Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S launched in M’sia, fr RM1,100

Michelin’s latest ultra high performance (UHP) tyre has been launched at the Michelin Passion Days event at the Sentul International Circuit in Indonesia today. The Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S, which sits above the Pilot Sport 4 in the lineup, replacing the Pilot Super Sport, is now available in Malaysia to fit wheels measuring 19 inches and above.

“The new Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S is the result of a unique know-how developed by engineers passionate about their work that redefines the standards of the category,” said regional director for Indonesia, Malaysia, Singapore and Brunei Pascal Nouvellon. “Adapted for driving at the highest levels on road and on track, it has already positioned itself as the best in its class.”

Designed for sports cars and premium sedans, the Pilot Sport 4 S is claimed to offer improved performance, class-leading handling capabilities, shorter wet and dry braking distances and optimised durability. Precise steering feel is promised thanks to a hybrid belt comprised of aramid and nylon.

Bi-compound technology has also been incorporated, with a hybrid elastomer on the outer edge for dry-weather grip, and a new mix of compounds with specific ‘functional elastomers’ and silica on the inner side to improve wet-weather grip and braking. An ultra-reactive tread pattern adapts continuously to the road to optimise traction, which Michelin says provides a high level of reactivity.

Other features include a Premium Touch Finish on the sidewall, creating a velvet effect that results in a variety of black contrasts, as well as a Deep Rim Protector that should come in handy given the large wheels the tyre will inevitably be fitted on. The Michelin Pilot Sport 4 S carries retail prices starting from RM1,100 per piece, and is distributed to Tyreplus and Michelin outlets nationwide.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Eternalgl0ry on Jul 28, 2017 at 11:38 am

That price tag and yet and doesn’t have run flat technology seriously?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
    • 4G63T DSM on Jul 28, 2017 at 1:57 pm

Why do you want run-flat????????

Yes, they have made improvements but I still prefer regular tyres. They simply ride better. Its not like your 35 series tyres are not already “stiff” enough.

• So means this is highest perf on-the-road tyres from Mich?

• Jonathan Lee (Member) on Jul 28, 2017 at 5:23 pm

Not quite – this will slot under the Michelin Pilot Sport Cup 2, which is more track-focused, but still road-legal.

• Thanks 4 the info. Wow, an even more extreme tyre range. Insane!

• Silverstone on Jul 28, 2017 at 12:00 pm

I would appreciate if they don’t sapu minyak on tyres during launch that makes it look like cheap used tyres.

• From east side on Jul 28, 2017 at 12:29 pm

I already used the PS4 225/45/17 impressive performance a cut above from the other tyre brand

• How much bro?

• Mikey on Jul 31, 2017 at 12:37 pm

I replaced PS4 265/35/18 for RM1,200 each for Mercedes E250 for the rear. I guess 225/45/17 should be cheaper.

• Everything is good about the PS4 compare to PS3. However, the fuel consumption is noticeably higher.

• Just upgraded recently from 18″ Run Flats to this 20″ Non-Run Flat Pilot Sport 4S for my BMW 428i.
    Pros – Much more comfortable and softer ride, much better grip.
    Cons – You do lose out the sporty hard feeling of the run flats as it’s softer, tends to bounce a bit (stock adaptive suspension). Reviews tend to say it’s not as good as the predecessor in terms of dry braking, may agree to that a little bit.

Just my RM0.26.

• Goodyear on Jul 28, 2017 at 2:43 pm

can anyone tell me why tyre is so expensive

• HT Mao on Jul 29, 2017 at 12:49 pm

Oui!! So expensive for rubber product…