Mitsubishi Triton VGT AT GL launched in Malaysia – new entry-level VGT variant priced at RM103,800

Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia (MMM) has introduced a new variant for the Triton line-up – the Triton VGT AT GL – which is priced at RM103,800 on-the-road without insurance. That makes the it the most affordable Triton VGT variant you can buy today, being positioned beneath the range-topping VGT Adventure X (RM130,900), VGT Adventure (RM123,130) and VGT AT/MT (RM114,400 and RM107,600).

As with all Triton VGT variants, this new one is powered by 2.4 litre MIVEC turbodiesel engine with 181 PS at 3,500 rpm and 430 Nm of torque at 2,500 rpm. In this instance, the engine is paired with Mitsubishi’s Easy Select 4WD system and a five-speed automatic transmission.

The VGT AT GL is based on the VGT AT, and comes equipped with a dark chrome radiator grille, 16-inch alloy wheels, automatic climate control and fabric seats. Even so, several parts of the equipment list have been revised to reflect the new variant’s lower price point.

For starters, there are halogen reflector headlights instead of bi-xenon units, while LED daytime running lights, front fog lamps and side mirror indicators have been removed. Keyless entry is also omitted here, and the head unit is now a double-DIN system without a touchscreen. The speaker count is also down to four from the six that was found in the VGT AT.

Unchanged here is the safety kit, which continues to feature two airbags (front driver and passenger), ABS, EBD, brake assist, Active Stability Control, traction control, Hill-Start Assist, Trailer Stability Assist, reverse sensor and rear Isofix child seat anchors.

The price mentioned above also includes a five-year/200,000 km warranty, making the Triton VGT the only pick-up truck to boast such a warranty offer (previously three-year/100,000 km) since April 2017. To get up close with the new variant, visit MMM roadshows at Aeon Tebrau City, Johor from September 19 to 24, or Mid Valley Megamall from September 27 to October 1.

For more information and specifications of the Triton range in Malaysia, head on over to CarBase.my

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Ben Yap on Sep 06, 2017 at 5:32 pm

nowadays pickup trucks are getting more and more expensive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
    • Sam Kunta Loo on Sep 06, 2017 at 6:28 pm

… and more and more shithead drivers (in this country, 9 out of 10 pickup trucks on the road are driven by scumbags).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 6
    • Periasamy on Sep 06, 2017 at 6:36 pm

Triton used to be about RM79k just a few years ago. Slowly and surely it is going UP UP UP UP and UP.

Where is our gomen promise to reduce car prices by 30%?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 6
      • Wait a darn minute. When reduced prices, u pulak hentam no RV. So mana mau ni?
        Which world u came from that has bog standard cars RV higher than purchase price?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 70
        • Khalid on Sep 06, 2017 at 9:40 pm

This is the same person who said Malaysia got cheapest petrol prices in the world

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 3
          • I din say it, u did. Why get angry at what u said.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 52
  • Maria on Sep 06, 2017 at 5:40 pm

Only triton vgt adventure is worth to buy if you care about safety

• dr. hafiz on Sep 06, 2017 at 6:54 pm

ive been using my triton 2.5 MT since 5 years ago & im still safe here…

• Car safety features is like life insurance.
        U dun PLAN to use it, but u be GLAD when u need it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
    • Sureken1 on Sep 08, 2017 at 8:16 am

Only difference is Adventure 7 Airbag , while this is 2 airbags. All safety like active stability traction control comes standard. It’s a very safe and value money pick up from my personal opinion.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Sep 06, 2017 at 10:22 pm

bila pajero sport come

• human tastes are the same for all. If you want to buy a car there is a cheap and cheap one, with each other’s money. But I do not choose as much as I can afford. why, human attitude is good. not good at driving fast when bored, but we are bored with what’s there, must be looking for change on the car. All the cars have their weaknesses. the fate of deciding, even though expensive car is cheap even if it is involved in the accident it will be damaged as well, even though you drive cautiously but others are not careful.while paul walker dies in accident while using millions of cars. Because of the trend now people like to use rich cars, as they are the same as others still owed to banks.for me I chose mitsubishi triton because of the cheap price and the powerful car.