DRB-Hicom, Geely announce new Proton board – Li Chunrong is CEO, Winfried Vahland joins board

This just in. DRB-Hicom and Geely Holding Group are having a joint press conference in Shah Alam this morning, and have announced the new board of Proton.

The unveiling of the composition of the board confirms previous reports and rumours – Li Chunrong is the new CEO of Perusahaan Otomobil Nasional Sdn Bhd (PONSB) replacing Datuk Ahmad Fuaad Kenali, who now heads independent power producer Malakoff. Sitting on the new board is Winfried Vahland, former Skoda chairman and CEO.

The holding company is Proton Holdings Berhad (PHB), and Datuk Seri Syed Faisal Albar remains as chairman. He is joined by Shaharul Farez and Amalanathan Thomas. Farez and Nathan are both DRB-Hicom nominees and part of the conglomerate’s senior management team. Geely has nominated Daniel Donghui Li (current executive VP and CFO of Geely) and Feng Qing Feng (group VP and CTO of the Hong Kong-listed Geely Auto) to the PHB board.

Under PHB’s ownership is Perusahaan Otomobil Nasional Sdn Bhd (PONSB), which is the “Proton” people usually refer to. PONSB is also chaired by Syed Faisal Albar, and PHB’s other board members also sit on PONSB’s board. PONSB’s two other board members are ex-Skoda man Winfried Vahland (a DRB-Hicom nominee) and Dr Nathan Yu Ning (Geely’s VP of international business).

The new CEO of PONSB is Li Chunrong, who replaces Datuk Ahmad Fuaad Kenali. Deputy CEO Radzaif Mohamed remains in his position.

“I was nominated by both DRB-Hicom and Geely Holding to turn Proton around and I believe the Malaysian car brand will soon be the number one domestic brand and a leading ASEAN brand. To make this vision happen, Proton now has access to the global synergies, expertise and financial support it needs from the Geely family. I firmly believe that Proton’s best days are ahead of it,” Li said.

DRB-Hicom and Geely hold 50.1% and 49.9% stakes in PHB. PONSB and Proton Edar are 100% subsidiaries of PHB. For all three entities, DRB-Hicom has one additional seat at board level; matching the 50.1% stake that it holds.

Part of the Definitive Agreement signed between DRB-Hicom and Geely is to ensure that the Chinese carmaker not only holds an investment in Proton, but also for it to lend expertise in the area of production, manufacturing, operations and marketing, namely in PONSB.

“PONSB is the bulk of the operations of Proton Group, and thus it is critical that we have the right person for the job,” Syed Faisal Albar was previously quoted as saying.

AD: Drive the Proton model of your dreams. Submit your details and Proton PJ will get in touch with you.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• AI-generated Summary ✨

Comments generally express optimism and hope for Proton's future following the appointment of Li Chunrong as CEO and Winfried Vahland to the new board, citing their extensive automotive experience as a positive change. Many believe that with strong leadership from Geely and new management, Proton has the potential for a successful revival, possibly reaching global competitiveness like Volvo or Skoda. Some comments emphasize the importance of improving product quality, work culture, and reducing political interference to ensure transformation. However, a few critics remain skeptical about cultural shifts and internal resistance, fearing entrenched attitudes and political influence may hinder progress. Overall, the sentiment is cautiously optimistic, with supporters encouraging Proton to leverage its new leadership to build a stronger, more competitive Malaysian brand.

• immaP1fanbuoi on Sep 29, 2017 at 11:17 am

29 September

Merdeka harapan!

• going to grab my popcorn, just nice to watch all the drama unfold in Geely Malaysia. ho ho ho!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
      • Oh the irony on Sep 29, 2017 at 1:11 pm

It’s ironic that a company that had practiced affirmative action now has it’s destiny decided by Chinese. This is the corporate fate waiting for GLC that do not have diversity

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 20
        • Rightwinger on Sep 29, 2017 at 3:41 pm

Maybe you should find out just how ‘diverse’ the management teams of the factories in FTZ Penang…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 44
          • Benny on Sep 29, 2017 at 5:20 pm

Come grab ur Volvo badges. Stick on old Protons & its totally legit!

• Tidur Oh Tidur on Sep 29, 2017 at 6:58 pm

Shaharul Farez was from Tradewinds. He was the CEO of Bursa listed Tradewinds. He was asked to leave.

So. DRB appoints such calibre people into Proton.

• Tony was in the entertainment business b4 his airline. Do u think prior calibre equals success?

So whats ur point?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 12
          • LeftWinger on Sep 29, 2017 at 9:41 pm

I’m working in one right now and it’s pretty diverse. And they have diversity as part of their corporate code.

You cannot throw a boulder in Proton and wish to hit a different race.

• It’s like looking into tahfiz school to see how ‘diverse’ they are

• Chickenwing on Sep 30, 2017 at 1:27 am

If laundry shop also cannot accept others, how can we be ‘diverse’?

• BigFish on Sep 30, 2017 at 5:24 am

Keyword : Tony airasia is non-abang

• Will our country receive the same fate? Oh wai…

• klguy on Sep 29, 2017 at 11:26 am

what a Good Friday. hehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • fadzili Rahman on Sep 29, 2017 at 11:30 am

how come they allow Radzaif Mohamed remains? he is behind killing many local vendors and good business ventures in proton. I believe he should be also removed ASAP. DRB mole in management.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 7
  • Carbonman on Sep 29, 2017 at 11:33 am

Hope this turn things around. We’ll be proud of Proton as it’s still very much a Malaysian brand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
  • Bernard on Sep 29, 2017 at 11:35 am

Now proton will rise …..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • Mr. Octopus on Sep 29, 2017 at 11:38 am

Ye ke? Boleh ke? All the best and good luck guys!

• Low Budget on Sep 29, 2017 at 2:54 pm

Why not? Nothing is impossible, Proton want to have a big share of the Right Hand Drive market with the help of Geely in marketing too.

• tokmoh. on Sep 29, 2017 at 11:39 am

Huge congratulation to Mr Li! Welcome aboard, everything is looking positive to a Volvo-like revival, by first having real automotive man to lead Proton.

From this point onwards, let no petty politics and interest get in the way of what must be done. You have every possible resource you could ever want and need, as long as you give customers a service that is far greater and beyond anything they’ve ever experienced and expected from Proton, the company shall prosper as with other family members of Geely.

There has never been a more exciting time, than to witness the beginning of a great adventure to greatness. Almost as reminiscent of late 2005 when Syed Zainal Abidin came to fix Proton, then Proton had their most successful phase. That good time not only will come once again, it will even surpass it with greater vengeance! To all the enemies of Proton’s destiny, seek not to bar our way, for we shall win through, no matter the cause!

Godspeed Mr Li, godspeed Proton’s counterattack!

Geely > all
    Proton > all

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 11
    • Vincent Ang on Sep 29, 2017 at 12:44 pm

The panda logo looks way better than that ciplak thundercats log.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 21
    • Arcturus Mengsk on Sep 29, 2017 at 1:30 pm

@tokmoh, : seek not to bar our way, for we shall win through, no matter the cause!
      That’s my speech you’ve copied,…

• Low Budget on Sep 29, 2017 at 2:58 pm

There is no “Enemies of Proton” exist, but there certainly are like or dislike the brand name, this can be changed with better quality and services.

• tokmoh. on Sep 29, 2017 at 3:56 pm

Proton’s enemies are cronies who have no passion in automotive industry, they have no ability nor ambition to uplift proton, only know how to enrich themselves under the pretext of national pride.

It’s no wonder Proton is in such shitty situation. Time to purge them and start afresh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • Finally some multi ethnicity at the helm Proton, but, somewhat ironically, composed almost no Malaysian ,a country that promotes itself as a multi-cultural and multi-ethnic. Not to say that ethnicity was the problem in the previous BoM, but when is entirely composed of people linking to some political structure you begin to wonder what Proton really is for, profit yes, but profit for the mases? Or for the Mahathir fan club.

Still the sun finally looks to be shining at Proton’s future, the first solution in solving a problem is to understanding thats one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 8
  • sam123 on Sep 29, 2017 at 11:54 am

Whats the Shaharul Farez Hassan and Amalanathan Thomas position and job on board ?

• Ahh, obviously you have never been on a board of directors before.

• Since you are so clever why don’t you explain it to him instead of being so smug?

• transformer on Sep 29, 2017 at 3:32 pm

john now DK?

• In the era of google and internet, theres still pipu asking to be spoonfed. Bravo!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
          • Logic > All on Sep 30, 2017 at 8:56 am

So since what era do we need to google everything & cannot genuinely ask a question? If you cannot contribute then just hold your horses down.

• Turbo on Sep 29, 2017 at 12:06 pm

Good luck proton!

• It’s not about making it a local automobile brand anymore. They have the aspirations of making it global. It doesn’t really matter who’s in charge at this point, only that the world should know where Proton has started and originated from.

Yes, begone is the bumiputera government automobile company creation, and in with a leadership aiming to at least rise Proton from it’s notorious reputation.

All we can say at this point is God-bless. And hopefully it won’t turn out to become another white elephant where us taxpayers pay for it’s survival.

aj

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 2
    • Daniel on Sep 29, 2017 at 3:33 pm

The CEO of MAS is not a Malaysian as well. It’s about survival and prosperity these days.

• drMpower on Sep 29, 2017 at 12:17 pm

so indeed they appointed a China man as CEO to head proton.
    no i have no problem with even Venezuelan or even an Israelis as ARAMCO CEO, but now cats out the bag

and they did it very careful – production side. it seems they got what they actually want.

• C. P. MOHAN on Sep 29, 2017 at 12:30 pm

Malaysia had 30 years to make something out of nothing ike SK with similar population and aspirations, but unlike SK we failed miserably. Our political leaders are now pointing fingers for this failure yet it was politics not business that killed it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • No. We dun have similar population to SK. Neither did P1 started 10 years b4 merdeka, neither did P1 got sapot from amerika, neither did P1 still receives sapot unlike SK which still get sapots even thou big alredi. There was a lot things working against P1.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 25
      • Abang fazil on Sep 30, 2017 at 5:28 am

Wasted 30 Billion for cronies & fatcats. How many more tongkat u want?

• Not Toyota Fan on Sep 29, 2017 at 1:05 pm

I am pessimistic. 30+ years of ingrained work attitude and culture will be very difficult to change. On top of that, the political (direct & indirect) interference to uphold political policies (& cronies) will be Mr. Li biggest obstacle.

Wish Mr Li and the new board the best of luck. As a Malaysian, we shall be proud if Proton makes it but having lived all my life here, knowing how things are done, knowing the culture & attitude, it will be a very steep uphill struggle. One that requires tremendous shift in mindset, attitude & work culture that Malaysians will not be able to accept & adopt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
    • Dun forget we still have the syok sendiri attitude i.e. claiming ourselves to be BMW of Asia, Volvo of Asia, comparing with P2 and saying we are better than them etc.

P1 workers just can’t accept criticism, only showing arrogance and self pride

• Provita on Sep 29, 2017 at 1:43 pm

Increse the salary of common workers in proton 1st.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 14
  • Finally.. Hope has arrived..
    no more syok sendiri design, syok sendiri bodykit, syok sendiri stickers and syok sendiri exhaust pipes..

Proton have to build based practicality and safety not only for Msia, but Global.

• Plainbullshit on Sep 29, 2017 at 2:20 pm

For me as a Proton fan since young, this is the symbolic of hope. A correction of what Tun M has did wrong in the past.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • Kuinosan on Sep 29, 2017 at 2:29 pm

This is a good start for a new beginning for Proton. I truly hope the existing workforce will change their attitude and put in more effort to make Proton a brand we can be proud of. All the best to the new management team!

• mrhukaka on Sep 29, 2017 at 2:33 pm

hope we can afford a volvo like safety class as our national car.

• lilytan on Sep 29, 2017 at 2:50 pm

Vahland is a good addition to the board. Proton with geely can probably be what skoda is with VW.

• John Tongsan on Sep 29, 2017 at 3:16 pm

Good luck Mr.Li, just face whatever culture shocks that you may find out soon.

Btw, you must sack the designer and replace him with Peter Schreyer.

Thank you & salam 1 malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • Aero (Member) on Sep 29, 2017 at 9:14 pm

Congratulations and welcome aboard to the new management team at Proton !

With such capable and experienced men at the helm, Proton’s future has never looked more promising. I have full faith in the new team to do what they must, to turn words and plans into action and results. It will not be easy, it might take several years, maybe even a decade, but I’m confident that Proton will steer back on track.

I’ve nothing much to say or add really… the team at Proton knows exactly what needs doing. They need only do it, and do it well. The best thing us Proton enthusiasts can do is to support the cause, spread the good word, and buy new Protons if possible.

Once more, all the best and godspeed to Proton. 32 million Malaysians are counting on your success !

• You definitely overstated the number of Malaysians part; it’s probably just 1% of that while the rest of us just want to see it go the way of Rover.

• Don’t forget the vendors are counting on them too!

• Welcome Aboard on Oct 02, 2017 at 8:46 am

Proton has a veteran partner from Mitsubishi (Japanese) with more than 30 years of auto experience yet had to leave Proton. Geely members into the PONSB are significant advantages. Geely/Dr. Li can make the difference that other partner failed to inculcate the culture of customer service to Proton staff and management including their suppliers and vendors. Maybe to stop Proton reinventing the wheel take to approach of parts and technologies sharing with Geely.

• zainal abidin on Oct 03, 2017 at 9:13 am

Welcome aboard dear Sir, hopefully you can turn around the company ‘pretty quick’.

Please focus on the quality (cars) that’s coming out from the factory. Tip top quality means better customer confidence.

And focus less on training, less auditing and less meeting. With quality cars that come out from the factory you’ll need less of the above.

• YK Loh on Mar 28, 2018 at 7:54 pm

1973~1980 worked as Engineer for a chemical plant.
    1981~1983 worked as Assistant Production Manager for a Japanese computer form company.
    1983~2000 worked for Swedish Motor Assemblies to produce not only different Volvo models but variants of contract assemblies for SUZUKI, DAIHATSU, VOLVO TRUCKS, BUSES, ETC.
    I used to travel to Sweden, Belgium, Holland every 2~3 years for project purposes.
    The reason I wrote this short message is to explore the possibility to contribute to our national car projects.
    Thanks.