The first 11 days of Ops Selamat 11/2017, which began on June 18, saw a 10% increase in the number of road accidents compared to the corresponding period last year, but the number of fatal accidents and deaths dropped by 17% and 21% respectively, Bernama reports.
According to Bukit Aman traffic investigation and enforcement department director SAC Sharul Othman Mansor, 17,147 road accidents were recorded nationwide in the 11 days, which was an increase of 1,620 over the 15,527 recorded last year.
However, the number of fatal accidents dropped by 36 to 172 from the 208 reported last year, and the number of fatalities also decreased by 48 to 185 compared to 233 for the same period in 2016.
Mishaps involving motorcycles were the highest in number, with 122 riders and pillion riders killed in accidents over the 11 days, though fatalities this year were lower compared to the 144 deaths recorded in 2016.
Sharul Othman said the rise in the number of vehicles was among the factors contributing to the increase in accidents. He said an estimated 27 million registered vehicles were on the road nationwide during the period, and most of the accidents took place on federal roads.
Every year we add 600k new cars on the road, this does not include commercial vehicles and grey imports and motorcycle. Ppl with brain cannot expect the number of accidents to go lower each year.
Motorbikes had the highest accidents is no surprise. This is because, even on normal days, polis got tidak apa attitude when motorbikes beat the red lights.
Even when there are 4 policeman at the 4 way junction, so many bikes just beat the red lights infront of the policeman. The polis just stand there and smile.
They don’t bother chasing the offender, or calling for back up or looking at the CCTV to see the offender beating the lights. All malas and not bothered.
So, motorbikes in Malaysia think it is OK to beat lights ANYTIME and even when polis is around.
Go overseas and see, not a single motorbike DARE to beat the lights. Don’t look so far. Look at Singapore. Their CCTV will capture the bike and later he get arrested.
Hello PDRM, time to stop sleeping. This is why so many deaths in Malaysia
Want to have a safer transport? Get a car! Don’t risk your life with motorbike!
Main issue is because the driver is hungry.
All this Ops all bogus. There are officially 3 million motorist with no lesen. Yes, shockingly, 3 million. Those are official figures. Unofficial figures, just double that.
You know why so many no lesen motorist? Well 20 years ago, there was only few thousand no lesen motorist. Everytime no lesen driver gets caught, he gives duit kopi. So he is let off the hook and continues to drive without lesen.
After years of duit kopi, the figure balooned to officially 3 million. Slowly every year it balooned bigger and bigger cause everybody knew, no lesen, if get caught, duit kopi can settle.
No wonder you have loads of accidents in Malaysia. 10 million motorist. 1 in every 3 is an illegal driver.
Ultimately it’s up to the drivers to change their ways to make our roads safer, no two ways about it.
I saw a documentary on Discovery about road safety and one expert pointed out that the more safety equipments are installed, the more likely drivers will adopt risky driving habits. Judging by the way we see drivers of premium/luxury brand vehicles, I’m not surprised. Berlagak nak mampos, jalan/hiway tu nak bapak dia orang punya.
The smarter/richer they are, the more barbaric they become behind the wheel. Hypocrites, all of them.
Number of accidents will continue to increase but that is not the biggest problem. Minor accidents, fender benders that may cost you rm200 to repair, are all reported as accidents but its the outcome that we need to focus on.
Yes, our local legislation should impose on higher regulations on vehicle safety for both local and imported vehicles (including at customs for grey import) e.g. standard airbags, seatbelt reminders, abs and such, but its still the mentality of drivers that needs to be addressed.
1) festive seasons you see plenty of accidents because people are in a rush. Most have very bad time management thus leading to you rushing.
2) exhaustion. Know that it can cause microsleep, imagine not knowing you have slept for 5 seconds if you’re lucky not to cause yourself and others harm.
3) motorcycles..look, you are the most fragile. Think before you weave in and out of traffic at highspeeds. I may need a few RM to repair my bumper but atleast I still have my life.
4) Bus drivers need not to rush for their pay. I know that bus drivers get extra/paid via trip basis.. more trips you do, the more you get. So it causes you to rush and speed. And not to mention, the utter exhaustion.
Motorcyclist here have very bad attitude. They like to zig-zag during traffic jam. When they zig to your lane behind your vehicle, they think the lane is theirs and honed you for being ‘selfish’ Sometimes, you wait for many cars to clear for crossing lane and suddenly these suckers zapped in asking for ways, start hone far behind! WTF!!! I don’t pity them if they fall dead in accident!
Why not?
With proper driver training & certifications, stricter enforcement by traffic police on driving behaviours, stricter enforcement by JPJ on illegal modifications, annual vehicle inspections for all cars and bikes, regulating usage of used-tyres and more, Malaysian roads can be so much safer than now. It’s not easy but it is definitely realistic and achievable. We just need a concerted effort.
those 600k added every year do include commercial vehicle though.
NopeNope u r wrong. Tractors and semi trailers not included in the 600k.
Whats the difference between fatal accident and death?
Fatal accidents are number of accidents that caused death to 1 or more people.
Deaths are total lives lost in all fatal accidents.
1 fatal accident may have multiple death…
2 words vs 1 word
Spelling bezza..
Fatal accident mean the number of accident report involve death..
death mean the number of person died while accident..
A fatal accident is death caused by an accident.. a fatality due to an accident.
Fatal also means SERIOUS. Add that to Accident, what do U get? Most of the time, Fatal is worst than death, it could cause a person to be disable & that means long term pain & it cost $$$ too. Well, I guess U know by now right?!
I guess you really are 12. Fatal means death.
Serious accident is Fatal. Fatal accident also mean Serious accident. I did NOT say Fatal means death. Some fatal/serious accident result in death or disability. U have problem understanding that??
Nope. Pipu have difficulty understanding ur Ingland: disability = fatal.
What he meant was fatal means death.. and he is right.
1 fatal accident is 1 fatal accident. But 1 fatal accident can have several deaths. So usually deaths/fatalities numbers are higher than fatal accidents figure.
fatal accident is accident that can cause death eg car accident cut half but occupant survived. Death is result of fatal accident. that is from my understanding. i could be wrong though.
Fatal Accident = No of accident with fatalities.
Death : No of death, some of the fatal accident have more than 1 fatalities.
Kipidap PDRM! M’sia highway world class!
Oh Look, A Subaru
new car nowadays equipped with lots of active and passive safety features, not much related to these Ops.
When accident blame the authorities. When reduce accident said it becoz car now are so canggih.
Waiting for kunta kinte to copy paste some VSC comment here
I think one fatal accident can have few deaths
Too early to determine the statistic! We will still have another peak traffic flow this weekend!
Lets pray that they number get lesser after the improvement of vehicle safety equipment in the past 3 years!
27 Million Vehicle on road in these 11 days, with the nation population of 30 millions!
If average 4 person per car, that would mean almost 100 Millions travel count in this 11 days!
I wonder if this statistic making sense!
A household of 3 person may have up to 5 cars. U say leh?
Worse, all 5 cars in single household are automataik (either fragile CVT or dinasour 4-speeder)
the Statistics is rubbish.
From the picture itself showed Malaysian driving style on emergency lane..
Every year they try to make excuses to put more AES and speed traps to “reduce” accidents from cars.
But the biggest contributor to fatal accidents were from motorcyclist, yet, everyday we see them running red lights, splitting lanes dangerously and riding recklessly.
Yet, PDRM does nothing. Barking up the wrong tree much? or perhaps PDRM know they can’t get much money from motorcyclist?
JPJ & PDRM love Commercial lori & vehicles
wow! 11 motorcyclist die in a day.