Next-gen Volvo XC90 to arrive in 2021, S60 in 2018 – production to take place at Charleston, South Carolina

Volvo has announced production of the next-generation XC90 will begin from 2021, where it will be built at the carmaker’s manufacturing plant in Charleston, South Carolina. The SUV will join the all-new S60, also set to be produced at the facility from 2018.

The Charleston facility is currently being upgraded as part of efforts to expand manufacturing operations in the United States, which will bring total investments to over US$1.1 billion. Volvo says this will help create up to 4,000 new jobs, of which 1,900 personnel will be recruited for a planned new office campus.

“The continued expansion of our plant in South Carolina is another significant commitment to the US market. The plant in Charleston will serve both the US and international markets and forms a strong foundation for our future growth in the U.S. and globally,” said Håkan Samuelsson, president and chief executive of Volvo Cars.

According to the Swedish carmaker, the US is the largest single market for the XC90, hence the business logic behind the move. The decision to choose South Carolina as its first ever manufacturing plant in the US was its easy access to international ports and infrastructure, a well-trained labour force, an attractive investment environment and experience in the manufacturing sector.

The expanded Charleston plant will target a production capacity of 150,000 vehicles annually, with a considerable amount of XC90 volume being exported from the Port of Charleston. “We’re excited to add a second car to our first American factory and we continue to be impressed by the entrepreneurial spirit in South Carolina,” said Lex Kerssemakers, president and CEO of Volvo Car USA.

The announcement on further expansion in South Carolina is part of the company’s ‘build where you sell’ global manufacturing strategy. It currently operates two manufacturing plants in Europe, as well as two factories in China. A third Chinese plant is currently under construction.

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Ibrahimovit on Sep 26, 2017 at 4:37 pm

Respectable Geely, Volvo Cars Msia & US.
    Volvo Lotus > All

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
    • Curi Curi Malaysia on Sep 26, 2017 at 5:13 pm

Good idea for Volvo to close down the Malaysian plant and move operations to Thailand cause Thailand is now the Detroit of Asia.

Don’t waste time in Malaysia. Thai workers are hardworking and don’t simply tuang kerja

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 45
      • Tricycle on Sep 26, 2017 at 7:06 pm

Meanwhile our Menteri and their ignorant statement.

Volvo is the first local assembler here since the 60s, and still standing strong today in Shah Alam.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
        • Curi Curi Malaysia on Sep 27, 2017 at 9:27 am

We need to bring mainland people as our Cabinet members

• Wise man on Sep 26, 2017 at 9:31 pm

With 566 units sold YTD, move to other place better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 19
        • 33yers on & still losing money. better P1 sell gas tanks.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 19
        • At least Volvo is more than the lame Audi!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
        • Kassim chan on Sep 27, 2017 at 1:13 pm

Even X5 booking alone is 6 times more than overall Volvo sales. Volvo must really improve in many areas.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 19
      • U do realise u talkin about ur own work being lousy and ur employer better dun waste time with u, and other bashers r more hardworking with more reasonable facts, right?

• Volvo > All on Sep 26, 2017 at 9:23 pm

Dude, you mean Volvo > All on low RV?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 24
  • China oso making amerika gr8 again!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
  • DPCraft on Sep 26, 2017 at 11:22 pm

Dude, I just bought the XC90 not too long ago and you guys are talking about next gen already :l

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • Johnson Amigos on Sep 27, 2017 at 10:13 am

To always stay current, wiser to buy a Proton.
      U still driving the latest gen even after 15 year.

Other carmakers max 6 year cycle only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
    • TOYOTA FOR LIFE on Sep 27, 2017 at 11:43 am

Pity u bro…the rv just dropped to grd zero …do consider a used camry to compensate on yr losses..vrry reliable ride buddy..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 24
      • victor on Sep 28, 2017 at 1:12 am

When RV is at ground zero , crappy Camry RV is already six feet down .

Better not waste time with passenger car , the current world trend is on SUV and SUV is a major force to be reckoned with in the foreseeable future from most buyers !!

• 2021, that’s 4 years away, and at least you have the XC90 with you now. Announcement of the current XC90 was made in 2012, with orders taken in 2014 and officially going on sale 2015.

Sheep BMW X5 buyers on the other hand are still waiting to receive their X5 PHEV while a new model is out next year. LOL. Most won’t even receive it yet when the next gen X5 is announced and revealed!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0