March 2017 Malaysia vehicle sales up 26.5% from Feb, 10% year-on-year; YTD sees 7.3% increase from 2016

It appears that the Malaysian automotive industry has bounced back from a sluggish February – according to vehicle sales data supplied by the Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA), car sales in March were considerably higher than the month before.

In total, 53,717 units were registered last month, up 11,262 units or 26.5% from February 2017. What’s more, the figure is 4,929 units higher than in March 2016, resulting in an increase of 10%. Even better news is that year-to-date sales of 140,839 units is up 9,588 units or 7.3% from the same period last year – proof that the industry has seen a true resurgence from a dismal 2016.

The reason provided by the MAA for the strong showing is the longer working month compared to February, as well as a rush by the carmakers to deliver as many cars as possible, in order to help meet their targets for the financial year that ended on March 31. The association expects April sales to continue at the level set last month, due to the continuation of “aggressive promotional activities.”

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 142
    • tokmoh. on Apr 18, 2017 at 4:28 pm

Cukur ekonomi kukuh, now more people can buy car. Mana rakyat terjejas?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
      • shahrim@n on Apr 18, 2017 at 5:24 pm

Cukur ekonomi kukuh, now more people can buy car. Mana Proton terjejas?

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 335
          • Sama L00 on Apr 19, 2017 at 9:13 am

Got money buy new car, no money buy used car. No matter what, Proton should be avoided. And you won’t go wrong with Japanese car. Common sense.

• K Kinte on Apr 18, 2017 at 6:06 pm

The sale of cars and the number of cars do not indicate the sufferings of Malaysians.

Because of hot weather and super strong sun, most people, however poor also, have to buy a car. It is so stupid to come here and say economy is doing well.

Do you know, 90% of all car buyers struggle to make their monthly loan payments?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 11
        • Megane on Apr 18, 2017 at 6:24 pm

Cant be 90% lah . Figures plucked from the sky kingdom . Cant afford buy 2nd hand lah why waste money buy expensive cars brand new .

• Albert on Apr 18, 2017 at 6:29 pm

Kunta
          MAA forgot that after Raya…..more employers will issue retrenchment letters…so the bankruptcy rate will spiral upwards .
          Now,many r shivering after taking delivery of brand new cars,loan above rm50K(the new muflis limit),hearing of another round of job cuts.
          By the way,Protong has quietly laid off staff at Tanjong Malim plant….SHHHHH…….more to come.BERITA TERKINI……cHECK THIS OUT.
          Never buy a new car to prop up MAA sales forecast.Only buy if u have plans B and C after PlAN A FAILS.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
          • Mikey on Apr 18, 2017 at 8:55 pm

Actually it is better NOT 2 have a plan if U plan 2 fail. Most people fail bcos they have too many plans.

• Albert on Apr 18, 2017 at 6:36 pm

kUNTA
          Actually,the sales increase for new cars..indicate the suffering of hire purchase slaves.
          They suffer choking economic conditions for another 84-108 months..2520 to3240 days!!
          After that, buy another new car n get loan again.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 299 Thumb down 601
    • Kinte mental masalah club on Apr 18, 2017 at 5:55 pm

The promotion works so far

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 258 Thumb down 555
  • Anything But P1, Toyota, Greedy P2, Honda on Apr 18, 2017 at 4:28 pm

Tipula, MAA suka goreng its figures

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 24
  • Ben Yap on Apr 18, 2017 at 5:20 pm

syukur! our malaysian economy has recovered.

many buy cars because got increase in salary and bonus.

• Not Toyota Fan on Apr 18, 2017 at 5:26 pm

YTD +7% but the overall economy is still struggling along. Most everyone is tightening the belt in anticipation of a weak economy this year. So who are the people who are boldly buying new cars? Are they immune to the economic slowdown?

• Economists everywhere r optimistic, but if u choose to be negative, well…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 15
  • Many pipu got money to buy cars means P1 should get money from G no problem

• Henry on Apr 18, 2017 at 5:42 pm

All those discounts and special offers help to move those cars.

• Statistic Oni on Apr 18, 2017 at 6:32 pm

Yaaaa, go buy new cars samor becoz wanna feel syoik and wanna enjoy……while the economy is heading south knowingly.

Later, those who cannot service loan, please don’t cry in front of bank officer or the tow truck guy that tarik your car, okeh?

• Mikey on Apr 18, 2017 at 9:17 pm

Yes, sales is up but MAA did not tell us many more cars KENA TARIK. It use to be 60 people declared bankrupt every day but it is reported that there is more than 100 people declared bankrupt everyday NOW.

Count yourself luck if U are driving an older but reliable car without paying installment. U don’t know what is the problem the other person is going through when he drive his spanking new car.

Chances are, he also owe many banks due 2 overusing his credit cards bcos he have 2 keep up with the Ahmad/Ah Chong/Muthusamy.

Bcos he is driving a new car, he cannot be seen 2 be eating in a Mamak stall hence he MUST be dining in a Restaurant or Bristo otherwise Tak Ada Standard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • Stop spreading fake news

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 200
      • Mikey on Apr 19, 2017 at 10:13 am

My Qualification has nothing 2 do with facts. My comments are in points form. Tell me which point is fake.

I will gladly provide U with the answer if U ask POLITELY. If U are not busy posting nonsense, U can always Google(Insolvency) for the answers.

It also show U don’t have friend or sibling working in a Bank. Just ask a banker & U will know I’m telling facts. Stop being lazy.

• Malaysian mentality, “car is a need”. Eh hello, if you don’t want to be a slave for up to 9 years just to pay off your car loan, don’t buy car lor. Use public transport better, save money, no need to be slave. Or else, just buy a motorbike better. What? Not safe? Car also not safe lor if drive like kuey teow. Nobody force you to buy car, you yourself wanted to buy it. Somemore, small salary, dare to peek at the conti car. And then complain economy not good (our economy wasn’t that good also la, monthly spent above 2k just to buy house groceries). Aiyoooooooo who’s fault was that ah? These “show off” and “branding” is the one that made yourself to be a slave. And then end up kereta kena tarik. Wake up Malaysians, even if you drive any continental brand also ah, people still know you’re struggling to pay off just for that ride.

Ps: I don’t know why, but I think these John comments, sounds sarcastic to me

• Mikey on Apr 20, 2017 at 8:31 am

Sarcasm has a connotation of reality but john comment is bordering on stupidity