Mercedes-Benz SLC 180 – 1.6L, 156 hp entry level

A Mercedes-Benz SLC to rival the Mazda MX-5? That’s what this – the Mercedes-Benz SLC 180 – is about, apparently. The SLC 180 is the new entry level variant of Mercedes’ metal folding roof roadster previously known as the SLK, taking over from the SLC 200. In the UK, the SLC 180 AMG Line is priced from £32,039 (RM180,240).

Autocar points out that while that is £2,681 (RM15,078) less than the SLC 200, it’s still £8,644 (RM48,614) costlier than the entry MX-5 RF and £2,419 (RM13,604) more than the Abarth 124 Spider. However, the baby Merc roadster comes with lower monthly instalments due to its better residual values, making it cheaper on a Personal Contract Purchase (PCP) deal.

With monthly payments start from just £276 (RM1,552), the new SLC 180 asks lucky UK buyers a pertinent question. While the latest ND MX-5 has been universally hailed as a pure, back-to-basics drop top that’s fun to drive – and there’s now a Retractable Fastback version that’s more versatile – Mercedes is dangling much better refinement and that powerful star badge. And it won’t be obvious that you bought the cheap one – the AMG Line styling assures that.

The MX-5 is a great driver’s car, but what if you could have a Merc SLC for lower monthly payments?

What else does an SLC 180 buyer get? Under that long hood is a 1.6 litre turbo engine producing 156 hp and 250 Nm, which is 24 hp/50 Nm less than the SLC 200. That’s the A 200‘s engine paired to a six-speed manual standard in the UK (9G-Tronic auto is a £1,600 option), it’s good for 0-100 km/h in a decent 7.9 seconds. Roadsters aren’t for racing anyway.

Standard kit includes 18-inch rims, Artico synthetic leather seats, Active Brake Assist, cruise control, sports suspension and a sports braking system, among other goodies. Oh, and a key fob with the three-pointed star, of course.

Back to the Mazda MX-5 RF vs Mercedes SLC 180 question. If you’re wondering what we chose in the office, it’s 4-3 in the favour of the Mercedes, with voting falling along age lines. Moot of course – with the MX-5 RF and SLC 200 priced at RM243k and RM400k here respectively – but which would you choose given the UK circumstance?

GALLERY: Mercedes-Benz SLC 200

GALLERY: Mercedes-Benz SLC 300 AMG Line

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Zackyrulez on May 09, 2017 at 4:23 pm

Only 1 word. Superb. mesidis

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • YB Kunta Kinte on May 09, 2017 at 7:37 pm

My son finished his studies in the UK. This year, he decided to work there. Unfortunately, he could only to temping. So, he became a temp as an office boy.

As an office boy, he earns about 20,000 pounds per annum.
      My son, if he does not eat and just saves the 20,000 pounds, in 1 and half years, he can buy this Mercedes SLC car outright.

In Malaysia, this car come in, it will be RM400,000. Even doctor or datuk also cannot own it without a loan!

Pity Malaysians. Pity our screwed up taxes for cars and pity our Ringgit got no value.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 31
      • Dun be so proud juz cuz ur son studies in Ulu Klang. Plenty of other pipu sons oso study in UK, but they make do unlike endless complain about ur 2nd hand EX5. Work harder and dun be lazy.

• Nice fairy tale bro..really.. No wonder all office boy there drive a Merc.

• Really not syiok when you drive this SLC and get tapao by the Civic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 27
    • Zackyrulez on May 09, 2017 at 4:42 pm

people look at the driver in the Mercedes as a person who has made it in society, and they will envy you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 41
      • Semi-Value (Member) on May 09, 2017 at 11:48 pm

nobody looks at a guy with an SLK/SLC and thinks he is successful. they just think he is a bit bent. and car enthusiasts will also think he is a softie.

• Redidiot on May 10, 2017 at 12:47 am

Shallow…

• Esbern on May 09, 2017 at 5:46 pm

True it is really not shiok when getting tapau by civic.
      Anyway, those that will go for slc180 200 are those chill man that enjoy driving experience of mercedes car. And they gonna shine on the road, a chick rather get into a modest slc180 rather than your civic or even type r. It’s the driver that matter, his status and his behaviour

Not a typical civic ah beng smoke here and there, win a few common myvi accord and altis, then try to tapau bmw vw and then get trashed by 330 and gti.
      Also Mercedes has their slc43. Without a type r u can never see it’s shadow.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 35
      • Semi-Value (Member) on May 09, 2017 at 11:49 pm

a guy with an slc180 will most likely have another guy beside him, ikywim

• Daniel on May 09, 2017 at 6:09 pm

People who want to tapau Civic will not buy this car in the first place. It only has 160hp. This car is more towards culture and refinement.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 8
    • Mikey on May 09, 2017 at 9:48 pm

Ouch. That is hard 2 swallow john. I feel sorry 4 U john. Even Brothers like Zackyrulez, Esbern & Daniel came out 2 whack U.
      This is what happen when U hide behind Honda 2 bash a civilize Mercedes SLC bcos they know who U really are. Take a break john, take a Kit-Kat.

• “what if you could have a Merc SLC for lower monthly payments?”

Than means bashers have been bashing wrong party for overpriced MX5, while VT is laffing to the bank.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
    • Kastam laffing to the bank instead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
      • Mikey on May 09, 2017 at 9:37 pm

U mean our Gov has the last laugh at buyer expense. john will always says – Tax the Rich so No problemo. Yes or Not john ?!

• Goes to show u dunno how much much more VT makes when he underdeclares the car price at impot.

• tokmoh. on May 09, 2017 at 4:53 pm

Of course the Mazda, the original.

N/A, lightweight, pure driving experience.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
  • Mikey on May 09, 2017 at 5:48 pm

If U are younger or young at heart & like pure driving pleasure, choose the MX5.

If U are older & have extra Cash to splash, choose the Tri-star as it will make U look more like a Gentleman driving the SLC.

• silly vampire country on May 09, 2017 at 6:16 pm

we only know slc and mx-5 all overpriced in malaysia.

• funnyman on May 09, 2017 at 11:00 pm

both are hairdressers’ car. meant for coasting and not outright speed. if just coasting, i believe majority would want to coast in style. both are stylo. all boils down to personal choice, dollar and cent. if the mercedes is rm400k, you can buy almost buy 2 mx5. or if u really wanna tapao someone in ahbeng style, u can get 1 mx5 and 1 civic type R. if u really want the badge, then mx5 and a used A45.

• Gracke on May 10, 2017 at 12:13 am

Very outdated exterior looks and design!

• No manual

• The Saint on May 10, 2017 at 10:32 am

The SLC, for the lower monthly repayment. lol

• Tough choice. Mx5 is more raw and direct compared to SLC.

The MX5 RF version may be slightly more refined, but i don’t think it will reach SLC’s level of refinement.

I will choose the MX5 if i’m in the market for one. My other day to day car is quite refined and i need something raw during the weekends to awaken the senses so to speak. A rev happy ( somebody corrected me when i said high revving, thank you ) engine with a slick short throw 6 speeder, in a narrow, curvy & scenic UK B roads, roof down. Life is good.

Reliability wise, i think MX5 has an edge and better reliability ratings. I’m too old to be fixing cars continuously and would want to drive and perform scheduled maintenence only. The days of me jumping from 1 mechanic to another, from one dealer to another just to fix flaws ( unscheduled maintenence, check engine light, that sort of things ) is over. I only drive japanese now. Continental fans will thumb me down for sure. So my vote is still MX5.

SO how did your office vote along age lines? Younger folks went for MX5 or the other way round?

• tokmoh. on May 11, 2017 at 11:25 am

I’d imagine the other way round lol.

Youngsters probably prefer Mercedes, German mah, Conti mah, atas mah.

Oldies more tendency to tak nak pening, tak nak fikir, Japanese reliability waaaay > German.

• Bernard on May 10, 2017 at 4:45 pm

In Bolehland prices are never at entry level…,

• leonardo on May 11, 2017 at 8:32 am

In UK I would have chosen the Merc. But in Malaysia I would have chosen the Mazda. Simply because the Merc would be harder to maintain since there will be no local experts to understand the latest electronics in the car.