GIIAS 2017: Daihatsu F-Sedan Concept – 4-door coupe

We’re at the 2017 Gaikindo Indonesia International Auto Show (GIIAS) and here’s something gorgeous and surprising to kick off our live coverage. The Daihatsu DN F-Sedan concept is making its world debut in one of the company’s most important export markets – it’s a sleek four-door coupe that is uncharacteristic from the mini car expert.

It’s 4,200 mm long, 1,695 mm wide and 1,430 mm tall, making it 50 mm longer, 75 mm wider and 80 mm lower than our Perodua Bezza; its 2,510 mm wheelbase is also 55 mm longer. Power comes from a 1.2 litre four-cylinder engine – likely the same 88 PS/108 Nm 3NR Dual VVT-i unit found on the Ayla and Sigra – matched to a CVT, which should make it eligible for Indonesia’s Low Cost Green Car (LCGC) programme.

If you gave me 20 guesses with the badges blanked off, I would not have guessed Daihatsu. The F-Sedan boasts nice proportions and a sleek curved dome of a roof that gives it a four-door coupe vibe, baby Tesla even. The face is bold (a little Honda-like?) and boasts a large grille with LED headlamps and DRLs. The rear is a sharp multi-layered affair with a full-length LED blade.

Although the car may look outlandish, Daihatsu’s Indonesian arm has a track record for turning concepts into reality – the A-Concept into the Ayla and the UFC concepts into the Sigra, for example. So the F-Sedan could spawn a small four-door that Indonesians will actually be able to buy, perhaps based on the Bezza.

Ignore the fact that there are no B-pillars, and that its doors open barn-style, and you’ll get a fantastic looking compact sedan. Come on Daihatsu and Perodua, make this real and it’ll fly off the showroom floor!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Peetoo on Aug 10, 2017 at 12:30 pm

Perodua may use this to penetrate the high segment market. This car looks like a C or D segment?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
    • Dear P2 bosses,

Who’s rear end do we have to kiss for you guys to bring this in to Malaysia? This is a definite “shut-up-and-take-my-money” model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
    • Sack the designer on Aug 10, 2017 at 12:57 pm

That rear design copy our majestic Perdana.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 37
      • Somebody on Aug 10, 2017 at 1:17 pm

With which of you eyes did you see the rear of the Perdana with the lights going the full length of the rear? Seems like you may need to check your eyes

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
      • Sack Ur Eyeballs on Aug 10, 2017 at 2:25 pm

You should take out your eyeballs from your eye socket and soak them in bleach over night.

• Unknown on Aug 17, 2017 at 12:15 am

Before this, Perdana also copy Jaguar

• Jonn Dol on Aug 10, 2017 at 3:09 pm

It’s unthinkable that this is a C-segment sized concept car ,though it is not impossible for Daihatsu to venture into this segment because obviously, one of Daihatsu’s main rival namely Suzuki did actually briefly ventured into this segment last time with the brilliant handling (but poorly-packaged & so-so styled) Kizashi. This Daihatsu F-Concept looks head-turning (again unthinkable for a Daihatsu!), at least at this initial stage. If indeed it will translate into a mass produced car say e.g B-Segment sedan with the styling that isn’t too far removed from the concept version coupled with a decent interior & powertrain, this car could potentially give it’s Japanese rivals a run for their money and possibly sleepless nights!

• RavenAii (Member) on Aug 10, 2017 at 4:38 pm

The proportions undoubtly looks like a C-segment sedan, but the fact the dimensions are almost identical to a Toyota Vios makes it a B-segment car. Just a few millimetres smaller than it’s Toyota counterpart and a few millimetres wider than a Perodua Myvi.

• Landan on Aug 10, 2017 at 12:35 pm

Very nice. Like honda plus vw.
    Just bring it.

• Whats with the Preve copycat?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 25
    • If this is really Preve, Proton should all jump river because Perodua can sell but Proton can’t.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
      • Pls come out to the roads. Preve berlambak kat jalan. Even more than Biza.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
      • Preve is popular. You can condemn proton but you have to come out with something else because this is not it.

• Sack Ur Eyeballs on Aug 10, 2017 at 2:59 pm

You too should take out your eyeballs from your eye socket and soak them in bleach over night.

• If i soak eyeballs, what u soak urs? Brain kah? I thought zombies xde brain.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • Kcarian on Aug 10, 2017 at 12:37 pm

Nice kcar….but how much if rebadge to pelodua? 70K, 120k??

• Perodua Futura

• 12yrsold on Aug 10, 2017 at 12:39 pm

Foo-Yoh. I’ve never been so excited about a mini car but this DN F-Sedan concept sure looks GOOD. I will trade in my Kancil Soooon for this. Common P2, its about time U bring in a NEW car with all the latest safety offered.

• thepolygonal on Aug 10, 2017 at 12:43 pm

New Bezza…. Berbezza… pasti saga mampoi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
    • By the time this come out, Saga4 alredi long time in market.

• drillero on Aug 10, 2017 at 4:09 pm

Saga alredi long time item x laku.

• Really? Why izit more laku than Mivi lagi lagi facelift?

• Proton sembang lebat on Aug 10, 2017 at 9:01 pm

G mampos laku… Volume ciput… Sbln x smpai 2ribu lg nk sembang… Myvi cabuk tu yg nk phase out tu pon volume 4ribu laa brader…

• Sembang kencang saje u. Challenge u tengok je kat jalan raya mana lebih kerap jumpa.

• Sohhai on Aug 10, 2017 at 12:54 pm

This is how the 2018 Accord should have looked like

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
  • Betul-betul bapak. Toyota Daihatsu 》all.

• Noah Thiruchelvan on Aug 10, 2017 at 1:53 pm

Apa lagi P2, another car for you to rebadge if Daihatsu decides to put it into production

• RDS Alphard on Aug 10, 2017 at 2:13 pm

DN F-sedan, so this is a DID NOT FINISH sedan.

• Ah Kow on Aug 10, 2017 at 2:19 pm

It’s like one day, Lexus designer pop in Daihatsu design centre and hey what can I do to help? Boom! DN F-Sedan and DN Multisix are born.

• kereta_lembu on Aug 10, 2017 at 2:21 pm

Very nice, sleek and modern design from Daihatsu. Kudos to the designer(s) for being bold and showing the world that you don’t have to be a big or established car brand to create something beautiful. As for us, we should not be too excited as yet because concept cars rarely turn out to be exactly like the production version but at least with the styling cues, we can only hope that Daihatsu and Perodua will make use of most of the design elements.

• Leonardo on Aug 10, 2017 at 2:46 pm

Model code DNF – Did Not Finish?

• Concept ok la. Wait for production. Look 85% different compared to concept. We can only hope.

• not again ,coupe sedan design again.

So many car markers had failed due to lack of rear headroom space

AND namely VW Passat cc ,HYUNDAI ELANTRA , S60 , OPEL INSIGNIA , MERCEDES CLS, BMW 4 SERIES, AUDI TT,
    THESE MODELS DID NOT SELL IN HIGH VOLUME AT ALL COMPARE TO THE NORMAL SEDAN DESIGN

traditional buyers prefer LIKE BMW 3 SERIES , MERCEDES C CLASS , VW PASSAT , AUDI A4 — more rear headroom

• All the car that u mentioned are all at kereta mampu tengok level… This is kereta mampu milik level… Please compare apple to apple… Need to remember the new fc civic is also a coupe sedan with enormous rear space… So it is not something impossible

• JChong on Aug 11, 2017 at 5:24 am

yeah, but the fc civic rear seat is so low and is not comfortable for long journey due to lower hip room to increase rear headroom can cause back pain on prolong travelling time.

Anyway, I agree coupe sedan design is a piece of shit design cause by limited rear headroom always.

• Just wondering.. how to open the door?

• Charlie Whiting on Aug 10, 2017 at 11:04 pm

DNF – Did Not Finish

• Seriusly i am start sving my money for this car,p2 take note that

• they could be a hybrid version for this

• Mokmok on Aug 11, 2017 at 10:10 am

Suicide doors???