BMW 4 Series LCI teased – coming to Malaysia soon?

Looks like the facelifted BMW 4 Series (Life Cycle Impulse, or LCI) is coming to our shores soon – BMW Malaysia has released a new teaser video that teases the revised coupé, hinting at an imminent launch.

Unveiled to the world earlier this year, the latest 4 Series gets a smattering of updates that mirror those introduced to the 3 Series in 2015. There are redesigned front and rear bumpers, four new 18- and 19-inch alloy wheel designs and new Sunset Orange and Snapper Rocks Blue paint options.

The facelift also sees the addition of standard-fit LED head- and tail lights, with the optional adaptive headlights receiving new hexagonal “corona ring” daytime running lights. However, since none of the outgoing 4 Series models in Malaysia featured the upgraded lamps (they had xenons, which were the base headlights back then), we’re not sure if these will appear on the new cars.

BMW 4 Series LCI teased – coming to Malaysia soon?

Inside, the revisions are more subtle and pretty much mirror those given to the 3 Series. There are now electroplated and chrome highlights in certain areas, a gloss black surround for the climate and audio controls, a sliding cupholder cover and a new high-quality leather wrap on the standard sport steering wheel for better grip; there’s also double stitching on the upper dashboard.

Other changes include new colour and trim options, a fully digital Multifunctional Instrument Display, a G30 5 Series-style tiled iDrive interface (NBT Evo ID6) with the Professional navigation system, wireless smartphone charging and a WiFi hotspot, all available as options.

Under the skin, the Coupé and Gran Coupé now receive a stiffer suspension setup that is aimed at providing a sportier drive without compromising ride comfort. Lateral and longitudinal dynamics have been improved on standard, M Sport and adaptive suspension systems, irrespective of load. All models also now feature greater straight-line stability and more communicative steering.

The model range should remain the same as before, given that new engines from the 3 Series LCI were introduced last year. Currently, the lineup starts with the 420i Coupé with a 184 hp/270 Nm 2.0 litre turbo petrol four-cylinder engine, which is boosted to 252 hp and 350 Nm in the 430i Coupé and Gran Coupé.

The 420i is available in standard and Sport Line trims, while the 430i Coupé is offered in Sport Line and M Sport variants; the Gran Coupé is only available with the M Sport kit.

Prices should remain more or less at the level of the outgoing models, which starts at RM297,800 for the 420i Coupé, rising up to RM317,800 for the Sport Line model, RM356,800 for the 430i Coupé Sport, RM386,800 for the 430i Coupé M Sport and RM416,800 for the 430i Gran Coupé M Sport.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• YB Kunta Kinte on Jul 05, 2017 at 3:23 pm

No price reduction? I thought our beloved gomen said got 30% off for car prices 4 yrs ago.

Did we kena tipu?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 10
    • Wait a darn minute. When reduced prices, u pulak hentam no RV. So mana mau ni?
      Which world u came from that has bog standard cars RV higher than purchase price?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 11
      • hussein on Jul 05, 2017 at 5:18 pm

apa benda bog ni? tak pernah dengar. Bahasa caveman ke?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
        • Adik. Balik lah belajar England yer…

• basherlogic on Jul 05, 2017 at 7:20 pm

bog is caveman language.

• paparadzi (Member) on Jul 06, 2017 at 5:04 pm

http://www.phrases.org.uk/meanings/bog-standard.html

adjective [usually ADJECTIVE noun]
          If you describe something as bog-standard you mean that is an ordinary example of its kind, with no exciting or interesting features.
          [British , informal , disapproval]
          ‘The Bodyguard’ is a fairly bog-standard thriller.

• hamzah on Jul 05, 2017 at 4:28 pm

BMW X5 $588K to 388K ditepati.

• Ollie on Jul 05, 2017 at 3:48 pm

The boring back and dull lines spoil what could’ve been a great car.

• This will not sell in Malaysia, it has the number 4 in it. The Chinese will not buy it. Just look at the sales figure for Z4

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
  • video link all messed up? volvo video in bmw article? O.o