Nissan NP300 Navara coming to Malaysia in Nov 2015

01 Photo_Coming Soon_Nissan Navara

Edaran Tan Chong Motor (ETCM) has announced that the hotly-awaited Nissan NP300 Navara is coming soon – the all-new 12th generation of Nissan’s small pick-up truck is set to make its way into Malaysia as soon as next month.

Provisional specs have also been confirmed; as expected, the D23 NP300 will make use of an improved version of the current D40 Navara‘s YD25 2.5 litre diesel with common-rail direct injection and variable geometry turbocharging, producing 190 PS and 450 Nm. It’s mated to a seven-speed automatic transmission with manual mode – a six-speed manual gearbox should also be on the cards, at least on lower-end variants.

Under the skin, the Malaysian-spec NP300 utilises a multi-link rear suspension with coil springs – a first for the pick-up segment – for improved ride comfort, although it retains a tough, durable solid rear axle.

SONY DSC

Elsewhere, kit bandied about includes LED headlights with boomerang-shaped LED daytime running lights, a rear spoiler, the ultra-comfortable zero gravity-inspired seats (first seen on the Teana), 18-inch alloy wheels, keyless entry, push-button ignition, a multi-function steering wheel, Bluetooth connectivity, dual-zone automatic climate control and rear seat air vents.

Safety-wise, the NP300 Navara will feature Vehicle Dynamic Control (VDC), traction control, four-wheel Active Brake Limited Slip (ABLS), Hill Start Assist (HSA) and Hill Descent Control (HDC). In certain markets, the truck is available with up to seven airbags (including one for the driver’s knee), so here’s hoping we’ll get the whole lot too, at least on higher-end models.

Interested members of the public will be able to take a closer look at the NP300 Navara soon, as it will be on display at Nissan roadshows around the country from October 15 to November 22. They can also visit the official website to register their interest and receive a test drive invite, as well as view Nissan’s pick-up heritage stretching back 80 years.

Of course, we’re plenty familiar with the Nissan NP300 Navara; last year, we not only covered the international launch in Bangkok, but also drove the truck in Chiang Mai – you can read on how it fared here. As always, we’ll update you with the latest information on Nissan’s new pick-up as soon as we have it.

UPDATE: The Nissan NP300 Navara is now on display in Malaysia – details and gallery here.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Just in time for Christmas and Chinese New Year :) hope that sell well here but it will all depends on final pricing and specs… Tan Chong will have to ups the offering to boost the sales

• DonkeyKong on Oct 07, 2015 at 3:12 pm

Where is Najib’s promise to reduce car prices? I hope this Navara is sold for RM80k here. Najib promised us 30% reduction. We are still waiting Mugabejib.

• Highest end, expected price +- RM120k.

• Sammy Loo on Oct 07, 2015 at 1:59 pm

Thailand pickup sales Aug 2015:

Toyota Hilux Revo – 9,605 units
    Isuzu DMax – 9,177 units
    Mitsubishi New Triton – 2,177 units
    Ford Ranger New Facelift – 1,662 units
    Nissan NP300 Navara – 1,562 units
    Chevrolet Colorado – 995 units
    Mazda BT50 – 560 units

Thailand SUV sales Aug 2015:

Toyota New Fortuner – 2,974 units
    Mitsubishi PajeroSport – 834 units
    Isuzu MU-X – 752 units
    Ford New Everest – 672 units
    Cheverolet Trailblazer – 111 units

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • Richard Jonathan Lim on Oct 07, 2015 at 2:33 pm

Wow,this is nice.I just hope that Tan Chong don’t screw up the safety specifications. Unlike cough*UMW*cough.The design of this Nissan NP300 is nice compared its competition such as the latest Mitsubishi Triton which looks just plain weird,the all new Hilux which looks to plain,boring and looks like Toyota was playing it safe with the design and the Ranger which to be honest after the facelift looks like its on par with the F23 NP300 Navara.

Other than that,I really hope that the NP300 will come with the new 2.3 liter turbo diesel that is a great engine on paper and reviews in Aussie Land.The gearbox is also best in class in terms of performance and quietness.The powertrain in this Nissan NP300 is defenietly not going to dissapointed as for the great engine and gearbox combination. The NP300 Navara’s powertrain is an improvement from the F40 Navara’s po

• How I wish that they’d bring in the new 2.3 turbo Diesel engine too… But for some funny reason for not going to Euro 5 straight away and implemented Euro 4M instead… This wish will always remain a distant dream!

• Kenny on Oct 12, 2015 at 12:42 am

I believe it is because the diesel selling in Malaysia is Euro 2 only.
        Only Klang Valley and JB has Euro 5 diesel.
        Due to the low quality diesel, even the existing Navara will fart black smoke when you floor it. This should be the reason they not bring the new 2.3 engine.

• DonkeyKong on Oct 07, 2015 at 3:14 pm

UMW is a pariah company. Fully owned by the Government and yet their cars only 2 airbags and NO VSC. Our own Government rather see their rakyat cacat and vegetable than spend a few hundred more and get good safety features like VSC and more airbags

• Our dirty diesel cause the 2.3 litre cannot come here. Even more, the 3.0 V9X 230HP will also never will come. Instead use the YD25DDTI. I hope they do some improvement on the durability & fuel consumption.

• iampro on Oct 07, 2015 at 8:00 pm

ONLY 2 AIRBAGS ON HIGHEST SPEC. 125~128K!!!!!!!!!

• suomynona on Oct 07, 2015 at 9:47 pm

REALLY?

…Where do you get this info? =O
      Could you link it pls

• hope this is not true. high spec so expensive yet only 2 airbags ?

• Kenny on Oct 12, 2015 at 12:47 am

Shouldn’t be so expensive, existing Navara highest spec is 104k only..
        Philippine selling the 2.5 VL spec at same price as range 2.2 XTL. If Tan Chong really want the market, it should be at around 110k..