Perodua Bezza secures Frost & Sullivan Malaysia’s 2017 Car of the Year and Debut Car of the Year awards

Perodua secured a hat-trick of awards at the recent 2017 Frost & Sullivan Malaysia Excellence Awards, led by the popular Bezza. The company’s first-ever sedan not only secured the title of 2017 Car of the Year by the market research and consulting firm, but also the Debut Car of the Year award.

The Car of the Year award winner is based on a model’s sales volume, sales growth, market share in its segment and overall impact to the total industry volume.

Launched in July 2016, the Bezza managed to top the Trending Car Models list in Google’s “Year in Search” 2016. It also became the best-selling sedan for the first quarter of 2017 with over 15,900 units sold. So far, Perodua has delivered about 50,900 units of the Bezza since it was first introduced.

The Axia wasn’t left out either, as it was named the 2017 Value-for-Money (1.3L & Below Category ) Car of the Year. “We are overwhelmed with this recognition for the Perodua Bezza and the Axia. The 2017 Frost & Sullivan’s Malaysia Car of the Year Award for the Bezza is an endorsement towards our first ever full upper body designed model,” said Perodua president and CEO, Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh.

Just a few days ago, Perodua announced a series of aesthetic updates for the 2017MY Bezza, which affected both the exterior and interior of the sedan.

“We thank Frost & Sullivan for their dedication and for being impartial in their judging process. We would also like to thank all Malaysians for their support and trust they have given to Perodua. We will further improve our processes to further delight you; because at Perodua; you matter most,” Datuk Aminar said.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Mari Tido on Apr 17, 2017 at 4:51 pm

How can it secure Best Car when it has no VSC? In Europe, it will totally fail. It would disqualify for NCAP also

Looks like Frost got some ang pau.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 100 Thumb down 15
    • ex-VGM staff on Apr 17, 2017 at 5:18 pm

dont give awards lah when we still practise price settings. kia cannot sell the picanto at 30k. toyota cannot sell vios at 55k.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 2
      • mahhai on Apr 17, 2017 at 5:24 pm

toyota vios 55k + excise tax 33k = 88K

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
        • U can always buy Saga

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 37
        • This is fake and false. I have always said, this car got no testing also can go into market.

Better buy our Proton. Why Proton not doing well because of bodoh Malaysians never support the company.

Come on guys, Proton is our national car. Support it….oh wai!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 67
          • K Kinte on Apr 17, 2017 at 6:32 pm

I still cannot understand how Perodua can sell 200,000 cars and Proton sells only 72,000 cars with 90% ordered by Bomba, PDRM, TUDM, TLDM, Kastam, Immigresen etc etc etc

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 11
          • CarBuyer on Apr 17, 2017 at 10:08 pm

Note – this one model will probably sell more than the entire Proton model range this year. Draw your own conclusions.

• cheapos on Apr 17, 2017 at 10:11 pm

Pipu buy p2 because it is cheap not because it is good

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
          • Proton supporter on Apr 17, 2017 at 10:35 pm

It’s no longer our national car, Proton is a private entity now.

• Tolong Tutup Kedai on Apr 17, 2017 at 6:13 pm

Proton apa jadi? Still asking Rm1.8 billion? Malu betul. Better close shop la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 10
        • if tutup then all Proton workers got no job….oh wai!

Pity them and their families

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 45
          • Pls lah John on Apr 17, 2017 at 9:32 pm

They can move to Perodua….. how to blindly support a company that always asking for money n lost money billions each yea? syok sendiri volvo or bmw of asia…… as long as u see brand ” Proton” is a no no no….. always syok sendiri how good in corner… nobody care when is still a proton…..

• Humanitarian on Apr 18, 2017 at 11:59 pm

Give the retrenched workers handout of 1.8b. make it a yearly payout of 1.8b for the next 20 years. its better to pay them not to produce the cars. Do the same with perodua. Less drivers will die driving other cars.

• Bezzisan on Apr 17, 2017 at 8:09 pm

It is very clear frost n Sullivan has NOT sat at the back seats of both bezza n axia….Belakang sakit loh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on Apr 17, 2017 at 5:33 pm

What..joking issit..it has to be honda brv..pride of the nation..rakyat sayang brv…and more importantly low cost vehicle for third wotkd countries…pls la brv should hv won the award…all Malaysians say so…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
      • Buy Saga from me and i can even gip u an award:

Patriotic Award

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 14
    • Missing kunta mana pergi? on Apr 17, 2017 at 11:08 pm

It is not a bad car overall. Good value for money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • william on Apr 19, 2017 at 11:39 am

The Car of the Year award winner is based on a model’s sales volume, sales growth, market share in its segment and overall impact to the total industry volume.

what an AWARD !!!!!!
      JOKE OF THE YEAR

PS: DONT CREATE AN AWARD FOR MARKETING PURPOSE !

• No suprise, coz no competitor. Saga? No one aware of its existance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 7
  • Mikey on Apr 17, 2017 at 4:52 pm

I-Say-Man Bezza/P2, Why must U win the Frost & Sullivan M’sia 2017 Car of the Year & Debut Car of the Year awards ?! U are making P1 & john difficult 2 Cari Makan lah like that. hehehe.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 5
  • Don’t have award for receiving most soft loans from government?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
    • Betui, betui. P1 should be awarded ‘Car Manufacturer of the Year’ for collecting most money from the G

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 4
  • Bodoh Bangau on Apr 17, 2017 at 4:55 pm

Look at Perodua, doing so well. Started 10 years after Proton. And yet, Proton is bankrupt and Perodua is doing so well.

How is this so?

Don’t forget, gomen never order polis or bomba or tentera cars from Perodua. But gomen order so much from Proton. And yet Proton can be in debt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 10
    • P1 is in debt is becoz of pipu like u, not proud of our own national car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 57
    • Mikey on Apr 17, 2017 at 5:39 pm

P1 are in debts bcos every car that P1 make they loose 20,000 ringgit. Multiply 20,000 by 72,000 cars sold in 2016 = 1.44 billion ringgit. That is pretty close to what has been the loss reported.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
  • Syabas Si Tongek!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 10
  • Mana boleh? This car is celup Jepunis. Buy Saga from me better. Our Saga veri handsome and somemore comes with specs like Bezza. All specs except Premium is moving deathtrap. Buyers buy from me get special package

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 36
  • Car of the year meh?

Good for perodua owner (especially myvi and axia) , now they became more confused whether they are driving a super car or a budget family car on the road. With this award u now can drive fast-fast and stay on right lane on the highway (remember to high beamed those slow bastard).

congrats!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 13
  • whattt….

• Sohai not Ori on Apr 17, 2017 at 9:15 pm

Alamak…of course la will sel coz in monopoly market wats to ne proud of..F&S pls dunt tink everybody so easily fooled

• Bernard on Apr 17, 2017 at 10:58 pm

Obviously looks isn’t the criteria here…

• Congrats Perodua. By the way, you should educate your buyers that the cars they buy will work well and safely if it is driven within the parameters of a town runabout and not if it is handled like a fire-breathing V-12 monster by Lewis Hamilton wannabes. Idjits who thrash Axias and Bezzas would never make it safely anywhere even if you plaster the cars with VSC and airbags. Idjits.

• wawasan2020 on Apr 18, 2017 at 12:36 am

Seriously imagine without P1 and P2 existance .. our lovely nation would have been achieve beyond better than this whatsoever award..agree?

• Heng Lee on Apr 18, 2017 at 2:46 am

JPJ should give an award for the safest car too!

No other sedan in Malaysia has less hp (little hp = little speed = little accidents)

• Rippie on Apr 18, 2017 at 8:05 am

Seriously… how can this car win that award? It’s like this car ever test in overseas. I mean like in Europe or other nation.

• just saw bezza with the new tonggek cover, ok a bit but still tonggek ma

• passion on Apr 18, 2017 at 9:52 am

the old persona also received this award. absolute nonsense.the car has terrible brakes. nearly killed me. just ask any taxi guy and see. death machines get awards here.

• Heng Lee on Apr 18, 2017 at 11:20 am

Bezza has only half the hp of the old Persona, so even two drum brakes at the front would be safe enough.

• Ben Yap on Apr 18, 2017 at 10:59 am

why Civic no win? it’s a bigger car, more powerful, more features, better brand value and image, more comfortable….

everything also win liao…. it must be a civic to win!