city as new one, change front, change back, change dashboard trim etc…bang…new 2017 city

• Went to showroom earlier this week, SA said most of the showrooms in Klang Valley have cleared their current model City. Just how well the City sales is doing

• they said ‘cleared’…it could mean sent to factory to refurbish as new :D

cleared the showroom for space to display new 2017 city

• It seem everyone craving for HYBRID but when come to 2nd hand value the car price drop like hell and no-one dare to buy because of the battery prices. Will you buy a 2nd hand hybrid car?

• RicoT on Feb 17, 2017 at 11:27 am

What happened to the extended battery warranty? You forgotten?

• john is otak batu on Feb 17, 2017 at 12:48 pm

True brader, Even 2nd hand car salesman will cut extra 5k down on the RV even got so call “battery warranty” when u bring it in!

• Yummy on Feb 17, 2017 at 11:08 am

IMHO, honda city are far away better than toyota vios.

• klguy on Feb 17, 2017 at 11:57 am

whats with that ugly spoiler…just a waste of money

• typergangster on Feb 17, 2017 at 10:59 pm

Waste of money or not, the ‘ Ekor Itek’ spoilers are Malaysian Honda Type R drivers Ah Beng wannabe weapon on the highways and car parks. LOL.
      Total output is 350 hp compared to 306hp from FK2R.

• ManualFTW on Feb 17, 2017 at 6:26 pm

no manual variant? :(

• Harry on Feb 17, 2017 at 9:06 pm

Anthony, could you guys include the picture of the headlamps at night on the road to see how good is the system? Some cars cost expensive but give bad headlamp result at night. Recently, IHHS did test rating on the cars besides crash rating. Appreciate that you will include that in every other review. Thanks.

• For real drum break, it is sufficient, it’s a City, just because your steering has a Honda logo doesn’t mean you are driving an civic type-R. I prefer the outlook of this facelift version than previous, but it really depends on personal taste. The only thing I am concern is quality of this car, which I see a lot of comments on the internet.