GIIAS 2017: Second-gen Mazda CX-5 launched in Indonesia – 2.5L Skyactiv-G, from RM169k

Mazda, under new distributor PT Eurokars Motor Indonesia, has launched the new Mazda CX-5 in the Republic. The second-generation Mazda CX-5, which made its debut in November 2016, is available here in a sole Skyactiv-G 2.5 litre petrol engine option, and in two trim levels – GT and Elite.

The naturally-aspirated DOHC engine with i-Stop pushes out 190 hp and 251 Nm of torque at 3,250 rpm. It’s mated to a six-speed torque converter automatic transmission that channels drive to the front axle. G-Vectoring Control – which modulates engine torque to optimise vertical load on each wheel, improving steering response and stability – is standard.

The Indonesian-spec Mazda CX-5 is very well equipped. The standard equipment list includes 19-inch wheels; leather seats; eight-way powered driver’s seat; auto LED headlamps, DRLs and foglamps; powered tailgate; dual-zone auto air con with pollen filter; sunroof; keyless entry and push start; and an electronic parking brake with auto brake hold. Also in is the MZD Connect system with seven-inch colour display and a 10-speaker Bose audio system.

Going for the top Elite spec brings one memory for the driver’s seat, six-way powered passenger seat, front/rear under garnish, scuff plates with illuminated CX-5 logo, colour head-up display, DVD player, navigation and Mazda’s i-Activesense safety suite.

The latter includes adaptive LED headlamps, blind spot monitoring, rear cross traffic alert, lane departure warning, lane keep assist, driver attention alert and smart city brake support.

The new CX-5 is priced from Rp 526,800,000 (RM169.160) for the GT and Rp 548,800,000 (RM176,361) for the Elite. Those going for the lustrous Soul Red Crystal and Machine Grey colours have to top up Rp 4,000,000 (RM1,285). The Honda CR-V rival has already been spotted in Malaysia and the launch shouldn’t be too far away now.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• 2yrslate on Aug 11, 2017 at 11:38 am

SUV takda market @ MY..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 54
    • ..kata P2.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 3
    • slowpacer on Aug 11, 2017 at 6:59 pm

why are malaysian salivating at this 250nm suv i have no idea….pls get the 400nm sportage/tucson crdi 2.0diesel and save the rest of other motorist on the highway from having to highbeam you. thank you

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 5
      • Cuz kimchi car sucks and RV is so bad. I’ve owned a tucson before and after 2 years of using the car the reverse sensor stopped working, speed meter no accurate, air cond controls broke, all at the same time. So my advise is to stay away from korean car. Price is like european car but quality is worse than china. Heck I’ll gladly buy a myvi than any kimchi car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 49
  • syer1n on Aug 11, 2017 at 11:43 am

Toyota Mazda NA > all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 39
  • Shafiq on Aug 11, 2017 at 11:56 am

This is nicee

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 6
  • According to basher, if this car not priced at 50k MAX then indomee must be something wrong.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Aug 11, 2017 at 12:02 pm

mazda malaysia, please make sure ours is better than this

• seancorr (Member) on Aug 11, 2017 at 12:13 pm

Bermaz sill have to bring in the high spec and match the CRV price to be able to compete with Honda.

• wawasan2020 on Aug 11, 2017 at 12:13 pm

rumour said Bermaz mighy chop off many features for this new cx5 . if its true then they must dumb enough to do so.

• Berjaya Auto is so slow, the worst part is slow with lack competent. 5yrs old tech SOUL RED METTALIC been transformed into SOUL RED CRYSTAL recently on 2nd-gen CX-5, but BOLEHLAND Inokom Kulim Painting Workshop facilities still not capable to paint 3 layers of bright shinny SOUL RED. The last week spotted test drive of a lousy DARK RED 2nd-gen CX-5 from Kulim is so DUCK !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 15
    • lantis on Aug 11, 2017 at 6:37 pm

If you not sure about the truth, you don’t have to post here to give wrong info. Majority of the New Mazda CX-5 selling in other Asean market is exported from Inokom, not only our neighbor Thailand.

• lantis on Aug 11, 2017 at 6:41 pm

If you not sure about the truth, better don’t gives wrong info here.

Majority of the New Mazda CX-5 that selling in other ASEAN market, is export from Inokom, not only our neighbor Thailand.

• John you don’t know nothing, stop embarrassing youself. Don’t slap your own face when Bermaz launch the “red” Color this October.

• Gaviny on Aug 11, 2017 at 12:40 pm

Isn’t that just a class interior for a day to day vehicle that’s not super expensive

• TEACHER MPAMIRE on Aug 11, 2017 at 12:51 pm

What when wrong here?? the front looks like its looking to kiss something…or someone…what wen wrong??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • sack the designer on Aug 11, 2017 at 2:22 pm

No 7 seater? Sack the designer!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 12
  • Kim Lee on Aug 11, 2017 at 2:30 pm

Looks better than CRV and drive better than XC60

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 74
    • Ohwai on Aug 12, 2017 at 5:04 am

Crampy than both, i”ll pass this

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 2
      • There will be always one fella and his vendetta against crampy mazda..u must have either really had a bad experience being stuck in a mazda as a kid or you were dropped on your head..wake up la brother..mazdas no longer crampy d…they are industry average….and a lot more premium than your honda and toyota and nissan…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 1
    • If I were rate between xc60 , CRV and CX5.

I would rate them as

xc60 — first
      CRV — second
      CX5 — last

Both XC60 and CRV ,engine choice are more powerful than CX5
      Both XC60 and CRV , are more spacious
      Both XC60 and CRV design looks more premium and elegant
      Both XC60 and CRV feel majestic and handle like a big Car
      Both XC60 and CRV had better safety features and hence better safety rating

CX5 IS LIGHTER therefore it handles like a small car .
      less safety features , feel less majestic , feel less spacious, feel less premium

Hence, CX 5 is not the same category as the XC60 AND CRV BUT CX 5 is trying very hard to compete and compare with XC60 and CRV.

Overall XC60 and CRV is a better package than CX5 indefinately

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 8
      • Obviously you don’t even know what you are talking about..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 60
        • Are you feeling frustrated because every readers are belittling the ugly Mazda CX5?

I can understand Chen remarks loud and clear except you are disgusting in your reply

• Johnson Amigo on Aug 11, 2017 at 4:16 pm

better than GLC in term of pricing vs perf. i like.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 53
    • Loler on Aug 12, 2017 at 5:07 am

Lol this is not even turbocharged, very late at torque peak.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
  • Lee Kum Kee on Aug 11, 2017 at 8:23 pm

Better na 2.5 vs overclocked 1.5 pulling 1.5ton car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 22
  • Will Maccormac on Aug 13, 2017 at 2:57 am

Does it come in the off white leather? Well.. I hope it does when it reaches thailand in november.