2017 Honda Jazz facelift – Mugen prototype with bodykit, accessories makes debut in Malaysia

You’ve just seen the 2017 Honda Jazz facelift, launched today at the KL Convention Centre. There’s a Mugen accessories prototype being displayed at the launch, and a price list, but the goodies aren’t ready yet.

With this Jazz facelift, Malaysia is right up there with Japan in the introduction timeline, and we are also the only market in the world outside of Japan to get the Jazz Hybrid. As such, this is currently a fresh model in Japan, and accessories usually take some time to materialise.

Yesterday, at a pre-launch media interview with the Jazz facelift’s engineers, Honda Malaysia displayed the same Mugen accessories prototype unit, and it was the first showing of the Mugen parts anywhere in the world, we were told.

This white Jazz Hybrid showcar is wearing a five-piece bodykit that includes front and rear bumper extensions, side skirts and a tailgate spoiler. There’s the all-important Mugen logo on the front grille.

Also on are 17-inch Mugen two-tone alloys (205/45 tyres) and a strip of sticker just below the windowline, in the tuner’s famous colours. Twin exhaust pipes complete the exterior makeover. The big wheels and lowered suspension really help with the looks.

Inside, the prototype shows off Mugen side sill plates and floor mats with red piping and the Mugen logo. The driver’s mat has a special red section in the area where his/her feet rest on. Of course, the centrepiece here is a tiny one – the Mugen carbon fibre golf ball of gear knob will make the fanboys drool.

Now, before imaginations float too faraway, not everything on this Mugen accessories prototype will be offered by Honda Malaysia. What we get is a Mugen Package which consists of the front and rear under spoiler, side skirts, tailgate spoiler and the Mugen grille emblem. The price is RM5,670 including GST.

Honda Malaysia is not offering the floor mats and door sills trim pieces that you see here, but those should be easy to offer and the take up rate should be decent, don’t you think? What won’t be sold officially here are the wheels, sports suspension, exhaust system and CF gear knob, although there’s nothing stopping an owner from importing the parts from Japan privately. The Jazz is quite a popular project car, and this will whet appetites.

Honda Malaysia says that the Mugen parts will be available from October. Like what you see?

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Stranger on Jun 06, 2017 at 11:59 am

Other than new hybrid variant, no other changes right? Can’t see any..

• Bernard on Jun 06, 2017 at 12:01 pm

Looks the same. Got paddle shifters or manual transmission ?

• SpongeWai on Jun 06, 2017 at 12:10 pm

Woohoo, I’m so hyper that Mugen kit finally return!!?

• Mikey on Jun 06, 2017 at 12:21 pm

1)Who buy a Jazz? Usually ladies/Millennials.
    2)Who buy Jazz Hybrid? Usually an environmental guys/gals who like to keep our environment clean.
    3)Who buy a Jazz with Mugen Kits? A fanboy true & true.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
  • wawasan2020 on Jun 06, 2017 at 12:40 pm

But the dashboard make me YAWN beside the gear knob is abit fancy.

• Why no electronic brake like hrv and civiccc.. aduh

• Sir Zaini on Jun 06, 2017 at 4:56 pm

What won’t be sold officially here are the wheels, sports suspension, exhaust system and CF gear knob, although there’s nothing stopping an owner from importing the parts from Japan privately.

How can one do that, need some ideas guys..

• Mugeneswaran on Jun 06, 2017 at 9:58 pm

Easy boss..
      u source out those runner potong kereta shop.
      of course u need to pay them gaji la since they will do the shopping for u.. and instead u need to pay for freight(bringing ur stuff home), u just pay a fraction of money to tumpang their kontena.
      Look for Jazz club malaysia and see who’s the potong kereta runner there.. talk to them.

I hope this helps.

• No more tears on Jun 06, 2017 at 5:48 pm

No worries…..This Jazz will sell like hotcake bcoz we simply Malaysian love bodykits, and more bodykits….

• Honda Malaysia on Jun 06, 2017 at 7:19 pm

at least better than vios…

• TongHoi on Jun 06, 2017 at 9:14 pm

dont kan jiong rushing buy lah….next year all those mugen bodykits are free…you see lah…haha