Sarawak CM explains LRT plans to federal government

Sarawak will soon have Light Rail Transit (LRT) services if chief minister Datuk Amar Abang Johari Tun Openg has his way. The CM has explained to the minister in the prime minister’s department Datuk Seri Nancy Shukri plans to develop LRT in the state, Bernama reports.

Nancy, the minister responsible for the Public Land Transport Commission (SPAD) and Commercial Vehicle Licensing Board (CVLB) for Sarawak and Sabah, paid a courtesy call to the CM in Kuching yesterday to provide information on her position and portfolio, primarily those concerning Sarawak, in terms of public transport. Sarawak’s LRT plans was among matters discussed in the almost one hour meeting.

“We have listened to the chief minister’s explanation on LRT in the state, and I need to know what the goal is, and how I can help as a federal minister,” she told reporters at the state capital’s Wisma Bapa Malaysia.

In March, Abang Johari said the state government would formulate long-term plans that included the introduction of LRT services that would link Kuching, Samarahan and Serian, adding the journey would take 30 minutes.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments generally support the Sarawak CM's LRT plans, highlighting benefits like improved connectivity, economic growth, and reducing traffic congestion. Some comments praise the foresight in building public transport infrastructure before traffic problems worsen, while others criticize or question funding, especially emphasizing that Sarawak should fund it independently without federal assistance. A few comments compare Sarawak's situation with other states and countries, suggesting alternative projects like drainage or rural road improvements are more urgent. There’s also skepticism about project progress and concerns over ongoing issues such as road quality and flash floods. Overall, the sentiment is optimistic about the LRT's potential benefits, with a cautious tone regarding funding and implementation challenges.

• it much better if u solve the drainage issue in kuching rather than having lrt…with the flash flood getting worst day by day

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 9
    • Sama L00 on May 30, 2017 at 1:53 pm

Dear Sarawak, please. You are to supply enough votes in GE. The budget is to be spent on important expenses like the TRX, 100 razak building and KL MRT.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 24
      • The budget for this comes from sarawak own gov. Whats it gotta do with other federal projeks?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
      • Abang Alza Pakai Topi on May 30, 2017 at 5:34 pm

Melaka style monorail kiddy fun ride boleh lah. LRT not feasible. Kuching not liveable, not loveable, no jobs, no hope.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 16
    • cattyperry on May 31, 2017 at 12:22 am

stop trashing the drain will definitely help.

• Mathew on May 31, 2017 at 8:29 am

Flash flood occurs every where in the world. Even in the best drainage city like tokyo, newyork paris london etc.. Traffic jem occurs every day idiot. So
      Lrt is the best solution to this problem. We need to keep moving to become developed state. What ever cost it takes. Dont live in city area if you afraid of flash flood.

• lilytan on May 30, 2017 at 12:50 pm

Better build in places like penang n jb first rather than kuching. Sarawak needs more rural roads rather than LRT.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 27
    • Why sarawak must use own money to built lrt in penang instead of in sarawak?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 5
      • Neutral90 on May 30, 2017 at 3:24 pm

lily implying Use Fed money to build lrt in penang, jb n kb.

• The thing is, sarawak isnt using federal money to build it…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
          • Why is Proton using rakyat’s money to build their cars?

• cattyperry on May 31, 2017 at 12:18 am

Hello, are you dreaming? Use our money for LRT in Penang and JB? Biggest joke of the century. You work it out your own! Selfish!!!

• Mathew on May 31, 2017 at 8:41 am

There s nothing problem if sarawak wishes to have its own LRT. Even more than that. Cos the revenue from oil and other source of state income should be 1000 % given to sarawak rather than to give to federal govt first.

• About time…
    Kota Kinabalu mana?

• Will this projek study be foreva stuck at 87%? oh wai…

• Pinin Maximus on May 30, 2017 at 1:03 pm

Confirm approve

• How about HSR from Sarawak to Sabah?

• Do u bolt like usain b4 learning to walk?

• Anonymous on May 30, 2017 at 7:51 pm

I’m all for train connections… but HSR is a bit over the top… perhaps a electric train system… servicing Kuching – Brunei – KK and lots of other stops in between would be a blessing but alot of infra needs to be put in place… n considering the soil conditions all along the way… really needs comprehensive studies for this.

• Gomorrah on May 30, 2017 at 1:42 pm

How about solving the interior folks access to fresh water/electricity/decent sealed roads/health care? Or is it cheaper to do it with a bag of rice and some clothes at a certain time every 5 years?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 13
    • Maybe gov shud relocate lrts & mrts to outskirt of towns and let u pipu deal with inner city gridlock traffic, hmm?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
  • komarad on May 30, 2017 at 1:50 pm

And undersea HSR from Sarawak to Semenanjung

• PenangBoy on May 30, 2017 at 2:02 pm

Penang should have LRT also ma, looking at the traffic condition.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • Rawfi on May 30, 2017 at 2:12 pm

Look how Malaysia gov’t plan to make money from people. Why we need it at first place ? Dont we have more better thing to do ? Gov’t should make an example to people to make saving on current financial problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
    • Long ago, when LRT want to be build in KL there are comments like this. But look at it now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
    • Mathew on May 31, 2017 at 8:57 am

There are alot of taxes to be paid to bn govt among others – potongan bulanan melalui potongan gaji, GST, cukai rumah, cukai tanah, cukai tambahan perlu di bayar ect.

• Wait till u pay 60% income tax and 20% VAT like in foreign overlordlands.

• Alfredaarbuckle on May 30, 2017 at 2:13 pm

Personally, I feel that instead of massive infrastructure costs incurred by an Lrt system, the money would be better spent on drainage systems for kuching and a tram- bus system.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
    • cattyperry on May 31, 2017 at 12:21 am

If you could stop littering would help to spend less on the drainage.

• Sharon on May 30, 2017 at 3:02 pm

What a laugh! Link between Kuching Samarahan Serian.

Better use the money to built more fly over to solve the traffic jam issues in city areas. Re-tar the existing road, so many bad roads here in Kuching. Even the road after re-tar also uneven (not smooth). I really don’t know what the road builder are doing???

For now, Sarawakian need better road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
    • Once the new roads r jam packed, then what? Build even more new roads and wait for them to jam packed eventually? When izit gonna end?

Is not better to think about public transport b4 jams becomes chronic like in KL? Which do u think sarawakians really needs?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
      • Foreva down, crowded & unpunctual… tambang mahal giler. Its called Public transport, but not serving the public.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
        • Belom mula, sudah nak predict. Kasi share ko punye kristel ball tu jap….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 13
      • Sharon on May 30, 2017 at 9:20 pm

Come on John. LRT to link between Kuching Samarahan and Serian. If also want to build also city area. Read the news right before commenting.

Do you know how bad is the public transport such as bus in Kuching? Many people buying cars not because they are rich but forced to do so because bad service of public transport.

• Do u see the contradiction to ur statement, “forced to do so because bad service of public transport”?
          And now CM is doing something about it but u straightaway diss it? Its just an intro to get their feet wet and work out the details how to manage everything with minimal disruption b4 going full scale in heart of Kuching.
          I mean, just look at all the bashing on KL MRT & LRT extensions when started and went on until almost finish. Its amazing MY pipu can start complaining even b4 things get difficult.

• Sharon on May 30, 2017 at 9:25 pm

You are talking about KL. Come on, LRT,MRT there built in city.

• Apa Itu on May 31, 2017 at 1:03 am

Halo, LRT not only build in the city. Have you ever travel outside Malaysia, Sharon? Phuket has the LRT system linking between the city and suburb. 60km LRT line. Will start next month.

• Sharon on May 31, 2017 at 7:59 pm

I’m talking about KL then you talking about Phuket. Aiyo…

• Mikey on May 31, 2017 at 9:04 am

Sharon, “Don’t ever argue with a fool, they’ll drag you down to their level & beat you with experience”.

He thinks he is the smartest man around. He never think of Stage1 – solving “immediate” problem & proceed to stage2 – give a solution to solve the less critical problem later.

By comparing KL to Kuching Samarahan & Serian in itself is a Misnomer. Don’t let someone like him spoil your day. It’s NOT worth it. Have a Gud day. Cheers…

• Oh yeah. Sweet, coming frm someone who never been on this side of MY. U think we still live on trees kah?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
    • cattyperry on May 31, 2017 at 12:30 am

Road for you only Sharon. Which city with plenty of flyovers could help to solve traffic problems?

• Thats the problem with certain sections of MY pipu. They demand endless roads & cheap cars, then rant and blame Gov for epic traffic jams wherever they go.

They dun see the root cause of the problem and work towards a solution but just sit in front of PC ranting, wailing, raving, complaining, bashing.

What a pity. As compared to CM that have the foresight to do something about it & push fr lrt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • Why does the CM need to explain to federal government when the money is come from the state itself? they’re useless without funding to state infrastructure.

• Public transport comes under SPAD purview. Its not necessary (like what in north island), but they can advice based on experience.

• Mikey on May 30, 2017 at 4:30 pm

Sarawak will “Soon” have LRT services “if” CM Abang Johari has his way.

I-Say-Man, why talk with Riddle & Merry Go Round Abang Johari. As the CM of Sarawak, U have the rights to demand anything U want but that does Not mean Federal Gov must listen to all your demand.

Worst come to worst, U should follow Penang if the fed Gov did not meet your demand. U can always fund your own or ask China/Arab for funding/loans. Show to the Fed Gov U can stand on your own if they don’t give in.

I guarantee U will get the $$$ bcos Sarawak & Sabah are part of the Gov & NOT a “state” of the Fed Gov that is if U dare to claim your RIGHTS.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
    • I dun see why sarawak need $$$ from Gov since they funding this themselves. As for north island… lets says funding & Gov is the least of their problems.

• Mikey on May 31, 2017 at 10:04 am

Hello john, the gov of Sarawak is so poor that they have to borrow $$$ to built houses & the gov of Sarawak owe loans of more than US 2.2 billion(2015) & counting.

U seriously think the Gov of Sarawak have enuff $$$ to built anything without $$$ from the Fed Gov?! That is why they should claim their fair share of oil revenue. 5% oil royalty is a ridiculous sum.

• ???Huh??? Wait, wait. Hold on a sec. Did u just just pull that out from a hole to compare with my en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Malaysian_states_by_GDP

• Pls wiki “List of Malaysian states by GDP”

• Apai saloi on May 31, 2017 at 8:30 am

I like my lrt/mrt station located 100 metre from my rumah pantang, so no need to buy stupidly priced 1million property in Kuching city

Terima kasih abg Jo

• Righto! Just dun complain when construction starts & train noise when operation.

• Yo-yo on May 31, 2017 at 9:53 am

Build or don’t build also got problems here and there so just build it after all government money belong to the people money

• Yo-yo on May 31, 2017 at 10:25 am

Build or don’t build also got problems here and there so just build it after all government money belong to the people’s money…lol

• Be Proud of Your Nation on May 31, 2017 at 11:44 am

There are no single transport service that connect those three city. You have to use multiple bus transport to go between this cities. It will take almost a day journey from Kuching to Samarahan then to Serian by bus. Otherwise use your own car, then it will be 4-5 hours journey plus RM50 of oil (one way only). LRT will solve the public movement. Imagine you live at Serian then working at Kuching or Samarahan, it will flourish economy between cities. Yes of course we still got other problem to settle but remember sooner or later we still need the LRT. Better build today before for our generation in future.

• I live in the trees on Jul 19, 2017 at 4:06 am

Ooo my!!! This man have no idea what he is talking about. 5 hours kuching serian? A day bus? Typical malayan pipu.

• Sharon on May 31, 2017 at 8:21 pm

TO John,

Have to read the news? Even YB Senator Datuk Dr. Sim Kui Hian also complaining the quality of the re-tar road!

Even the road builder can not re-tar good quality road. You people so happy with the LRT link Kuching Samarahan Serian. Are you guys going to use it everyday as transportation to work or shopping???

• Apa Itu on Jul 14, 2017 at 1:28 am

Sharon, you are so ignorant. When LRT come, the road will also be improved. Furthermore, the system gets BRT too. Are you still wanna waste your fuel price when the public transport is right there for you? You just have to walk a few more steps after parking your car. See, it helps with your health rather than just sitting in the car. Walking at least 20 mins a day gud for your health and you could trim your fat.

• Le dentist on Jun 01, 2017 at 6:06 am

Malas betul baca komen2 butthurt ni.

For the rest of Malaysians, just ignore the project. It is claimed that the project will be funded by local govt not federal. Lets just hope that it will help the Sarawakians in the future.

For Sarawakians, I don’t think Penang, JB, nor KB will ask your assistance in terms of funding directly if they plan to build LRT in their respective states. They might probably use your money indirectly thru fed govt. But I don’t think that will happen too because Penang and KB are under opposition govt.

Apa pun, kita rakyat Malaysia. Lets live together happily, and respect each other. Jangan gaduh2 macam budak2.