Commuters who are planning to use the Park and Ride facilities at MRT stations must use the same Touch ‘n Go (TnG) card throughout their journey to enjoy the RM4.30 per entry parking rate.
This was clarified by Mass Rapid Transit Corporation (MRT Corp) after several complaints from users where they weren’t charged the RM4.30 per entry rate, and had to pay the hourly rate despite using the MRT service.
“The same card used to enter the Park and Ride has also to be used at the fare gates of the station before boarding the MRT train because this is the only way that we can differentiate who has parked and ridden on the train, and who has not,” said Datuk Najmuddin Abdullah, MRT Corp strategic communications and stakeholder relations director, in an official statement.
Therefore, MRT users who wanted the flat parking rate have to ‘tap in’ and ‘tap out’ at the same station with Park and Ride facilities. “We have had instances where a user took the train at a station attached to a Park and Ride, and then returned to the park and ride by bus This will result in the standard hourly rate being charged,” said Najmuddin.
Commuters should also note there is a two-hour time limit between exiting the final MRT station and exiting the Park and Ride parking facility. Therefore, those who go on a MRT joy ride without disembarking at any station other than the one they originally started from would not enjoy the flat rate.
To ensure commuters are aware of such guidelines, more signboards will be erected at corresponding Park and Ride locations where the RM4.30 flat rate is applicable.
This includes the Sungai Buloh, Phileo Damansara, Maluri, Taman Midah, Taman Suntex, Bandar Tun Hussein Onn, Bukit Dukung and Sungai Jernih stations. All other parking facilities along the Sungai-Buloh Kajang MRT Line are owned and controlled by external parties.
Funny how pipu got multiple TnG cards while they complain about minimum amount in each card. Thats like have more cars than drivers per household.
TNG is king of blacklist. Your card suddenly becomes blacklisted just like that.
Most of us, don’t bother to chase the matter up cause going to KL Sentral HQ, parking is RM4 per hour. So, we just let the card go.
Thousands of people get blacklisted every month with still money in their cards.
All free money for TNG. Happily sapu the money. When you ask them why your card blacklisted, they say they have no answer. “Kadang kadang macam itu encik….tanpa sebab”
TnG is not CCRIS or CTOS. They cant blacklist anybody
Read properly lah. It’s blacklisting the Touch ‘n Go card, not blacklisting the user.
TNG dun blacklist any TNG card, its theirs anyways unless using fake card.
mahal nya parking …
Bayar KLCC dah 4.30 sejam. Mana lagi mahal?
Each got 4 quota & many kids
Each kid still need his own TnG card. No such thing as free lunch
True. No logic
guys, i have tried before, those dormant card which is long time no use still can be refunded to the owner registered with the same ic number. you can check it on their website, the card will automatically appear together with the tng built in with the ic as well. i have successfully got all the dormant card refunded without being charged for the activation fee as well. Watson card tng fund also can be refunded if you have lost it. Don’t ever tell them that your card is lost, else will get charge, just told them you no longer using that card, want to get the money back.
Yesterday had my 1st MRT ride. I paid with the same Tng card knowing my parking was rm4.30 but to my surprise i have to pay rm 5.30 why mesin rosak or not ready. If not sincere dont annouced.
Ur TNG has online record of usage. If what u say is true, then print it out and make complain to MRTCorp & TNG.
i dont know guys…but isnt this same touch and go things is like common sense. it makes sense that the same tng that touch in the PnR facilities have to use the MRT to get the discount right?
Common sense not that common…
This was happened to me that I took my car with my wife together to parking and using my TnG, but she back home early first and drove the car. Unfortunately we didn’t swap the TnG card. Funny system, both of us are MRT users.
Makes sense ekceli. The system tracks thru card Serial no. so if u use diff card, how will the system knows ur legit user?
Yesterday I was using the same touch n go card to park my car at Sg buloh and boarded the train to KL Sentral. To my surprise, i was deducted for RM 25.
I made a complain at KL Sentral Touch n Go centre and said it is a card error. But they will return the money after 1 month.
Afterward, i was deducted for RM 29 upon check out at sg buloh MRT station. Since I did not look at the balance of the card in the first place. I was not able to check out from my car park due to in sufficient fund. I went to top my card before i can go out.
Again, I need to go back to Touch N Go to seek for my refund.
All together, RM 25 + 29 = RM 54 (Touch N Go will hold this money for 1 month before they can return back to me). Which is entirely not my fault!!
Just imagine how much the interest they have collected. And yes, it is CIMB Bank the one that earn it!
I’m surprised why no one asked about the 30 cents extra surcharged? Why other center only charged RM4.00
Is this another case of 30 cents for “services rendered” by operator??
I guess the reason one must use same card for parking and MRT is to avoid others abusing the parking, park with office or shops nearby. hence those park and ride would not have problem finding parking.
leh tahan mahal gak parking
LRT should enforce this system at places like the Kelana Jaya station. The car park is full of cars parked by office workers nearby..
Be tough on msians as how the Singapore govt is with its mrt users.
In Scandinavian countries, society is made up of the highly civilised, morally and ethically sound, function with full integrity. They certainly dont require laws to tell them what is right and wrong. Here we certainly do just like Singapore.
Warning, then they say enforcers no bolas.
Enforce, then they say its cruelty.
Punish, then they say its against human rights.
Saman, then they say its makan.
So how leh?