The departure of our very own Sepang International Circuit from the Formula 1 calendar will see the loss of one of the toughest circuits to host the premier open-wheel racing series, three-time F1 drivers champion Lewis Hamilton said according to a Reuters report.
“It is definitely sad to think this is the last race. It’s the most challenging for the car and the team, so they are taking away one of the toughest, if not the toughest, Grand Prix of the season, which will be hard to replace,” Hamilton said at a press conference.
The announcement that Malaysia will no longer host Formula 1 races from next year onwards was confirmed by prime minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak, who cited poor returns for the country relative for the financial outlay incurred in the hosting of the events.
“In 1999, only 16 countries played host to the prestigious race, including two Asian countries. This has since increased to 21 nations, with six Asian countries, effectively leading to a reduction in returns to the organiser and the country,” Najib stated.
The continual decline in number of viewers, visitors and number of tourist arrivals put the funding government at a disadvantage, he said, adding that funding can now be redirected to developing local motorsport talents, infrastructure as well as knowledge and technology transfer.
Hamilton’s lamenting of Sepang’s impending departure from the Formula 1 calendar comes despite his nightmare outing at the 5.5 km-long, 15-turn circuit last year, which saw the Briton lose the race lead midway due to engine failure.
F1 will not miss Malaysia anyway.. just move on
SIC lost F1 is a sad business decision. Shows that SIC don’t know how to do business.
How come Proton can run at a loss for 20 years and still gomen keep it going?
The only business that the SIC is good at is tongkat business. Like any other GLC, when the G decided to pull the plug, all these parasites are just baffled on how to keep their business afloat.
Since when SIC is GLC?
Who make the decision to end the race in SIC? Our Gov. Now can U tell me its NOT link to Gov!
Petronas built SIC
SIC is under MoF.
Alright then Stan, what do you think SIC could’ve done to reverse their fortunes when global F1 tv viewership alone have been slipping from 6 million to 4 million from 2008 to 2014?
Seeing that India and South Korea also dropped off the calender, would you make the same assumption of the respective organizers?
Yes, you’re rite. Instead of just comment pls tell those in SIC how to run the organisation in the profitable way! Can anyone tell us which country making profits by organising F1?..btw SIC is making good bizz with Motogp
So u mean Silverstone, MagnyCours, Hockenheim, Nurburgring, the Americas, and all those traditional circuits and even S. Koreas one time use track oso dunno how to do business?
Rempits still waiting race circuit in Sungai Petani
Some tot SIC is just for F1. Better sack out event that are not making profit and focus on event that will bring profit. Again, SIC is not only for F1.
Fully agreed. Just a sport for elites, not the common person. Glad to see this elitist sport gone from this country.
This is one of a few things that what the current PM did was right. The continual decline in number of viewers, visitors and number of tourist arrivals put the funding government at a disadvantage.
Trying to correct the incorrect.
We should get a Chna CEO to run SIC. Then you will see it making money from F1.
Malaysian Chinese perhaps???
But superior China Chinese cant even save their track from making loss, much less MY Chinese doing anything better…
KK supermart good bisnes but KR1M…
Have u seen Mydin business. Many times more than KK. Expensive yet no class, nobody goes to KK unless its the only one there.
Kk mart, 99supermsrket and seven eleven main profit is by selling alcohol. True story.
and mydin selling alcohol orso. True story.
That shows SIC done a good business. Closing the rugi one.
Good job, keep it up, we have lots more stuff that put the government at a disadvantage. To name a few, big fat P1 loans, BR1M, Permata Merah Jambu, Birkin, & etc.
Malaysia Darul Rasuah
All those r settled. But we still paying for incomplete tunnel study. Why?
It’s also a failure on the tourism ministers part. Look at the limited airlines and flights that fly into KLIA compared to what we had with subang in the 80s and 90s, it’s difficult for viewers to come to Malaysia as well. Our lackluster public transport connections to the circuit and lack of emphasis on safety also puts race fans abroad away. Until we can admit that we are wrong and not good enough we will be pulling out of more major events.
What poor returns?!!!
Life should not be measured solely by the standard of ringgits and cents. Nonsense!
Agree. Life should be measured by US dollar & cents. That’s why we should take F1 out of SIC. Thank Q.
Why liddat?
Our Menteri said Don’t panic, ringgit will bounce back..
hardest for the spectators too, as they encounter terrible traffic jams on their way out of the circuit going back home. not systematic at all.
Ever been to another GP? Traffic is expected on race weekends.
SIC is among the most convenience circuits on the calendar. Plenty of parking all over the circuit and and connecting shuttle to the entrances of the circuit.
Poor thing is that Malaysian are too relying on free-issued tickets by organizer/ GP sponsors (Petronas, etc) rather than buying themselves. And blaming ways of SIC running the business and not making profit.
Government should just subsidize the ticket price for Malaysian. Yes, it was meant to attract tourism but you really can’t depend wholly on tourism. It needed locals to support the event too. Just like if you goto Japan, would you really feel you’re in Japan when everyone that you saw are mostly foreign tourists?
Err. Gov alredi sponsored 50%. Just go and show ur Mykad, that it. Apalagi mau? Free? Then dun bash why SIC dun make enuff money!
Most visitor won’t return for second time and some even told others don’t even waste money on it with the freaking hot weather, distance away from city center, poor circuit infrastructure and stupid supporting event.
I see many readers being uptight about our government decision to stop organising the F1 race. You people can say what you want , but as long as our government says that’s it, then it’s final! Just move on and don’t waste your breath on the topic.
Nah!
When MY was holding the races, bashers demand to kolos.
When MY is stopping the race, bashers bash gov why kolos race.
Buat apa pun, mesti mau bash. Its a basher life.
nebermind….I can still race at SIC via videogames…..vroom vroom.
I can even choose choose which car to drive…hehehe…
A large reason is probably because F1 in Malaysia is subsidized by Petronas. However when the government takes money from Petronas until Petronas needs to lay off its own staff, well there goes the F1 then
F1 is all about the manufacturers, team orders and snob appeal. The drivers are just one part of the corporate machine. No wonder they are losing popularity to motogp.
SIC is sick ^^ the name is bad in first place
Hamilton said tough, likely the weather is tough ^^
the toughest race on the planet for the racers as well as the spectators. the climate super hot with super humid, the hassle to park and walk and the so so after concerts. is a recipe for disaster. singapore knows our climate is hot and humid and even with nice rain trees surrounding their island, they still think doing it night time will add a better level of comfort to spectators