StoreDot showcases FlashBattery for EVs that charges fully in five minutes, provides up to 483 km of range

We’ve heard of fast-charging technologies for electric vehicles before, such as Tesla‘s Supercharger network that is able to provide up to 273 km of range in 30 minutes. But how about a battery that enables you to get up to 483 km in – wait for it – five minutes? That’s the kind of future nanotechnology startup StoreDot is promising with its new FlashBattery, which it showcased at the CUBE Tech Fair in Berlin last week.

Claimed to use a combination of gradient layers of nano materials and proprietary organic compounds, FlashBattery avoids graphite – commonly used in lithium-ion battery cells – that is unable to sustain the high currents required for fast charging. The company’s proprietary chemical compound is said to be inflammable and has a higher combustion temperature, reducing battery resistance considerably and improving safety.

StoreDot says that the battery is currently in advanced stages of development, and is expected to be fitted to production electric vehicles within the next three years. The company is now exploring options with strategic partners in the automotive industry to help boost its production process in Asia and reach mass production as soon as possible.

“Fast-charging is the critical missing link needed to make electric vehicles ubiquitous,” said co-founder and CEO Doron Myersdorf. “The currently available battery technology dictates long charging times which makes the EV form of transportation inadequate for the public at large.”

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Rooney on May 17, 2017 at 5:50 pm

After this minyak is cheap.

• YB Kunta Kinte on May 17, 2017 at 7:36 pm

Amazing how Tesla and StoreDot are doing so much research on batteries. Cause that is the FUTURE.

Every car company is moving forward towards Hybrid, PHEV and EV.

Only 2 companies, Proton and Perodua still syiok with their traditional petrol engines. Infact, even 10 year old Hybrid technology also both don’t have.

No idea what MAI talks about with charts and diagrams and seminars on EEV push.

MAI can you explain where is our EEV heading?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 6
  • Leafable on May 17, 2017 at 6:00 pm

Welcome to the future.

• Mikey on May 17, 2017 at 6:22 pm

Wow, to put it into perspective, in 3 years time, most if Not All batteries will be charged in a Jiffy(5 minutes). That is indeed GUD news 4 consumers & manufacturers alike.

• TopsyBoXyTurvy on May 17, 2017 at 9:21 pm

our phone batteries will be fully charged in 5 seconds

• Toyota still proudings of their dinosar 1NZFE+4AT

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 19
    • What is proudings? What are you trying to say?

• Mikey on May 17, 2017 at 9:20 pm

john, U are the Ultimate Champion Basher of Toyo that I must say. Even Kunta did not bash Toyo here in an article that speaks about Battery. Take a break john, take a Kit-Kat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
      • topkek on May 18, 2017 at 8:23 am

Eh when somebody bashes toyo in battery article you bising, when somebidy bashes P1 in BMW article you senyap pulak

Topkek

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
    • Malu Malu Malu on May 17, 2017 at 11:25 pm

With English like “Proudings”, we are headed for Ivy League quality

• Quarter Pounder on May 18, 2017 at 1:15 am

Same with Proton. Where is ur ‘advanced’ non-dinosaur EV tech Proton? Still stuck in R&D due to lack of funds from the rakyat kah?

Proton still prouding of their stoneage Campro VVT + Punch CVT while john still pounding his head on the wall

• Really? Toyota R&D bajet brapa? P1 R&D bajet brapa?
        Nak compare? Where is vios EV then?

• Some Passerby on May 18, 2017 at 11:50 am

Toyota R&D budget i don’t know but i do know it does not come from the rakyat like Proton. John, we compare company, not car models. Ever heard of Prius EV?

• Kwan Kok Foong on May 17, 2017 at 6:45 pm

Now we’re talking!!!

• Hmm... Much Hmm... on May 17, 2017 at 8:20 pm

They actually have a working prototype for smart phones whereby it charges the phone from low battery to full charge is less than 30 seconds. The company is also backed by a major smart phone company as well. So it’s not exactly wishful thinking but when compared to other tech news that promises quick charging with long discharge batteries, this actually has the biggest potential to eventuate into a working product in the near future. The real question now is, when will we see it in Malaysia? How will it affect our country economy since we still rely heavily on petroleum exportations? And most important of all, how expensive will it be, since new tech’s are almost always are introduced with ridiculously inflated prices while Malaysia isn’t known to have a strong early adopter culture to deflate such prices.

• paangiant on May 17, 2017 at 9:17 pm

I’ve seen their website. They claimed with their tech, mobile phone can also be charged in 30 seconds! That’s amazing!

• Jimmy on May 18, 2017 at 12:01 am

One more step closer to what we want.

• nastyjibb on May 18, 2017 at 8:32 am

They’re already working on 5mins fully charged smartphones for 2018.
    Never expected for EV’s would come this fast – Bravo!
    Hopefully, COTA wireless charging would come in play soon, & we don’t even have to stop for charging.
    EV world rocks!!

• thepolygonal on May 18, 2017 at 9:49 am

Now the problem is… will our TNB lines be able to provide that much juice at one go without tripping the switch. Now that the slow charging battery problem is lebih kurang solved… now delivery problem… faster before we hit a bottle neck again.

• thepolygonal on May 18, 2017 at 9:56 am

Here might be the future… normal house electric lines won’t have enough juice to conduct the few seconds of full charge of the EV battery. That’s where petrol station still comes into play. It’s gonna be called energy station. Stop there, pay for energy, 5 seconds full recharge and you are ready to go :D Happy?… Petron, Petronas, Shell and other still boleh cari makan by selling electric energy.

• Johnson Potien on May 18, 2017 at 10:42 am

Rumors about this technology ported from alien spacecraft in area 51…

• Then wat next ?? Price of electricity increase n price of oil go down. Still the same vicious cycle of human greed..