Nissan NP300 Navara unveiled in Thailand: 7spd auto!

SONY DSC

Sawasdee krub! We’re in Bangkok, Thailand, where Nissan has unveiled the all-new Nissan NP300 Navara. The 12th-gen Nissan pickup truck boasts better fuel economy, improved acceleration and a more rigid and durable frame.

The model also features a lower roof, higher ground clearance and a larger load area. Narrow- and wide-bodies, king- and double-cabs as well as 2WD and 4WD versions are available.

Nissan says the focus is on a “sportier and more emotional expression” – there’s a high belt line and blacked-out B-pillars, plus sculpted front wings and door sections with concave-convex surfaces. Two new colours are available – Savannah Yellow and The Earth Bronze.

SONY DSC

The LED DRLs create a boomerang-shaped signature, and there are chrome waist line mouldings and wing mirror indicators. The headlamps themselves are powered by LED as well, and Nissan claims visibility is 1.4 times better than a regular headlamp.

Inside, the restyled dashboard features a gentle sweep from the centre panel to the door side. An aluminium-like finish can be found on the centre stack and console, and the ‘Zero-Gravity‘ seats as seen on the Teana feature “finely-crafted” stitching. Rear air vents are also available.

SONY DSC

Between the instrument dials sits a 3D colour TFT screen that displays turn-by-turn navigation instructions, compass, fuel economy indicator and audio information. The customisable display also provides alerts, service reminders and more, in a variety of languages.

Under the bonnet resides either a 2.5 litre DOHC four-cylinder petrol or a 2.5 litre DOHC four-cylinder turbodiesel. The diesel engine’s turbocharger is electrically actuated, and there are two states of tune: 161 hp at 3,600 rpm and 403 Nm of twist at 2,000 rpm, and 188 hp and 450 Nm at the same revs. The engines are connected to either a six-speed manual or a seven-speed auto (!) with manual override.

Both engines are Euro 5 compliant, and Nissan says fuel economy has been improved by as much as 11% over the outgoing model. Underpinning the Nissan NP300 Navara is a high-strength chassis and leaf suspension. Smaller turning circle, too.

Shift-on-the-fly 4×4 driving can be engaged while the vehicle is in motion. The security guards comprise Vehicle Dynamic Control (VDC), Active Brake Limited Slip (ABLS), Hill Start Assist (HSA) and Hill Descent Control (HDC).

140611-01-24

“Since we built our first pickup in 1933, over 14 million customers around the globe have come to depend on a Nissan pickup to transport their families, workmates and cargo, sometimes in the toughest of circumstances,” explained Nissan chief planning officer Andy Palmer.

“The Nissan New NP300 Navara sets new benchmarks for performance, toughness, versatility and running costs; all the qualities that are critical for pickup users,” he added.

The Nissan NP300 Navara will be the first vehicle built at the company’s new US$358 million plant in Samut Prakan near the capital, at a rate of about 75,000 units a year. This marks the end of Nissan’s joint venture with Mitsubishi Motors to produce pickup trucks at the latter’s plant at the Laem Chabang Industrial Estate in Chonburi, which will continue to build the outgoing Navara until export sales end.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• someguyonthenet on Jun 11, 2014 at 1:36 pm

this is just too good of a UTE. Hope the price gap between this and the old ones are not that high.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 2
    • Dear nissan, please bring this truck to malaysia ASAP & dont wait for years.

Also bring the luxury spec too eventhough it pass the 100k mark. Some people want their car to have 6 airbags & adaptive xenon headlight as standard. Just look at the wildtrak that sales through the roof.

Malaysia is a high income country & need to be place at the same level as Australia or uk

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 3
      • Md Shah on Jun 11, 2014 at 6:12 pm

See how Thailand can benefit with latest tech. We are left out. This is all because of all the special preferance nonsense in Malaysia.

Malaysia is going downhill…..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 9
        • kzm (Member) on Jun 11, 2014 at 6:28 pm

lol…u no read other news? all bad thing boleh..all fragkin thing boleh…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
        • kcng (Member) on Jun 11, 2014 at 6:30 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 162
          • kcng, you dont own the country, have no right to ask any Malaysian to get out. Didnt you hear someone say this country is the best democracy? If so, it is the ppl’s right to raise their views and be heard.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 5
          • Aaron on Jun 11, 2014 at 8:14 pm

You like this country, we also don’t want you to stay in this country. No one needs a trash like YOU. And where’s your bloody manners? People like you will only make more problems and spoil the image of the country.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 3
        • Andrew Pang on Jun 11, 2014 at 6:48 pm

Oh my! What English!. Belajar mana? UiTM or Mara?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 67
        • kadajawi (Member) on Jun 11, 2014 at 6:52 pm

Erm. Do they? The car makers can leave Thailand any time, that’s why all the countries that used to only produce for others are getting their own local brands. Japan used to produce for others. South Korea did. Now it is China’s turn, they started doing work for others, but are getting more and more of their own brands, and they are getting better and better. See Xiaomi and Lenovo for example.

Also, the reason why the Fiesta 1.5 only has 2 airbags is because it is made in Thailand, and for the Thai market it was decided that 2 airbags is enough.

• munkay on Jun 11, 2014 at 5:45 pm

Sorry mate, but this isn’t an ute. Utes are 2 door sedan type vehicles with an open back.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
      • kadajawi (Member) on Jun 11, 2014 at 7:06 pm

Right. The Proton Arena/Jumpback is a ute.

• NISSpengAN on Jun 11, 2014 at 1:39 pm

Good move to nissan , RIP to Hilux !

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 10
    • Aaron on Jun 11, 2014 at 4:47 pm

I’m 100% sure that one of your dislikes came from Sam Loo.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 4
  • calcutta on Jun 11, 2014 at 1:49 pm

Nissan Saab Pickup truck
    i much much prefer the old one

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 28
  • mohsin on Jun 11, 2014 at 1:50 pm

got timing chain or still timing belt?
    where’s Sam Loo?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 21
  • The model also features a lower roof, higher ground clearance and a larger load area. Narrow- and wide-bodies,

—————————

Why need a larger load area instead of providing a bigger interior?

This truck is for construction use and not for urban Cowboy.

Toyota Hilux’s sale will not be affected by the so called” Innovative” design from Nissan.

Nissan, if you want to sell your Navara like your Almera, pricing and big interior is a must in malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 73
    • SoMeOnE (Member) on Jun 11, 2014 at 2:56 pm

‘Why need a larger load area instead of providing a bigger interior?
      This truck is for construction use and not for urban Cowboy.’

Dude are you high? Your first statement and your second statement cancelled out each other.

Trucks are designed to load lug. It’s just become a lifestyle thing of late in this part of the world because of pricing. You want a big interior then get a MPV or something.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 2
      • Obviously (Member) on Jun 11, 2014 at 6:41 pm

I can totally imagine an MPV-pickup truck hybrid after reading these comments.

• Sammy Valley on Jun 11, 2014 at 2:00 pm

Beribu-ribu tahniah Nissan!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
  • Kangkung on Jun 11, 2014 at 2:09 pm

Another new war begin in pick up truck segment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Wow! for the first time, i like this truck so much! If price worth it, probably will have this one for my wife!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
  • gOOsh (Member) on Jun 11, 2014 at 2:12 pm

this pickup truck is awesome… :)

• jonnyblaze on Jun 11, 2014 at 2:23 pm

Electrically activated turbo means zero turbo lag??

• Zero turbo lag you said?? It can mess with any JDM tuner XD

• D.I.Y on Jun 11, 2014 at 2:23 pm

nowadays pickup is getting fun to drive than a sedan car.. especially test in the extreme condition road like flood and muddy road. Just like ford ranger, now this one going to take over. Hilux always far behind, RIP

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
  • tmsoo on Jun 11, 2014 at 2:41 pm

I’m driving one, the first navara model launch in Msia. The fc is quite high.

• Richard on Jun 11, 2014 at 2:44 pm

Look like Isuzu D’max, no?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • Interior much more nicer than the current one, current navara interior ugly to the max. good improvement this one

• Denaihati on Jun 11, 2014 at 3:02 pm

i guest, same will be launched here. huge power and torque, better fuel efficiency and so on. looks like nissan a step ahead.

• Chimuss on Jun 11, 2014 at 3:43 pm

Single cab with suicide door…. thats nice…

• messi on Jun 11, 2014 at 3:47 pm

nowadays pickup is getting fun to drive than a sedan car.. especially test in the extreme condition road like flood and muddy road. Just like ford ranger, now this one going to take over. Hilux always far behind, RIP

——————–

How offen you drive the car to the extreme and go into muddy road for a Urban Cowboy?

Kind to tell us what is the sale volume for Navara as compared to Hilux. Dud?

Put up your figure before talking cock here. I hardly see any navara on the road but hilux can be seem every where.

Navara cant even stay close with Hilux in term of sale volume despite Toyota using the 4 speed gear box and with less HP (old Technology).

Fail product always relate to poor marketing strategy that no aware of customer’s need.

Nissan is a very good example on why they are no : 3 behind T & H.

You cant change the fact but you can talk and “syiok sendiri” on how good a Navara can be.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 69
    • Obviously (Member) on Jun 11, 2014 at 6:47 pm

High sales volume doesn’t always reflect the quality of a product vs another. Brand image plays an important part in the eyes of Malaysian buyers. Hilux built up a strong reputation early on so they have customers that swear by a Hilux even though the current outgoing Hilux has crap specs (no stability control, bad high speed stability, etc).

Most of the accidents on the Pan-Borneo expressway are due to Hilux drivers thinking they’re driving some Ferrari or Lamborghini and speed along windy roads are eXtreme speeds.

Hilux selling price isn’t all that cheap either yet people still buy the truck. It reflects blind brand loyalty, if anything else. Toyota being considered bullet-proof and all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
  • Pleaseeeeeeee on Jun 11, 2014 at 3:48 pm

Pleaseeeeee bring in this one without the luxury gadgets get omitted pleaseeeeeeeee i had anticipated for a pick up with such luxury feel many yrs ago awwww and dreams come true <3 pleaseeee bring it in ASAP wakakaka

• pondan on Jun 11, 2014 at 4:03 pm

Eh…. mana itu proton arena…. ? Atuk manyak cakap… habok pun tarak..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
  • Darren on Jun 11, 2014 at 4:18 pm

first 7 speed transmission on a pick up truck. it will give Ford Ranger a good fight but it will never ever beat Hilux as the former has a large group of loyalists in this country. good design scheme by Nissan. no more the mundance boring design. well done Nissan and yes, pls bring it over the soonest possible. tq

• sudonano (Member) on Jun 11, 2014 at 4:19 pm

Tan Chong, you know what to do. Ford had a nice share when they brought in the Wildtrak 3.2 with everything loaded, they sold all the units before launch and it was like a mad sale.

We want decently specced cars. You have seen how people were happy with the new Teana and Sylphy. Sam Loo and his Hilux with 4 speed or 5 speed transmission can be sent home with this Navara. Looks brilliant too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
  • Trucks are designed to load lug. It’s just become a lifestyle thing of late in this part of the world because of pricing. You want a big interior then get a MPV or something.
    ———————————

This is the reason why the marketing has failed if you have the mentality that ” truck must be designed to load lug” No wonder Nissan still no : 3 in malaysia.(never think out of the box)

I am sure the nissan designer has the same mentality as what other people trying to do. There are many truck Izusu/Ford/Mitsu that can carry load and why need to choice Nissan and be the same as compared to them?

A success strategy must be different from others to cater for different category of customer’s need where more urban Cowboy want to look macho and at the same time, able to take the whole family comfortably.

I still can recalled the No: 1 truck in malaysia called “Frontier” with highest horse power(136hp) in its class and fun to drive turbo engine (manual only). But sadly after the introduction of Toyota Hilux with low HP (non turbo) overtook them with roomier interior and good reliability engine.

The T always know the market’s need as compared to Nissan and Honda. That is the reason they can stay No: 1 for the past 20 years in malaysia.

I repeat, Urban Cowboy want big interior that can carry 5 adult comfortably and not those called truck that with big cargo space. If opt for big cargo then may as well go for lorry lah. (as what you mentioned go for MPV).

If you have a follower/leader that not able to think out of the box then company will go bankrupt very soon.

Innovative must be difference from other and not follow other.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 32
  • si kole on Jun 11, 2014 at 4:30 pm

Is the new navara pcd 6 holes still 114.3 like previous one? If yes.. It is hard to find sportrims for navara.. Other 4×4 pcd is 139.7

• thedarkside on Jun 11, 2014 at 4:30 pm

in the end..new hilux arrives…with lousy spec…lower power output…highest price among pick up…and people will still choose hilux..haihhhh

• contender on Jun 11, 2014 at 5:08 pm

Nice pick up by Nissan, seems to be on a roll from Almera, Sylphy, Teana and Navara …. ETCM has finally woken up. But then again this Navara would be mainly urban cowboy …. those in site and the real off-road use Hilux is still the one to beat.

• Sparcov on Jun 11, 2014 at 5:09 pm

Hilux is still a Hilux

Dmax spec also better than hilux and yet you see more new hilux compare to new dmax. Why?

Getting a 4×4 pickup truck are not for fancy people. They need practicality, reliability in any condition.

Nissan is good
    Isuzu is good
    Toyota is good

but at the end, is up to the consumer to choose. Nothing wrong actually.

• hailat on Jun 11, 2014 at 5:10 pm

Nice.. New Navara now is back in competition… I’m still waiting for the new Hilux and hopefully it will be better… if not, then i’ll settle with Navara or Ford

• Lookman on Jun 11, 2014 at 5:16 pm

Wow!! Lowest spec got 403Nm torque!! Great interior. Got ESC also.

• Hmm:
    Japanese brand (reliable)- checked
    Good Safety feature- checked
    Acceptable design- checked
    Mordern engine and transmission- checked
    Price- unknown

• thgh (Member) on Jun 11, 2014 at 5:33 pm

hmm lets wait for the new triton and hilux, both are launching soon too.

this navara already made me feel excited, can’t wait to see how toyota and mitsubishi gonna create they contender.

the back still looks cramped though.

• lonelyobserve (Member) on Jun 11, 2014 at 5:34 pm

Where is the 3.0L V6 V9X? That one is a monster, 240hp and 550Nm of torque.

• This will be another best selling truck in Malaysia

• Silent Reader on Jun 11, 2014 at 5:36 pm

This is one fine mothertrucker!

• Akuma on Jun 11, 2014 at 6:08 pm

Great Pickup! Good for modern warfare! carry lots of Weapons and 4 Men at the back! Boom Boom!

• Motorhead (Member) on Jun 11, 2014 at 8:04 pm

Good stuffs go to Thailand, India, Indonesia. . Bangladesh, Zimbabwe. .etc.. then eventually. . Malaysia. .

Good… tq gov..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • albag on Jun 11, 2014 at 8:47 pm

nobody thinks the front just looks like the current Hilux?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • Kena faham. Some quarters like dUMNO just don’t want Nissan to prosper, and so they impose super high tax, super low spec for us, the Malaysians…just like how they stop Nissan Juke from coming in etc etc…. and so Nissan becomes the victim of the situation and we keep blaming Nissan.

Anyway, Kudos to Nissan. I drove the older Navara and it was fastastic. Just can’t imagine how mind blowing this machine going to get!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 9
  • fiuzz on Jun 11, 2014 at 9:19 pm

i will buy this one! Preferred than Ford Ranger XLT.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10