SPAD issues its requirements for ride-hailing services

With ride-hailing services such as Uber and GrabCar set to be legalised once amendments to the law are implemented by October this year, the Land Public Transport Commission (SPAD) has issued a series of requirements to drivers that are looking to offer such services.

For starters, the vehicles used cannot be over five years old from the date of registration with the Road Transport Department (JPJ), and those that are will not be allowed to be registered for ride-hailing services.

The vehicles will also have to undergo annual Puspakom inspections after three years from the date of registration. “You must comply with standards to ensure the vehicle is safe since you are providing a commercial service,” said Mohd Azharuddin Mat Sah, chief executive officer of SPAD in a report by The Star.

Driver will also be required to register with SPAD, and are required to obtain a digital Driver’s Card, own a competent driver’s license, attend customer service-oriented training, and undergo checks for outstanding criminal records or summonses. “Currently, there are 180,000 ride-hailing drivers but 70% of them are part-time drivers,” said Mohd Azharuddin.

Other rules include compulsory insurance coverage for drivers, passengers, vehicles and third parties by ride-hailing operators, a panic button, GPS tracking capabilities and a rating system so passengers can provide their feedback.

The amendments to the Land Public Transport Act 2010 and the Commercial Vehicles Licensing Board Act 1987 and will involve improvements to the pajak (leasing) model used by the taxi industry.

Among them are rent-free day for Puspakom inspection, annual and sick leave, driver’s personal insurance, and profit sharing between taxi drivers and operators for advertisements featured on vehicles.

“Taxi drivers now have the option to purchase any vehicle model for new taxis as long as it meets standards under the New Car Assessment Programme for South-East Asia (Asean NCAP),” added Mohd Azharuddin.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• YB Albert on Aug 02, 2017 at 6:16 pm

WITH the latest development,the demise of the red cabs has been accelerated.
    The writing is on the wall.If u dont wanna innovate and improve,u can line up for one whole day,but get fewer than 5 rides.Even the kacang putih seller is getting better business n income than the red cabs.

• Nazee on Aug 02, 2017 at 7:21 pm

Digging graves for taxis? Uber and Grab all new cars within 5 years and taxis all sorts? Gg.

• Kelab Kunta on Aug 02, 2017 at 10:09 pm

What is going to happen to the crony teksi in KLIA? For 20 years he enjoy free goyang kaki money. Now, passengers just call Uber.

Habis lah the kroni.

• 7yrsold on Aug 02, 2017 at 6:26 pm

“For starters, the vehicles used cannot be over five years old” – Teksi iswara, wira + sentra included?

• Private vehicles only

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
      • So those Wiras, Wajas, Old Sagas.. They are better condition, old paint, bumper held together with getah or rafia strings, seats krikot krikot, interior stinks with smoke and odour…. Apamacam?

• All these talks were more than 10 years ago.. So those cars are still running… Mehhh…

• Kelab Kunta on Aug 02, 2017 at 10:16 pm

why dont implement the 5 yr ruling for our red cabs aka kroni cabs. The cabs are so buruk. Even 24 yr old Wira also on our roads used as teksi

• Peter on Aug 03, 2017 at 12:48 pm

ta daaa …. see how M’sia politicians do work. Looks great on paper, give grand promise … enforcement? Zero!
      How many of you seen lately that back passenger are caught not putting on seat belt on road block, how many are caught having excessive tint, how many are caught with black exhaust smoke … these are once grand promises and now become laws but hardly enforced!

• Saiful on Aug 02, 2017 at 7:13 pm

Taxi got gps meh??? Why Uber n Grab only must install gps. Panic button is sufficient la

• Why install GPS inside smartphone? Put in mini foldable paper map is sufficient la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • Rawfi on Aug 02, 2017 at 7:16 pm

Maybe my sense not making sense. Must below 5 years, but the ugly and dirty looking taxi more than 10 years is fine. All of the requirement is not bad at all but i think this should be done to the taxi driver before all this online ride sharing start or maybe 10-20 years ago. Mojority the taxi driver is not looking professional at all and look not clean at all. All the best to the uber & grabcar driver keep the great job.

• azman on Aug 02, 2017 at 10:26 pm

with the ruling it will be the end of uber n grab. Many will pull out. Who wants to go thru all the hassle.

• Then someone else will come in. Those who dare and entrepreneurial will win. Maybe even the evolved taxi industry will win. Thats the whole point of market liberalisation.

• Ali Iskandar on Aug 03, 2017 at 3:23 pm

True… This is too much…. Just finding ways how to mess things up for every one…

• aimran on Aug 03, 2017 at 10:08 am

Hey PT.

> Other rules include compulsory insurance coverage for drivers,

Private or commercial insurance? Please be clearer or at least link to the amendments tabled

• Faizali bin Abdul Kudus on Aug 03, 2017 at 1:23 pm

The one and only reason people choose e hailing is because they prostitutes the fare,all the reasons given are just “menutup bangkai gajah”.Dare to charge the same fare and see whether people still prefer so called queen of beauty e hailing vehicle or the huntchback of Notre dame taxi.You people who post vulgarity comments on taxi drivers are nothing but a steaming stinking pile of monkey crap.

• Ollie on Aug 03, 2017 at 9:03 pm

What? I used to drive but now i take uber as much as i can. Don’t know how much is taxi, don’t care. If it was double the price, I’d still take uber. And your point was….?

• Faizali bin Abdul Kudus on Aug 13, 2017 at 6:19 pm

I sense fear in you….fear leads to hate,hate leads to anger,anger leads to suferringggg…You are one of us,driving peoples for money.just another ‘Pariah’ in the wall. Tribute to pink Floyd.

• Ben Yap on Aug 03, 2017 at 2:34 pm

those grab and uber drivers all must change to new cars. many will not be driving anymore as many would’ve failed.

somemore those fresh grads with PTPTN loans tying towards CRIS, they will not be able to get a loan to buy a new car. their 2nd source of income will be cut off.

Cost of living increase and economy is bad, jobs are at stake and now even qualify to drive for uber or grab as a fall back plan is harder.

many will start to default their study loans, car loans and house loans when they don’t have 2nd income. those who rely on e-hailing as supplementary income is going to face a lot of problems.

have government thought about these consequences?

• Grabuber is not the only employment available to students. Work harder to find other jobs.

• Ali Iskandar on Aug 03, 2017 at 3:19 pm

I drove taxi for three years. First time went to puspakom with a year old taxi which was serviced by proton one day ago, and i fail. They made me do it three times before i got pass.
    As if it was not enough i got bully by fellow taxi drivers.”Get out of our area, you follow meter and we do fix rate. You are killing our marhet” as if that was not enough got my wind screen broken by one of the taxi driver who didnt like i use meter rather then fixed fare.
    I end up as a lone ranger as most of the malls, hotels are taken over by them.
    When i started to drive taxi, i was under the impreesson that we taxi drivers look after eachother and help out but………
    Two weeks i was in hospital yet the taxi comp didnt care. I still had to pay for the 14 days.
    At the end i just couldnt take it. The intake was far less then what came out.
    I had to give up my taxi that i spend almost RM 15,000 on and got nothing back.
    Now i drive for uber with my own car. Not making millions but enough to feed my family …..

• Lucky for u, gov allows disruptive tech & economy in. Unlike some 1st world countries & states.

• Ollie on Aug 03, 2017 at 7:49 pm

Thanks for sharing. As a part-time uber driver, I do feel sorry for the 50 taxis waiting at KL sentral all the time. Will always remember the time I was at an LRT 15 mins from my house and getting turned down by 6 taxis when there were 15 taxis in the line. The seventh taxi had no problem sending me and following meter, told me the other drivers just want to send people near the area to their house and back. Was an honest young chap making a living. I remember a super polite chap in KL sentral as well. One time my phone was dead in KLIA and I had to get an airport taxi, and the guy seemed pissed that he had to send me though I was paying RM100 for the ride, no idea why when taxi would be angry in sending a rider. Anyway since Uber arrived, I haven’t taken a taxi in 2 years i think since the time my phone was dead in KLIA. Feel sorry for the honest ones just wanting to make a living.

• Ben Yap on Aug 04, 2017 at 10:12 am

wah! taxi driver can write good english.

You should be a columnist or journalist instead. wasted talent.

• Faizali bin Abdul Kudus on Aug 08, 2017 at 3:04 pm

I posted my comments once,but since this country gave a little freedom of speech and write,it’s good to write again.I’m a taxi driver,and after reading all those comments I absolutely agree with you people,not all drivers but some.Sitting behind wheel and drive people for money is a job for desperado.A ‘pariah’ job.So What do you expect? No papers needed but some do have that scroll.taxi drivers comes from all walks of life,to simplify things,if you guys still remember Abdul kudus bin Ahmad the ex director of enforcement of MPAJ,he was one of us.There’s a malay saying ‘mengata dulang paku serpih bla bla bla’ be it taxi drivers or grab/uber drivers we all sit in a same boat.But taxi drivers play by the rules we may be flawed but we don’t steal,robbed or the likes,feeding your family’s by means of e hailing driver is ‘Haram’ in Islam just like eating pork,drinking beer,gambling or prostitution.For non Muslim is fine cause anything goes it’s a no holds barred,but for Muslims?Perhaps grab/uber are inundated by atheists or non believers?nowadays criminal hailed themselves as hero,who let the dogs out?it’s Malaysian official 1 the biggest criminal in history of mankind and that roody poo needs a lot of company.If you jabronies are too desperate for money,then my sincere suggestions assembled electronic gadgets ,or take up foodpanda delivery boy,or learn some char kuat skills.it’s 100% halal,and I can guararandamnetee no workers of that trade will be lay off and as matter of fact you jabronies are most welcome there.