VIDEO: Steel to Wheels – building the Nissan Navara

Nissan has come out with a video showcasing how its NP300 Navara is built. Steel to Wheels, as it’s called, is a behind-the-scenes look at the manufacturing process of the third-generation pick-up at the automaker’s Plant 2 facility at its factory in Bangna, Thailand. The kingdom is Nissan Asia and Oceania’s (A&O) production hub.

The five-minute clip shows how the Navara is made, from raw steel to the finished product. The D23s that are produced by the plant’s 1,400 local employees account for 57.6% of Nissan’s exports from Thailand, and are shipped to 105 destinations worldwide, of which one is Malaysia.

The NP300 Navara was launched in Malaysia in November 2015, and is sold here in single- and double-cab forms. Six variants are available, starting with a baseline single-cab manual workhorse. Next is the manual double-cab E, followed by the SE, which is available in both auto and manual transmissions.

The range is completed by the V and top-of-the-line VL, both available only as automatics. All versions are powered by a 2.5 litre YD25DDTi four-cylinder turbodiesel engine, which offers 190 PS at 3,600 rpm and 450 Nm at 2,000 rpm on the VL and 163 PS and 403 Nm in the rest of the model range.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Better build in tomyam. MY build all no quality one, according to bashers. MY pipu now hi keras, wan impot even if from tomyam or indomee or balutland.

MY pipu demands ke arah 1st world!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
    • Kelab Penyayang Kunta on Mar 28, 2017 at 3:52 pm

That is true. Here workers tidur. Like MAS CEO caught MAS workers sleeping. And the workers said it is their right to sleep during work hours.

sure lah quality bad like this

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
      • Thats is correct. All workers here tabouleh pakai. Bashers says all work done in MY is half past 6. So better outsource all work to other countries. Then MY bashers will kaya raya ke arah 1st… oh wait…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
      • Tidur pun salah kah?

• nis san on Mar 28, 2017 at 3:41 pm

wish TCM would include all round 360 cam for MY Navara like other market tho.

• W3car3 (Member) on Mar 28, 2017 at 4:29 pm

Car manufacturers mostly here are well monitored, workers are well skilled and trained. Don’t look down the country for everything u smell without knowing…

• W3car3 (Member) on Mar 28, 2017 at 4:32 pm

funny when you have no idea how much effort malaysia car manufacturers put in to produce a car!! don’t just assume u knows about their jobs!!

• I thought is Nissan Nirvana