Harley-Davidson ends dealer partnership with Naza Prestige Bikes – search for new partners begins

After nearly a decade of partnership, Harley-Davidson has announced it will end its current dealership agreement with Naza Prestige Bikes. The motorcycle marque has revealed it will begin searching for new dealer partners effective immediately.

“We would like to thank Naza Prestige Bikes Sdn Bhd for close to a decade of partnership in Malaysia operating Harley-Davidson dealerships and building up a loyal customer base,” said Peter Mackenzie, managing director of Harley-Davidson in Greater China, India and Asia Emerging Markets.

The division of Naza will renounce its position as the sole authorised importer and dealer for Harley-Davidson motorcycles, clothing and accessories in Malaysia. It remains to be seen what will happen to the Harley-Davidson flagship showroom in Naza Automall.

UPDATE: Naza Prestige Bikes has confirmed it will cease operating its Harley-Davidson dealerships. The Naza World Group has announced it will now focus on other motorcycle brands in its portfolio instead. This includes Indian Motorcycle, Ducati, Aprilia, Piaggio, Vespa and its own Naza-branded motorcycles.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• August on Sep 25, 2017 at 4:08 pm

Finally. Its about time. Its a little too late but.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 7
  • Bernard on Sep 25, 2017 at 6:21 pm

Maybe Harley Davidson can collaborate with a China based company?

• I don’t know about you, but I think Naza is pretty hopeless when it comes to selling cars and motorcycles. Worse than that, providing good aftersales seem to be an afterthought for them.

• True. Look what happen to Peugeot, Citroen and Kia

• sohai on Sep 28, 2017 at 6:07 pm

they are actually quite good at selling cars…
      but don’t depend on them for after sales.

• hondaman on Sep 25, 2017 at 10:00 pm

got closing down sale or not?

• Ben Yap on Sep 26, 2017 at 8:59 am

If i open a bike shop and distribute Harley, I might make a lot of money and a name to myself.

• Next: DRB will take over and sell the harley davidson’s bikes cheaper.

• calldisc on Sep 26, 2017 at 1:19 pm

DRB cant even make money out of selling cheap bikes, namely Modenas.

• Looking for firesale of HD accessories, etc etc by naza. If big discount on the bikes, the better. Bye bye naza.

• potato on Nov 02, 2017 at 11:19 pm

Naza will never go on sales. go see their HQ showroom, that Old Honda Stream RZ still selling for over rm110k, you must think they are out of their mind.

Those Supercars, not sure they are really intend to sell them or just for show, coz few years down the road, with the depreciation & bank interest, even with a 300% mark up they might not even break even when they finally make the sale.

But anyway this is the attitude you tend to have when things come too easy.

• Mat Nast on Sep 26, 2017 at 7:30 pm

Actually this issue has been rumors since last year. Maybe, next Naza will lost their partnership with Ducati. Just wait and see.

• C.h.ang on Sep 26, 2017 at 8:10 pm

I heard Goh brothers will take over HD in Malaysia ?

• Which Goh brothers?

• Which Goh brothers? Naza boleh, hold agency & still import recons. DRB pun boleh. So called agent of Can Am Bombardier and not even a shadow can be seen of the bike except for those falling apart at used bike dealers.

• Samson Sim on Jan 04, 2018 at 6:30 pm

NAZA has no respect for customers I make a phone enquiry once about the Kia Sorento the salesman who answered the call sounds like I disturbed his copulation with the office girl. Good move Harley NAZA is a crony company with too many brands to service to top it off they are also the dealer for your main rival Indian. Its time Harley finds a good dealer for its brand and give a middle finger to the crony capitalism of Malaiseia.