Perodua Bezza 1.0 A/T launched in Sri Lanka: RM103k!

Perodua continues expanding sales of the Bezza to other countries, with the launch of the sedan in Sri Lanka. The island nation is the second to receive the car after Mauritius last month, and is said to be the largest export market for the brand, with 14,000 vehicles having been sold there since 1997.

Brought in by official distributor, Unimo Enterprises, the Bezza is available in a single 1.0 litre variant, with an automatic transmission. It is fairly pricey, however, retailing at an eye-watering 3.69 million rupees (RM103,162). Power comes from a 1KR-VE 1.0 litre VVT-i three-cylinder engine that develops 67 hp at 6,000 rpm and 91 Nm of torque at 4,400 rpm, sent to the front wheels via a four-speed automatic gearbox.

“We [Perodua] are still relatively small in Sri Lanka but we see a lot of potential as the country’s economy expands,” said Perodua president and CEO Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh. “Starting this year, we are seriously looking at further expanding our current export markets and studying new ones as we work to realise our vision of becoming a regional player.”

Unimo Group CEO and executive director Chanaka Yatawara said, “We believe that the Bezza will be well accepted in Sri Lanka as this car has all the features that appeals to all; it is spacious, well-designed, fuel-efficient and versatile – a winning combination.”

The national carmaker said that it has exported 1,600 vehicles this year (up to May 2017) in six countries, including the Myvi to Indonesia badged as the Daihatsu Sirion. “Since we started our export programme, we have exported 75,000 vehicles. At its height, we exported to 21 different countries,” Aminar said.

GALLERY: Perodua Bezza 1.0 Standard A/T

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• It is only justified if honda city selling there rm200k.

• The F12 of Maranello on Jun 07, 2017 at 1:50 pm

Funny how these people here always complain our car prices. Duh. Please be grateful. And even I hate car prices in Malaysia, at least we still can own a car here…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 56
    • Cukurlah we have cheap cars in MY

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 14
      • Elchino on Jun 07, 2017 at 7:02 pm

Cukurlah Rakyat sacrifice anything to keep Proton survive

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 11
        • Cukur in MY, car exp still got P1.
          Meanwhile SL exp car but no P1.
          How saddings.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
          • Zak arshad on Jun 07, 2017 at 11:58 pm

Cukur in SL, car exp still got P2.
            P1?? How saddings.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
          • You want to go SL just go. Noone stops you and you are not worth to stay here

• Zak arshad on Jun 08, 2017 at 11:10 am

stay FGV better

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jun 08, 2017 at 1:51 am

cukurlah proton sudah makan RM20 bil tapi masih rugi RM4 mil setiap hari

• Geng Cukur on Jun 08, 2017 at 8:40 am

Rakyat malaysia cukur sebab hari hari kana cukur

• cukur on Jun 08, 2017 at 1:47 pm

Go to tax free country later on you have to pay or invest too. Just want to spread hatred?

Go get life dude. Cukurrrrrrr

• Comparing a turd with a bigger turd doesn’t make it any less of a turd.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
      • my comment wont be publish on Jun 07, 2017 at 7:27 pm

Our ckd car consider quite reasonable while cbu on the high side, but still the running cost is freaking low.

• In football, we were close rivals of Korea, Saudi & Japan. All of them qualified for World Cup.
        And today, sapotters rightfully celebrate the win against Sri Lanka. Hope we can still win playing against Timor Leste, Bangladesh, Cambodia, Afghanistan etc….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
      • Turd? Be careful of what you said. You won’t look up always, sometimes you have to look down too.

• Husnozon on Jun 07, 2017 at 1:55 pm

Mari sama2 puji kerajaan.
    Ari nie minyak naik ker turun? Jeng jeng..

• Musha on Jun 07, 2017 at 1:58 pm

Wow!! That’s good from a biz point of view.. the profit..

• FGV Boleh on Jun 07, 2017 at 2:04 pm

Proton perlu fokus eksport Saga, Persona, Iriz, Ertiga.

• Who would be stupid enough to pay RM100k for 67 HP

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • Jonathan Lee, next time do relate this price to other cars on their market before calling it eye-watering. As in, how does 3.69 million rupees compare?

I managed to dig up the price for the Toyota Vios (Yaris on their market), which is 4.9 million.

Also they sell a Toyota Wigo there (which is basically a previous gen MyVi). Is sold for 3.5 million.

So, looks like Perodua is actually selling at quite a competitive price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
  • YB Kunta Kinte on Jun 07, 2017 at 2:37 pm

I hope no bodoh will come here and say that our Bezza is RM50k and Sri Lanka Bezza is RM100k so car prices in Malaysia is cheap.

Can I remind these bodohs that Sri Lankan PM did not promise their rakyat 30% car price reduction. Sri Lankan PM also did not acknowledge the fact that car prices are pricey and promised 30% reduction if Sri Lankan people voted for his party

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 26
    • Cukur SL now masih AMAN after 25 YEARS of civic war.

• kzm (Member) on Jun 07, 2017 at 9:01 pm

i just want to laugh. hahahaha..

• Albert on Jun 07, 2017 at 9:17 pm

Sri lanka car prices r superficially very high.They have their reasons.They just recovered from donkey years of war.Their gomen have imposed super high taxes on cars,obviously,as source of gomen revenue.
      This does not mean Bolehland car prices r lower.
      Without protong,owning a japanese car will be no sweat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
      • Dem gud logic u got there. Maybe Syria, Afghan, & Africas shud do the same huh?

• kzm (Member) on Jun 08, 2017 at 1:04 am

what about country surrounding Boleh land?

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jun 08, 2017 at 1:54 am

protek proton tapi proton just lost rm1.46 bil

• Ungrateful on Jun 08, 2017 at 8:30 am

They are paying $0.84 per litre of petrol, while we only paying $0.48 per litre. Still ungrateful?

• Dedak In The House on Jun 08, 2017 at 2:29 am

Whatever u say YB..

• Kancil Hybrid on Jun 07, 2017 at 2:52 pm

Kenapa tak puji kerajaan Bezza kat Malaysia RM60k je?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
    • Same L0rrr on Jun 08, 2017 at 9:59 am

Bezza high spec RM50,800. Perodua basher always fitnah on ramadhan al mubarak

• komarad on Jun 07, 2017 at 2:55 pm

the island will be full of bezzas then..

• Wow..so cheap. Not like My. Someone said My have the most expensive car price in the world.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 8
    • Duetpisang on Jun 07, 2017 at 3:49 pm

Ringgit dropped so badly, deswaii Sri lanka rupees so expensiv now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
      • Oho? But bashers oso say need compare GDP & Big Mac index wor. So hows the comparison?

• Mat Ridzuan on Jun 07, 2017 at 11:51 pm

Price of 2L Coca-Cola is 206 ₨ (RM5.78) where as we here around RM3.20 per 2L.
          Different abt 1.8x…no wonder its direct conversion become RM100k…funnylah nowadays Weak RM.

Macai buttlickers cant brain all dis logics after much spoonfeedings….sure Mindblown by now Lulzz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
  • Petrodollar on Jun 07, 2017 at 3:10 pm

WTF!?? RM103k?? Now Sri Lanka has definitely surpass us in term of the most expensive selling car price..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 1
    • Dick Yuen on Jun 07, 2017 at 3:58 pm

Because of P1, all the car prices in SL now is the highest in the world while their salary is the lowest in the region.

Blame it all on the P1

• DonkeyKong on Jun 07, 2017 at 5:55 pm

Only katak bawah tempurung thinks we have the most expensive cars in the world. Where is that moron who always says Malaysia has the 2nd most expensive cars in the world after Singapore? That major katak who only knows about two countries in the whole world?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 8
  • Ben Yap on Jun 07, 2017 at 3:12 pm

Sri Lankans are so poor still kena rob RM103K.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 5
    • Annoynimouse on Jun 07, 2017 at 4:01 pm

It’s like robbing the poor and giving to the rich… :D

• DonkeyKong on Jun 07, 2017 at 5:56 pm

LOL Sri Lanka? Poor? Confirm, katak bawah tempurung. Go there and do some business for some time, then come back here and let us know if the people there are really poor. Sri Lanka is not Bangladesh, ok..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • JasonXer on Jun 07, 2017 at 6:47 pm

Toyota Corolla Axio 2017 costs Rs6mil …

the Bezza at Rs3.69mil is quite a steal frankly.

• Due to a recent tax hike in Sri Lanka cars are ridiculously expensive. Perodua has a small but loyal band of followers in SL. At 3.6M LKR (Even the Perodua Axia costs about 3M LKR and the Toyota Wigo 3.5) i see this becoming a hit despite the small engine size.

• rosdi on Jun 07, 2017 at 3:18 pm

Sapa kata harga kereta di Malaysia mahal? Duduk Sri Langka lah!

• Ismail on Jun 07, 2017 at 3:21 pm

The title of the article will be used by some politician to say that our car prices are among the cheapest in the world. Hahaha! My foot.

• pengayuhbasikal on Jun 07, 2017 at 3:32 pm

imported car…sure expensive one…same like us what…imported car…mostly double triple price from country of origin local price…

• Anything But P1, Greedy P2 on Jun 07, 2017 at 3:41 pm

It would be hilarious if Perodua sell their cars in Bangladesh too. Mati Proton

• inb4:
    SL dah berjaya!
    SL currency macem shiet.
    SL ada P1 plotek.
    SL PM, mana itu 30% reduction?
    SL mesti kaya raya.
    Ini bukan salah SL.
    Ini mesti salah gov SL. Lets Ubah SL.
    Quotings of Biza price in MY.
    KK finally found his RV is higher in SL than the selling price new in MY. john agrees with him.

• TOK MOU? on Jun 07, 2017 at 3:47 pm

You buggers with “SYUKURLAH NEGARA INI MASIH AMAN” are really hopeless.

Just because Sri Lanka has got higher tax than us in this anecdotal case does not JUSTIFY the car taxes here in Malaysia.

• Bollocks! Just becoz we here got 20% VAT compared to ur puny 6% GST, dun mean it can JUSTIFY the taxes here in … oh wai

• youngun on Jun 07, 2017 at 5:17 pm

Could it be Bezza is like Vios equivalent in Sri Lanka?

• Mr Suka Syukur Selalu on Jun 07, 2017 at 6:01 pm

Syukur…..lah becoz we have Proton….Syukur sangat….

• mana YB kunta??!! on Jun 07, 2017 at 6:31 pm

YB confirm tak masuk sini punya….doesn’t fit his “Malaysia evilitin mahal liaoo” mentality….

• hyena on Jun 08, 2017 at 5:50 am

Errr there are many kunta dupes. The similarities between them is they all post crappy rubbish comments

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 07, 2017 at 6:33 pm

syukur harga malaysia masih murah

• Kunta Kinte on Jun 07, 2017 at 7:51 pm

We believe this, we believe that..I notice these top management people in malaysia like to use “we believe..” in everything they say, as if they do not know other ways of saying things in English.

• Bernard on Jun 07, 2017 at 8:01 pm

Unimo, 103k ……hmmmm

• Pak Syed on Jun 07, 2017 at 9:17 pm

Our initial findings base on car price in SL is one sided. Yes….very espensive. But…explore more at their consumers level like income tax, university n education fee, toll, fuel price, GST and others….

• MAS high income nation? on Jun 08, 2017 at 4:34 am

No surprise here…sri lanka is high income nation unlike MAS…i think ppl here should ask for higher price of cars not reduce it…baru high income

• Yeah. The pipu must be rolling in gold and their 25 year civic war must have been a chess game.

• Belasahajela on Jun 08, 2017 at 8:19 am

Waaaa ini mcm kaya la perutdua jual kereta mahal nak mampus….