Petrol subsidies not on the cards, says KPDNKK

Despite the continual rise in petrol prices, the government has no plans to subsidise fuels, as doing so would only place even more burden on its expenditure.

According to The Sun, domestic trade, cooperatives and consumerism minister Datuk Seri Hamzah Zainuddin said that it would cost RM100 million to subsidise petrol by just 5 sen per litre, putting the total cost of a 40 sen subsidy at RM800 million.

Hamzah was replying a question from member of parliament Datuk Seri Hasan Arifin, who asked if the government was considering a ceiling price for RON 95 petrol of RM2.50 per litre. Hamzah said that it was not able to determine the right formula to stabilise the price at that level, adding that fuel prices in Malaysia had once touched RM2.90 per litre.

“if we want to set a ceiling price at RM2.50, we will have to pay a big subsidy if the price of petrol increased to RM2.90 and maintains for a long time,” he said. Hamzah also noted that a government subsidy should only be targeted to specific groups, and added that a petrol subsidy would not be fair to rural consumers based on their fuel consumption.

He also warned petrol station operators against hoarding fuel, saying that it is an offence under the law, and action would be taken against any such practice.

Hamzah told Bernama on March 4 that a weekly fuel price ceiling would be implemented on April 1; however, prime minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak, who is also finance minister, replied in parliament that the policy is still being reviewed.

This prompted a response from MP Tony Pua, who said that that contradictory statements from two ministries determining the fuel price ceiling would confuse consumers. However, Pua said he was supportive of a weekly ceiling, as it would benefit consumers affected by the increase in fuel prices and essential goods.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• So, both sides now support weekly price. Now we see what happens.

• Suhaimi Sulaiman on Mar 23, 2017 at 10:36 am

Yesterday Australian dollar hit 3.45. What is happening?

In 1980 our Ringgit and Singapore Ringgit was ONE TO ONE. 1 Ringgit can change to 1 Singapore DOllar.

37 years later, Singapore is now 3.3 to 1 Ringgit.

This alone will tell you how our country is managed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 4
      • Nazri on Mar 23, 2017 at 3:54 pm

2020 – 1 Singapore can exchange to 4.80 Ringgit.
        Gooder tourism & export

• deficit kaokao on Mar 23, 2017 at 8:11 pm

No money how to subsidise? Government now operating through borrowings only

• Sama L00 on Mar 24, 2017 at 9:32 am

Govt no need cover the RM1.5b which is gone case to Proton? Someone (mostly you) has to pay the bill!

• Ah Kow on Mar 23, 2017 at 4:01 pm

Enlighten me, a country with NO PETROL resources lack of many natural resources, limited natural tourist spots as compared to Malaysia is able to to hit RM3.3 to SGD1. They have to even buy WATER from us. How eh?

• This is tell u Malaysian are not competitive, lack of united

• dregen on Mar 24, 2017 at 12:00 pm

dude..read more. bagaikan banding bulan dan bintang 2 matawang ni. Singapore manage SGD currency movement thru their monetary authority while we manage our RM by buying/selling & targeting short term interest rate on open money market. pendek kata, Singapore sendiri menetapkan berapa nilaian matawang dia tampa ambil kira keadaan ekonomi baik/buruk.

if you said we should manege our own currency like em, thats a good point. but by simply compare both of em ..that’s just..hmm

• Mikey on Mar 23, 2017 at 9:44 am

Of course petrol subsidies is NOT on your cards. If we are playing football, U will received a RED card for giving our Rakyat countless heartache.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • arowana on Mar 23, 2017 at 9:55 am

government revenue is more important than the rakyat welfare… kek!

• thepolygonal on Mar 23, 2017 at 12:34 pm

“the government has no plans to subsidise fuels, as doing so would only place even more burden on its expenditure”

So according to the government, we are a burden to them. Wow… if only we no need to pay them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
  • kedekut tamak G on Mar 23, 2017 at 9:59 am

Give 5sen susbsidy also kedekut.

• kereta_lembu on Mar 23, 2017 at 10:03 am

Once upon a time, we had subsidies for our fuel even when the prices were not absurdly high, but that did not kill our Gov. Instead, back then things were a lot better. The Ringgit was stronger and even when the Ringgit was attacked, our Gov could afford to peg it to achieve some form of stability.

Nowadays, you wonder what the Gov is doing apart from taking from its people, asking people to change their ways to adapt to the situation, and keep raising prices and telling people that it wouldn’t be a burden. Wow…they can take from us but we cannot ask from them?

If our Gov is not able to help us, then God please help us and put some sense into the people when they have the power to cast their votes.

The End.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 3
    • papakedana on Mar 23, 2017 at 6:04 pm

Harga bagi banyak barang pengguna di Malaysia mahal berbanding negara kaya.

Ia menjadi lebih mahal apabila nilai ringgit merudum kerana banyak barang yang kita guna, diimport.

Berdasarkan pendapatan per kapita, rakyat Malaysia terpaksa belanja lebih banyak pendapatan mereka untuk beli petrol berbanding rakyat negara kaya.

• kereta_lembu on Mar 23, 2017 at 10:02 pm

So, kena tanya…mengapa selepas negara Merdeka begitu lama, status negara masih tidak boleh menjadi negara kaya? Kita ada petroleum, kita ada getah, kelapa sawit, ada balak, ada banyak warga yang pandai…tapi negara macam semakin mundur, semakin teruk, rakyat semakin sengsara. Siapa yang bertanggungjawab menjaga kebajikan rakyat? Siapa yang bertanggungjawab menaikan taraf negara menjadi negara kaya? Mengapa kita masih perlu import barang orang asing. Mengapa kita tak boleh buat barang berkualiti tinggi? Mengapa Ringgit semakin turun nilainya? Salah siapa ni? Mengapa rakyat tidak yakin pada kereta proton? Mengapa Hyundai yang lebih lembab berbanding Proton sekarang semakin maju? Kita kena tanya la, apa Kerajaan buat selama ini. Kenapa boleh jadi macam ini?

• panjang on Mar 23, 2017 at 10:05 am

Lower our roadtax please….tq

• horrayooi on Mar 23, 2017 at 10:16 am

Roadtax for car below 1,600 cc.is not high. It is the insurance that is high. The government need to do something
      about insurance premiums. They must prevent the insurance adjuster and workshop from making exorbitant claims.No to have check and balance in the industry. Careful car owners
      who hardly claim are the losers.

• Actually insurance is not that high itself. When u get to 55% NCB, u pay less than half. And with the new system, if u not the crazy type, then u shud be paying even less.

• Singantoi on Mar 23, 2017 at 10:29 am

IF we get cheaper consumer product, cheap car, reasonable house price than maybe it’s ok to raise the fuel price as 1st nation country.

• Change Policy on Mar 23, 2017 at 10:40 am

We all know that gov is try to subsidise the low-grade fuel for the rakyat, however instead of subsidy removes AP, at least Rakyat gains benefit for lower car price.

• kereta_lembu on Mar 23, 2017 at 11:34 am

Our Gov needs money, lots of it. For what? Only God knows. Rakyat will say, abolish AP, reduce road tax etc if they want to stop subsidizing fuel. But think about this, they mentioned that they cannot afford to subsidize anymore. And they removed a lot of subsidy from other items and introduced GST at the same time.

Do you really think that they take for example RM10 from you (by removing subsidy), and then give you back RM50 (by abolishing AP and taxes)? At the end of the day, they still rugi RM40?

But now, they maintain AP/GST and whatever taxes PLUS remove subsidy. They get total of RM60…how nice. And where does the RM60 go? how will it be used? Again, only God knows.

• All Gov need lotsa money, even for something as small as the Vatican. Theoretically, MY Gov can afford the subsidy but we need the money for nation building unless we go the privatasi route that u pipu condemned so much.

Furthermore GST is a transparent tax system. We can now see how much was actually flowed thru the cracks during the SST era. It shud have came in much much earlier like SG.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
        • kereta_lembu on Mar 23, 2017 at 4:24 pm

Hi John, you’re right! All Gov needs money, but they use the money more wisely. NOT for new jets, not for golfing/shopping purposes, not for submarines when what the rakyat needs is more empathy and compassion during difficult times.

Just tell me why they can ask rakyat to ikat perut to change their ways of spending but on the other hand they get higher pay rise?

I don’t need to give more examples, as a conclusion, from the people’s point of view, the Gov doesn’t really give a hoot about your welfare until election time, then they extra nice. Suddenly the roads needs to be repaired, suddenly people got lucky draw and free food, suddenly got extra money to give away.

• Please abolish AP as well

• passion on Mar 23, 2017 at 11:06 am

same old never-ending story.

• Vincent on Mar 23, 2017 at 11:09 am

We are paying at 2.30 now and they are talking of ceiling at 2.50!

In short… the price of petrol will continue high… regardless if international oil price dropped.

• Jason on Mar 23, 2017 at 11:44 am

In the past, there was cheap fuel as government subsidised but high taxes on imported cars. Therefore the trade-off.

But now they removed the subsidy so expensive fuel but still maintaining the high taxes on imported cars! Our government has no logic and sense or sensibility! High taxes on imported cars to protect local car makers is just a bloody excuse!

• kelvin tan on Mar 23, 2017 at 11:52 am

those drive big car gonna keep in house already

• azman shah on Mar 23, 2017 at 12:21 pm

When crude oil spiked to US100 ++ we paid $2.90. Now crude is hovering around US50++ and we are paying $2.30 . What kinda rocket science price mechanism are we talking about ?

• U forgot to add AAB subsidi of 70sen. Real price was RM3.60.

• KenJi on Mar 23, 2017 at 8:48 pm

Let’s do math. $100 = 3.60. Hence $50 =1.80. Tp camner kena tambah lg 0.50 sen jd 2.30?

• The Hand on Mar 23, 2017 at 1:55 pm

“…it would cost RM100 million to subsidise petrol by just 5 sen per litre, putting the total cost of a 40 sen subsidy at RM800 million.”

Are these figures supposed to be per day expenses?

Btw, if there’s gonna be any subsidies at all it will be better off as a blanket implementation rather than for specific groups as I am sure prices of goods and services would be more unpredictable if they do it the latter way. Just get rid of the effin BR1M to save money.

• Malaysia Boleh on Mar 23, 2017 at 3:16 pm

A oil produce country don’t subsidy petrol by many excuse, what a shame!

• Kannineh jibby on Mar 23, 2017 at 7:02 pm

Petrol no subsidy, sugar no subsidy, gst tax on goods, high tax on cars….

• Too many reasons why Malaysia is lagging behind Singapore. Poor governance, ineffective policies, high corruption, rampant cronyism, you name it, we have it. Yet, there are still Malaysians that can bersyukur with the condition of the country.

• Kurangkan gaji menteri dan bagi balik subsidi minyak kami.