Are large rear wings actually road legal? We ask JPJ

Time and time again, we see modified vehicles plying the road, many of which feature massive rear wings that almost make the car look like a DTM refugee. Being large enough to hold an impromptu picnic, we’ve often wondered if those appendages are actually road legal.

So first things first – what is a rear wing? Simply put, it’s an aerodynamic device with aerofoils that deflect the air flowing over them, making it go upwards. This creates downforce, which pushes the rear end of the car down to the ground, increasing grip and enabling you to corner faster.

But that’s on the track; the reality is that on a public road you’re much more likely to be stuck in traffic crawling at 20 km/h than blasting through a series of corners at 200 km/h. So, with no real use for it in everyday driving, are you actually allowed to put a rear wing on your car?

Turns out, the answer is yes, according to Datuk IR. HJ. Mohamad Dalib, director of the automotive engineering department at the Road Transport Department (JPJ). “However, the wing is not allowed to significantly exceed the size of the body of the vehicle in question,” he said.

In fact, the spoiler can be three inches wider on either side of the car and sit as much as six inches above the roofline. Mohamad Dalib explained that JPJ allows the use of a rear wing because it improves a car’s aerodynamic performance and helps the driver retain control of the vehicle.

“A rear wing creates downforce that enables the driver to have better control in the corners, as well as improving the braking performance. It is not just for cosmetic purposes,” he said. However, Mohamad Dalib advised drivers to use a rear wing that has been designed and installed correctly, in order for it to have the desired effect.

“The problem is, from my own observations, there are plenty of drivers in Malaysia who use a rear wing solely to enhance their car’s aesthetics,” he said. “There are also many others that have wings that are wrongly designed or installed; as such, they become only trays that do not work as intended, and in fact they could actually be affecting the performance of the vehicle.”

In conclusion, a rear wing is absolutely road legal, as long as their dimensions fall within the specified regulations. Now, for a modification that is not road legal, read our report on why JPJ is clamping down on the “hellaflush” trend and headlight conversions.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Jokowi on May 05, 2017 at 7:36 pm

In fact, the spoiler can be three inches wider on either side of the car and sit as much as six inches above the roofline. Mohamad Dalib explained that JPJ allows the use of a rear wing because it improves a car’s aerodynamic performance and helps the driver retain control of the vehicle.

We all know a spoiler would only provide stability at extremely high speeds.

By saying the above, is he trying to encourage drivers to speed??

Silly bugger

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 88
    • Jilakewi on May 05, 2017 at 8:53 pm

Oi stupid.. he is Ir and you a random guy on the internet calls him silly ? Which research tells you that rear wings ONLY works on high speed ? Noob.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 4
    • Clearly, comprehension fails u. Pls go back to skool

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
    • I hope TuneD will provide a suitable spoiler for our Protons

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Kuntek sudah kena tangkap on May 05, 2017 at 8:03 pm

Rear wing on non sport car can make the car horsepower increase?

• Mikey on May 05, 2017 at 9:42 pm

Legal or NOT, there are hundreds of these large rear wings or some call it a Hanger when U need 2 dry your cloths. It is “Functional” if U know how 2 use it.

The large spoilers are there 4 a reason/purpose if U know why F1 have it. Without the rear wing, the F1 car will never be stable or crash at 300plus kph.

Maybe the guy who fix it think it will help 2 stabilize their car. The ONLY person who profit from these rear spoiler are the Boss who sold them.

john, U are in the WRONG business. U should be selling tons of these wings 2 people who TRUST U & make $$$ along the way.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
    • Rear wing at least still has function, as compared to ur toyota TRD Sportivo bodykit. Thats just phail at so many levels.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • Anything But Toyota, Greedy Honda, Nissan Tidur on May 05, 2017 at 10:47 pm

JPJ, beating red traffic lights and blocking people in the yellow box, are they legal? What are you boys doing about it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
    • Justin on May 08, 2017 at 9:48 am

Beating red traffic lights and blocking people in the yellow box is a traffic violation.
      Nothing to do with JPJ but PDRM.

• paparadzi (Member) on May 06, 2017 at 12:04 am

A lot of times, the spoiler works very well to spoil the looks of the vehicle.

• Ex-VGM staff on May 07, 2017 at 1:46 pm

The name spoiler comes from how the air flow is spoiled to increase down force, giving better traction and stability. Cars like Ford Probe V (prototype) is very aerodynamic but without spoilers it cannot go fast, Mitsubishi HSR is doing well as it has spoilers, air dams and skirtings

• superbird #43 on May 06, 2017 at 3:02 am

Unless it’s a dynamic/self-adjusting/active rear wings, then i presume it’s only for the show and never for the go.

• Sub_zero on May 09, 2017 at 8:16 pm

And you don’t know cause you don’t bother to know wether these vehicle have taste sepang circuit or other racing circuit in or out of country

But guess your kind stay secluded​ and come out when the rain ticks you is it? Topkek

• Silly bugger?

Don’t you know who he is? He is the one who signed your Vehicle Type Approval thus allows you to purchase your car, and he passed all license class in Malaysia. And not to mention he can assemble a car FTGU.

• wawasan2020 on May 06, 2017 at 9:49 am

many gigantic rear wings can be use as hanging clothes too. Thats one useful function for people whom travel frequently.

• funkyMonkey on May 06, 2017 at 10:54 am

There are so many wrongs in Malaysia…..From all the way from the Top and to the bottom….

• As long as it doesn’t fall off the kancil…

• Ben Yap on May 06, 2017 at 1:28 pm

painting the tyres pink colour is legal or not?

• hyin21 on May 06, 2017 at 3:09 pm

Well…..the law says so….let it be

• C. P. MOHAN on May 06, 2017 at 3:39 pm

Rear wing provide stability at high speeds hence the issue is whether the rear wings are safe for all on the road.

• Illya on May 06, 2017 at 6:31 pm

They look like guillotines to me, esp. for bike riders behind.A sudden stop and…..

• Daniel on May 07, 2017 at 10:16 am

I do not bother the size of any type rear spoiler of others’ cars as long as it is not blocking one’s view.

• TangkapDulu on May 08, 2017 at 7:19 am

Only in malaysia, it would be illegal if you get booked by the Authorities….

• Spoiler alert on May 08, 2017 at 9:00 am

Useful for a high performance car, useless for a daily driver. The gains in down force is compromised by a reduction in top speed and increase in fuel consumption.

• Sabahan on May 08, 2017 at 2:50 pm

Save this page yall!

if you kena caught by JPJ or equivalent, show them this and you will be fine. (finger-crossed)

• hmm... Much Hmm on May 08, 2017 at 10:45 pm

He basically means cars that was manufactured and shipped with excessively huge spoilers. In fact on the “Why is JPJ targeting the “Hellaflush” trend here?” article on this website itself, it’s mentioned that any vehicle modified without approvals are illegal.

“According to Mohamad Dalib, all cars sold in Malaysia must first obtain the department’s approval under the United Nation Regulation 0 (UN R0), equivalent to the Road Transport Act 66(1)(PP) Vehicle Type Approval (VTA). Once a vehicle is approved under the law, it can then be marketed and purchased by consumers. However, if any vehicle is modified after it is purchased, indirectly it is already counted as an “unauthorised modification,” and therefore, illegal.”

With these laws in place, unless the car modification has been approved by JPJ and Puspakom, and it’s deemed fit and safe for road use, will end up getting banned from the road and have to refit with standard issue parts.

P.S. you’ll need an engineer to proof that your excessive modification is safe and fit for road use… So it’ll be quite safe to say that none of those cars we see on the road with gigantic spoilers are legally modified.

This is why I don’t like fine prints in Legal works.. one will say ‘Yes you can!’ another will say ‘You need approval for whatever reasons I think you should’ and in most cases is ultra vague in such a way a same sentence could be interpreted from many perspectives.

Posting this comment so you guys wouldn’t go and use this article to challenge JPJ and ultimately get roasted…

• hue janus on Feb 04, 2020 at 3:30 am

it is called spoiler no rear wing