Proton offers free 20-point safety checks for Hari Raya

Proton is offering its customers complimentary 20-point safety inspections at all its authorised service centres in the month of June, in conjunction with the upcoming Hari Raya travel period. The carmaker is also collaborating with Petronas to offer the free checks as part of the latter’s Coffee Break campaign.

Proton says that LDP operator Litrak had approached the company to set up a mobile station along the Damansara-Puchong Highway. The free mobile safety inspection will be carried out at the Petaling Jaya R&R area – Sunway-bound from Puchong – from June 20 to 22, 10am to 5pm.

Proton’s mobile inspection teams will also be present at five Petronas stations located in Kedah, Terengganu, Pahang, Kelantan and Negeri Sembilan, from June 21 to 23, 10am to 5pm.

The safety inspection will include checks on tyre tread and pressure, brake system, brake and clutch pedal operation, suspension, battery, wiper blades, belts, switches and also fluid levels such as engine oil, brake fluid, power steering, coolant and wiper washer. Proton owners will also be given a token of appreciation.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• The driver on Jun 20, 2017 at 4:47 pm

Technically, am not too sure of the effectiveness of this free inspection because the car owner will probably just have to get back at all costs, even if the car is defective. And once the ‘defective car’ owner is focused on the jams, everything gets forgotten including the dire warnings. They should be conducting this free checks about a week before. Too little and too late.

• osh_kosh on Jun 20, 2017 at 5:04 pm

Proton can provide courtesy car, Exora.

• Better late than never. At least owners knows whats defective and take extra precautions (ie if wiper blade NG, dun drive in rain, brake pads haus drive slower keep distance, etc)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 26
    • YB Kunta Kinte on Jun 20, 2017 at 6:05 pm

I am proud of Proton for doing this. Bravo Proton for caring for the rakyat!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 4
      • Muntakunta on Jun 20, 2017 at 8:09 pm

I’m sick of this Kunta fella. He is a jobless maniac who lurks in Paul tan forum 24/7

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 23
        • John King of Dupes on Jun 21, 2017 at 8:55 am

Munta John, this is a car blog, not a place for your rants.

• Neither is this a place for dupes to defend their master dupe. This is a CAR blog.

• safety 1st on Jun 20, 2017 at 4:58 pm

Geely, catalyst of national car.

• 20 points? Okla … kereta proton bukannya banyak sangat kat jalan. I think they can manage it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
  • rookie on Jun 20, 2017 at 6:10 pm

Hail Isa! New SPAD head.

• Nothing to do with SPAD. Its P1 initiative with some partnership with LDP. READ THE ARTICLE.

• Rubbish. Rubbish service. When you have a critical problem, they still fail to resolve the problem. When i first pick up the car until today. Even after I take few days leave. After warranty expire, I send my car to an external mechanic, and issue resolved. Iam not saying proton is the worst service providers but it is one of the worst in Malaysia. And I went to a few service centers. Not one.

• True…furthermore they charged you like you are servicing a toyota. I remember my major 50k service was RM600 for normal servicing.
      The problems i’ve raise on the car they just say “its like that”, “tidak apa” and doesn’t want to fix for me even if i’ve insisted.

• If addon non essential stuff, ofcuz lah become rm600! My 100k major servis only comes to rm400++.

• Can u elaborate what problem and where u sent for resolving?

• I bought a new manual car.
      the gear seemed stiff. So i went to the service center and they said that was normal.
      For me to be able to shift my gear with less friction, i have to warm up every day. Even during lunchtime. otherwise, gear would be hard shift. I did that since 2011 until this year.
      since last year, i found it hard to shift even after warm up. i took a few days off (not same week), went to service my car and went to a few service center. complained about the gear and they said they adjusted the clutch. it wasn’t helping. but ican’t keep taking leaves.

1 fine day after my clutch suddenly dropped. i decided to go to my normal mechanic. My clutch was totally worn out. He changed the parts. didn’t use proton paarts bbecause he said he called his friend from proton and even they told to use some other brand (i will not mention cause i don’t want to influence in this post) and the gear was smooth. much better than when i first got the car. I don’t even have to wait for the car to warm up SOOO frequently for sooo long just to make it a bit easier to shift gears. Coz it is easier to shift already.
      So will i buy another proton? i dun think so. Coz i have to go to their service center. And i won’t be happy with their quality.

• Petoron Sagu on Jun 21, 2017 at 5:38 am

Yes bro rookie….. Isa show his worthiness on first day at SPAD. Waghih den tu…. Puiiiiiii……