Nissan NP300 Navara VL now on display at 1 Utama

nissan-np300-navara-1utama 1

Here’s your chance to get up close and personal with the Nissan NP300 Navara – the all-new pick-up truck is currently on display at the 1 Utama Shopping Centre in range-topping VL-spec. As mentioned earlier on, order books for the new ‘Mother Trucker’ are now open with an estimated entry price of RM85,000. The VL variant you see here has been tagged with an estimated price tag of RM125,000.

Exterior wise, the VL should be the one to go for despite its relatively steep price as it features LED headlights replete with daytime running lights (DRL) – the lesser variants are all equipped with halogen lights instead. Elsewhere, the VL is equipped with roof rails and 18-inch alloy wheels as standard. Said wheels are wrapped in 255/60 Toyo Open Country A25 tyres.

Under the bonnet, the 2.5 litre YD25DDTi four-cylinder turbodiesel engine pumps out a total of 190 PS at 3,600 rpm and 450 Nm of torque – said power figures help mark it out amongst the range as the rest get a detuned version of the same mill. A seven-speed automatic transmission with Manual Mode is offered.

nissan-np300-navara-1utama 20

Interestingly enough, a peek underneath the truck reveals that this particular unit has leaf springs at the rear instead of the multi-link rear setup. With that said, keep in mind that this is a Thailand-spec unit – Malaysian units will feature the aforementioned multi-link rear suspension.

Unfortunately, we were unable to gain access into the cabin of the Nissan NP300 Navara but one can rest assured that the interior will have quite the amount of standard kit. The brochure lists a multifunction steering wheel, leather-wrapped zero gravity-inspired seats with an eight-way power adjustable driver’s seat (with two-way lumbar support) and a five-inch display with six speakers and AUX, MP3 and USB connectivity.

Click to enlarge images.

Additional driver conveniences includes an i-Key with push-start button and a reverse camera. As for standard safety kit, the VL-spec Nissan NP300 Navara is equipped with dual front airbags, ABS with EBD and Brake Assist, Vehicle Dynamic Control (VDC), traction control, Active Brake Limited Slip (ABLS), hill start assist and hill descent control.

Colour options include Brilliant White, Diamond Black, Tungsten Silver and Savanna Orange. With the car already on display for all to see, it’s safe to assume that a local launch has been scheduled to take place in the near future. Meanwhile, you can read our review of the truck to find out how it drives here.

Gregory Sze

An “actor” by training, Gregory Sze realised that he has had enough of drama in his life. Following his number one passion (acting was actually number two), he decided to make the jump into the realm of automotive journalism. He appreciates the simple things in life – a simple car with nothing but back-to-basics mechanical engineering and minimal electronics on board.

• Where is Najib's Promise ?? on Oct 21, 2015 at 2:03 pm

where is Najib’s promise to reduce car prices by 30%. Paying RM125k for a pickup is way too much. Najib made this promise 2 years ago.

If a small promise like this Najib cannot keep, how to trust him and his Government for other things? How to trust his RM2.6 bil story also?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
    • Abdullah on Oct 21, 2015 at 3:33 pm

Is the high spec variant. If you can’t afford it, you can always buy the workhorse entry spec. Don’t criticize my beloved PM

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 31
      • haiyaa on Oct 21, 2015 at 4:24 pm

haiyaa.. you jangan menyamar jadi abdullah boleh ke.. mana ada orang nama abdullah sokong najip pm sekarang.. haiyaaa.. btw, this navara is very-very looking good. order one for me yahhh..

• Gonggok on Oct 21, 2015 at 9:38 pm

Import duties for pickups are much lower than cars, total tax is less than 10k probably for this Navara

• PickUpLover on Oct 23, 2015 at 7:46 pm

Agreed; the higher than expected price is due to MYR falling off the cliff; due mainly to our beloved [ fill in the blanks]

• Pickup competition become better and better but pricey!

• It is pricy but it add those advance spec from the development cost for higher power train engine, stability & improved chassis. But taxes & lower currency value also cause it to increase.

• redknapp on Oct 21, 2015 at 3:52 pm

hmm..now i’m in dilemma..
    this, or new ranger?

• Definitely, Navara NP300 is the best among the other pick-up. Give Nissan a thumbs up.

• oosnap on Oct 21, 2015 at 4:38 pm

better go for this one la bro. everybody else also, lets all buy navara. if not, go for triton or hilux revo. just please don’t buy ranger.. please. because ranger is just for truly macho and tough guy like me who have a very good taste in choosing the best 4×4 pickup truck.

• Sammy Loo on Oct 21, 2015 at 4:47 pm

No need to be in dilemma, Hilux will be your best option. It has the best RV and durability!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
    • Gonggok on Oct 21, 2015 at 9:47 pm

I’m waiting for the new hilux next year vs new ranger… This navara is quite low in the list I reckon

• Leaf springs?

• Definitely, Navara is the best among the others pick-up. Give Nissan a thumbs up.

• Sgt Scoop on Oct 21, 2015 at 5:23 pm

The Navara is a good choice in your rear passengers don’t have legs.

• Gonggok on Oct 21, 2015 at 9:36 pm

Sadly only has 2 airbags and rear compartment quite cramped apparently.

• tan chong penipu
    jual model salin baju lg sekali
    dekat australia spec kereta ni lg baik kot 2.3l twin turbo diesel
    and diorang dah stop pakai leaf spring instead diorang dah pakai coil spring

• Najib bin Rosmah on Nov 07, 2015 at 12:04 pm

Coil spring cannot tahan heavy loading ma..leaf spring more tahan..

• whats the point of showing off the car if you cant access the cabin?