Continental MaxContact MC6 launched – improved dry handling and wet braking, 16 to 20 inches, from RM350

Continental Tyre Malaysia (CTM) today introduced its latest Ultra High Performance (UHP) tyre, the Continental MaxContact MC6. It slots above the CC6 and UC6 and becomes the third product to occupy the Generation 6 product range. It’s designed to suit Malaysian roads and goes directly against the Michelin Pilot Sport 4.

The MC6 is said to improve on overall performance thanks to the incorporation of latest German tyre technologies, such as the new asymmetric tread and rib pattern, noise breakers in the form of nubs along the grooves and chamfered longitudinal edges. These enhance grip, wet and dry braking, wall flexion during cornering and reduce tyre roar for a more comfortable journey.

The outer section of the tyre also gets stabiliser bars (Continental calls them shoulder blocks) around its circumference. This adds stiffness and limits lateral movements for better high-speed cornering grip. In fact, all MC6 tyres are “AA” rated for traction, regardless of size.

Mixed within the tyre compound is what Continental calls Chevron Grip Element, which evenly distributes pressure to the inside of the tyre for better braking performance and wet handling. According to CTM, the MC6 is specifically designed to maximise rubber-to-road contact, becoming more rigid at higher speeds for maximum grip yet remain flexible enough to be comfortable at lower speeds.

“With the cutting edge technology, we are looking to create a competitive presence in the tyre industry catered for sporty drivers. We are also proud to announce that the MaxContact MC6 will be locally manufactured at our state-of-the-art facility in Alor Setar,” said Cameron Wilson, managing director of CTM.

Click to enlarge.

Compared to the older MC5, the company’s in-house tests show that the MC6 improves on its predecessor in nearly all key aspects as a UHP tyre, especially dry handling and wet braking. Only noise levels, comfort and tread wear remain the same as before.

The MaxContact MC6 is available for sale at all authorised Continental dealerships across Malaysia, with varying sizes from 16 to 20 inches. Currently, only selected sizes are being rolled out, but the full range will be available by February 2018. Prices range from RM350 to over RM1,000 depending on sizes.

Matthew H Tong

An ardent believer that fun cars need not be fast and fast cars may not always be fun. Matt advocates the purity and simplicity of manually swapping cogs while coping in silence of its impending doom. Matt's not hot. Never hot.

• Ben yap on Oct 04, 2017 at 6:56 pm

So mc5 price will be cheaper?

• Abangsar on Oct 04, 2017 at 6:58 pm

Cheap & better performance. Hankook

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 17
  • Ajjsjs on Oct 04, 2017 at 7:30 pm

Hoping for new RE004 from Bridgestone.
    My Suprima wear RE003 and it grip like glue.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
    • Petrolhead on Oct 04, 2017 at 8:00 pm

So grippy. Most likely Suprima underpower.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 40
    • Rightwinger on Oct 04, 2017 at 11:13 pm

Adrenalin? Does it really improve feel/ communication through the steering wheel?

• Stonecold on Oct 05, 2017 at 10:14 am

Bridgestone in Proton sucks, hard like a stone

• U got confused between Ecopia and RE series. But dun blame ur tayar salesman. If u go for cheaps, u get sucky perf. Maybe its not too late to trade in ur Ecopia tires and get REs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
    • Jason on Oct 05, 2017 at 9:29 pm

Bridgestone just launch re003 lah friend.

• Hope cheaper than michellin so i can change my 18 inch SP3 to MC6

• panjang on Oct 04, 2017 at 9:47 pm

Conti MC series is in the same category as Michelin Pilot Sport series?
    Does that mean Conti SC series is up against Michelin Pilot Sport Cup series?

• Hafriz Shah (Member) on Oct 04, 2017 at 9:57 pm

The Continental CSC6 goes against the Michelin PS4S

• Zamzul on Oct 04, 2017 at 11:53 pm

The MC5’s have poor durability. Mine only lasted 20,000 kms. Michelin would be a better option as it could last 30,000kms and above.
    I reckon Continental is an overrated product.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 13
  • Holofanboi on Oct 05, 2017 at 12:09 am

The epitome of useless tire brand. Poor durability AND grip.

But pricing can challenge Michelins. Sigh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
  • From east side on Oct 05, 2017 at 12:20 am

I used conti sport contact 3 lasted about 40 000km its more toward comfort n sporty driving but not to sport n sprited driving

• had so many punctures with my mc5, after replacing them with another make the punctures stopped. They are soft in general and lasted around 30k km only.

• sam123 on Oct 05, 2017 at 9:47 am

Continental tyre are noisy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 12
  • jibby v2.60 on Oct 05, 2017 at 10:50 am

continental malaysia, please update ur website. dealer locator always empty. i cannot find dealer in my area if i type in ur website. usually, i will call beforehand to check the stock & price of the tyre i want to buy, then go straight to the dealer. coz i hate it when i go to dealer & they dont have stocks..

• SuV guy on Oct 05, 2017 at 4:26 pm

Available size for SUVs ?

• gigi kuning macho on Oct 06, 2017 at 6:08 pm

After trying Hankook, I have no regret not using Conti tyres. Hankook is really bang for buck….

• Value on Oct 07, 2017 at 9:13 pm

I used Bridgestone Turanza GR100, clocked 65K km. Still good for next 10K km. Moved from C to T and finally Bridgestone.

• Im using mc6 215/45/17. On dry grip and high speed, the performance is superb. Very comfort. Last time i used ecopia ep200 16inch rim, the noise is quite similar.

However, during wet & rain cndition , its not that grip, i went tru water and it kind sway a bit , u dont want to hit brake when it happens, but quite scary. My past bridgestone ecopia is better on wet road condition i think. Bought it rm320/piece at shah alam.

• Not a durable tyre if your car is heavy like mine 1400kg. 70% gone after used in 10k km after three months. But its a good handling in wet and dry, silent and comfort tyre.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6