Honda City Hybrid Malaysian brochure leaked – same 1.5L i-DCD package as Jazz Hybrid, launching soon

It looks very much like the next big launch by Honda Malaysia will be for the new Honda City Hybrid. It will be the first time the City sedan gets a hybrid variant in Malaysia, and it comes after the introduction of the latest Jazz Hybrid last month. These images are of an official Honda Malaysia brochure promoting both the City Hybrid and its hatchback sister.

UPDATE: The Honda City Hybrid has been officially launched in Malaysia.

It looks like the Honda City Hybrid – known as the Grace Hybrid in Japan, where the facelifted model was launched earlier this month – will share the same hybrid powertrain as the Jazz Hybrid. That means a Sport Hybrid i-DCD system that combines a 1.5 litre engine with idle stop, a seven-speed dual-clutch automatic gearbox with an integrated electric motor, a lithium-ion hybrid battery and an electric driven compressor.

The engine used here isn’t the one found in the regular City, but a unique Atkinson cycle DOHC i-VTEC unit with 110 PS and 134 Nm of torque at 5,000 rpm. Combined with a 30 PS (22 kW)/160 Nm electric motor, the system produces a combined 137 PS and 170 Nm of torque, as per the Jazz Hybrid.

Honda claims that the Sport Hybrid i-DCD (Intelligent Dual-Clutch Drive) system delivers performance equal to that of a conventional 1.8 litre naturally-aspirated engine (the Civic 1.8 makes just 4 PS/4 Nm more), with much lower fuel consumption. The claimed official figures are 4.0 litres per 100 km for the Jazz Hybrid and 3.9 litres per 100 km for the City Hybrid.

For an in-depth look at the Sport Hybrid i-DCD system, and how it differs from Honda’s previous Integrated Motor Assist hybrid system, click here.

The City’s sedan body with a 536-litre boot aside (no reduced capacity for the hybrid), technical differences from the Jazz Hybrid include 16-inch wheels with 185/55 tyres (175/65 R15 on the Jazz) and a larger turning radius of 5.7 metres (versus 5.26m).

On the equipment front, the City Hybrid will have slightly more kit than the Jazz Hybrid, which it is expected to top in price, like the entire range itself.

The sedan gets a shark fin antenna, chrome door handles, auto folding wing mirrors, rear air con vents, steering paddle shifters and a rear armrest with cupholders. All the above are not offered with the Jazz Hybrid, as are remote trunk release and rear USB ports.

Like the Jazz Hybrid, the City Hybrid won’t be the range-topping variant, but it will be specced close to the City E. It lacks the City V’s LED headlamps and foglamps, leather seats/steering/gear knob and curtain airbags. Should it follow the Jazz’s price structure, the City Hybrid is set to be priced between the City E’s RM84,600 and the City V’s RM92,000, with the figure nearer to the V. Like what you see?

GALLERY: JDM Honda Grace Hybrid

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• TopsyBoXyTurvy on Jul 20, 2017 at 1:49 pm

Wow..Honda has been launching assault after assault, slaying toyota and the rests all the way.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 1
    • Bahrin on Jul 20, 2017 at 3:41 pm

Don’t need cars lah. Got mrt & grab.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
      • Letting Go My Vios2013 on Jul 20, 2017 at 4:25 pm

Great!! Hybrid version using DOHC engine

• Periasamy on Jul 20, 2017 at 4:49 pm

The Volvo XC90. Supposed to be over RM600k. But because of tax break, it is sold for RM390k

The Mercedes S400h, supposed to be RM880k, but because of tax break, it is sold for RM580k

The BMW 740le, supposed to be RM880k, but sold for RM550k

The BMW x5 Hybrid, supposed to be over RM600k but now sold for RM388k

The tax incentives benefit the rich. Will the tax incentive also be applied to this City hybrid and sold for below RM60k?

Rich get richer. Poor still suffer

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 4
          • karam singh on Jul 20, 2017 at 6:05 pm

Its a hybrid, technically its much more expensive than the simpler non-hybrid car. Expect original price 120-130k range.

Tax cut, 80-90k range.

Don’t expect the real cost of hybrid car are the same with the non-hybrid car.Be realistic.

Expecting more complicated car with lots more in car to be on par with the standard car is rubbish thinking.

My expectation 85-95k range should be good, much2 better buy than standard City.

• NIHONBANZAI on Jul 20, 2017 at 6:20 pm

In jpn, even with their tax break, low spec Honda hybrid more expensive by 5k to 10k against similar variant. Below 60k ? What you smoking bro? Foreign country(MY) priced cheaper than own country(JP) ? What kind of business and nationalistic logic is that ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
          • kzm (Member) on Jul 20, 2017 at 6:35 pm

u expect in bolehland honda sell city hybrid below RM60k when in their own country they sell Grace hybrid from RM75k. mind u that Japan has low tax on car. Japanese might be furious if City Hybrid sell below RM60k in foreign country. Be realistic..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
          • pinkdiemont on Jul 20, 2017 at 6:42 pm

If u born Poor its not your mistake, but if u die poor its ur mistake

• Operation Manager on Jul 20, 2017 at 7:23 pm

Honda Grace Hybrid (City Hybrid) only sell JpnYen 1,769,040 (USD 15,756). Before Ringgit fall into deep dark longkang, during 2013 was USD 1=MYR 3.3 only. Base on 2017 Japan Honda City Hybrid price, is only RM 51,994 (base model). For Top-Spec City Hybrid come with Honda Sensing packages only cost JpnYen 2,236,680 (USD 19,920) or cost RM 65, 736 only. Hybrid come with Tax/Duty break, lets see how HM con the loyal Msian Honda supporter with higher price.

• Periasamy on Jul 20, 2017 at 7:38 pm

kzm, can we also earn like Japanese also? They earn about 10x what we earn.

You cannot compare what is sold in japan and what is sold in Malaysia. Cause our earning is 10x less than Japan.

• So why u lazy dun work 10x harder to get the car u want instead of whining here?

• alldisc on Jul 21, 2017 at 9:59 am

Don’t forget even if there is a tax break, customs duties still apply. And there is a minimum of 75% applies from the landed price.

• Apai John on Jul 21, 2017 at 1:39 pm

The rakyat vote the policymaker

So rakyat set its own policy

• Periasamy on Jul 20, 2017 at 3:52 pm

This hybrid will benefit from tax incentive. So, Honda can sell this car below RM60k. Let us see whether Honda Malaysia passes that tax benefit to us consumers or will they sapu.

If X5 was RM588k and with tax benefit can go down to RM388k for the x5 40e, let us see whether the same will happen for this City

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 5
      • City Hybrid should be around 80k as Jazz Hybrid is 85k

Hybrid model suppose to cost more than normal 1.5L petrol model.. but due to tax incentives, both Hybrid n non-hybrid will be around same price.. Jazz n Jazz Hybrid is a similar case..

• karam singh on Jul 20, 2017 at 6:18 pm

below 60k , then the real price for this car around 81k ?
        a Hybrid cost the same as the standard one before tax?
        Ridiculous statement.

Ask Toyota, why the Prius C (150k) cost almost twice compared to Honda Jazz (85k) ?
        Prius C using cheaper NiMH battery vs Li-ion (Jazz)
        their FC almost the same.

Honda doing much3 better price than the Toyota.
        Expecting below 60k ? LOL tell that to Toyota.
        U only get 1.5l engine,4 speeder & no VSC on that.

• polla on Jul 20, 2017 at 1:51 pm

DRB Honda & DRB Proton. Same DRB but different nasib…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
    • kzm (Member) on Jul 20, 2017 at 2:57 pm

Honda Malaysia (HM) is control by Honda Motor not DRB. DRB is second biggest shareholder in HM.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 10
    • Honda Malaysia 51% stake holder by Honda Japan.
      DRB 34% only, “Duduk diam diam tak paya kacau”
      That’s why Honda Malaysia sales trend up these few year.

• azrai on Jul 20, 2017 at 1:52 pm

Accord Hybrid, next?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Stranger on Jul 20, 2017 at 1:53 pm

4 litres for 100km? Axia can do almost same without Hybrid.
    Come on Honda give us true Hybrid. This is more like a scam

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 83
    • TopsyBoXyTurvy on Jul 20, 2017 at 2:43 pm

Why dont u get a scooter?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 2
      • theshah on Jul 20, 2017 at 3:47 pm

MY almost there. Sub-RM100k EVs for Malaysians by 2017 :

https://paultan.org/2014/11/25/ev-under-rm100k-2017-madani/

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
    • TopsyBoXyTurvy on Jul 20, 2017 at 2:44 pm

Or a bicycle , doesnt need fuel at all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
    • I don’t remember Axia is as big and heavy as the City. For a car that size with fuel consumption as Axia, it’s pretty good actually. Why not you compare this City with it sibling, Honda EX5? No?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 1
    • arowana on Jul 20, 2017 at 3:31 pm

this is the stupidest comment i ever hear.. do comparison on size & segment before you comment..

use your brain please… oh i forgot, you use your ass to think…

• karam singh on Jul 20, 2017 at 6:33 pm

No point arguing with no brainer.
        let me compare –
        City vs Axia
        1200kg vs 850kg
        140hp vs puny 67hp
        294Nm vs 91Nm
        7DCT vs 4-AT (dinosaur)
        5years unlimited warranty vs 5year/150k km
        8yrs battery warranty with free services

• You can’t just add the figures bro.
          The actual figure:
          Power : 137hp
          Torque : 170Nm

• Together encouraging automotive world to produce car that uses less and less fuel and eventually fully electric, so that PDAM can suffer. Huhu

• RM98k(ish)…. insta torque electric motor and peddle shifted 7-speed DCT?
    This will really be a winner.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
    • What?? on Jul 20, 2017 at 3:03 pm

This is not the top spec model, it sits between the E & V so price should be around 89k at most.

• Saga Owner on Jul 20, 2017 at 4:11 pm

Iriz cvt combo better performance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
  • HonHonHonnnDa on Jul 20, 2017 at 1:54 pm

Look good for better fuel consumption. Engine DOHC? Cool…current city is SOHC engine but 120ps.
    Vios lai lai…

• Vios kena tapao by City again..
    Vios got useless TRD sport kit, funny stickers and sepang race dunno for wat..
    City launch hybrid says it all

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 2
  • to be honest , PLeather seats aren’t all that grrat either, it may looks nice, but they can get hot, and ull be sliding all over…..unlike plush leather u find in luxury carz…..

Led headlamps can be retrofitted nowadays, u cn find bulbs cheaper then 100 bux on lazada, of coz buy at ur own discretion

However its dissapponting that HM does not include the curtain airbags as standard as it may save somebody’s life in the future,

Maybe HM has not learned its lesson from the few fatal cases involving the takata airbags in malaysia recently

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
    • Hello, this is B segment car. No company in malaysia offer B segment car with standard 6 airbags yet. Even waksegan vento still offer only 2 airbags for base spec. But Honda’s C segment car (Civic) already offer 6 airbags as standard for all variant.

• jinggo on Jul 20, 2017 at 6:32 pm

Ada la.. itu Proton Iriz 1.6 Premium ada 6 airbag..

• Doesn’t mean everyone is not doing it, you should follow the them. Leader of market and consumer centric company will always put customer’s safety as priority at the top of the list. All these guys are equipped with loads of safety only to be dismantled for the market here. If everyone thinks the way you do, we’ll not be progressing.

• Honda City Spec V comes with 6 airbags

• Jayden on Nov 19, 2017 at 5:18 pm

My Peugeot 208 have 6 airbags but until now more than 4 years dy never used one of them yet…. juz drive safe that’s all

• lilytan on Jul 20, 2017 at 2:07 pm

Damn honda is fast. Next should be Vezel hybrid.

• Well Done Honda Malaysia.
    Take my money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
  • Mr. Octopus on Jul 20, 2017 at 2:40 pm

Always leaked brochure but never price list… Marketing strategy

• ex-VGM staff on Jul 20, 2017 at 4:04 pm

Expect the price to be very competitive to the Hyundai Ioniq

• Justin Ngai on Jul 20, 2017 at 2:40 pm

Nice one, Honda Malaysia is consistently getting it right of late ;)

• Devatron on Jul 20, 2017 at 2:41 pm

theyre suited to sell hybrids as they have well known reliability .

• Extrasauce on Jul 20, 2017 at 2:48 pm

Would be nice to have the City Hybrid in full V spec configuration. The LED headlights, rear triple tubed LED tailights and standard boot lip spoiler with 3rd brake lights should be included.

And to add, fatter tyres of 205/45/16 tyres.

That’d be a close to perfect B segment car.

• arowana on Jul 20, 2017 at 3:32 pm

that can be done with installation of those lights in any car accessories shop

• Extrasauce on Jul 20, 2017 at 4:19 pm

Yes that is indeed possible, however that would void the warranty and the quality of the 3rd party product won’t be as good as the factory-fitted item.

On the warranty, its especially important considering this is a hybrid model.

• xoxox on Jul 21, 2017 at 9:02 am

lol, this is eco car…not sport car…the aim is FC, not performance…no need fatter tyre…

• Mesin rumput on Jul 20, 2017 at 3:17 pm

the real vtec finally…

• Now they keep push sales their cars model, Will after sales service better than others?

• Noah Thiruchelvan on Jul 20, 2017 at 3:50 pm

Sad… Just got a City FL. Should have waited for this :(

• Honda, do brv hydrid and my money is yours!

• thepolygonal on Jul 20, 2017 at 4:03 pm

TCM Nissan you are a joker, you already got the Note e-power in Japan which is tech above all these with 37.2 km/l, which is 2.68 l per 100 km which is a very strong selling point but you are not selling it here?

Now Honda is gonna get more market share with it’s entry level sedan with HYBRID. Even Toyota pun tak ada… mungkin tak akan ada.

• And pls bring the Accord 2.0T & hybrid model.

• Henry Ford The XII on Jul 20, 2017 at 5:24 pm

And maybe for the FL Civic, we can get the higher tuned 1.5T from CRV with i-DCD combo?

• Maria on Jul 20, 2017 at 5:52 pm

While Honda is busy launching city hybrid and more cars, toyota is busy selling Vios TRD SporTIPU with sticker that belive to add another 100 hp and stupid bodykit. Only J and E is worth to buy but still can’t beat city

• This actually overtake civic hybrid 2012.