2017 Benelli Malaysia range adds TRK 502 dual purpose, from RM30,621, and 302R sports at RM23,201

Hot on the heels of the launch of the 2017 Benelli RFS150i supercub comes two additions to the Benelli Malaysia range, the dual-purpose styled middleweight touring TRK 502 and the small-displacement 302R sportsbike. The 2017 Benelli TRK 502 comes in three flavours – the base 502 at RM30,621, the 502 SP with hard case panniers at RM31,681 and the 502 SP2 at RM32,423 with the addition of a top box.

Meanwhile, the full-fairing sports oriented 2017 Benelli 302R is set to go on sale at a price of RM23,201. All prices include GST, but exclude road tax, registration and insurance.

The middleweight dual-purpose sports tourer TRK 502 comes with an all-new liquid-cooled, OHC, eight-valve, parallel-twin that displaces 500 cc, and is fed by fuel injection. Power is claimed to be 47 hp at 8,500 rpm and 45 Nm of torque at 5,000 rpm, with power getting to the ground via a six-speed gearbox.

2017 Benelli Malaysia range adds TRK 502 dual purpose, from RM30,621, and 302R sports at RM23,201

Designed to be a versatile all-rounder, the TRK 502 has a torque curve that is as flat as possible, meaning good engine response. An adjustable upside-down fork with 150 mm of travel props up the front end, while the rear gets a pre-load adjustable monoshock that travels through 45 mm.

Braking for the TRK 502 is with twin 320 mm diameter discs in front, and a single 260 mm disc at the back, all grabbed by twin-piston floating callipers, and switchable ABS is standard. Dry weight is printed at 210 kg, and seat height is a reasonable 815 mm.

Fuel for the TRK 502 is carried in a 20-litre tank, which will give it good travel range on the road. The three versions of the 2017 Benelli TRK 502 are identical, save for the addition of hard case panniers for the SP version, and the SP2 version gets an additional hard shell top box.

There are three colour schemes available for the Benelli TRK 502 – white, grey and graphite black. Direct competitor to the TRK 502 is the Honda CB500X, with two models available, the standard CB500X at RM31,893 and the RM35,391 Honda CBR500XA with ABS.

On the small-displacement sportsbike side of things is the 2017 Benelli 302R, that carries a 300 cc, DOHC, eight-valve, liquid-cooled parallel twin. Power for the 302R is rated at 37.5 hp at 10,000 rpm and torque is claimed to be 27.4 Nm at 9,000 rpm.

Intended to be a lightweight sportsbike with good handling, the 302R comes with upside-down forks and a monoshock at the back, with 120 mm and 45 mm of travel, respectively. Twin 260 mm diameter brake discs, standard with ABS, handle the stopping, with a single 240 mm disc in the rear.

The Benelli 302R comes with a 14-litre fuel tank, and dry weight is claimed to be 190 kg. Three colour options are on offer – white/red, black/red and silver/green. Locally, the 302R goes up against the Kawasaki Ninja 300, priced at approximately RM27,000.

Coming with diverse and extensive experience in heavy engineering, Mohan enjoys making anything with wheels go fast, especially motorcycles. His weapon of choice is the Desmoquattro engine, and he has a penchant for anything with a dash of Italian design. Strangely enough, he insists he's a slow rider.

• saipu azuan on Apr 03, 2017 at 10:41 am

hi,
    very interested benelli TRK 502, can give info malaysia distributor.
    tq

• Gracke on Apr 03, 2017 at 11:32 am

Nice bikes and nice price too!! love……

• sohai on Apr 03, 2017 at 2:18 pm

is it just me? I feel that the benelli under the new ownership is getting more expensive.
    the pricing is no longer attractive.

• Michelin on Apr 03, 2017 at 5:21 pm

With its entry level specs (except USD forks), i think the price is reasonable. You only get plain bike without the accessories if buy CB5X..

• Kelly on Apr 03, 2017 at 7:55 pm

Please la bring it in the Benelli Leoncino..

• Kamonla on Apr 03, 2017 at 7:59 pm

The new distributor should bring in the Benelli Leoncino. Looking forward to have leoncino

• Add a bit more, and you can get the Honda CB500X for peace of mind. If this is other Jap brand such as Suzuki, then it is good value.
    Talking about Suzuki, why are they slowing down in Malaysia? They should be aggressive like Benelli, launching new bikes such as gsx250r, inazuma 250, Vstrom 250.
    Mr https://paultan.org/author/mohankr/ Mohan, could you please do an article on Suzuki’s future bike launches/plan for Malaysia. Thanks

• Alan Reilly on May 03, 2017 at 4:47 pm

Can someone advise on the actual gear ratio’s for the Benelli TRK 502?, along with the final drive ratio,s
    I am aware it has a 6 speed gearbox, it the gear ratio’s I,m after
    Any help appreciated
    Regards
    Alan Reilly

• JAYA KRISHNAN MUTHU on Feb 27, 2018 at 9:12 am

Brother Paul, I h’ve been reading a couple of your comments on your reviews and I have been enjoying them. There is something that I would like to get some advice from you. I am a novice in motorcycling having ridden a 70cc Honda cup way back when whwn I was 17 yrs old and stopped riding when I was about 32 years old. I love to do some riding now. Always been wanting to ride a Big bike and tour as well but never got round to doing it due to financial constraints, family commitment and every other reason I could possibly think of in this world. Anyway I am retiring soon and intend to purchase a bike. Read your review on BMW GS 310S and was impressed. I would like to get your opinion for a first time bike purchaser like me with literally no experience riding a big bik, what sort of a bike should I invest in within 30 to 35 K if I can convince my wife and daughter than it would be the greatest achievement in my life! I have been doing a bit of reading on adventure bikes like the Kawasaki Versys 650 or the BMW 800GS (used(). What would be your opinion and advice. I don’t think I have many years of riding klife co of my age. Another question is would i be able to go for some riding courses to familiar rise myself with riding big bored bikes. Would like your feed back on the Benelli TRK 502. I’m % ft 6.Kind of short. Any help sincerely appreciated.

Thanking You In Advance.