Tun Mahathir saddened by Proton-Geely agreement

Former Proton chairman Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad has shared his thoughts relating to the recent Proton-Geely deal in a posting on his personal blog.

Describing Proton as his “child,” he stated that with the done deed, “Proton can no longer be national” and that any success it experiences is nothing to be proud of, as it doesn’t “belong to me or my country.”

Yesterday, Geely was announced as Proton’s foreign strategic partner, and will acquire a 49.9% stake in the national carmaker, as well as a 51% stake in Lotus. Both parties are expected to sign a definitive agreement before the end of July 2017.

“With a strategic partner, Proton would be able to elevate the brand value and consumer confidence, have access to the latest technology, achieve higher economies of scale and have the ability to access bigger markets beyond Malaysia,” said second Finance Minister Datuk Seri Johari Abdul Ghani in a report by The Star, citing examples such as Tata with Jaguar Land Rover as well as BMW with MINI and Rolls-Royce.

The following is the blog posting by Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad in full:

1. Proton has been sold. It has been sold to foreigners.

2. They say Proton is my brainchild. Now the child of my brain has been sold.

3. Yes. I am sad. I can cry. But the deed is done. Proton can no longer be national. No national car now. We Malaysians are glad to be rid of this pesky car. I am sure Proton will do well. It will be a commercial success. It will be sold all over the world. The Proton name will be everywhere.

4. It will be like Singapore. Malaysians are proud of this great city-state. If it had not been sold it would be, perhaps, as well developed as Kuala Kedah or Kuala Perlis. Then we cannot be proud of Singapore.

5. Now we can be proud of Proton. With money and superior technology it will compete with Rolls Royce and Bentley.

6. But I cannot be proud of its success. I cannot be proud of the success of something that does not belong to me or my country. Maybe other Malaysians will, but not me. Come to think of it, if our country is sold to others, to the very rich people of other countries, I am sure our country will become well developed too. It can even be a fully developed country – exceeding the expectations of Vision 2020.

7. It will be a great country with super highways, high-speed rail (HSR), gleaming skyscrapers, shining new towns, beautifully landscaped and lighted. But I can’t be proud! Can I be proud to be living on the fringes of this great country so well developed by the buyers.

8. I will die soon. I am already beyond average age. And as I slip into my final years, or month or days, I will watch as our beloved country is sold to foreigners to settle the trillion Ringgits that we owe. We will have to sell more and more of our country.

9. What are our assets? Our land of course!! That was what we did in the past. We sold chunks of our country. We lost the land we sold. That is what we are doing now. And that will be what we will have to do – or forfeit our country; like we forfeit Proton.

10. Proton the child of my brain has been sold. It is probably the beginning of the great sell-out. The process is inexorable. No other way can we earn the billions to pay our debts. The only way is to sell our assets. And eventually we will lose our country, a great country no doubt, but owned by others.

11. I am a sissy. I cry even if Malaysians are dry-eyed. My child is lost. And soon my country.

12. Please excuse me.

UPDATE: A video of Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad sharing his thoughts on the deal has been uploaded to his official Facebook page.

AD: Drive the Proton model of your dreams. Submit your details and Proton PJ will get in touch with you.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard's strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments reflect mixed sentiments about the Proton-Geely deal. Many viewers see the sale as a necessary but regretful decision, criticizing Proton's ongoing financial struggles, poor management, and outdated product quality. Critics are concerned about job losses, staff attitude, and the country's economy, while some praise the move as a pragmatic solution to Proton’s decline. There are strong opinions blaming political patronage, mismanagement, and the inability to grow Proton independently. Several comments express sadness over the loss of national pride and worry that Proton is being undervalued, calling the sale a "fire sale" and questioning whether Malaysia can regain control. Overall, the tone varies from disappointment and concern to acceptance, with some viewing the deal as an unavoidable step toward future stability.

• Plotong on May 25, 2017 at 5:21 pm

child who cant even survive in own kampung…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 128 Thumb down 7
    • No more protection on May 25, 2017 at 8:40 pm

Yes a child that never grow up! Sad for what? Blame yourself.You we’re in charged for 22 years but the best you did was paying exorbitant price for your cronies vendors.No improvement in fact the standard getting lower and lower by the years.Now you acted like a child whining to your parent to keep buying you candy? Your child is 34 years old consider but still want to live under protection? Logically your child already a big guy with big guts challenging the world but unfortunately it seem he no even past standard 6 exam! You have no shame? You had destroyed this country badly!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 154 Thumb down 15
      • Ingatlah Wahai bangsaku
        Jangan mudah lupa lagi

• If u can’t be proud of Proton, u can’t be proud to be…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
      • Good Riddance on May 26, 2017 at 8:59 am

Crying konon!

For over 30 years we car buyers burdened with crazy car taxes loans like hell nobody cares we’re crying or not.

Now padan muka kena lelong to Chinaman company. Padan muka kau Proton! Rasakan sekarang! That’s how we feel after being bullied cheated shortchanged all these years.

So now enjoy your life under Tongsan rule and taste it real good! That is karma for you Proton! Rasakan balasan dari rakyat!

Crying konon!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 13
    • Tanny Chua on May 25, 2017 at 8:45 pm

Why only sold 49.9%? Should sell at least 70% coz 49% still don’t have majority words to deny stupidity inside Proton.Sell 100% much better.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 101 Thumb down 12
      • Kandasamy R on May 25, 2017 at 9:38 pm

This is our beloved Tun’s signal for pipu to ubah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
      • xem6861 on May 25, 2017 at 9:45 pm

Dont worry,it will definitely happen in future. DRB-Hicom only concern about their own pocket.Tamak nak mampus.

• If I am China I buy at least 51% Proton and in control stake. No way to buy 49.9%. But I think after some time Proton will sell all stake to China. Because from now onward Lotus big growing and big profit but Proton still keep doing rugi. So at the end will sell all to China, then will no more proton and Geely will be China national car in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
        • If Lotus get big growing and big profit but Proton still keep doing rugi. Why the hell should China buy all? Are u going to buy something that keep doing rugi even when u have already invested a lot on it?

• Peter on May 26, 2017 at 12:52 pm

This was part of terms to get Lotus. You think they want to buy p1? But $ for them isn’t a problem at all especially the value of our RM now.

• YB Kunta Kinte on May 25, 2017 at 8:56 pm

Poor Tun. He did so much for the country. Proton just threw him into the tong sampah. To hurt him even further, for the Perdana, Persona and Saga, the consciously did not call him.

This is Proton’s way of slapping a 92 year old man. Disgrace the man. Disgrace the man who kept you alive by giving you billions of unaccounted and unaudited money from Petronas.

When Tun was PM, since he loved his child Proton so much, he took billions from Petronas with one hand and gave Proton with another. All no records.

Now, the prodigal son Proton just throw dirt on this man’s face.

Hello Proton, our culture is to respect our elders. Melayu, Cina and India all believe in this. Please show respect to Tun.

Even in overseas, for example, when Steve Blamer, President of Microsoft wanted to launch anything, they always called Bill Gates, their founder to bless the function. This is despite Bill Gates resigned from Microsoft 10 years ago.

Proton oh Proton, see, even the Mat Salleh got respect for their elders and founders.

I hope Proton don’t try these disrespectful behaviour to Geely CEO. He will not tolerate any nonsense from Proton.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 161 Thumb down 36
      • Acappan on May 25, 2017 at 10:13 pm

No Proton we no problem. But but minyak mahal, kereta mahal, api mahal, kos hidup mahal. Kepala banyak pusing la Aiyoyooh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
    • AutoFrenz (the original) on May 25, 2017 at 9:33 pm

Im more concerned with the price of proton under geely…will it come down drastically…im not interested in all this drama…

• At least the child won’t keep begging for more money. Time for the kid to grow up and cari makan by itself.

• Man Bai on May 25, 2017 at 5:27 pm

Well said. well fought.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 19
    • YB Kunta Kinte on May 25, 2017 at 10:04 pm

The big question in a marriage is to see how long the marriage will last.

I hope Proton staff change their attitude and start moving on the fast lane cause Geely is on the fast lane. Proton staff must start running NOW.

Geely started in 1997, 13 years later than Proton yet it could buy Volvo and London Black Cab Co for cash. After that, they could even inject USD12 billion (RM55 billion) to make Volvo further healthy! That is how fast they are running! In 2016, they made USD30 BILLION (RM135 BILLION)

I hope and pray Proton staff can start running. 20 years just slumber…..really don’t know.

Geely CEO, first day on the job, going to pengsan when he sees all the vendors and suppliers got free ride in life. For 30 years, supply Proton with super low quality parts but charge Proton a bomb. Sometimes just a screw cost 1 ringgit, charge Proton RM10

Be warned Proton, the Chinese from China are very serious when they put their money down. Since they are running, they expect you to run too.

They will not tolerate the current truancy problem Proton faces in the factory. Today come, tomorrow don’t come ie tuang. Proton has a big big problem with staff and their tuang attitude.

I really don’t know what Geely will do to all these lepak and rilak staff.

You think Geely will tolerate minum teh dan makan kuih lapis 8x, tackle awek kilang and whatsapp and fesbuk whole day?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 7
  • Middle Age on May 25, 2017 at 5:28 pm

I m the supporter of Geely, for going to buy Proton at 49.9% and 51% of Lotus. I m a Malaysian.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 8
  • Tiger88 on May 25, 2017 at 5:28 pm

Tun u rests @ home n dnt b sad bez of u n ur poton baby, rakyat money using for to bail out poton every year n still zero results

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 8
    • YB Kunta Kinte on May 25, 2017 at 9:11 pm

Tun, don’t worry. When a prodiga son does not get the blessings of the elders, the marriage will fail.

Even we as children, if we go against our parents, somehow, what we do will never succeed.

By the way Proton, even in a normal marriage, if husband is lepak, rilaks, don’t want to work, always lepak with buddies, you think he can marry a super hard working lady who is focused, diligent and highly intelligent?

Many arranged marriage like that in Malaysia. But ALL fail. All end up broken.

It is a matter of time. Geely will get a shock of their lives when they see, 12,000 workers just relax and goyang kaki.

And Proton will say, no way can the 12,000 workers kena VSS.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 13
      • tak betui on May 27, 2017 at 6:19 am

Why you dun say 60k workers?
        Slanderer will be always slanderer

• Albert on May 25, 2017 at 5:31 pm

Protong….a FAILED BUSINESS ENTITY,JUST LIKE MAS.
    YAB…nazri said it is a WHITE ELEPHANT.
    What to be sad,my dear Tun ?
    Do we want a NATIONAL CAR to keep sucking tax dollars?
    What PRIDE can it generate?
    Even SYIOK SYIOK BABY LOTUS has been bleeding billions from day 1.You call it PRIDE?
    It is a shambolic MEGA PROJECT,that resulted in Malaysians paying a bomb for other Japanese /Korean cars.
    It is the worst business decision from corporate Malaysia.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 6
    • Jonn Dol on May 25, 2017 at 9:55 pm

And we still got the bloated RM80BIL civil servants to worry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
    • YB Kunta Kinte on May 25, 2017 at 10:25 pm

The most important issue is, for 30 years, not even 1 worker in Proton got VSS despite the company losing RM4 million per day.

What will Proton do when Geely ask Proton that it wants to trim the workforce to make the company lean?

Cause in China, 1 person do 10 people work policy. Geely does not know that in Malaysia, 10 people do 1 person’s work policy.

Will there be fireworks?

• Middle Age on May 25, 2017 at 5:35 pm

The bidding process has come for Geely, eyeing for 600 million Asean population as a market. Volkswagen, Honda and PSA had bid for Proton but failed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • justsomepissedoffdude on May 25, 2017 at 5:37 pm

Look at this man again, because of his “child” people in malaysian are paying the 2nd highest car prices IN THE WORLD!! and yet that’s not his concern. All this while that his “child” has been suffering why didn’t he put in his own personal money to help his “child”? or is he an irresponsible father that is expecting the school master to feed his child? Senile old man

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 15
  • Ahmadjr on May 25, 2017 at 5:44 pm

But you sold this “child” to your beloved friend you know who. We all know drb was going to screwed up. Plus, all the vendors also are your friends even they sold p1 with crappy parts

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 5
  • John Gagal on May 25, 2017 at 5:49 pm

So sad tsk tsk tsk! Need more tissues please! Huhuhuhu :-(

• Shawn on May 25, 2017 at 5:50 pm

Perhaps enough is enough. I’m proud of my 10 years old Waja though. Best of luck to Proton, our national carmaker as always!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
  • Rauna on May 25, 2017 at 5:54 pm

What the hell Mahathir? Whats benefit to malaysian if “national car” always sold the rubbish to its citizen but for the foreigner you upgrade the material to first class….. don’t think like bullshit la mader…

I know the really very big mistake taken Proton is maintain the low class vendor sold bloody hell quality with unreasonable prices

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 7
  • Anonymous on May 25, 2017 at 5:58 pm

Proton his child…? hmmm… so if he really did love it so much, tell me how many shares did DrM buy of Proton…? How much stake has he in Proton…? How come he is willing to have a position within Proton and take a salary from Proton but unwilling to buy into it… i guess he just wants to boss people around, push his own vision and admonish them when things go wrong.

DRB bought Proton… owns Modenas, assembles Honda, Isuzu, Mercedes Benz, Volkswagen and (used to)Suzuki… also assembles Maxus, Iveco, Daewoo bus n Mitsubishi Fuso… perhaps DRB management’s capability was confined to just assembling n not marketing n development especially their own products… ample experience, enough know how yet insufficient competence to manage as a whole n sell it.

Your child DrM… perhaps… n u were there almost to the end but you yourself failed to manage it competently.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 2
  • Gargantia on May 25, 2017 at 5:58 pm

Use his own billions to safe p1? No he will not because p1 can’t be safe and will continue to indebt for another 30 years coming years. (Continue under bumi crony)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
  • Malaysian on May 25, 2017 at 6:02 pm

I am sadden by Tun’s comment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 5
    • Anonymous on May 25, 2017 at 10:58 pm

Big brands get sold n bought all the time… even ‘National’ brands… just look at the British carmakers. Everything changes n nothing lasts forever… DrM needs to learn to put his pride away especially in his elder years.

• DonkeyKong on May 25, 2017 at 6:06 pm

What a load of crap. He can shove is freaking pride and nationalism. Proton needs to survive as a business. Why don’t he pay RM1.5 billion to Proton out of his own damn pocket.

Proton getting almost 50% owned by a foreign partner is a good thing. Stop this drama, Tun. You’re the reason for Proton being an unprofitable company for 30 years despite the great potential that it has.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 3
  • tokmoh. on May 25, 2017 at 6:20 pm

Wow, da upgrade. Now Proton is not BMW/Volvo of Asia, but Bentley/Rolls Royce of Asia.

Relax Tun, lama2 accept la. Baru2 ni memang susah, tapi when results start to show, it will be good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
  • Petoron Sagu on May 25, 2017 at 6:26 pm

I also cry….. Even with my dry eye….. I cry because i pay tax n give PETORON rm1.5 billion. Now i cry because somebody save our money.

Semmmmbanggggg ahhhh dr m…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 4
  • hip hip hurry!!!!!!! btw what dr m said was so so true.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
    • Ini baru Rare on May 25, 2017 at 9:56 pm

It will be like Singapore.
      Malaysians are proud of this great city-state.

• David tan on May 25, 2017 at 6:33 pm

Saddened? I’m more saddened to see proton handled by bunch of lazy and incompetent muds. M is one of them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 4
  • I guess he doesn’t read Paul Tan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • transformer on May 25, 2017 at 6:36 pm

Damaged has been done with Proton towards MY automotive industry(cannot call as industry anymore)….. All other Auto makes all went TH and ID. Even Harley went TH. Whats MY has is only P1 & P2 doom within bolehland where limited volumes even with unfair tax barrier over import/others makes. Rakyat still saves up money and buys second had JP makes rather than new SAGA. everyone knew this facts…. rilek….

• thefact on May 25, 2017 at 6:46 pm

You are just pathetic. rather then opening up the country so that we could be a automotive hub, you drove away investors to pamper your child. n now u cry? oh well. EGO tahap gunung.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
  • mohamad heikal on May 25, 2017 at 6:49 pm

As for me, we need to “berpijak pada dunia nyata”..tun should have admit this, he need to admit it that interest in proton is dropping and proton is burdening the rakyat..its simple math, either proton bungkus or go with this FSP..still want to see proton, than go with FSP la..thats it..

• Leafable on May 25, 2017 at 6:55 pm

something wrong with this man. It’s 2017. Citizen first not you alone first.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
  • :”(

• Stevie on May 25, 2017 at 7:07 pm

Senile old man. You only want to keep your pride intact. We just want to keep our job.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
  • World is changing Tun. Cannot forever be proud of anything of your own. Keyword is survival. Partnership is very important when things go wrong like proton. Poor management and planning at somr point. We cannot afford bail out like you like to do during your days. Should thank Geely for willing to buy protin share otherwise proton simply extinct or someonelse money used to bail it out

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
    • oh mak lu on May 25, 2017 at 11:53 pm

All the bail outs Tun did last time is the cause of lowsy economy now and ringgit being so small.

• Bernard on May 25, 2017 at 7:15 pm

My question is; would we now be able to buy cars at the most affordable, equitable and just price as it was prior to Proton? Would the car market return to normal now like other countries? If no then I don’t see the point of selling it to China.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
    • Fucukyongtaufoo on May 26, 2017 at 9:59 am

I think it will remain or will only decrease abit… Gov mau makan duit rakyat still…

• Sad.

• Iloveproton2death on May 25, 2017 at 7:19 pm

What is wrong with this old man. Proton was a plague from beginning .now pretend to be losing his child and all the cry drama. All malaysians are smarter than u now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
  • I don’t care what he said, he is too old to say anything sound now.

• lao yee on May 26, 2017 at 10:37 am

Be humane. You got that age one day. Your scenario would be worse than Tun when you don’t even own 2% of his success. #respect

• The Nationalist on May 25, 2017 at 7:32 pm

It is the right move to liberate proton from its own cavity. Yes it can be successful if we had the right management with the right attitude and free market, but being in its own self created chains of supplies and self praised environment, it will be a recipe of disaster. Even glorious international brands had its own down moment which eventually was sold to liberate itself, how is it wrong? Having to sustain a self deepening debt is even worse, just imagine as an individual that u dwelled in larger n deeper personal debt. Now is it good? Please let the country float n free its market for a better sustainability.

• ThinkingPoint on May 25, 2017 at 7:42 pm

After this speech of Tun M, well, I suddenly think, it is not a bad idea to welcome more Chinese investors come into Malaysia at all. Malaysia will become better and more prosperous, which will directly benefit the people definitely in the long run.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
  • Kunta copypaste post on May 25, 2017 at 7:47 pm

This is a good partnership. Well done.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • For all of its failings, Proton is still a part of Malaysian historical aspiration for greatness. It was started with good intentions and you did your best Tun. But now it’s time to let it go. It has become a liability for the country instead of its pride and success. So much effort had been put into breathing life into it but it just didn’t work. Please understand this. Let’s mark this passing of an era with hope for a better future. On a related note thank you for your sincere services to the country Tun. But you also have got your share of skeletons in the cupboard. Ambil yang jernih. Buang yang keruh. Go in peace sir and you will be forgiven for being imperfect just like every other human being and remembered for your contribution to the country. Peace out.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
    • Yup agree. He shud just retire and let those helming the country continue unfettered.

• So many gov sapoters here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
    • Tears dry on their own on May 26, 2017 at 8:33 am

People support good decisions. Nothing personal like you always think.

• ..i’m curious, how is this going to affect import tax, now that proton is basically, a foreign car maker??

• Better no change cuz gov need to incentivise using public transport instead of cars/motors. Shud include congestion charges into cities as well.

• Mikey on May 25, 2017 at 10:44 pm

That is an excellent question asked bro. Most are busy commenting but forget to ask the Ultimate most important question – Will it be Cheaper to own the new partnership cars??

Am sure when the dust is settled, the pertinent question will pop out like Pop Corns pop out of the Hot pot. Cheers

• Tears dry on their own on May 26, 2017 at 8:34 am

Tax akan naik

• Mikey on May 25, 2017 at 9:28 pm

This 90 plus Old Man is NOT senile or stupid. If U read deep into all the points, there is Sarcasm & innuendos written all over it that is if U understand his words.

He is actually blaming “someone” for selling P1(M’sian) to foreigner(China). That is only a small portion of his sarcasm/blame.

Read point #7. It will be a great country with super highways, high-speed rail (HSR), gleaming skyscrapers, shining new towns, beautifully landscaped & lighted. But I can’t be proud! Can I be proud to be living on the fringes of this great country so well developed by the buyers.

Again, Tun is telling us that DRB/Gov of the nation sold off our land to foreigner & they build the skyscrapers, HSR trains & new towns.

I leave it to our wise man in PT.org to dissect deeper into the meaning of Tun’s comment. Am sure there are many wise man that can do a better job than me. Cheers…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • Yes. We must ubah. We must bring him back and make P1 great again!

• Not Toyota Fan on May 26, 2017 at 11:55 am

I am very proud of Tun for what he did to bring us out of an agricultural economy to an industrial economy, the foresight to build KLCC, KLIA, Penang Bridge, North South Highway etc. He has done much to bring Malaysia out of the backwater.

However, rightly or wrongly, his style of allowing a few individuals to drive this growth has created a system of cronyism & nepotism. Also the protectionist policies to protect certain projects (or people) has created the numerous problems that we have today. Without a cut off point, those protected lived in a cocooned world of thier own and forever wished to be in it.

For that, we, the rakyat ended up paying for it, not just in monetary sense. It has made our beloved country into a cuddled infant who is afraid of the outside world, unable to compete globally, having illusions of grandeur perpetuated by propaganda.

At this time of hardship, we must face reality and do the necessary. Today is afraid different time from the days of Tun. Time to face the hard truth and admit failure in this project. Time to stop cuddling this project. 30+ years of degressive progress is not a sign of success.

• wawasan2020 on May 25, 2017 at 9:51 pm

Seriously the biggest mistake was to started up national car brand.without this blackhole project our beloved country would grow better than SG probably!!!

• Semi-Value (Member) on May 25, 2017 at 10:18 pm

you cakap suka anak u proton tapi tiap2 kali u pandu porsches cayenne

• apamau on May 25, 2017 at 10:24 pm

Selling proton is the right move, is just factory and business. but selling off land, is forever. i support tun on the 2nd matter, but i object him on the 1st matter.

• Joe Ampang on May 25, 2017 at 10:42 pm

I feel like having a national football team that is at top FIFA ranking but all players are imported from Brazil, Argentina, Spain….. China.

• Rooney on May 25, 2017 at 11:10 pm

“I feel so sad they sold Proton…”, said Tun Mahathir as he walked towards his Porsche Cayenne Turbo S.

• Suck it up Bro Mahatir. Life is always in flux but it goes on. Look toward something better which can come out of this. Believe in Malaysians.

• Im a Proton car owner. I have nothing much against Proton. I’m only against the people working at Proton service center with their “tidak apa” and everything also say ” tak ada masalah” attitude .
    I hope Geely will clean up these trash.

• Zvi H on May 26, 2017 at 12:58 am

49.9% stake sold is valued at rm170m plus rights to the production of the half assed boyue suv….. this is not a sale to bolster the finances of the co but a fire sale, at best. thus value of proton is at less than rm400m? after sucking in research and development costs of more than rm 18 billion (with a B) since inception??? might as well give it away. guess no one wants it thus the fire sale price. drb hicom is beyond desperate in trying to get rid of this bottomless money pit.

• bijiny on May 27, 2017 at 1:34 pm

There are a few commenters here, like the YB Kinte, who are particularly high that a Chinese company with deep political link to Xi jinping had taken over Proton. I wonder why?

Probably they didn’t see the high debts Geely is in right now after spending close to USD3 billion (acquisition and R&D) on Volvo, and now Proton + Lotus.

Or maybe they think Geely will turn around Proton like they did (as Geely claimed) turn around Volvo. FYI, Volvo is in no financial troubles when Geely bought them. Volvo is cash-strapped but not losing money because Ford, its previous owner, won’t give them the money for new models. All Geely did was borrowed tons, literally, from China’s state-owned banks, at the behest of Xi since Li shufu is his good friend, and inject those cash into Volvo. The old management of Volvo, which is intact from Ford to Geely, is those responsible for Volvo’s turnaround.

You can actually argue that it is Volvo that is turning-around Geely. What is that you say? Geely is seeing dropping sales for years in China, its own territory, losing ground to both foreign and local players like GWM and SAIC. Its sales only rebounded sharply last year due to the new models developed by Volvo for Geely – like that SUV some here are raving about.

One other question nobody here, or anywhere else seems to ask, including big-name analysts, is: why didn’t Geely enter the Malaysian, or SEA markets sooner, when other Chinese car makers are long here – Chery, GWM and in Thailand SAIC? A valid and vitally important question. Because it tells about Geely’s own financial and R&D capabilities. Chery, GWM and SAIC are much larger entities than Geely, and two of them, Chery and GWM, managed to enter foreign markets without significant foreign technical assistance, i.e. buying a foreign car maker. Of course, Geely supporters here will point to Volvo being the turning point for Geely. But time and again in the history of one car company buying up another, and even worse in Geely’s case, an inferior company – technically and experience – buying a superior one, pretty much like the case of Proton buying Lotus. These stories never conclude happily. Why? The reason is simple: how could a less experienced company lead its far more experienced counterpart. It’s like an office guy who bought a fishing company telling his new fishermen employees how to fish. Remember Geely is nothing but a manufacturer of home appliances less than four decades earlier.

Geely is ‘big name’ in China today because of its Volvo acquisition. None other far bigger Chinese car companies dare or want such big acquisition. And this owes primarily to Geely’s Li’s relationship with Xi. In other words, Geely is no difference to Proton – a company that’s shining brightly now because of political patronage. So, one politically-charged company wants to ‘save’ another politically-charged company, how would that work out?

And to those who say that what Geely really wanted is Lotus and not Proton, including our ‘brilliant’ Ong Ka Chuan, they either read too much into the tea leaves or didn’t read at all. Geely never wanted Lotus, or any other sports car company – reason is simple – it’s too niche, and Geely is at least a little more ‘clever’ than Proton to know that. With Geely taking up majority stake in Lotus, any losses from Lotus, (yes I know Lotus is making money, for now) becomes Geely’s burden and not DRB’s.

So coming to my reply to Zvi H, after a long detour above, you’re right, the whole transaction is a fire-sale of Proton and its related assets. DRB can’t financially support Proton anymore – it’s once highly profitable balance sheet is in red ink now because of Proton. And the Najib government, now tangled in its own financial quagmire, desperately wants Proton disposed of. The one and only reason DRB is still holding on to a (slight) majority stake is the government doesn’t want to appear it is selling government assets to China – at least not now before the coming general election. Why 49.9% and not 49%, what’s the 0.9% for? It’s a ‘deposit’ or promise to Geely that the Najib government will give Geely Proton’s controlling stake once it secures power after the next GE.

Najib sells Proton to Geely, and not the more experienced bidders, primarily because of Geely’s political connection to Xi, and now Najib is politically subservient to Xi because of Xi helping Najib out on Najib’s own ‘problems’. It’s all political, but Proton’s and its suppliers’ employees will the ones paying the heavy price, just like MAS’ ex-employees.

• bijiny on May 27, 2017 at 9:10 pm

There are a few commenters here, like the YB Kinte, who are particularly high that a Chinese company with deep political link to Xi jinping had taken over Proton. I wonder why?

Probably they didn’t see the high debts Geely is in right now after spending close to USD3 billion (acquisition and R&D) on Volvo, and now Proton and Lotus.

Or maybe they think Geely will turn around Proton like they did (as Geely claimed) turn around Volvo. FYI, Volvo is in no financial troubles when Geely bought them. Volvo is cash-strapped but not losing money because Ford, its previous owner, is not willing to give them the money for new models. All Geely did was borrowed tons, literally, from China’s state-owned banks, at the behest of Xi since Li shufu is his good friend, and inject those cash into Volvo. The old management of Volvo, which is intact from Ford to Geely, is those responsible for Volvo’s turnaround.

You can actually argue that it is Volvo that is turning-around Geely. What is that you say? Geely is seeing dropping sales for years in China, its own territory, losing ground to both foreign and local players like GWM and SAIC. Its sales only rebounded sharply last year due to the new models developed by Volvo for Geely – like that SUV some here are raving about.

One other question nobody here, or anywhere else seems to ask, including big-name analysts, is: why didn’t Geely enter the Malaysian, or SEA markets sooner, when other Chinese car makers are long here – Chery, GWM and in Thailand SAIC? A valid and vitally important question. Because it tells about Geely’s own financial and R&D capabilities. Chery, GWM and SAIC are much larger entities than Geely, and two of them, Chery and GWM, managed to enter foreign markets without significant foreign technical assistance, i.e. buying a foreign car maker.

Of course, Geely supporters here will point to Volvo being the turning point for Geely. But time and again in the history of one car company buying up another, and even worse in Geely’s case, an inferior company – technically and experience – buying a superior one, pretty much like the case of Proton buying Lotus. These stories never conclude happily. Why? The reason is simple: how could a less experienced company lead its far more experienced counterpart. It’s like an office guy who bought a fishing company telling his new fishermen employees how to fish. Remember Geely is nothing but a manufacturer of home appliances less than four decades earlier. Toyota, which manufactures sewing machine initially, took close to a century to perfect its trade.

Geely is ‘big name’ – not big brand – in China business world today because of its Volvo acquisition. None other far bigger Chinese car companies dare or want such big acquisition. And this owes primarily to Geely’s Li’s relationship with Xi. In other words, Geely is no difference to Proton – a company that once shine brightly because of political patronage. So, one politically-charged company wants to ‘save’ another politically-charged company, how would that work out?

And to those who say that what Geely really wanted is Lotus and not Proton, including our ‘brilliant’ Ong Ka Chuan, they either read too much into the tea leaves or didn’t read at all. Geely never wanted Lotus, or any other sports car company – reason is simple – it’s too niche, and Geely is at least a little more ‘clever’ than Proton to know that. With Geely taking up majority stake in Lotus, any losses from Lotus, (yes I know Lotus is making money) becomes Geely’s burden and not DRB’s.

So coming to my reply to Zvi H after a long detour above, you’re right, the whole transaction is a fire-sale of Proton and its related assets. DRB can’t financially support Proton anymore – it’s once highly profitable balance sheet is in red ink now because of Proton. And the Najib government, now tangled in its own financial quagmire, desperately wants Proton disposed of. The one and only reason DRB is still holding on to a (slight) majority stake is the government doesn’t want to appear it is selling government assets to China – at least not now before the coming general election. Why 49.9% and not 49%, what’s the 0.9% for? It’s a ‘deposit’ or promise to Geely that the Najib government will give Geely Proton’s controlling stake once it secures power after the next GE.

So how will Proton perform under Geely? I can’t see the future. But if you just look at Geely’s history and recent performance in China, in light of stiff competition in its homeland, don’t put too much hope of Geely turning Proton around. Geely itself could probably become a takeover target in coming years.

What Geely saw in taking over Proton is the Tanjung Malim factory – it really is buying a state-of-the-art facility at basement price. So here’s a chance to throw a couple hundred million to experiment with the SEA market, why not take it right?

What will happen is Proton will initially probably be able to boost sales by selling cheap rebadged Geely vehicles. But don’t be surprise Toyota and its local proxy Perodua are already rubbing their hands. Hadn’t you notice the downward shift of the average selling price of Perodua’s cars? Toyota knows the Chinese and Indians cars are coming into this market – and you can bet they’re more than prepared.

• Dandi on May 26, 2017 at 1:57 am

no matter how you hate the old man, he brought out a strong reason about our future. Talk about visionary leader man – see things in long term

• andrw on May 26, 2017 at 8:28 am

nevermind proton, even if its sold. but our country, indeed it will be gone if the same leaders lead this country.

• To Tun M if you are reading this (hopefully)

Yes, Proton is our pride. I admit that. We can proudly said that we as a developing country, owns our own car brand compare to others.

But then again, supposedly it should become better as we “grow up” but things has gone the other way around.

Same thing happen to Mini, Skoda, Volvo but worst, Saab who closed down shop in 2015 (correct me if I’m wrong).Proton still there in the scene and hopefully it will become a world brand like Kia/Hyundai and others.

Regardless Proton has been owned by Geely or Ford or VW Group or PSA Group, it would still be our pride and closer to our heart.

BTW, I’ve owned 96 Satria (Sold already) and now 2011 Saga FL and still proud of it.

• xoxox on May 26, 2017 at 8:56 am

Who knows this partnership will be bad or good? just wait and see. The Shell also sold to Chinese Company and yet they roll out new fuel which is quite good too.

• lao yee on May 26, 2017 at 10:30 am

While most of the car enthusiast applause when Geely bought over might bring the glorious to the brand, perhaps we could view in Tun Mahathir perspective. He got the point. We rather fail again and again until successfully stand tall with our own feet. Don’t we think so when comes to race base policy whereby many of us against it; thinking Malays or Bumi capable to succeed without tongkat? In Proton, we give up just like that. I’m with Tun this time, perhaps the government really screwed up and unable to sustain the business, leave no choice but to sell it to pay off debts.

• TheDean on May 26, 2017 at 11:25 am

We shouldn’t blame Tun M. His vision was to partner with experienced companies, enable the transfer of knowledge, and move on from there as a Malaysian carmaker. What failed is that transfer of knowledge, and the defiance of the proton management team that didn’t encourage the spur of local talents. The Japanese did it, partnering with everyone. The Koreans are doing it. But we failed. What Tun M did was to only pave the way. It is solely the fault of the succeeding BN government, Proton’s senior management team, and the long list of cronies that Proton is no longer a Malaysian carmaker.

• I am sad ? Yes.

But to certain extend its hard decision to be make. Businesswise, i agree.

Because all these while proton was not managed by experts in auto industry.

• I hope you’ll read this, Tun M.

With all due respect, face reality. Your so-called child is failing and dying. If it’s not because of tax payer’s money, Proton would have died a lot sooner. Because of Proton, imported cars are super expensive and til to-date, AP still exists! Should have seen it coming when people are choosing expensive 2nd hand imports rather than Proton. Korean wasn’t doing just as well during it’s startup but look where it is today?! Americans are driving them on their own soil!
    So accept the fact that the deed is necessary.

Kuala Kedah? Kuala Perlis? What about Kuala Sabah or Kuala Sarawak? Admit it, the East has always been fed’s FD and neglected. It was never in your agenda to develop that part of Msia! At least your disciple turned #1 nemesis finally gave the approval for Pan Borneo!

Speaking of which, quit picking on others. Own up your mistake. They are after all your children as well. Had you taught them well, not a single square inch of land is sold to foreigner but I have to say, this is karma. Your very perlembagaan that divided Msians is failing too. It created racism and if it isn’t the openness of the elder colonial period born residents, racism would have begun a lot sooner. When will be the day where all are treated fair and even? This is all your doing, sir.

• henry on May 26, 2017 at 2:58 pm

Tun M, probably you’re truly sad about this. But, it’s perhaps the best arrangement for Proton.

• If it becomes successful in the future and we can’t be proud of it, it’s still better than continuing to shame ourselves with the current Proton.

• Danis Chow on May 26, 2017 at 9:52 pm

Dr.M struggling brain child will become a strong dragon child,he should feel happy.

• ccy7218 on May 26, 2017 at 10:53 pm

Tun, kalau u sanggup use own money of MYR 1.5 bil to help PROTON then you are really a GOOD “father”… sekadar sedih aje tu tiada gunanya dan tidak dapat mengelakkan PROTON daripada dijual… Please excuse me…

• Geely, BMW, Hyundai, KIA, they all have the right people to drive the business and telants to manage the companies regardless of their nationalities. We Malaysian have great talents but it was under utilized and our talents doesn’t even given a fair chance to do something for our great nation. That’s the different between PROTON and our competitors. Let’s see how Geely leverage our own talent to make tons of money for PROTON.

• and bailey on May 27, 2017 at 9:26 am

When your own citizens were running banks, transport companies, small factories. You took it away from them, want to show them who’s boss konon. Made them subservient to the new ‘tuans’ – who have no penchant for hardwork nor business acumen. This is karma and in 2 more generations, history repeats itself and Melayu will again sell of everything and Malaysia is nothing but a failed nation. All due to to a race of people who has no pride nor want to do any work

• rosie ismail on May 27, 2017 at 3:46 pm

Just sympathise with Tun biggest reason being simply realising there are so many ungrateful unpatriotic Malaysians. Always finding fault of the old man and not getting his point right. I fight with my husband every time we speak of Tun. He must have been to this site recently to find points to slam him just to annoy me!. So funny coz im not pro Tun. I just respect him just as i respect other PMs that came before and after him. Try to put yourself in a PM’s shoe n see if u can do better than any of them! Truth is there can never be a perfect PM for Malaysia. In difficult times like this we just Keep Calm & Carry On..shall we?