January 2017 Malaysia car sales – down 31% from Dec

The Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA) has just released car sales figures in Malaysia for January 2017. Combined sales for commercial and passenger vehicles managed a slight gain over the same month last year, with a total of 44,667 vehicles sold last month, compared to 44,589 in the same month last year.

The outlook for sales volume in February is a slight decrease, attributed to the shorter working month due to post-Chinese New Year festive holidays. This follows a significant dip from last month, representing a 31% decrease from December 2016; the year-ender itself made a 32.1% gain from November, with 64,822 vehicles sold.

This mirrored the previous December/January pattern as well, which marked a considerable dip in total industry volume compared to the previous year’s, which charted Malaysia’s highest ever at 666,674 units.

The slight increase for January compared to the same month last year was attributed to a continuation of aggressive sales and marketing campaigns for Chinese New Year promotions, though the gain was not as large as it could have been due to the aforementioned shorter working month, as well as from the diminishing effects of East Coast floods.

Open roads and closed circuits hold great allure for Mick Chan. Driving heaven to him is exercising a playful chassis on twisty paths; prizes ergonomics and involvement over gadgetry. Spent three years at a motoring newspaper and short stint with a magazine prior to joining this website.

• This happens when ppl stop buying to look first. This is known as the handbrake effect.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 17
    • Selva Kumar Subbiah on Feb 17, 2017 at 7:54 pm

This is very good. We as consumers now should boycott buying any new cars to pressure the car makers to reduce prices.

Currently Malaysia has the highest car prices in the world. And we in Malaysia have one of the lowest pay packets. Most Malaysians, spend their entire life paying for their cars, now 9 year loans are the norm. After 9 years of slogging paying the loan, the car also kind of mati from wear and tear and this forces us to take another 9 year loan to buy another car. The cycle goes on for the next 50 years of your life.

We Malaysians take about 6 or 7 car loans our entire life and all we do is pay off the loans our entire life.
      Most Malaysians don’t really own a car like Westerners as Westerners just buy outright without loans. Pity we Malaysians have to take loans and struggle paying high car prices.

Let us refrain from buying any new car. This will pressure the car makers to reduce prices. Ironically, all car makers in Malaysia are GLC or Government owned. So, if the Government wanted to reduce car prices, it is up to the Government to tell their own GLC to reduce car prices.

Proton is DRB (GLC). Perodua is UMW (GLC) Honda is DRB (GLC), Toyota is UMW (GLC), BMW is Sime Darby. Hyundai is Sime Darby. Ford is Sime Darby…..and the list goes on and on and on.

If you want to buy a car, go buy it second hand. A bit of advice to Paul Tan, many Malaysians are scared to buy 2nd hand cause most of the car dealers modify their odometer and cheat. Then some 2nd hand dealers take even years to transfer the name of the buyer (grant)despite you surrending the car long ago. Some even have surrendered their cars to used car dealers and the banks still chase them for unpaid monthly loans. This has left a bitter experience for most people and most people end up buying new cars.

Can Paul Tan and team set up a forum for just private sellers. Many Malaysians want to buy 2nd hand cars but there are hardly any private sellers. We want to buy direct from sellers. I hope Paul Tan can facilitate a forum where we all can search only private sellers.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 144 Thumb down 7
      • Google M-U-V marketplace (remove the dashes)

• Kunta Kinte on Feb 18, 2017 at 11:03 am

We are still waiting for our 30% car price reduction promise. Instead of that, car prices have gone up. Mazda last year went up 3 times. How long can Malaysians survive like this? Fuel up, car prices up, this up and that up

• Boring Samy kunta Kumar on Feb 18, 2017 at 3:48 pm

We need people like you to lead us, u are so dumb smart. Pls help us to make our life better

• Club pesakit kuntaKumar on Feb 19, 2017 at 12:24 pm

Indeed you are right, if kunta with multiple identity can be the minster, i will donate Rm5 to him. I am keen to see how he looks like. I wonder how can a person geting mentally so sick. Must take photograph.

• Operation Manager on Feb 19, 2017 at 12:59 pm

The Govt already started to reduce the car price by 30% but ONLY at LUXURY Segment (eg. Mecerdes S400 from rm865k to rm587k @32% off). We all can see the MAI MAA even the ministry itself only serve the 1% RICH to become richer. The poor still like a slave serving 9yrs loan cycle for life. Now this year 2017 all Malaysian is waiting the 30% off for Honda Jazz Hybrid price, current price rm71k to rm50k @30% off. We are watching MAI MAA ministry to walk the talk, ant not to be a LIAR. Bring in the Honda City Hybrid as well, current rm73k to rm51k @30% off.

• Albert on Feb 18, 2017 at 8:10 pm

You r 5000 percent damn right.
        Bolehland buyers always prefer NEW CARS.But like u said,we r spending a lifetime on loans and loans cos of the VERY HIGH PRICES.
        cAR LOVERS SHOULD GO FOR 3-5 YEARS OLD cars.Much cheaper and still in good condition.
        HOWEVER,the adverts are mostly MISLEADING.
        The football fee/admin fee can start from rm 600 to rm5000.
        Again 98percent of the meters r altered to reflect lower mileage.
        What is the gomen agency doing about this daylight robbery? Busy catching people who puff at garden parks?
        “JUST BUY AND DRIVE.NO NEED REPAIRS”
        It is quite lawless out there when u buy used cars from dealers.
        If u sell/buy direct ,u can be mugged.
        Thats why many prefer to pay thro their nose and buy new cars.

• Holofanboi on Feb 19, 2017 at 11:17 am

Second or third most expensive car prices in the world if im not mistaken. Singapore and China have it far worse than us once you factor the COE in.

On paygrade, we are slightly below average compared to the rest of the world depending on industry.

And in the US, most finance their car similar to us. The new car data purchases was for America was released early January i think. Look around.

• Justin on Feb 20, 2017 at 11:22 am

“Westerners just buy outright without loans”.
        Actually, Westerners buy via leasing.

• Less cars & motors, more public transports

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 12
    • Kunta Kinte on Feb 18, 2017 at 3:27 pm

We must ask MAI what is the main direction of the government now. Every other month they give different story. One day they say gomen pushing for hybrid and EV, another day, they say gomen has abolished incentives for EV and Hybrid.

MAI needs to be focused. They are all the time giving wrong direction to the industry. Until today, they have not even scrapped the AP problem.

MAI should work with MAA to give us proper direction and not be kissing balls.

• Unless ur blind AND deaf, its easy to see wheres Gov main direction is. Just take a look at any MRT station.

• AnuAnu on Feb 18, 2017 at 10:47 pm

i want komuter service connecting miri kuching, tqvm

• Do u even know how far miri to kuching is? Dun just say nonsense if u never been there.

• Aishah on Feb 17, 2017 at 7:13 pm

Kenaikan harga minyak mengakibatkan jualan kenderaan di Malaysia tahun ini mengalami kemerosotan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
  • Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Feb 17, 2017 at 8:07 pm

Bagus, this is good. Let’s make it less than 500,000 units this year. They’re all panicking now.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 1
  • ccy7218 on Feb 17, 2017 at 9:30 pm

MAA, just say that rakyat do not or dare not have the capability to buy new cars due to rising cost of living day after day; year after year….Dun bullshit the readers here say shorter working month and diminishing flood effects… Dun thought the readers here stupidlah. MAA…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
    • ccy7218 on Feb 17, 2017 at 9:32 pm

If say rakyat adopt wait and see attitude then more reasonable and acceptable… MAA

• It just means rakyat is waiting for more MRTs & LRTs

• Y U Ful on Feb 17, 2017 at 11:58 pm

Please get the facts right ! Read & analyse. ‘Car’ sales are not down, In fact they show a YOY growth of 1%. It’s the commercial vehicle sales which are down YOY. However, my guess would be that 2017 (full year) car volume will decrease on prior year, due to sluggish economy and higher cost of living. To help negate this, auto companies should reduce prices and offer more accesories, but more importantly, taxes & duties will need to be reduced.

• Simon Ambrose on Feb 18, 2017 at 9:18 am

My accountant told me to avoid buy any car above 200k cause incometax officers are scavenging around to collect money as much as possible since the government no money. I had many friends who got taxed for no reason and knowing them they pay their taxes always. Sad what has become of our country nowadays…

• evolva on Feb 18, 2017 at 10:27 am

This phenomenon cannot be true, didn’t our big G already announced to everyone that after conducted a series of professional and viable detailed survey, they managed to arrived at a conclusion that our country’s economy and prospering???

• rakyat has more options to travel now instead of using cars. Deswai less pipu in city need to buy cars now.

• ccy7218 on Feb 19, 2017 at 6:42 pm

How true is the study no one knows… It’s just their announcement… No need look far…. Just look at our ownself whether we are suffering or prospering… That’s all…

• C. P. MOHAN on Feb 18, 2017 at 9:02 pm

Although the economy could be the main reason for the falling sales but vehicle ownership and maintaining are becoming less affordable hence must be also considered.

• Karma Coming on Feb 19, 2017 at 12:42 pm

In February, March and subsequent months to come, sales will drop even more.

I suggest MAI to cook-up more excuses for these months. I would suggest the below:

1. Hot spell in Malaysia. People are not going outdoor to car showroom.

2. MegaSales in shopping centres distracted people from visiting car showroom.

3. Smartphones are too distracting to the people all the time.

4. BR1M not banked-in yet.

5. Everybody busy filling-in LHDN tax-form

6. Satellite tv made people into potato-couch, and didnt go out visiting car showroom.

etc…

• Dreamer on Feb 19, 2017 at 7:46 pm

Hi,

38 years ago when I first started work, I was informed by my boss that as a guideline for an advance and high income nation like the US,
    the price of a new car is about 3 months salary of fresh graduate.

Quick check in the internet, today the Cheapest car in US – Nisssan Versa/Almera US12780
    Fresh graduate average salary in US – USD4340 per month (USD52087 per year)
    US4340x3 = US13020. 3 months pay can buy new car
    So the ratio is still the same. Salary level still in tandem with inflation

Today the cheapest car in Malaysia – Perodua Axia 1.0L RM23530
    Fresh graduate average salary in Malaysia RM 3000 per month
    RM3000 x 8 = RM24000. 8 months pay can buy new car!

We are not where near advanced/high income nation status. only in dreams

• Dreamer on Feb 19, 2017 at 7:49 pm

38 years ago when I first started work, I was informed by my boss that
    as a guideline for an advance and high income nation like the US,
    the price of a new car is about 3 months salary of fresh graduate.

Quick check in the internet, today the Cheapest car in US – Nisssan Versa/Almera US12780
    Fresh graduate average salary in US – USD4340 per month (USD52087 per year)
    US4340x3 = US13020. 3 months pay can buy new car
    So the ratio is still the same. Salary level still in tandem with inflation

Today the cheapest car in Malaysia – Perodua Axia 1.0L RM23530
    Fresh graduate average salary in Malaysia RM 3000 per month
    RM3000 x 8 = RM24000. 8 months pay can buy new car!

We are not where near advanced/high income nation. only in dreams

• ccy7218 on Feb 19, 2017 at 9:54 pm

Yup…very true… no need pay millions to hire professional to conduct study… This simple comparison already enuf to show that we are poor people…

• Why not compare with nearer Singapore which is an advanced and high income nation?

Anyway did anyone say Malaysia is an advanced and high income nation?

• Stupidity.

Why not compare with somewhere nearer like Singapore which is an advanced and high income nation?

Anyway did anyone say Malaysia is an advanced and high income nation?

• Non dreamer on Feb 20, 2017 at 10:53 am

After searching on google and based on your calculation then:
      Singapore fresh grad starting salary – SGD 3300 p/m
      Cheapest new car in Sg (Perodua Axia) – SGD 71000
      It will take them 21 months pay to own a car

Does that mean they’re less advanced/ lower income?

• JB_KIA on Feb 20, 2017 at 12:06 am

so suggest lupus kete to boost sale laaa…

• passion on Feb 20, 2017 at 9:32 am

i guess used cars with a proper service record will be a good buy. we need a total paradigm shift in the way we think about new cars and 9 year loans. what about a good used car with say a 3 to 5 year loan period. we will be debt free stress free.

• To all, with your current economic situation, it definitely makes sense to buy a used car for your motoring needs. The crux of the issue is finding a good deal and not being fleeced by used car dealers:
    Firstly, choosing your vehicle; follow these simple steps:
    Buyer
    -Pick cars that comes with full service history, complete tool kit and spare keys…if you find either one of the item missing..walk away
    -Most people are hesitant to put on extra test drive miles on their car prior to sale, so best to request for bring the vehicle to a service centre or tyre shop, put it up a hoist and do a full under-carriage, engine, interior and exterior inspection, so to objectively assess the car condition…if you are not able to or been decline an inspection…walk away
    -Another good option is looking for dealer-pre approved used cars…possibly you may buying journalist ‘test-drive’ cars, dealer fleet car or event cars..there may be not much savings..but you should be assured of vehicle history…to a certain extent.
    Bottom line…be patient, do your homework and you will land yourself a good deal…based on your budget…my 2 cents

• azrai on Feb 21, 2017 at 8:37 am

…and our leaders are proud to say our economy is very good even better than negara maju.