Taxi drivers looking to halt Transport Act amendments

The upcoming amendments to the Land Public Transport Act is facing resistance from taxi drivers, who are looking to halt the action, theSun reports.

According to Klang Valley taxi drivers action committee chairman Zailani Isausuludin, authorities should come up with a holistic solution to the problems being faced by the industry. He added that cabbies are very much against the government’s decision to legalise ride-hailing service providers such as Uber and GrabCar.

Zailani said that all taxi associations nationwide will soon be under one umbrella body, with members having agreed to form a union to look after their welfare and interests. The group, he added, will attempt to establish the union this month.

He said that once the union was established, its first course of action will be to submit a letter to minister in the prime minister’s department, Datuk Seri Nancy Shukri, informing her that all the taxi drivers nationwide are against the appointment of former Felda Global Venture Holding (FGV) chairman Tan Sri Isa Samad as Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) acting chairman.

“We are against the appointment because he is currently under investigation by the authorities,” Zailani said.

Pandan MP Rafizi Ramli said he will be submitting a motion at the upcoming parliament meeting to delay the tabling of the Land Public Transport Act amendments, which once passed will allow SPAD to regulate ride-hailing services.

He said that the call to delay the plan in tabling the amendments will help ensure all problems faced by taxi drivers can be fully resolved before any new legislation is tabled and passed.

According to Rafizi, long-standing issues faced by cabbies include insufficient permits or licences issued to taxi drivers who wish to go private as well as the daily rental and additional charges the group has to pay to taxi companies.

Taxi drivers and companies have been outspoken against ride-sharing services since 2015, having organised multiple protests – including one which blocked Jalan Bukit Bintang. There have also been cases of drivers suing the app makers, as well as harassing their drivers in the past.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jul 04, 2017 at 10:40 am

All the abang2 teksi drivers still holding the country at ransom. They will do their usual strike and cause massive jams OR whack Uber/Grabcar drivers.

PDRM got no bola. Even last strike, they never prosecuted one driver. Even with videos of teksi gangsters whacking Uber drivers posted on FB, PDRM NEVER prosecuted one teksi gangster desite the car number of the gangster teksi clearly displayed.

The teksi drivers are like Mat Over. they think they own the country and can do anything

PDRM please have bola

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 4
    • Lalang on Jul 04, 2017 at 12:25 pm

Macai warriors mindblown now which side to take. Pengecut tegar ROFLLL

• Dun like teksi, can use RAPIDs or grabuber, or just stick to ur 2nd hand EX5. Hehehe. jgn marah-marah…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 14
  • Leafable on Jul 04, 2017 at 10:43 am

Oh dear old folks can’t evolve. You die if you can’t adapt to the current market. 10-15 years later you will see Uber’s and Grab’s drivers moaning about autonomous vehicles taking their jobs away. It’s economy evolving, stupid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • michaelooi on Jul 04, 2017 at 10:51 am

They can picket all they want. I will not hail a taxi that doesn’t use a goddamn meter. Period.

• Tolol on Jul 04, 2017 at 11:16 am

Dear Hooligans, Please burn in hell. We dont need you.

• Ah Kow on Jul 04, 2017 at 11:21 am

If I’m the government, I will tell them cabbies in their face, reflect on what majority of you did in the past(scamming people’s money) and the present (acting like hooligans harrassing GrabUber drivers). I will tell them it’s payback time “bitj” Karma is coming for you devils.
    As for the minority, the angel cabbies, you all are most welcome to join GrabUber ;)

• Ahmadjr on Jul 04, 2017 at 11:43 am

Tidur sajalah bawah pokok ada orang sesat caj rm60 minimum. Persatuan2 ni patut dah lama buat. Teksi buruk tu pulang je, rm90 sehari tu kau dah boleh angkat bmw. Kalau uber n grab boleh guna kereta sewa, aku dah lama buat. Beli saga bulan2 rm600 sewa kat bekas pemandu teksi yang tak lepas loan rm1200. Sehari rm40 + minyak tol rm50. Kerja 12jam sehari boleh dapat rm4000.Bersih rm2800

• grabuber on Jul 04, 2017 at 1:00 pm

If spad cat paint pink color grap rubber kar we can see grabubers sleepy under tree after 4. In kl i kira tak banyak grab uber car maybe 5000 only. Like this kira brader working drive 8 hour get 100rm.tolak 25rm ubergrab comission tolak 30rm petrol tinggal 45rm kaali 30 hari dapat 1350rm. Kau ingat buber tu robot tak kencing berak …makan taik betul la kau ni..

• Not Toyota Fan on Jul 04, 2017 at 11:49 am

Gangster taxi drivers still living in Nokia 3310 era.

Simple supply & demand for Uber/Grabcar will kill off these dinosaur. Won’t be long now.

• Evolve or get obsolete..
    You cant stop technology from disrupting..

Have you ever seen CD manufacturers bashing up apple itune for disrupting their business?

• lilytan on Jul 04, 2017 at 1:23 pm

Perhaps LKY can raise from the dead and becomes interim pm to get rid these pesky unions once and for all like he did in spore.

• ‘Pandan MP Rafizi Ramli said he will be submitting a motion at the upcoming parliament meeting to delay the tabling of the Land Public Transport Act amendments, which once passed will allow SPAD to regulate ride-hailing services.’

So Rafizi does not want SPAD to regulate ride-hailing services?

• Din I say his side is with teksi & geriatric leaders? Apparently this statement is Voldermort here…

• Ben Yap on Jul 04, 2017 at 3:32 pm

Uber is in the midst of losing drivers to Grab.

Don’t worry, one day it will be Grab and the other taxis competing only.

• Correct. Liberalisation & level market competition is gud thing, but apparently pandans here dun agree…

• make ur own ride-hailing app la..