VIDEO: Volvo XC40 detailed in walk-around video tour

The Volvo XC40 celebrated its global premiere just a few days ago, and it is now time to get to know the brand’s new compact SUV a little better. The carmaker has posted a walk-around video tour of its smallest XC model, where Louiza Atcheba, model brand manager for the 40 Series at Volvo, shows us around the XC40.

As a brief recap, the compact SUV rides on Volvo’s Compact Modular Architecture (CMA), which will underpin future models in the 40 Series. It measures 4,425 mm long, 1,851 mm, 1,658 mm tall and has a wheelbase measuring 2,702 mm. The car also has a wider rear track (1,626 mm) compared to the one at the front (1,601 mm).

The styling is inspired by some of its larger siblings, namely the XC60 and XC90, although it does have its own unique cues. For instance, the small ‘kick up’ at the rear, sculpted sides, widened wheel arches and single-piece rear hatch, help give the XC40 a more youthful look. Lest we forget, ‘Thor’s hammer’ LED daytime running lights can be found at the front.

VIDEO: Volvo XC40 detailed in walk-around video tour

Inside, the XC40 is fitted with plenty of familiar items from its stablemates like the nine-inch Sensus Connect touchscreen infotainment system and 12.3-inch digital instrument cluster. Our host says everything Volvo does starts with people, and the XC40 has its own unique character and tailored innovations for an active urban lifestyle.

To ensure its well suited for life in the city, the SUV features plenty of clever and practical solutions. For instance, the bass speaker commonly found in the doors has been moved to behind the dashboard, allowing for a larger door pocket to store items like a laptop, iPads, water bottles, etc. There are plenty more features in store, as our host will show you.

Now that you’re better acquainted with the XC40, what do you think of Volvo’s new compact SUV?

GALLERY: Volvo XC40

Originating from the corporate world with a background in finance and economics, Gerard’s strong love for cars led him to take the plunge into the automotive media industry. It was only then did he realise that there are more things to a car than just horsepower count.

• Leonardo on Sep 29, 2017 at 9:54 pm

Same same Geely grupe.
    Proton XC40!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 86 Thumb down 2
    • Tidur Oh Tidur on Sep 29, 2017 at 10:48 pm

China is so clever. I hope they can send more people to Malaysia and some can even be cabinet members. We desperately need some brains and culture of hardwork to come into our country

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 171 Thumb down 17
      • Queen elizaberth on Sep 29, 2017 at 11:58 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 160
        • Whatever, Merc GLC sales will going to drop like free fall.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
        • Rojak Muar on Oct 02, 2017 at 5:24 pm

Volvo is price can drop 25% or more will help its sales. It is no doubt a better car than sushi.

• What about PM?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
      • They can be cabinet members, but first need to be MY born citizens… oh wai

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 32
      • Dr J Abraham on Sep 30, 2017 at 1:09 am

Hopefully it is priced well in Malaysia and gomen keeps their promise to reduce car prices by 30% as promised.

Pointless if this car is RM250k in Malaysia when globally, it hardly sells for US20k.

• Dr.

someone is posing your identity to talk nonsense

Be alert !!

• Lpost on Sep 30, 2017 at 8:39 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 200
        • Not no brain. Just his brain havent evolve from caveman yet.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
        • Kancil Hybrid on Sep 30, 2017 at 12:14 pm

Geely majority bought Volvo, CEO Håkan Samuelsson remain.

Geely minority bought P1, CEO kena goreng. Hmmmm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
        • Danny on Sep 30, 2017 at 12:18 pm

At least more brains than those working in Proton, else why need to use taxpayers money or replace current CEO?

• Pls CKD to sell <rm180k under EEV incentives of tax-duty break.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 0
        • Datuk on Sep 30, 2017 at 4:15 pm

Minister Spotted!!!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 3
        • 7yrsold on Oct 01, 2017 at 10:30 pm

Basher should read more, from where your beloved jepunis companies got bailout last time? From sky? Of course from their gomen

• Jchong on Sep 29, 2017 at 10:08 pm

VW vs Geely.
    Audi vs Lynk & Co.
    Porsche vs Volvo.
    Bugatti vs Proton

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 114 Thumb down 17
    • P1 at Bugatti level? Tahniah P1!

• Lee ah seng on Sep 30, 2017 at 7:11 pm

Volvo is same category as Peugeot please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 15
      • By World standard no car review compare Volvo CATEGORY with VW or Peugeot or Mazda but only you.

If you think Volvo is same standard with Peugeot or VW , then I should think Mercedes , BMW and Audi is also same category with Mercedes, BMW and Audi too!! Period

(Mercedes, BMW and Audi are also same category with Peugeot and VW)

• Aero (Member) on Sep 29, 2017 at 10:26 pm

The XC40 is a great car and will no doubt become a hot seller for Volvo in Malaysia. It will be an entry-level model for those who want a small HR-V sized SUV with XC90 levels of sophistication, especially on the interior. I’m guessing that the XC40 will be priced between RM200k and 250k.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 162 Thumb down 5
  • Dr J Abraham on Sep 29, 2017 at 10:38 pm

This what happens when you let China take over. You come out with great products that sell well.

Let us face facts, in Malaysia, we need China brains and discipline to work hard. This is what is lacking even in our Proton.

Hopefully now China will make Proton another Volvo. Let us hope the 12,000 workers can tahan the hard work after 20 years of jolly no work

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 179 Thumb down 7
    • Tidur Oh Tidur on Sep 29, 2017 at 10:50 pm

Geely owns 49.9% of Volvo. So Geely is entitled to bring 5980 workers from mainland China to replace the 12,000 workers.

You will see, Proton will 10 fold its productivity and profit!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 141 Thumb down 3
      • Slight error on Sep 30, 2017 at 3:05 am

You meant 49.9% of Proton, right? Because last time I checked, Volvo is wholly-owned by Geely.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 1
      • farghmee on Sep 30, 2017 at 4:49 am

Spot on! smart hardworking chinese.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 111 Thumb down 2
      • xDiavel on Sep 30, 2017 at 5:16 am

China got brains. Now discipline those 12,000 workers to work hard.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 112 Thumb down 6
  • AhKeong on Sep 29, 2017 at 10:49 pm

10 years ago Volvo’s design was for uncles. Now they have really step up their game. Looks so futuristic and for the young market. Very nice XC40

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 139 Thumb down 5
  • Better than Boyue

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 138 Thumb down 5
  • price it around 200K and it will sale like hot cakes.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 158 Thumb down 23
  • tokmoh. on Sep 30, 2017 at 7:39 am

Volvo > all

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 151 Thumb down 46
    • Ah beng on Sep 30, 2017 at 9:33 am

Dude, you are > all as typical FA sales man.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
    • All includes Proton?

• Kiss me on Sep 30, 2017 at 7:08 pm

Volvo just cant sell in Malaysia. The brand is yet to reach luxury level like Germans. It is may be same category as VW if not lower

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 16
      • Jchong on Oct 02, 2017 at 12:19 pm

Volvo had surpassed the German brand in interior design and make some of the best engines in the world.

Better you compare it with Audi and Lexus , these two brands are still struggling to sell in huge volume. Just cannot sell in Malaysia too.

I would says Audi and Lexus are same category as VW , Peugeot and Mazda or is not lower down too!!

Mercedes brand is only good for Taxis, limousines and Uber services only. The brand had lost it identity which is own by low class buyer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
        • Support F1 Sepang on Oct 02, 2017 at 5:18 pm

Volvo sales is so poor and if not mistaen only 500+ units YTD you said better than Audi and Lexus ke?

• Audi Fans on Oct 02, 2017 at 9:12 pm

Must agreed with Jchong .

Audi till todate only sold about more than 600+ or equal to 700 which is also very low indeed.

• Heng Albert on Oct 02, 2017 at 10:05 pm

Volvo just cant sell here in Asia.

• chrissy on Sep 30, 2017 at 11:31 am

If the XC40 selling price is less than 200k then Honda CRV and Mazda CX5 will be in great trouble cos consumer like me dont mind paying a bit more for a conti car.

• SUV Fans on Sep 30, 2017 at 12:38 pm

If XC40 sells below RM200k, many buyers will be willing to topup rather than choosing CR-V which is selling at around RM167k.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 144 Thumb down 29
  • A lot of passion from Volvo in this car. My next SUV for sure

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 139 Thumb down 21
  • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 122
    • oliver on Oct 01, 2017 at 3:02 am

HRV is NOT a premium compact SUV and also X1 looks ugly and dull compare to this XC40.

Obviously it had to cost double of HRV . HRV is way too low to compare to XC40 . X1 is not as good either .

I feel XC40 is a way better car ..

• Annoynimouse on Oct 02, 2017 at 10:09 am

I am sold. It looks so good!