Geely MPV Concept revealed before Shanghai show

The 2017 Auto Shanghai show doesn’t officially open its doors until tomorrow, but photos and information of the debutants have already surfaced. One of the show cars set to star is the Geely MPV Concept, which looks likely to preview a successor to the Emgrand EV8.

As far as people carriers go, it’s quite a handsome one, with the modern front end featuring Geely’s concentric front grille, flanked by Range Rover-esque sweptback headlights. A few odd-looking dimples flow out of the lamp units, a pattern that is mirrored in the D-pillar.

Pronounced wheel arches house large wheels, while a deep underside cut in the doors help reduce the slab-sidedness of the tall vehicle. Blacked out B-, C-, and D-pillars provide a floating roof look, emphasised by the panoramic glass roof. The rear end ties it all together with slim tail lights joined by a thin chrome bar, providing a minimalist look.

Step through pillarless opening created by the suicide doors and you’ll find what look like three rows of bucket seats, and a pared down dashboard at the front featuring a large horizontal centre display. A tall centre console puts the gearlever within easy reach of the driver.

No technical details have been revealed as yet, but expect more information to be revealed on the first press day of the show tomorrow.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• K Kinte on Apr 18, 2017 at 1:22 pm

See how bodoh and no vision Proton is? If they were humble enough, Malaysians can benefit from a good rebadged Proton MPV.

I hope Proton give up their ketuanan issues and give in to Geely cause financial help and latest technology can transform Proton. Look at Volvo, they even got USD12 billion injected into the company. That is RM55 billion.

Better than begging RM1.8 billion

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 3
    • This is not likely a budget MPV,P1 will not get this if it is a budget level auto maker.

• Looks Geli

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 12
      • joharixx on Apr 18, 2017 at 4:01 pm

john, u looking into the mirror again? Sendiri cari problem

• U jelly i more handsome?

• Madheswari on Apr 18, 2017 at 4:43 pm

handsome? Looks Geli..

• Mikey on Apr 18, 2017 at 6:27 pm

Ha ha ha ha. john, now i know how handsome looks like. Best joke of the day. hehehe. Cheers 2 “Hand-Some” john.

• tokmoh. on Apr 18, 2017 at 4:24 pm

Says the salesman that sells tonggek car, ended up need to buttlift within a year to tutup kemaluan tonggek itu.

• Geely Exora 2018 on Apr 18, 2017 at 4:08 pm

If rebadge it as new Proton Exora with price below RM70k sure I will buy it without second thought.

Geely > All

• leng loi on Apr 18, 2017 at 4:29 pm

second thought come if the new proton exora still using Campro 1.6 turbo.. the only thing P1 add is the vvt..

• kzm (Member) on Apr 18, 2017 at 6:10 pm

So bijan win lor.. ask geely spam internet with beautiful car concept. now pipu want p1 to be sold to geely. Now we know who will win the bid.

• Lim Kit Kongke on Apr 18, 2017 at 1:38 pm

Someone stole the side mirror and Geely didn’t notice that.They also behave like proton apparently

• Mikey on Apr 18, 2017 at 3:01 pm

I think Geely is ‘showcasing’ their new mirror-less concept(notice there is a ‘stub’that replace the rear mirror). The tiny camera that will project any view the driver want just like how your reverse camera works.

• This concept is show case by Lotus years ago. Nothing new

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
        • Mikey on Apr 18, 2017 at 6:24 pm

If what U say is true, that also mean P1 is short-charging it’s customers by NOT giving their BEST. No wonder P1 goes bankrupt.

• tokmoh. on Apr 18, 2017 at 1:40 pm

Geely > all
    Volvo > all

What could’ve been Exora mk2.

Thanks Proton. You think you and your clowns can build a better one than this. Good luck.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • What’s so smart about copying design of others?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
      • tokmoh. on Apr 18, 2017 at 4:11 pm

It’s smart if it makes profit for company, then they pay corporate tax on the profit they made. Truly berjasa kepada negara.

It’s bodoh if kecut telor don’t dare speak up against crony vendors that overcharge until every car they sell made RM20k losses. Then become beggar every year ask billions from public fund.

• Tokok on Apr 18, 2017 at 4:53 pm

TO John,

Nothing smart about copying. Then I ask you, is rebadging other car and make loss any smarter?

• farghmee on Apr 18, 2017 at 1:49 pm

Fuyoh Proton Exora terbaru. Terbaik

• Izuan on Apr 18, 2017 at 2:05 pm

Wish that this will be the exora replacement..

• Copy Mazda design elements

• designed by which team? Volvo’s or geely’s

Regardless…. Stunning mpv….

• tokmoh. on Apr 18, 2017 at 4:22 pm

Geely’s design team headed by ex-Volvo designer, Peter Horbury.

• kereta_lembu on Apr 19, 2017 at 9:19 am

In your face Proton! To give a stark contrast when you put personal interest above progress, Proton started back in 1983 and Geely that started out in 1986 (But were only making refrigerators). It only started to make cars in 2002. So, Proton had almost 20 years head start compared to Geely and yet today, we are miles behind a younger company. I’m not here to bash Proton, because Proton can be great if given the chance to shine. However, it is run by pride and greed rather than vision. Put pride aside if the aim is to make Proton better. Its either you let people take over and improve or you wrap it up and call it a day. Either way, it won’t look good on Proton but that’s the way it is.